Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, the phrase each processing station comprising” should be changed to “each of the plurality of processing stations comprising”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbitt (US20150082849A1) in view of Bagheri (US6623230B1).
Regarding claim 1, Babbitt discloses a processing station for use in a die necking machine (abstract, paragraphs 0035-0050 and fig.2), the processing station comprising:
a frame (fig.8: (202));
a forming cam arrangement (fig.8: (43)) fixedly coupled to the frame;
a knockout cam arrangement (figs.8 and 11: (23)) fixedly coupled to the frame; and
a process turret (fig.8: (200)) rotatably coupled to the frame (paragraphs 0054-0065), the process turret comprising:
a forming cam follower (fig.12: (44)) operatively coupled to the forming cam arrangement (fig.8: (43)) (paragraphs 0043); and
a knockout cam follower (fig.20: (24)) operatively coupled to the knockout cam arrangement (figs.8 and 11: (23)) (paragraphs 0053),
wherein one or both of the forming cam arrangement and/or the knockout cam arrangement comprises:
a cam body having a cam surface defining a cam profile (fig.8: the cam (43) having a cam surface defining a cam profile), the cam surface configured to be engaged by a cam follower (fig.20: (44)) of one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower (paragraphs 0043 and 0045); and
Babbitt does not disclose a sensing arrangement structured to determine a force applied to a portion of the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower.
Bagheri teaches a processing station (abstract), comprising:
a sensing arrangement (fig.5: (R1-R4)) structured to determine a force applied to a portion of a cam surface of a cam body (fig.5: (46)) by a cam follower (fig.5: (74)) (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Both of the prior arts of Babbitt and Bagheri are related to a processing station having cams;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing station of Babbitt to have the configuration of a sensing arrangement structured to determine a force applied to a portion of a cam surface by a cam follower as taught by Bagheri in order to detect the defective product (Bagheri: col.4 lines 1-3). Thereby having a sensing arrangement structured to determine a force applied to a portion of the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower.
Regarding claim 2, Babbitt discloses wherein: the portion of the cam surface bounds a portion of the cam body that is sized and configured to deform in a predetermined manner responsive to one or more forces applied to the portion of the cam surface via the one of the cam follower (the force applied to cam surafce); and
Bagheri teaches the sensing arrangement is structured to monitor deformation of the portion of the cam body (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Babbitt does not disclose wherein the cam body comprises a pocket defined therein, and wherein the portion of the cam body is disposed between the pocket and the portion of the cam surface.
Bagheri teaches wherein the cam body comprises a pocket (fig.5: (64) and (66) and cam surface) defined therein, and wherein the portion of the cam body is disposed between the pocket and the portion of the cam surface (fig.5: the cam body that disposed between elements (64) and (66) and cam surface) (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing station of Babbitt to have wherein the cam body comprises a pocket defined therein, and wherein the portion of the cam body is disposed between the pocket and the portion of the cam surface as taught by Bagheri in order to detect the defective product (Bagheri: col.4 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Bagheri teaches wherein the sensing arrangement comprises a sensor (fig.5: (R1-R4)) disposed at least partially within the pocket (fig.5: (64) and (66)).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Bagheri teaches wherein the sensor comprises a strain gauge (fig.5: (R1-R4)) coupled to the portion of the cam body or a pressure sensor engaged with the portion of the cam body (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Bagheri teaches wherein the sensing arrangement comprises a controller in communication with the sensor (fig.1: (30)) (col.9 last 13 lines-col.10 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Bagheri teaches wherein the controller is structured to determine the force exerted by the cam follower from the deformation (fig.1: (30)) (col.9 last 13 lines-col.10 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Babbitt discloses wherein each of the forming cam arrangement and the knockout cam arrangement comprises:
the cam body having the cam surface defining the cam profile (the cam surfaces of cams (43) and (23)); and
Bagheri teaches the sensing arrangement structured to determine the force applied to the portion of the cam surface (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Babbitt discloses the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower;
Bagheri teaches wherein the sensing arrangement is structured to determine forces applied to a plurality of portions of the cam surface by the cam follower (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Babbitt discloses a die necking machine for use in forming can bodies, the die necking machine comprising a plurality of processing stations (abstract, paragraphs 0035-0050 and fig.2), each processing station comprising:
a frame (fig.8: (202));
a forming cam arrangement (fig.8: (43)) fixedly coupled to the frame;
a knockout cam arrangement (figs.8 and 11: (23)) fixedly coupled to the frame; and
a process turret (fig.8: (200)) rotatably coupled to the frame (paragraphs 0054-0065), the process turret comprising:
a forming cam follower (fig.12: (44)) operatively coupled to the forming cam arrangement (fig.8: (43)) (paragraphs 0043); and
a knockout cam follower (fig.20: (24)) operatively coupled to the knockout cam arrangement (figs.8 and 11: (23)) (paragraphs 0053),
wherein one or both of the forming cam arrangement and/or the knockout cam arrangement comprises:
a cam body having a cam surface defining a cam profile (fig.8: the cam (43) having a cam surface defining a cam profile), the cam surface configured to be engaged by a cam follower (fig.20: (44)) of one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower (paragraphs 0043 and 0045); and
Babbitt does not disclose a sensing arrangement structured to determine a force applied to a portion of the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower.
Bagheri teaches a processing station (abstract), comprising:
a sensing arrangement (fig.5: (R1-R4)) structured to determine a force applied to a portion of a cam surface of a cam body (fig.5: (46)) by a cam follower (fig.5: (74)) (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Both of the prior arts of Babbitt and Bagheri are related to a processing station having cams;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing station of Babbitt to have the configuration of a sensing arrangement structured to determine a force applied to a portion of a cam surface by a cam follower as taught by Bagheri in order to detect the defective product (Bagheri: col.4 lines 1-3). Thereby having a sensing arrangement structured to determine a force applied to a portion of the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower.
Regarding claim 11, Babbitt discloses wherein: the portion of the cam surface bounds a portion of the cam body that is sized and configured to deform in a predetermined manner responsive to one or more forces applied to the portion of the cam surface via the one of the cam follower (the force applied to cam surafce); and
Bagheri teaches the sensing arrangement is structured to monitor deformation of the portion of the cam body (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Babbitt does not disclose wherein the cam body comprises a pocket defined therein, and wherein the portion of the cam body is disposed between the pocket and the portion of the cam surface.
Bagheri teaches wherein the cam body comprises a pocket (fig.5: (64) and (66) and cam surface) defined therein, and wherein the portion of the cam body is disposed between the pocket and the portion of the cam surface (fig.5: the cam body that disposed between elements (64) and (66) and cam surface) (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing station of Babbitt to have wherein the cam body comprises a pocket defined therein, and wherein the portion of the cam body is disposed between the pocket and the portion of the cam surface as taught by Bagheri in order to detect the defective product (Bagheri: col.4 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Bagheri teaches wherein the sensing arrangement comprises a sensor (fig.5: (R1-R4)) disposed at least partially within the pocket (fig.5: (64) and (66)).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Bagheri teaches wherein the sensor comprises a strain gauge (fig.5: (R1-R4)) coupled to the portion of the cam body or a pressure sensor engaged with the portion of the cam body (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Bagheri teaches wherein the sensing arrangement comprises a controller in communication with the sensor (fig.1: (30)) (col.9 last 13 lines-col.10 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Bagheri teaches wherein the controller is structured to determine the force exerted by the cam follower from the deformation (fig.1: (30)) (col.9 last 13 lines-col.10 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Babbitt discloses wherein each of the forming cam arrangement and the knockout cam arrangement comprises:
the cam body having the cam surface defining the cam profile (the cam surfaces of cams (43) and (23)); and
Bagheri teaches the sensing arrangement structured to determine the force applied to the portion of the cam surface (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Babbitt discloses the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower;
Bagheri teaches wherein the sensing arrangement is structured to determine forces applied to a plurality of portions of the cam surface by the cam follower (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 18.
19. A method for determining a condition requiring service in a processing station of a die necking machine, the processing station having a frame; a forming cam arrangement fixedly coupled to the frame; a knockout cam arrangement fixedly coupled to the frame; and a process turret rotatably coupled to the frame, the process turret having: a forming cam follower operatively coupled to the forming cam arrangement; and a knockout cam follower operatively coupled to the knockout cam arrangement, wherein one or both of the forming cam arrangement and/or the knockout cam arrangement includes: a cam body having a cam surface defining a cam profile, the cam surface configured to be engaged by a cam follower of one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower; the method comprising: monitoring force applied to at least a portion of the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower during operation of the die necking machine; determining that the force applied to the portion of the cam surface has varied more than a predetermined amount from a predetermined value; and performing an action responsive to determining that the force has varied more than the predetermined amount.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein performing the action comprises stopping operation of the die necking machine.
Regarding claim 19, Babbitt discloses a method for determining a condition requiring service in a processing station of a die necking machine (abstract, paragraphs 0035-0050 and fig.2), the processing station having
a frame (fig.8: (202));
a forming cam arrangement (fig.8: (43)) fixedly coupled to the frame;
a knockout cam arrangement (figs.8 and 11: (23)) fixedly coupled to the frame; and
a process turret (fig.8: (200)) rotatably coupled to the frame (paragraphs 0054-0065), the process turret having:
a forming cam follower (fig.12: (44)) operatively coupled to the forming cam arrangement (fig.8: (43)) (paragraphs 0043); and
a knockout cam follower (fig.20: (24)) operatively coupled to the knockout cam arrangement (figs.8 and 11: (23)) (paragraphs 0053),
wherein one or both of the forming cam arrangement and/or the knockout cam arrangement includes:
a cam body having a cam surface defining a cam profile (fig.8: the cam (43) having a cam surface defining a cam profile), the cam surface configured to be engaged by a cam follower (fig.20: (44)) of one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower (paragraphs 0043 and 0045);
Babbitt does not disclose the method comprising: monitoring force applied to at least a portion of the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower during operation of the die necking machine; determining that the force applied to the portion of the cam surface has varied more than a predetermined amount from a predetermined value; and performing an action responsive to determining that the force has varied more than the predetermined amount.
Bagheri teaches a method for determining a condition requiring service in a processing station (asbtarct), the method comprising:
monitoring force (fig.5: (R1-R4)) applied to at least a portion of a cam surface by a cam follower during operation of the die necking machine (col.8 last 12 lines-col.9 line 32);
determining that the force applied to the portion of the cam surface has varied more than a predetermined amount from a predetermined value (col.9 last 13 lines-col.10 line 32); and
performing an action responsive to determining that the force has varied more than the predetermined amount (col.18 lines 40-44: stop the forming operation).
Both of the prior arts of Babbitt and Bagheri are related to a method for determining a condition requiring service in a processing station, the processing station having cams;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method the steps of of Babbitt to have monitoring force applied to at least a portion of a cam surface by a cam follower during operation of the die necking machine; determining that the force applied to the portion of the cam surface has varied more than a predetermined amount from a predetermined value; and performing an action responsive to determining that the force has varied more than the predetermined amount as taught by Bagheri in order to detect the defective product (Bagheri: col.4 lines 1-3). Thereby having the method comprising: monitoring force applied to at least a portion of the cam surface by the cam follower of the one of the forming cam follower or the knockout cam follower during operation of the die necking machine; determining that the force applied to the portion of the cam surface has varied more than a predetermined amount from a predetermined value; and performing an action responsive to determining that the force has varied more than the predetermined amount.
Regarding claim 20, Bagheri teaches wherein performing the action comprises stopping operation of the die necking machine (col.18 lines 40-44: stop the forming operation).
Therefore, the modification of Babbitt in view of Bagheri teaches the limitations of claim 20.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725