DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 07/20/2026. Claims 1-9 are amended. Claims 10-15 are new. Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant argues (see page 8) with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 that as amended, the claims recite patent-eligible features that reflect a specific technical improvement to blockchain-based power-management technology. The specification describes that a consortium blockchain provides a short data write time that maintains real-time performance, enabling the calculation and the transaction to be completed within a predetermined time, for example every 30 minutes (see publication, [0095]). The Applicant argues (see pages 10-11) that the present claims recite a specific technical arrangement that achieves real-time supply-demand balancing, and are not directed to an abstract idea evaluated at a high level of generality. The Applicant argues that the references do not address the specific claimed arrangement: a consortium blockchain constructed through distinct producer, user, and intermediary nodes that exchange supply, usage, and transfer-request data within an interval of several minutes to achieve real-time supply-demand balancing.
In response to the Applicant’s argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, consortium blockchain is conventional (Peng (EP 4113896), see paragraph 0003 In the conventional technology, a consortium blockchain system including supervision nodes…). The mere use of a conventional blockchain to manage or perform transactions (transfer, buy or sell asset) does not improve the blockchain or the technology. The claims recite no limitations that would improve the technology.
Second, “Supply-demand” is interpretated as the amount of goods and services that are available for people to buy compared to the amount of goods and services that people want to buy (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/supply%20and%20demand). Balancing “supply-demand” is merely performing transactions to balance goods and services, which is what the claims are directed to and is clearly an abstract idea.
As discussed above, consortium blockchain is conventional. The mere use of conventional technology to perform the steps in the claims does not result in non-conventional arrangement of known elements. The claims are not directed to a specific asserted solution or improvement in computer capabilities. The claims focus instead on a process that qualifies as human activity and abstract idea for which computers are used to perform generic function or merely executing “apply it” to the abstract idea. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument (see page 11) regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments made to claim 8.
The Applicant argues (see page 12) that Nakamura does not describe, repeatedly at intervals of a fixed period, receiving each amount of supply from a producer node via a blockchain network, or receiving the amount of usage from a user node of the blockchain network, nor that the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain, nor receipt of those amounts within an interval of several minutes, as recited in amended Claim 1. Nakamura records data of energy amounts within a single apparatus, rather than receiving supply and usage data from distinct producer and user nodes of a consortium blockchain network.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nakamura teaches that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a producer node (Nakamura, see paragraphs 0171, 0151-0155, 0165 and Figs. 11A-14C). Therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a producer or node).
Nakamura teaches that a user A1 stores electric power in a usable electricity storage device and processes a large virtually-stored electric energy amount, the user A1 may become a lender of virtually-stored electric energy amount while another user A2 may become a borrower of virtually-stored electric energy amount, and that the information processing apparatus 140 updates the record of lending and borrowing of virtually-stored electric energy amount between the user A1 and the user A2. Therefore, the receiving supply and suage data are from distinct producer (user A1) and user (user A2) (Nakamura, see paragraphs 0165 and Figs. 11A-14C). It is worth noting that data are received from “Weather” and “Smar Grid” which are also two distinct nodes.
Thus, Nakamura teaches repeatedly at intervals of a fixed period, receiving each amount of supply from a producer node via a blockchain network, or receiving the amount of usage from a user node of the blockchain network, nor that the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain, nor receipt of those amounts within an interval of several minutes, as recited in amended Claim 1.
The Applicant argues (see pages 12-13) that Shah, cited for transmitting a request for transfer based on a shortage, describes a power-purchase instruction to a power trader and does not describe transmitting that request to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system, as recited in amended Claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shah teaches automatically buying power in view of the context information 1024 that a customer request action and sending instructions at 460 to the power trader 324 to buy enough power to address the power deficit that is still left over after the restricted power usage by the customers responsive to the customer request action (Shah, figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0081). Thus, Shah teaches “transmitting, to a second intermediary node (power trader) of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer (buy) of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage (deficit) of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to the predetermined user” (Shah, figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0081).
Regarding the Applicant’s argument (see page 13) that a blockchain network that is a consortium blockchain, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the amendments made to the claims. A new reference, Sun et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0172159), is relied upon to teach the blockchain network that is a consortium blockchain.
Examiner’s Note
While claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, claim 15 is not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 and would be allowable if the claims are amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 and if claim 15 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 3, 5 and 9 satisfy Step 1 because the claims are a machine, manufacture or process.
In Step 2A prong 1, the claim 1 recites “receiving, repeatedly at intervals of a fixed period from a producer node via a blockchain network…receiving, repeatedly at intervals of the fixed period from a user node… transmitting, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request…”, which is directed conducting transaction of assets. Conducting transaction of assets is a commercial or legal interaction, and therefore, claim 1 falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas. Claims 3, 5 and 9 recite similar limitations and therefore, are also directed to the abstract idea.
In Step 2A prong 2, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because “circuitry” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The claims, as a whole, are directed to gathering data and conducting asset transactions, which falls under Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, and do not contain limitations that impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
In Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “circuitry” is well-understood, routine and conventional (see Decasper et al. (U.S. PGPub 2007/0192474) paragraph 0004 where include conventional components such as a processor, a memory (e.g., RAM)… a network interface, such as a conventional modem) performing the steps recited in the claims and is not sufficient to transform a judicial exception into a patentable invention. The claims also recite the additional elements “blockchain network” and “consortium blockchain”. However, the use of a blockchain network is well-understood, routine and conventional (see Cella et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0198562), paragraphs 1473 using conventional distributed ledger capabilities in a blockchain framework), and the consortium blockchain is also well-understood, routine and conventional (Peng (EP 4113896), see paragraph 0003 In the conventional technology, a consortium blockchain system including supervision nodes…). Therefore, the additional elements do not add meaningful limitation to the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7-8 and 10-15 further limit the abstract idea recited in claims 1, 3, 5 and 9. However, claims 2, 4, 6, 7-8 and 10-15 fail to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The features recited in claims 2, 4, 6, 7-8 and 10-15 include “plurality of suppliers and the predetermined user have previously entered into a transaction contract…”, “the specific asset is electricity”, “second intermediary system”, “calculate the amount of shortage…”, “complete reception…”, “information on a name of a requester…”, “blockchain network is constructed through the producer node…”, “access the first intermediary node at the intervals of the fixed period to acquire latest data…”, and “calculate the amount of shortage …”, which are commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, asset for conducting commercial or legal interaction, generic computer component (“second intermediary system”) or insignificant extra-solution activity (accessing a node to collect data). Therefore, claims 2, 4, 6, 7-8 and 10-15 do not add meaningful limitation to the exception.
The elements recited in claims 1-15, when considered individually or in an ordered combination, fail to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 1-15 are not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0281733) in view of Shah et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0018399) further in view of Sun et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0172159).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Nakamura teaches A first intermediary system of a first intermediary for intermediating transactions of an asset between a supplier of the asset and a user of the asset, the intermediary system comprising circuitry configured to: receive, repeatedly at intervals of a fixed period from a producer node via a blockchain network, each of a plurality of amounts of supply for a specific asset produced by a specific type of production method, (Nakamura, see figs. 2 and fig. 11A-14C; see paragraph 0171 record data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users in a blockchain…. increases and decreases of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts and data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users...virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users of the information processing apparatus 140 and the data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users may be put together as one transaction and recorded in the blockchain...; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...; see also paragraph 0165; Examiner notes that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a producer node)
wherein each of the plurality of amounts of supply is supplied by a corresponding one of a plurality of suppliers within a fixed period; (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...)
receive, repeatedly at intervals of the fixed period from a user node of the blockchain network, an amount of usage of the specific asset used by a predetermined user within the fixed period; and (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...; see paragraph 0165 a user A1 stores electric power in a usable electricity storage device...the user A2 may generate electric power with the user’s own power generation device, and then, when the user A2 has stored a sufficient virtually-stored electric energy amount, the user A2 may return the virtually-stored electric energy amount to the user A1; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...; Examiner notes that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a user node)
wherein the shortage is indicated by a difference between a sum of the plurality of amounts of supply and the amount of usage, and (Nakamura, see fig. 11A Tuesday consumed electric power 3, generated electric power 2, electricity purchased 1 (difference); see also figs. 11B-14C; see paragraphs 0152-0156 the amounts of electricity sold and purchased for the week are 11 kWh and 7 kWh (note that these are differences between a sum of the plurality of amounts of supply and the amount of usage)...)
the second intermediary system. (Nakamura, see fig. 10; see paragraphs 0164-0165 memory storage unit 140 may be configured to record lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amount between a plurality of users of the smart grid 10...record the virtually-stored electric energy amount that the user A borrows from the user B... a user A1 stores electric power in a usable electricity storage device and processes a large virtually-stored electric energy amount, the user A1 may become a lender of virtually-stored electric energy amount while another user A2 may become a borrower of virtually-stored electric energy amount...)
However, Nakamura does not explicitly transmit, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to the predetermined user,
Shah teaches transmit, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to the predetermined user, (Shah, see figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0081 where power deficit or power shortage the method proceeds to 458 ...automatically buy power in view of the context information 1024 that a customer request action... send instructions at 460 to the power trader 324 to buy enough power to address the power deficit that is still left over after the restricted power usage by the customers responsive to the customer request action at 454...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura and Shah to provide the technique of transmitting, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to the predetermined user of Shah in the system of Nakamura in order to adequately and automatically address and resolve power deficit (Shah, see paragraphs 0078 and 0082).
However, Nakamura-Shah does not explicitly teach the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain.
Sun teaches the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain. (Sun, see paragraph 0020 facilitating electricity services transactions; a blockchain-based system such as a consortium blockchain-based system…; see paragraph 0025 through leveraging a consortium blockchain-based system where identities of participating parties can be known and attacks can be identifiable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah and Sun to provide the technique of the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain of Sun in the system of Nakamura-Shah in order to identify attacks and provide faster and/or scalable transactions (Sun, see paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura teaches A first intermediary system of a first intermediary for intermediating transactions of an asset between a supplier of the asset and a user of the asset, the first intermediary system comprising circuitry configured to: receive, repeatedly at intervals of a fixed period from a producer node via a blockchain network, an amount of supply for a specific asset produced by a specific type of production method, (Nakamura, see figs. 2 and fig. 11A-14C; see paragraph 0171 record data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users in a blockchain…. increases and decreases of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts and data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users...virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users of the information processing apparatus 140 and the data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users may be put together as one transaction and recorded in the blockchain...; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...; see also paragraph 0165; Examiner notes that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a producer node)
wherein the amount of supply is supplied by a predetermined supplier within the fixed period; (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...)
receive, repeatedly at intervals of the fixed period from a user node of the blockchain network, each of a plurality of amounts of usage of the specific asset used by a corresponding one of a plurality of users within the fixed period; and (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...; see paragraph 0165 a user A1 stores electric power in a usable electricity storage device...the user A2 may generate electric power with the user’s own power generation device, and then, when the user A2 has stored a sufficient virtually-stored electric energy amount, the user A2 may return the virtually-stored electric energy amount to the user A1; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...; Examiner notes that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a user node)
wherein the shortage is indicated by a difference between the amount of supply and a sum of the plurality of amounts of usage, and (Nakamura, see fig. 11A Tuesday consumed electric power 3, generated electric power 2, electricity purchased 1 (difference); see also figs. 11B-14C; see paragraphs 0152-0156 the amounts of electricity sold and purchased for the week are 11 kWh and 7 kWh (note that these are differences between a sum of the plurality of amounts of supply and the amount of usage)...)
However, Nakamura does not explicitly teach transmit, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated a specific one of the plurality of users,
Shah teaches transmit, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated a specific one of the plurality of users, (Shah, see figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0081 where power deficit or power shortage the method proceeds to 458 ...automatically buy power in view of the context information 1024 that a customer request action... send instructions at 460 to the power trader 324 to buy enough power to address the power deficit that is still left over after the restricted power usage by the customers responsive to the customer request action at 454...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura and Shah to provide the technique of transmitting, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated a specific one of the plurality of users of Shah in the system of Nakamura in order to adequately and automatically address and resolve power deficit (Shah, see paragraphs 0078 and 0082).
However, Nakamura-Shah does not explicitly teach the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain.
Sun teaches the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain. (Sun, see paragraph 0020 facilitating electricity services transactions; a blockchain-based system such as a consortium blockchain-based system…; see paragraph 0025 through leveraging a consortium blockchain-based system where identities of participating parties can be known and attacks can be identifiable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah and Sun to provide the technique of the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain of Sun in the system of Nakamura-Shah in order to identify attacks and provide faster and/or scalable transactions (Sun, see paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura teaches A first intermediary system of a first intermediary for intermediating transactions of an asset between a supplier of the asset and a user of the asset, the first intermediary system comprising: circuitry configured to: receive, repeatedly at intervals of a fixed period from a producer node via a blockchain network, (Nakamura, see figs. 2 and fig. 11A-14C; see paragraph 0171 record data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users in a blockchain…. increases and decreases of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts and data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users...virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users of the information processing apparatus 140 and the data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users may be put together as one transaction and recorded in the blockchain...; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...; see also paragraph 0165; Examiner notes that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a producer node)
each of a plurality of amounts of supply for a specific asset produced by a specific type of production method, (Nakamura, see fig. 2; see figs. 11A-14C; see paragraph 0171 record data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users in a blockchain…. increases and decreases of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts and data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users...virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users of the information processing apparatus 140 and the data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users may be put together as one transaction and recorded in the blockchain...)
wherein each of the plurality of amounts of supply is supplied by a corresponding one of a plurality of suppliers within the fixed period; (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...)
receive, repeatedly at intervals of the fixed period from a user node of the blockchain network, each of a plurality of amounts of usage of the specific asset used by a corresponding one of a plurality of users within the fixed period; and (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...; see paragraph 0165 a user A1 stores electric power in a usable electricity storage device...the user A2 may generate electric power with the user’s own power generation device, and then, when the user A2 has stored a sufficient virtually-stored electric energy amount, the user A2 may return the virtually-stored electric energy amount to the user A1; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...; Examiner notes that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a user node)
wherein the shortage is indicated by a difference between a sum of the plurality of amounts of supply and a sum of the plurality of amounts of usage, and (Nakamura, see fig. 11A Tuesday consumed electric power 3, generated electric power 2, electricity purchased 1 (difference); see also figs. 11B-14C; see paragraphs 0152-0156 the amounts of electricity sold and purchased for the week are 11 kWh and 7 kWh (note that these are differences between a sum of the plurality of amounts of supply and the amount of usage)...)
However, Nakamura does not explicitly teach transmit, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to a specific one of the plurality of users,
Shah teaches transmit, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to a specific one of the plurality of users, (Shah, see figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0081 where power deficit or power shortage the method proceeds to 458 ...automatically buy power in view of the context information 1024 that a customer request action... send instructions at 460 to the power trader 324 to buy enough power to address the power deficit that is still left over after the restricted power usage by the customers responsive to the customer request action at 454...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura and Shah to provide the technique of transmitting, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to a specific one of the plurality of users of Shah in the system of Nakamura in order to adequately and automatically address and resolve power deficit (Shah, see paragraphs 0078 and 0082).
However, Nakamura-Shah does not explicitly teach the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain.
Sun teaches the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain. (Sun, see paragraph 0020 facilitating electricity services transactions; a blockchain-based system such as a consortium blockchain-based system…; see paragraph 0025 through leveraging a consortium blockchain-based system where identities of participating parties can be known and attacks can be identifiable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah and Sun to provide the technique of the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain of Sun in the system of Nakamura-Shah in order to identify attacks and provide faster and/or scalable transactions (Sun, see paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches wherein the specific asset is electricity that is produced by renewable energy. (Nakamura, see paragraph 0004 electric power that utilizes renewable energy.; see paragraph 0039 a power generation device 52 that utilizes renewable energy, such as a solar panel)
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura teaches A requesting method performed by a first intermediary system of a first intermediary, the first intermediary system intermediating transactions of an asset between a supplier of the asset and a user of the asset, the method comprising: receiving, repeatedly at intervals of a fixed period from a producer node via a blockchain network, each of a plurality of amounts of supply for a specific asset produced by a specific type of production method, (Nakamura, see figs. 2 and fig. 11A-14C; see paragraph 0171 record data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users in a blockchain…. increases and decreases of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts and data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users...virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users of the information processing apparatus 140 and the data of lending and borrowing of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts between the users may be put together as one transaction and recorded in the blockchain...; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...; see also paragraph 0165; Examiner notes that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a producer node)
wherein each of the plurality of amounts of supply is supplied by a corresponding one of a plurality of suppliers within the fixed period; (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...)
receiving, repeatedly at intervals of the fixed period from a user node of the blockchain network, an amount of usage of the specific asset used by a predetermined user within the fixed period; and (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...; see paragraph 0165 a user A1 stores electric power in a usable electricity storage device...the user A2 may generate electric power with the user’s own power generation device, and then, when the user A2 has stored a sufficient virtually-stored electric energy amount, the user A2 may return the virtually-stored electric energy amount to the user A1; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...; Examiner notes that data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users is recorded in a blockchain and Figs. 11A-14C shows data for Monday-Sunday; therefore, data is repeatedly recorded (repeatedly received) via a blockchain network at intervals of a fixed period (each day Monday-Sunday) from a user node)
wherein the shortage is indicated by a difference between a sum of the plurality of amounts of supply and the amount of usage, and (Nakamura, see fig. 11A Tuesday consumed electric power 3, generated electric power 2, electricity purchased 1 (difference); see also figs. 11B-14C; see paragraphs 0152-0156 the amounts of electricity sold and purchased for the week are 11 kWh and 7 kWh (note that these are differences between a sum of the plurality of amounts of supply and the amount of usage)...)
However, Nakamura does not explicitly teach transmitting, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to the predetermined user,
Shah teaches transmitting, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to the predetermined user, (Shah, see figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0081 where power deficit or power shortage the method proceeds to 458 ...automatically buy power in view of the context information 1024 that a customer request action... send instructions at 460 to the power trader 324 to buy enough power to address the power deficit that is still left over after the restricted power usage by the customers responsive to the customer request action at 454...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura and Shah to provide the technique of transmitting, to a second intermediary node of a second intermediary system of a second intermediary, a request for transfer of the specific asset corresponding to an amount of shortage of the specific asset based on a shortage of the specific asset to be intermediated to the predetermined user, of Shah in the system of Nakamura in order to adequately and automatically address and resolve power deficit (Shah, see paragraphs 0078 and 0082).
However, Nakamura-Shah does not explicitly teach the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain.
Sun teaches the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain. (Sun, see paragraph 0020 facilitating electricity services transactions; a blockchain-based system such as a consortium blockchain-based system…; see paragraph 0025 through leveraging a consortium blockchain-based system where identities of participating parties can be known and attacks can be identifiable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah and Sun to provide the technique of the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain of Sun in the system of Nakamura-Shah in order to identify attacks and provide faster and/or scalable transactions (Sun, see paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to: calculate the amount of shortage of the specific asset; and transmit information indicating the calculated amount of shortage to the producer node, the second intermediary node, and the user node via the blockchain network. (Shah, see figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0081 where power deficit or power shortage the method proceeds to 458 ...automatically buy power in view of the context information 1024 that a customer request action... send instructions at 460 to the power trader 324 to buy enough power to address the power deficit that is still left over after the restricted power usage by the customers responsive to the customer request action at 454...; see paragraph 0030 using blockchain...) The motivation regarding the obviousness to claim 1 is also applied to claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches wherein the blockchain network is constructed through the producer node, the user node, the second intermediary node, and a first intermediary node of the first intermediary system. (Nakamura, see figs. 9-10; see paragraph 0171 record data of the virtually-stored electric energy amounts of the users in a blockchain...a series of transaction records in the information processing apparatus 140 to be recorded as verifiable information by the blockchain....; see paragraph 0111-0112 blockchain technology, for example, may be used for the trade records of the depositing process m2, the withdrawal process m3, the transferring process m4, the purchasing process m5, the exchange process m8... records the amount of electric energy that each of the users can receive from the transmission grid 20 of the smart grid 10 in the information processing apparatus 100 as the virtual electrical storage capacity. In this case, a surplus of the electric power generated by the power generation devices 61 to 65 connected to the smart grid 10 is output to the smart grid 10 and is also recorded as the electric power that each of the users is allowed to receive from the transmission grid 20 of the smart grid 10...)
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to access the first intermediary node at the intervals of the fixed period to acquire latest data on each of the plurality of amounts of supply and the amount of usage. (Nakamura, see figs. 11A-14C; electric power supply and demand of a user... the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday. The electric power is generated by a solar panel. The amount of electric energy generated is 5 kWh on a clear day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny day, 4 kWh on a mostly sunny and then cloudy day, 2 kWh on a cloudy day, and 0 kWh on a rainy day. The sales and purchase of electricity on each day are as shown...; see paragraphs 0151-0155 where the consumed power is 3 kWh on each day of Monday to Friday, and 1 kWh on each of Saturday and Sunday...)
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura-Shah-Sun in view of Tokunaga et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0216722).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Nakamura-Shah-Sun does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of suppliers and the predetermined user have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset.
Tokunaga teaches wherein each of the plurality of suppliers and the predetermined user have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset. (Tokunaga, see paragraph 0067 the trading device 40 reports the made contract together with the established trade term to the power seller and buyer...the contracted amount of power is insufficient for the power buyer, a power shortage is supplied separately. In the above example, the contracted amount of power is 12,000 kWh per hour, and when the power buyer needs 13,000 kWh per hour, a power shortage of 1000 kWh is generated and accordingly, this shortage is supplied separately...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah-Sun and Tokunaga to provide the technique of wherein each of the plurality of suppliers and the predetermined user have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset of Tokunaga in the system of Nakamura-Shah-Sun in order to obtain a price by meeting a request of the demand response and provide a sufficient motivation for promoting spread of a power storage (Tokunaga, see paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches all of the features of claim 3. However, Nakamura-Shah-Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the supplier and each of the plurality of users have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset.
Tokunaga teaches wherein the supplier and each of the plurality of users have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset. (Tokunaga, see paragraph 0067 the trading device 40 reports the made contract together with the established trade term to the power seller and buyer...the contracted amount of power is insufficient for the power buyer, a power shortage is supplied separately. In the above example, the contracted amount of power is 12,000 kWh per hour, and when the power buyer needs 13,000 kWh per hour, a power shortage of 1000 kWh is generated and accordingly, this shortage is supplied separately...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah-Sun and Tokunaga to provide the technique of the supplier and each of the plurality of users have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset of Tokunaga in the system of Nakamura-Shah-Sun in order to obtain a price by meeting a request of the demand response and provide a sufficient motivation for promoting spread of a power storage (Tokunaga, see paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches all of the features of claim 5. However, Nakamura-Shah-Sun does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of suppliers and each of the plurality of users have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset.
Tokunaga teaches wherein each of the plurality of suppliers and each of the plurality of users have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset. (Tokunaga, see paragraph 0067 the trading device 40 reports the made contract together with the established trade term to the power seller and buyer...the contracted amount of power is insufficient for the power buyer, a power shortage is supplied separately. In the above example, the contracted amount of power is 12,000 kWh per hour, and when the power buyer needs 13,000 kWh per hour, a power shortage of 1000 kWh is generated and accordingly, this shortage is supplied separately...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah-Sun and Tokunaga to provide the technique of each of the plurality of suppliers and each of the plurality of users have previously entered into a transaction contract for the specific asset of Tokunaga in the system of Nakamura-Shah-Sun in order to obtain a price by meeting a request of the demand response and provide a sufficient motivation for promoting spread of a power storage (Tokunaga, see paragraph 0004).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura-Shah-Sun in view of Harty et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0276910).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Nakamura-Shah-Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is configured to complete reception of each of the plurality of amounts of supply, reception of the amount of usage, and transmission of the request for transfer within a predetermined time of 30 minutes.
Harty teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to complete reception of each of the plurality of amounts of supply, reception of the amount of usage, and transmission of the request for transfer within a predetermined time of 30 minutes. (Harty, see figs. 5-6; see paragraph 0056 EV to detect an energy gap/shortage and trigger an offer of V2G energy to the facility…; see paragraph 0050 a transport request to a second numerical value associated with V2G energy request...the V2G energy request is for an amount of energy that will cost the requesting entity Y credits, block 58 might compare X to Y to determine which numerical value is higher. Alternatively, block 58 may compare the amount of time involved in satisfying the requests. For example, if the trip is expected to take twenty minutes (e.g., given projected traffic) and the energy transfer is expected to take fifteen minutes (e.g., given a projected charge rate)...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah-Sun and Harty to provide the technique of completing reception of each of the plurality of amounts of supply, reception of the amount of usage, and transmission of the request for transfer within a predetermined time of 30 minutes of Harty in the system of Nakamura-Shah in order to optimize efficiency and decrease cost (Harty, see paragraph 0042).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura-Shah-Sun in view of Zhang et al. (CN 105976232, see the English translated copy).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura-Shah-Sun teaches wherein the request for transfer includes an amount of the specific asset for which the transfer is requested. (Shah, see figs. 4A-4B; see paragraph 0081 where power deficit or power shortage the method proceeds to 458 ...automatically buy power in view of the context information 1024 that a customer request action... send instructions at 460 to the power trader 324 to buy enough power (an amount) to address the power deficit that is still left over after the restricted power usage by the customers responsive to the customer request action at 454...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 1 is also applied to claim 12.
However, Nakamura-Shah-Sun does not explicitly teach information on a name of a requester of the request and
Zhang teaches information on a name of a requester of the request and (Zhang, see page 7, paragraphs 5-7 where when the first transaction request is a purchase request, that is, when the selling mechanism obtains the purchase request...the secret information in the purchase request, the purchase request private information including...the user name corresponding to the purchase request, the mobile phone number, identity card number, account, home address or company address...; see page 14, paragraphs 5-6 encryption algorithm to encrypt the secret information in the purchase request, the purchase request private information including but not limited to the user name corresponding to the purchase request, the mobile phone number, identity card number, account, home address or company address...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Nakamura-Shah-Sun and Zhang to provide the technique of information on a name of a requester of the request of Zhang in the system of Nakamura-Shah-Sun in order to reduce the danger of data from falsification, reduce the cost of the asset transaction confirmation, and reduce the maintenance cost of the block chain network (Zhang, see abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MENG VANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443