DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants amendments and arguments and affidavit filed 3/2/26 are acknowledged. Any objection or rejection from the 7/2/25 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments.
Previously, Group 2 and the species of SEQ ID NO:18 and ALS were elected.
Claims 1-5 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/24.
The claim to the elected species is rejected as set forth below. Any relevant art that was uncovered during the search for the elected species is cited herein in order to advance prosecution.
Claims 7-11 have been canceled.
Claims 6 is being examined.
Priority
The priority information is provided in the filing receipt dated 3/5/24.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/3/26, 5/28/26, 5/6/26, 4/28/26, 3/10/26, 12/18/25 and 9/30/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 was previously rejected based on the references cited below. Since the claim has been amended the rejection is updated to correspond to the instant claim.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ovadia et al. (US 2016/0033529; ‘Ovadia’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Herkel et al. (WO 2006/021954 as cited with IDS 3/3/24; ‘Herkel’).
Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
Ovadia does not specifically recite one of the amino acid sequences recited in instant claim 6.
Herkel teach peptides for treating degenerative disease (abstract and claim 45) specifically amyloid lateral sclerosis (pages 20-21 connecting paragraph). Herkel teach a peptide identified as stressin-1 (SEQ ID NO:1) of sequence LPPLPYP (page 7 line 1). Herkel teach beneficial properties of SEQ ID NO:1 (examples 2-8). Herkel teach peptides with anti-apoptotic activity (claim 1). Herkel teach a fragment of SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 12). Herkel teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16). Herkel expressly refers to peptides having deletions (page 18 first complete paragraph). Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Ovadia because Herkel teach the same LPPLPYP peptide and also teach for treating amyloid lateral sclerosis. Since Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having deletions (page 18 first paragraph) one would have been motivated to delete a residue from each terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 resulting in PPLPY for example. Since both references teach for amyloid lateral sclerosis one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092). Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having deletions (page 18 first paragraph).
In relation to the subject of claim 6, Ovadia teach for treating ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of a peptide to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202).
In relation to the peptide of claim 6, PPLPY as discussed above is instant SEQ ID NO:3.
Response to Arguments - 103
Applicant's arguments and affidavit filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although applicants argue that that the claim has been amended, the amended claim is addressed above.
Although applicants argue via the remarks and affidavit about unexpectedly superior results, MPEP 716.02(b) states that the burden is on the applicant to establish that the results are in fact unexpected and of both statistical and practical significance.
The affidavit refers to peptides colored in yellow in the graphs. However, the version of record is black and white.
With respect to statistical significance, other than generally asserting significance there is no adequate explanation of whether or not any results are statistically significant.
Although the affidavit refers to the number of mice per peptide as being 4, it is unclear if the data present is an average of the 4. Further, no error bars or any showing of statistical significance analysis have been provided. For some of the peptides, ‘Spleen cells’ is reported while for others ‘Spleen weight’ is reported while for others ‘Thymus weight’ is reported. The difference between spleen cells and spleen weight is unclear. It is unclear why only certain variables are reported for various peptides and why all 3 variables are not reported for each peptide. For example, SEQ ID NO:18 only includes ‘Spleen weight’. It is unclear if spleen cells or thymus weight was also recorded and if so what values were obtained. It is unclear why certain values are reported to 3 decimal places (first entry on page 2 of the affidavit is “80.475”) while other values are reported to no decimal places (the 5th entry on page 2 of the affidavit is “53”).
MPEP 716.02(c) states that expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness. Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
All of the data reported appears to show that the known LPPLPYP peptide increases the amounts as compared to Dexa. In similar fashion, peptides similar to LPPLPYP appear to have similar effects. For example, the known LPPLPYP peptide entry recites a spleen weight of 86 compared to 66.25 for Dexa and spleen cells of 66.1 compared to 47.61 for Dexa (page 3 first table). The LPPLAYP peptide entry recites a spleen weight of 92.5 compared to 66.25 for Dexa and spleen cells of 69.5 compared to 47.61 for Dexa (page 3 first table). Thus, both peptides increase from 1.3-1.4 times compared to Dexa. It is unclear what is unexpected about the results. Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having deletions (page 18 first paragraph). The data appears to show that peptides with the core PPLPY appear to behave similar to the peptide LPPLPYP. Based on the known properties [Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092)] and the teaching of Herkel related to peptides with as few as 5 amino acids or with deletions, it is unclear why the data is unexpected. The comparisons to other unclaimed peptide does not appear to be relevant because it is not a comparison to the closest prior art.
MPEP 716.02 recognizes that differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties.
In the instant case, it appears that the known LPPLPYP peptide increases the amounts as compared to Dexa as does peptide PPLPY. One would not necessarily expect the magnitude of the increase to be identical because there are differences in the peptide. Absent any type of statistical analysis, there is no bases to conclude that any peptides are unexpectedly superior. Further, as noted above although 3 separate measurements are set forth (spleen cells, spleen weight and thymus weight), the absence of each measurement for each peptide leads one to question how or why certain data was picked and chosen to be presented.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 3/2/26 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claim 6 as discussed above because: MPEP 716.02(b) states that the burden is on the applicant to establish that the results are in fact unexpected and of both statistical and practical significance. There does not appear to be any analysis about statistical significance. Further, MPEP 716.02(c) states that expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness. As discussed above it is unclear why any results are deemed unexpected.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Double Patenting
Claim 6 was previously rejected under double patenting. Since the claim has been amended the rejections are updated to correspond to the instant claim.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 10-12 and 15-20 of copending Application No. 17/105,557 (‘557’) in view of Ovadia et al. (US 2016/0033529; ‘Ovadia’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Herkel et al. (WO 2006/021954 as cited with IDS 3/3/24; ‘Herkel’)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
557 recites treating a subject with ALS by administering SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) (claim 1).
557 does not specifically recite one of the amino acid sequences recited in instant claim 6.
Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
Herkel teach peptides for treating degenerative disease (abstract and claim 45) specifically amyloid lateral sclerosis (pages 20-21 connecting paragraph). Herkel teach a peptide identified as stressin-1 (SEQ ID NO:1) of sequence LPPLPYP (page 7 line 1). Herkel teach beneficial properties of SEQ ID NO:1 (examples 2-8). Herkel teach peptides with anti-apoptotic activity (claim 1). Herkel teach a fragment of SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 12). Herkel teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16). Herkel expressly refers to peptides having deletions (page 18 first complete paragraph). Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 557 because Ovadia and Herkel teach the same LPPLPYP peptide and also teach for treating amyloid lateral sclerosis. Since Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having deletions (page 18 first paragraph) one would have been motivated to delete a residue from each terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 resulting in PPLPY for example. Since both references teach for amyloid lateral sclerosis one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092). Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having deletions (page 18 first paragraph).
In relation to the subject of claim 6, 557 recites a subject with ALS (claim 1). Ovadia teach for treating ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of a peptide to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202).
In relation to the peptide of claim 6, PPLPY as discussed above is instant SEQ ID NO:3.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 17/792,787 (787) in view of Ovadia et al. (US 2016/0033529; ‘Ovadia’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Herkel et al. (WO 2006/021954 as cited with IDS 3/3/24; ‘Herkel’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
787 recites methods of treating a disease associated with apoptosis by administering a peptide (claim 12). 787 recites the peptide of SEQ ID NO: 2 (LPPLPYAib) (claim 5).
787 does not recite ALS in the claims.
Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
Herkel teach peptides for treating degenerative disease (abstract and claim 45) specifically amyloid lateral sclerosis (pages 20-21 connecting paragraph). Herkel teach a peptide identified as stressin-1 (SEQ ID NO:1) of sequence LPPLPYP (page 7 line 1). Herkel teach beneficial properties of SEQ ID NO:1 (examples 2-8). Herkel teach peptides with anti-apoptotic activity (claim 1). Herkel teach a fragment of SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 12). Herkel teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16). Herkel expressly refers to peptides having deletions (page 18 first complete paragraph). Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 787 because Ovadia and Herkel teach similar peptides and teach for treating amyloid lateral sclerosis. Since Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first paragraph) one would have been motivated to delete a residue from each terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 resulting in PPLPY for example. Further, 787 recognizes that X1 or X7 can be absent (claim 1). Since both references teach for amyloid lateral sclerosis one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092). Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having deletions (page 18 first paragraph).
In relation to the subject of claim 6, Ovadia teach for treating ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of a peptide to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202).
In relation to the peptide of claim 6, PPLPY as discussed above is instant SEQ ID NO:3.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,852,634 (‘634’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Ovadia et al. (US 2016/0033529; ‘Ovadia’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Herkel et al. (WO 2006/021954 as cited with IDS 3/3/24; ‘Herkel’).
634 recites treating a subject with ALS by administering SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) (claim 1).
634 does not specifically recite one of the amino acid sequences recited in instant claim 6.
Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
Herkel teach peptides for treating degenerative disease (abstract and claim 45) specifically amyloid lateral sclerosis (pages 20-21 connecting paragraph). Herkel teach a peptide identified as stressin-1 (SEQ ID NO:1) of sequence LPPLPYP (page 7 line 1). Herkel teach beneficial properties of SEQ ID NO:1 (examples 2-8). Herkel teach peptides with anti-apoptotic activity (claim 1). Herkel teach a fragment of SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 12). Herkel teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16). Herkel expressly refers to peptides having deletions (page 18 first complete paragraph). Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 634 because Ovadia and Herkel teach the same LPPLPYP peptide and also teach for treating amyloid lateral sclerosis. Since Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having deletions (page 18 first paragraph) one would have been motivated to delete a residue from each terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 resulting in PPLPY for example. Since both references teach for amyloid lateral sclerosis one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092). Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having deletions (page 18 first paragraph).
In relation to the subject of claim 6, 634 recites a subject with ALS (claim 1). Ovadia teach for treating ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of a peptide to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202).
In relation to the peptide of claim 6, PPLPY as discussed above is instant SEQ ID NO:7.
Response to Arguments – Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejections set forth above.
Although applicants request deferring addressing issues until certain conditions are met, the request is denied and no such conditions have been met.
Conclusion
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658