DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 1/6/2025. The instant application has claims 1-9 pending. The system, method and medium for using quantum repeaters for long distance for key distribution. There a total of 9 claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant amendments to claim 3 overcomes the objection.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Mao nor Yu disclose the KDF that is configured to collect keys and transform the collected quantum keys and provide the keys are an second key rate.
Mao discloses an deriving a key rate that is used for repeaters see §3.1.2 Deriving the secret key rate. And further the keys are derived with mixing or adding Bob and Alice keys see Fig. 4(a); and with Bob, Alice and Charlie see Fig. 4(b) & § 3.1.1 The procedure for TF-QKD Step 6. Thus, the collecting of quantum keys, transforming the keys and sending at an second rate is taught by Mao.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show as described in the specification, the element name needs to be inside the boxes, not as an legend as shown in newly filed drawings of 1/6/2026. That is, the boxes should have both the number and element name for ease of understanding. For example, box with 101 should have encryptor below the number.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings must an labeled with words illustrate the specific steps and elements that it represents consistent with specifications. See MPEP 37 CFR 1.83 citation below with underline for emphasis.
1.83 Content of drawing.
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
(b) When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
(c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Recent advances on quantum key distribution overcoming the linear secret key capacity bound to Mao in view of US Patent Pub 2023/0299952 to Yu.
Regarding claim1 1,8, Mao discloses A cryptographic unit for a terminal node of a quantum key distribution (QKD) system, the cryptographic unit comprising: a trusted node (TN) for providing quantum encryption keys at a first key rate(3.1.2 Deriving the secret key rate, Bob’s rate) ; a key derivation function (KDF) for collecting quantum encryption keys, transforming the collected quantum encryption keys, and providing the transformed quantum encryption keys at a second key rate(Fig. 1 b) Alice and Bob keys are combined for transmission to Charlie for
√
n
rate & 3.1 Twin-fled QKD & Fig. 2 Key-rate vs Distance & 3.3.2 TF-QKD with no phase post -selection & § 3.1.1 the procedure for TF-QKD & Fig. 4(a), mixing with keys from Alice and Bob & Fig. 4(b) with Bob, Alice and Charlie & § 3.1.1 The procedure for TF-QKD Step 6.).
Mao does not disclose a quantum repeater (QR) for providing the KDF with a quantum transformation key defining a transformation by the KDF at a third key rate lower than the first key rate.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Yu discloses a quantum repeater (QR) for providing the KDF with a quantum transformation key defining a transformation by the KDF at a third key rate lower than the first key rate(Abstract & Par. 0038 & Par. 0035-0037, the key rate is lower).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Mao invention to incorporate a quantum repeater (QR) for providing the KDF with a quantum transformation key defining a transformation by the KDF at a third key rate lower than the first key rate for the advantage of providing an shortest distance for key sharing network as taught in Yu see Par. 0038.
Regarding claim 2. the combined system of Mao and Yu, mutatis mutandis, Mao discloses The cryptographic unit according to claim 1, wherein the KDF comprises an advanced encryption standard (AES) function or a cryptographic hash function(I. Introduction, encryption being used)).
Regarding claim 3. Mao discloses The terminal node for the QKD system, comprising: an encryptor for configured to encrypt or decrypt digital payload data using a plurality of quantum encryption keys(Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, encoding module & 1. Introduction). ; and the cryptographic unit configure to provide transformed quantum encryption keys as the plurality of quantum encryption keys(Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, transformed keys);
wherein the cryptographic unit comprises:
a trusted node (TN) configured to provide quantum encryption keys at a first key; a key derivation function (KDF) configured to: collect quantum encryption keys(Fig. 4, keys from Alice, Bob and Charlie put into mixer),
transform the collected quantum encryption keys, and provide the
transformed quantum encryption keys at a second key rate(Fig. 1 b) Alice and Bob keys are combined for transmission to Charlie for
√
n
rate & 3.1 Twin-fled QKD & Fig. 2 Key-rate vs Distance & 3.3.2 TF-QKD with no phase post -selection & 3.1.1 the procedure for TF-QKD& mixer with keys from Alice and Bob & Fig. 4(a) & Fig. 4(b) with Bob, Alice and Charlie & § 3.1.1 The procedure for TF-QKD Step 6.).;
Mao does not disclose a quantum repeater (QR) for providing the KDF with a quantum transformation key defining a transformation by the KDF at a third key rate lower than the first key rate .
Yu discloses a quantum repeater (QR) configured to provide the KDF with a quantum
transformation key defining a transformation by the KDF at a third key
rate lower than the first key rate((Abstract & Par. 0038 & Par. 0035-0037, the key rate is lower).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Mao invention to incorporate a quantum repeater (QR) for providing the KDF with a quantum transformation key defining a transformation by the KDF at a third key rate lower than the first key rate for the advantage of providing an shortest distance for key sharing network as taught in Yu see Par. 0038.
Regarding claim 4. Mao discloses wherein the first terminal node comprises: the first terminal node(Fig. 4);
a first encryptor configured to encrypt or decrypt digital payload data using a
plurality of quantum encryption keys(abstract, the encrypt and decrypt); and
a first cryptographic unit configured to provide transformed quantum encryption
keys as the plurality of quantum encryption keys(Fig. 4 , keys from Alice, Bib and Charlie);
wherein the first cryptographic unit comprises:
a first trusted node (TN) configured to provide quantum encryption keys at a
first key rate(3.1.2 Deriving the secret key rate, Bob’s rate):
a first key derivation function (KDF) configured to: collect quantum encryption
keys, transform the collected quantum encryption keys, and provide the
transformed quantum encryption keys at a second key rate(Fig. 1 b) Alice and Bob keys are combined for transmission to Charlie for
√
n
rate & 3.1 Twin-fled QKD & Fig. 2 Key-rate vs Distance & 3.3.2 TF-QKD with no phase post -selection & 3.1.1 the procedure for TF-QKD& mixer with keys from Alice and Bob & Fig. 4(a) & Fig. 4(b) with Bob, Alice and Charlie & § 3.1.1 The procedure for TF-QKD Step 6.).;
Mao does not disclose a quantum repeater (QR) for providing the KDF with a quantum transformation key defining a transformation by the KDF at a third key rate lower than the first key rate and the second encryptor.
Yu discloses The QKD system, comprising:
a first quantum repeater (QR) configured to provide the first KDF with a
quantum transformation key defining a transformation by the first KDF
at a third key rate lower than the first key rate(((Abstract & Par. 0038 & Par. 0035-0037, the key rate is lower); and a second terminal node comprising a second encryptor and a second cryptographic unit, wherein the second cryptographic unit comprises a second TN, a second KDF, and a second QR(Fig. 7-9). ; wherein the terminal node and the second terminal node are connected to each other; wherein the encryptor and the second encryptor are connected for transmitting encrypted digital payload data(Fig. 7-9). ; wherein the TN and the second TN are connected for cooperatively providing quantum encryption keys; and wherein the QR and the second QR are connected for cooperatively providing quantum transformation keys(Fig. 7-9).
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Yu discloses a quantum repeater (QR) for providing the KDF with a quantum transformation key defining a transformation by the KDF at a third key rate lower than the first key rate and second encryptor for the advantage of providing an shortest distance for key sharing network as taught in Yu see Par. 0038.
Regarding claim 5. the combined system of Mao and Yu, mutatis mutandis, Mao discloses The QKD system according to claim 4, wherein the KDF and the second KDF are identical(3.1.1 the procedure for TF-QKD, Alice and Bob get same final key).
Regarding claim 6. the combined system of Mao and Yu, mutatis mutandis, Mao discloses The QKD system according to claim 4, further comprising: an intermediate node with a TN and/or a QR, wherein the TN of the intermediate node is connected to the TN of the terminal node, and/or wherein the QR of the intermediate node is connected to the QR of the terminal node(Fig. 1a)-c), the intermediate nodes).
Regarding claim 7. the combined system of Mao and Yu, mutatis mutandis, Mao discloses The QKD system according to claim 6, comprising a plurality of intermediate nodes(Fig. 1a)-c), the intermediate nodes).
Regarding claim 9. the combined method of Mao and Yu, mutatis mutandis, Mao discloses The method according to claim 8, wherein each quantum encryption key or quantum transformation key is provided as a chunk having 256 bits(3.3 Improving the protocol, the protocol calls for bit size).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov
1 The examiner notes that an possible interpretation of nodes as only software communicating with each other, i.e. one node’s software communicating with another node’s software, thus possible for 35 USC 101 rejection for being only software only. However, the examiner notes that nodes connected via glass fiber mentioned in Spec. Par. 022 moves this claims into an hardware interpretation, is the only reason no 35 USC 101 rejection was made. Furthermore, the program/software only implementation of the invention is absent in specifications.