Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The combination of references cited meets the amendments to the claims submitted in the response of 1/2/2026. Examiner notes that the instantly recited imaging window region, while implying a difference from the rest of the catheter, is disclosed in the spec as being up to the entire length of the device (0047-0050). Examiner notes that while this allows for the instant rejection, elements of the spec, specifying the imaging window, length, composition, and overlap/implementation of elements at joints appears to differ from the art of record (though it is not currently claimed). Should Applicant wish to discuss this, Examiner is welcome to an interview to review specifics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stigall et al (US 2014/0180122) in view of Gregorich (US 2014/0276109).
With respect to claims 1-5, 8, and 13-15, and 20, Stigall et al discloses and teaches an IVUS (0057, Claims 18-19)/intravascular imaging device (With OCT, 0057) including a catheter shaft with telescoping assembly and catheter body (Fig 1-4, 0052-0057), the catheter body includes a hypotube section (Fig 3-4), an imaging window (Fig 3), and distal end with guidewire lumen (Fig 1-4). The hypotube region includes “slots” therein, and the IVUS includes a translatable ultrasonic imaging element (Fig 3)) within the catheter (Fig 3-4). Finally, the proximal portion of the hypotube region of Stigall et al is free from slots (Fig 2, and a portion of the hypotube includes slots). Finally, the device includes a polymer jacket over the proximal end of the imaging window and the distal end of the abutting hypotube region (0065-0073, Fig 7, 8, 16-18,). Stigall et al fails to disclose or teach multiple groups of “slots” at multiple locations along the hypo tube.
Attention is hereby directed to the teaching reference to Gregorich (US 2014/0276109) which discloses and teaches intravascular hypotube device a catheter shaft with telescoping assembly and catheter body (0028-0029, Fig 5), the catheter body includes a hypotube section (Fig 5, 348), proximal section (Fig 5), and distal end with guidewire lumen (Fig 5, 312). The hypotube region includes “slots” therein, specifically such that multiple arrangements are possible to customize the flexibility of the tube (Fig 2, 3, 5, 0030, 0033-0034, 0037, 0040). Finally, the proximal portion of the hypotube region of Gregorich et al is free from slots (Fig 5, 0045-0046, and a portion of the hypotube includes slots, 318). Gregorich includes disclosure for multiple possibilities for imaging implementation (0062-0063) and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the teachings of Gregorich for hypotube slots to improve flexibility in the system of Stigall et al for the purpose of enabling varying thickness of walls (for the aforementioned flexibility, abs, 0045, Gregorich).
Regarding claims 9-12 and 16-19, Stigall et al discloses what is listed above, and additionally discloses the distal portion of the hypotube including the slots (Fig 3-5, 10-11), the slots are formed in a helical pattern, and lie within a plane normal to the longitudinal axis (0054, 0045-0046, Fig 5, Fig 11 (Helical or spiral pattern)). Finally, the proximal region of the imaging window region is disposed along an outer or inner surface of the hypotube region (Fig 5, 0045-0050, can be either, 0055 for variable stiffness/transmissiveness) and the device includes a polymer jacket over the proximal end of the imaging window and the distal end of the hypotube region (0065-0073, Fig 7, 8, 16-18, with 0069 for spiral cut).
With respect to claims 6-7, Stigall et al discloses and teaches the system of claim 1, and further that the slots are along a particular portion of the hypotube region (and not others, see above, Fig 2-4), but does not specify the distance-based length over which the hypotube slots cover from proximal/distal (in cm). Nevertheless, Stigall et al specifically does teach the slots being disposed along sections and not other sections of the hypotube region (as desired to the variable stiffness). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to set the section of the hypotube which includes the slots to be whichever length of the hypotube is desired for the given modular stiffness (variable stiffness) desired as a result (See Stigall, 0005-0011, fig 5-15, including midsection assemblies and hypotube specifics (Fig 5, 8a-b, 9)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798