DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the band positioned around the internal coil as recited in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are also objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: locking member 115 as recited in para. [0030] of Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akeel et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0339078, Nov. 4, 2021) (herein “Akeel”)
Regarding claim 1, as broadly interpreted, Akeel teaches a portable exercise device comprising: a frame comprised of a seat (i.e., plate 28) and a track (i.e., track underneath plate 28 that couples to a hinge connector 34 or hinge 30, see paras. [0075]-[0076],[0079], and Figs. 2 and 5); and a pulley housing 26 captured within the track (via module hinge connector 34, see para. [0079], and Fig. 5), the pulley housing 26 comprised of a coil 46 (see Fig. 5 below and para. [0079]-[0081]), a band 16 (see Fig. 5 below), and a resistance control 24 (see Fig. 5 below and para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 2, Akeel teaches wherein the frame is comprised of a telescopic horizontal frame member (i.e., as shown in Fig. 3 above, where the frame 28 is extendable/foldable/telescopic).
Regarding claim 5, Akeel teaches wherein the band 16 is positioned around the internal coil 64 (see Fig. 5 above, the band being adjacent and around the internal coil).
Regarding claim 6, Akeel teaches wherein the band 16 is comprised of a handle 14 (see Figs. 1, 3, and 5 above, and para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, Akeel teaches wherein the internal coil 46 applies tension to the band 16 (see para. [0079]).
Regarding claim 8, Akeel teaches wherein the amount of tension the internal coil 16 applies to the band can be adjusted by the resistance control 24 (see para. [0079]).
Regarding claim 9, Akeel teaches a portable exercise device comprising: a frame comprised of a vertical member (i.e., hinge 30 that is vertical relative to a horizontal plane, see Figs. 1 and 2 above), a horizontal frame member 28 comprised of a track (i.e., track underneath plate 28 that couples to a hinge connector 34 or hinge 30, see paras. [0075]-[0076],[0079], and Figs. 2 and 5), a seat (i.e., surface of horizontal frame member 28 for placement of a user’s feet or body, see paras. [0062], [0074]); and a pulley housing 11 captured within the track, the pulley housing 11 comprised of a coil 46, a band 16, and a resistance control 24 (see Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 10, Akeel teaches wherein the band 16 is comprised of a handle 14(see Figs. 1,3, and 5 above).
Regarding claim 11, Akeel teaches wherein the handle 14 is comprised of a grip (see para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 12, Akeel teaches wherein the internal coil 46 applies tension to the band 16 (see para. [0079]).
Regarding claim 13, Akeel teaches wherein the amount of tension the internal coil 46 applies to the band can be adjusted by the resistance control 24 (see para. [0079]).
Regarding claim 14, Akeel teaches further comprised of a fastener 18,20,22 (see Fig. 1 above, see para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 17, Akeel teaches a method of using a portable exercise device, the method comprising the following: providing a portable exercise device 10 comprised of a frame comprised of a seat 28, a pulley housing 11 attached to the frame 28; a coil 46 (see para. [0079]), a resistance control 24; and a band 16; placing the portable exercise device 10 on a surface and sitting or standing on the seat (see para. [0062]); adjusting a position of the pulley housing 11 on the frame 28; set a resistance level of the band 16 via the resistance control 24; and grasp the band (i.e., via the handle 14) and perform an exercise.
Regarding claim 18, Akeel teaches wherein the exercise is comprised of a wrist curl, a reverse wrist curl, a bicep curl (see para. [0082]), a hammer curl, an overhead triceps extension, a shoulder press, a lateral raise, a front raise, a chest press, a chest fly, a squat, or a calf raise.
Regarding claim 19, Akeel teaches wherein the portable exercise device is comprised of a fastener 18,20,22 (see Fig. 1 above, and para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 20, Akeel teaches further comprised a step of attaching the fastener 18,20,22 to a surface (see para. [0074], such as against a back of a chair).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akeel, as applied to claim 1 above in view of Joslin (US Pat. No. 8,734,308, May 27, 2014).
Akeel teaches the invention as substantially claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Akeel is silent in explicitly teaching wherein the telescopic horizontal frame member (i.e., as shown in Fig. 3 above, where the frame 28 is extendable/foldable/telescopic) is comprised of a locking member.
Joslin, however, in an analogous art teaches an extendable/foldable/telescopic horizontal frame member (i.e., extendable about hinge 50, see Fig. 12 below) having a locking member 30,70,80 (see Fig. 7 below) to lock the horizontal frame member in an extended position (see Joslin, col. 4, lines 55-61)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akeel such that the telescopic horizontal frame member (i.e., as shown in Akeel, Fig. 3 above, where the frame 28 is extendable/foldable/telescopic) is comprised of a locking member 30,70,80 as taught by Joslin in order to lock the horizontal frame member in an extended position (see Joslin, col. 4, lines 55-61)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akeel, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wyatt et al. (US Pat. No. 9,649,522, May 16, 2017) (herein “Wyatt”).
Akeel teaches the invention as substantially claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Akeel is silent in explicitly teaching wherein the seat 28 is comprised of a padded seat.
Wyatt, however, in an analogous art of exercise devices teaches a frame configured to be attached to resistance bands having a padded seat 1 (see Wyatt, col. 3, lines 13-21, and Figs. 1 and 2 below) to reduce impact on the user while sitting, kneeling or standing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akeel such that the seat 28 is a padded seat as taught by Wyatt in order to reduce impact on the user while sitting, kneeling or standing (see Wyatt, col. 3, lines 13-21).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akeel, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Melendez (US Pat. No. 11,135,465, Oct. 5, 2021)
Akeel teaches the invention as substantially claimed.
Regarding claim 15, Akeel is silent in explicitly teaching wherein the fastener 18,20,22 is comprised of a hook and loop strap.
Melendez, however, in an analogous art of exercise devices attachable to a chair teaches a strap 242,244 comprised of a hook and loop strap (see col. 4, lines 4-16, and Figs. 2 and 7 below)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akeel such that the fastener 18,20,22 is comprised of a hook and loop strap as taught by Melendez as a alternative securing means for attaching the exercise device to a chair.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akeel, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lujan (US Pat. No. 10,493,314, Dec. 3, 2019)
Akeel teaches the invention as substantially claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Akeel is silent in explicitly teaching wherein the fastener 18,20,22 is comprised of an elastic strap.
Lujan, however, in an analogous art of exercise devices attachable to a chair teaches fastener 116 comprised of an elastic strap to fit over a chair to tightly enclose around the chair (see col. 11, lines 40-47, and Figs. 2-3 below)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akeel such that the fastener 18,20,22 is comprised of an elastic strap 116 as taught by Lujan in order to fit over a chair to tightly enclose around an object the exercise device is to be secured.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784