DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 15-65 are pending in this amended application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 15-65 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 15, 32, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “a method to be performed by executing an application in an information processing apparatus having a Near Field Communication (NFC) interface and being capable of establishing communication with a printer by using an NFC method via the NFC interface, the method comprising: in a case where data not to satisfying a predetermined condition is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication, providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision pf the error, the printer by using another communication method that is different from the NFC method”.
The claim limitation of “in a case where data not to satisfying a predetermined condition is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication, providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision of the error, the printer by using another communication method that is different from the NFC method”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “by a processor” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by a processor”” language, “satisfying” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually not satisfying the predetermined condition received from the information processing apparatus. Similarly, the limitations of “providing” error without satisfying the printer by using other than NFC communication protocol i.e. different communication protocol operating in direct communication mode as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. For example, but for the “by a processor” language, “satisfying” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking that the information processing apparatus should be avoided n error using established NFC communication protocol. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim doesn’t recite any additional element – using a processor to perform both the satisfying and providing steps. The processor in last step is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic control unit performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this final claim limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claimed limitations of using a processor to perform both the satisfying & providing steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
The other (dependent) claims 16-31, 33-48, 50-65 are obviously claimed the same subject matter as found in the claims 15, 32, 49 and therefore would be rejected based on same rationale applied on claims 15, 32, 49.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
6. Claims 15-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent #s. 9292233 B2 (and 10136004 B2, 9996307 B2,10623592 B2, 11019229 B2, 11949822 B2).
It is clear that all the elements of the instant application independent claims 15, 32 and 49 are to be found in patent (U.S. Patent No. 9292233 B2) claims 1, 5, 9, 14, 19-20 as the application independent claims 15, 32 and 49 fully encompasses the patent claims 1, 5, 9, 14, 19-20. The difference between the instant application independent claims 15, 32 and 49 and the patent (U.S. Patent No. 9292233 B2) claims 1, 5, 9, 14, 19-20 lies in the fact that the patent (U.S. Patent No. 9292233 B2) claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1, 5, 9, 14, 19-20 of the patent (U.S. Patent No. 9292233 B2) is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application independent claims 15, 32 and 49. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application independent claims 15, 32 and 49 are anticipated by claims 1, 5, 9, 14, 19-20 of the patent (U.S. Patent No. 9292233 B2), it is not patentably distinct from claims 1, 5, 9, 14, 19-20 of the patent (U.S. Patent No. 9292233 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 15, 23-24, 29-32, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. [hereafter Jang], US Pub 2014/0355063 (cited in IDS).
As to claims 15, 32, 49 [independent], Jang teaches Jang teaches a method to be performed by executing an application [fig. 5, element 504; 0124] in an information processing apparatus [fig. 3, element 20] having a Near Field Communication (NFC) interface [figs. 3a-b & fig. 4, element 210; 0091-0092, 0101-0102] and being capable of establishing communication with a printer by using an NFC method via the NFC interface, the method comprising [figs. 3a-b & fig. 4, element 210; 0091-0092, 0101-0102]:
in a case where data not satisfying a predetermined condition is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10 and fig. 14a, element 1051a; 0102-0104, 0153-0155, 0165-0167, 0174-0175 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103). Then the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier which was acquired as the first data. However, if the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 is not established due to any reasons including the device(printer) identifier error, then the mobile device displays an error and demands from the user of the mobile device 20 to enter NFC PIN (see para., 0175 & fig. 14a, element 1051a) to establish the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10], providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision pf the error, the printer by using another communication method that is different from the NFC method [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10 and fig. 14a, element 1051a; 0102-0104, 0153-0155, 0165-0167, 0174-0176 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103). Then the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier which was acquired as the first data. However, if the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 is not established due to any reasons including the device(printer) identifier error, then the mobile device displays an error and demands from the user of the mobile device 20 to enter NFC PIN (see para., 0175 & fig. 14a, element 1051a) to establish the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10].
As to claims 23, 40, 57 [dependent from claims 15, 32, 49 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the error is provided on a panel of the information processing apparatus, and wherein the panel is able to receive touch operations from a user of the information processing apparatus [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10 and fig. 14a, element 1051a; 0102-0104, 0153-0155, 0165-0167, 0174-0175 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier which was acquired as the first data. However, if the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 is not established due to any reasons including the device(printer) identifier error, then the mobile device displays an error and demand from the user of the mobile device 20 to enter NFC PIN (see para., 0175 & fig. 14a, element 1051a) to establish the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10].
As to claims 24, 41, 58 [dependent from claims 15, 32, 49 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the data is received from the printer by reading data stored in an NFC tag of the printer via the NFC interface [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10; 0102-0104, 0153-0155 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus reads/acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103)].
As to claims 29, 46, 63 [dependent from claims 15, 32, 49 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the predetermined condition is satisfied in a case where data received by the information processing apparatus is proper [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10 and fig. 14a, element 1051a; 0102-0104, 0153-0155, 0165-0167, 0174-0175 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103). Then the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier which was acquired as the first data. However, if the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 is not established due to any reasons including the device(printer) identifier error, then the mobile device displays an error and demand from the user of the mobile device 20 to enter NFC PIN (see para., 0175 & fig. 14a, element 1051a) to establish the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10].
As to claims 30, 47, 64 [dependent from claims 15, 32, 49 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the predetermined condition is satisfied in a case where a format of data received by the information processing apparatus is a predetermined format [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10 and fig. 14a, element 1051a; 0102-0104, 0153-0155, 0165-0167, 0174-0175 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103). Then the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier which was acquired as the first data. However, if the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 is not established due to any reasons including the device(printer) identifier error, then the mobile device 20 displays an error and demand from the user of the mobile device 20 to enter NFC PIN (see para., 0175 & fig. 14a, element 1051a) to establish the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10].
As to claims 31, 48, 65 [dependent from claims 15, 32, 49 respectively], Jang teaches wherein communication by using the another communication method that is different from the NFC method is not established in a case where the error about the data is provided [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10 and fig. 14a, element 1051a; 0102-0104, 0153-0155, 0165-0167, 0174-0175 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103). Then the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier which was acquired as the first data. However, if the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 is not established due to any reasons including the device(printer) identifier error, then the mobile device 20 doesn’t establish connection/communication with the printer 10 through the second communication].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 16-17, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. [hereafter Jang], US Pub 2014/0355063 (cited in IDS) in view of Kim et al. [hereafter Kim], US Pub 2014/0168687.
As to claims 16, 33, 50 [dependent from claims 15, 32, 49 respectively], Jang doesn’t teach in a case where another data, which satisfies the predetermined condition, is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication, specifying and communicating, by using the another communication method, with the printer identified by the another data.
Kim teaches in a case where another data, which satisfies the predetermined condition, is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication, specifying and communicating, by using the another communication method, with the printer identified by the another data [0138 Kim teaches that when the user is determined that the mobile device 20 is an authenticated device through NFC communication, the controlling unit 610 activates the wireless communication module 6401 in order to receive contents such as pictures, schedules or documents from the user device 20. The wireless communication module 6401 corresponds to a module which is able to communicate in a wireless manner by, for example, Wi-Fi Direct or Bluetooth communication].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KIm teaching to acquire another data, which is determined to satisfy the predetermined condition, is received by the mobile device using the established communication, specifying and communicating, by using the another communication method to modify Jang’s teaching to determine whether a tagged user’s mobile device is an authenticated device with regard to image forming operations of the printer based on received identification information, and controls execution of one of the operations when requested by the tagged user device and the tagged user device is determined as the authenticated device with regard to the requested image operation. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to have printer that utilizes for the image forming function to support the NFC function to the NFC devices whose authentication is completed such that misuse of the printer by unauthenticated NFC devices can be prevented in an easy manner.
As to claims 17, 34, 51 [dependent from claims 16, 33, 50 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the another data which satisfies the predetermined condition includes an address identifying the printer [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10; 0102-0104, 0153-0155 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103)].
As to claims 18, 35, 52 [dependent from claims 17, 34, 51 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the address identifying the printer is an Internet Protocol address of the printer [0112-0113, 0173-0174].
As to claims 19, 36, 53 [dependent from claims 16, 33, 50 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the another data which satisfies the predetermined condition includes an address identifying the printer and connection information for connecting to an access point [fig. 3c, element “access point”; 0031-0033, 0099 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier via the access point using the acquired the IP address of the printer 10 connected to the access point].
As to claims 20, 37, 54 [dependent from claims 19, 37, 53 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the communication by using the another communication method that is different from the NFC method is performed by processing that includes (1) a connection between the access point and the information processing apparatus that is established based on the connection information and (2) communication with the printer that is performed by using said another communication method via the connected access point [fig. 3c, element “access point”; 0031-0033, 0099 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier via the access point using the acquired the IP address of the printer 10 connected to the access point].
As to claims 21, 38, 55 [dependent from claims 19, 36, 53 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the another communication method is a wireless communication capable of communicating with the access point [fig. 3c, element “access point”; 0031-0033, 0099 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier via the access point using the acquired the IP address of the printer 10 connected to the access point].
As to claims 22, 39, 56 [dependent from claims 21, 38, 55 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the wireless communication connects to a Local Area Network (LAN) [fig. 3c; 0110].
As to claims 25, 42, 59 [dependent from claims 16, 33, 50 respectively], Jang teaches wherein the another data is received from the printer by reading data stored in an NFC tag of the printer via the NFC interface [figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10; 0102-0104, 0153-0155 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus reads/acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103)].
As to claims 26, 43, 60 [dependent from claims 16, 33, 50 respectively], Jang teaches issuing a scan instruction to the specified printer having a scanner by the communication using the another communication method, and receiving scan data from the printer by the communication using the another communication method [fig. 16b; 0203 Jang teaches that the printer 10 scans the document and transmits the scanned document back to the mobile device 20 according to the scan instructions received from the mobile device 20].
As to claims 27, 44, 61 [dependent from claims 16, 33, 50 respectively], Jang teaches sending print data to the printer by the communication using the another communication method [fig. 9; 0150-0151 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 sends print data to the printer 10 through another NFC communication protocol].
As to claims 28, 45, 62 [dependent from claims 16, 33, 50 respectively], Jang teaches determining whether or not the another data which is received by using the established communication satisfies the predetermined condition before the communication is performed by using the another communication method [fig. 9; 0150-0151 Jang teaches that the mobile device 20 sends print data to the printer 10 through another NFC communication protocol].
Kim also teaches determining whether or not the another data which is received by using the established communication satisfies the predetermined condition before the communication is performed by using the another communication method [0138 Kim teaches that when the user is determined that the mobile device 20 is an authenticated device through NFC communication, the controlling unit 610 activates the wireless communication module 6401 in order to receive contents such as pictures, schedules or documents from the user device 20. The wireless communication module 6401 corresponds to a module which is able to communicate in a wireless manner by, for example, Wi-Fi Direct or Bluetooth communication].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KIm teaching to acquire another data, which is determined to satisfy the predetermined condition, is received by the mobile device using the established communication, specifying and communicating, by using the another communication method to modify Jang’s teaching to determine whether a tagged user’s mobile device is an authenticated device with regard to image forming operations of the printer based on received identification information, and controls execution of one of the operations when requested by the tagged user device and the tagged user device is determined as the authenticated device with regard to the requested image operation. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to have printer that utilizes for the image forming function to support the NFC function to the NFC devices whose authentication is completed such that misuse of the printer by unauthenticated NFC devices can be prevented in an easy manner.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 15-65 have been considered but are not persuasive, because
On pages 1-3 of the REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, applicant argued that the applied art Jang et al. (US Pub 2014/0355063) failed to disclose or suggest the claim limitations of claims 15, 32, 49 recited “in a case where data not to satisfying a predetermined condition is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication, providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision pf the error, the printer by using another communication method that is different from the NFC method” either alone nor in combination. Further, applicant also, related to the non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting, explained that the independent claims 15, 32, 49 are amended such that the amended independent claims of the instant application prior patents (Patent #s. 9292233 B2, 10136004 B2, 9996307 B2,10623592 B2, 11019229 B2, 11949822 B2) do not disclose or suggest at least the feature of independent Claims 15, 32, 49 of providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision of the error, the printer by using another communication method that is different from the NFC method.
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner would respectfully disagree with the applicant’s argument, because first of all the examiner is not bound to import specification definition or information on to the claimed invention. The examiner view or review the specification to understand the claimed invention and are bound to give broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) to the claim(s) in view of the specification and over the applied prior arts. The claim limitations recited “in a case where data not to satisfying a predetermined condition is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication, providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision pf the error, the printer by using another communication method that is different from the NFC method”, interpreted by Examiner that the in a case received data (i.e. doesn’t satisfy a predetermined condition) that was received by the information processing apparatus provide an error. The instant application prior patents (Patent #s. 9292233 B2, 10136004 B2, 9996307 B2,10623592 B2, 11019229 B2, 11949822 B2) do disclose or suggest at least the feature of independent Claims 15, 32, 49 by establishing the NFC and other wireless communication protocols to establish wireless connection with printer obtaining or exchanging identification information with each other and based on a type of screen being displayed by the display unit obviously displaying an error.
Applicant further on pages 1-3, explained that applied prior art does not teach above claimed limitations, provided reasons that how and why applied art is not suggesting the above claim limitations. Particularly the applied prior art Jang et al. (US Pub 2014/0355063) doesn’t cover the claimed limitations recited, in a case where data not satisfying a predetermined condition is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication, providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision of the error, the printer by using another communication method that is different from the NFC method. The applied prior Jang et al., covers only the details provided in the pages 1-3 of the REMARKS, as explained by the applicant’s representative, but lacks the claimed limitations recited, providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision of the error.
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner would respectfully disagree with the applicant’s argument, because first of all the examiner is not bound to import specification definition or information on to the claimed invention. The examiner view or review the specification to understand the claimed invention and are bound to give broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) to the claim(s) in view of the specification and over the applied prior arts. The claim limitations recited “in a case where data not to satisfying a predetermined condition is received by the information processing apparatus using the established communication, providing an error without specifying, from reception of the data to provision of the error, the printer by using another communication method that is different from the NFC method”, interpreted by Examiner that in a case received data (i.e. doesn’t satisfy a predetermined condition) that was received by the information processing apparatus provide an error using the established communication. However, the claimed limitations isn’t clear to the Examiner what is the condition, related to the received data, that isn’t satisfied and error is generated & how it would be interpret over the claimed limitations and what is the exact relation to the predetermined condition in the claimed limitation. Thus, the claim language of the claim limitations needs to be further clarified such that the it does not render the scope of the claim indefinite and provides the exact function of the claim limitations. The claimed limitations of the independent claims establishing wireless communications with the printer using NFC and other wireless protocol and receiving or exchanges data with each other in a case that received or exchanged data, received by the information processing apparatus provides an error, when the predetermined condition isn’t satisfied.
However, the applied prior art Jang et al. (US Pub 2014/0355063) reasonably suggesting at least in at least figs. 4-5, elements 30, 504, 2501 & figs. 8, 10 and fig. 14a, element 1051a & paras., 0102-0104, 0153-0155, 0165-0167, 0174-0176 that the mobile device 20 corresponding to the information processing apparatus acquires the data corresponding to the at least one of a first field including an application identifier, a second field including application installation information, a third field including a device identifier, a fourth field including a wireless connection authentication code, and a fifth field including a device model name (see fig. 8 & para., 0103). Then the mobile device 20 establishes the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 using the device(printer) identifier which was acquired as the first data. However, if the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10 is not established due to any reasons including the device(printer) identifier error, then the mobile device displays an error and demands from the user of the mobile device 20 to enter NFC PIN (see para., 0175 & fig. 14a, element 1051a) to establish the wireless communication/connection with the printer 10.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682