DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants amendments and arguments filed 5/27/25 are acknowledged. Any objection or rejection from the 2/27/25 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments.
Previously, Group 2 and the species of SEQ ID NO:18 and ALS were elected.
Claims 1-5 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/24.
The claim to the elected species is rejected as set forth below. Any relevant art that was uncovered during the search for the elected species is cited herein in order to advance prosecution.
Claims 7-11 have been canceled.
Claims 6 is being examined.
Priority
The priority information is provided in the filing receipt dated 3/5/24.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/23/25 and 3/6/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection below is a new rejection necessitated by amendment (specifically claim 6 has been amended to remove ‘being no longer than ten amino acids’ and recites ‘consists of’ in relation to the amino acid sequences, thus narrowing the scope of peptides).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ovadia et al. (US 2016/0033529; ‘Ovadia’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Herkel et al. (WO 2006/021954 as cited with IDS 3/3/24; ‘Herkel’).
Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
Ovadia does not specifically recite one of the amino acid sequences recited in instant claim 6.
Herkel teach peptides for treating degenerative disease (abstract and claim 45) specifically amyloid lateral sclerosis (pages 20-21 connecting paragraph). Herkel teach a peptide identified as stressin-1 (SEQ ID NO:1) of sequence LPPLPYP (page 7 line 1). Herkel teach beneficial properties of SEQ ID NO:1 (examples 2-8). Herkel teach peptides with anti-apoptotic activity (claim 1). Herkel teach a fragment of SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 12). Herkel teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16). Herkel expressly refers to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first complete paragraph). Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Ovadia because Herkel teach the same LPPLPYP peptide and also teach for treating amyloid lateral sclerosis. Since Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first paragraph) one would have been motivated to delete a residue from either terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 resulting in LPPLPY for example. Since both references teach for amyloid lateral sclerosis one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
In relation to the subject of claim 6, Ovadia teach for treating ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of a peptide to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202).
In relation to the peptide of claim 6, LPPLPY as discussed above is instant SEQ ID NO:7.
Double Patenting
Claims were previously rejected under double patenting. Since the claims have been amended the rejections are updated to correspond to the instant claim.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 10-12 and 15-20 of copending Application No. 17/105,557 (‘557’) in view of Ovadia et al. (US 2016/0033529; ‘Ovadia’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Herkel et al. (WO 2006/021954 as cited with IDS 3/3/24; ‘Herkel’)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
557 recites treating a subject with ALS by administering SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) (claim 1).
557 does not specifically recite one of the amino acid sequences recited in instant claim 6.
Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
Herkel teach peptides for treating degenerative disease (abstract and claim 45) specifically amyloid lateral sclerosis (pages 20-21 connecting paragraph). Herkel teach a peptide identified as stressin-1 (SEQ ID NO:1) of sequence LPPLPYP (page 7 line 1). Herkel teach beneficial properties of SEQ ID NO:1 (examples 2-8). Herkel teach peptides with anti-apoptotic activity (claim 1). Herkel teach a fragment of SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 12). Herkel teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16). Herkel expressly refers to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first complete paragraph). Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 557 because Ovadia and Herkel teach the same LPPLPYP peptide and also teach for treating amyloid lateral sclerosis. Since Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first paragraph) one would have been motivated to delete a residue from either terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 resulting in LPPLPY for example. Since both references teach for amyloid lateral sclerosis one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
In relation to the subject of claim 6, 557 recites a subject with ALS (claim 1). Ovadia teach for treating ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of a peptide to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202).
In relation to the peptide of claim 6, LPPLPY as discussed above is instant SEQ ID NO:7.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 17/792,787 (787) in view of Ovadia et al. (US 2016/0033529; ‘Ovadia’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Herkel et al. (WO 2006/021954 as cited with IDS 3/3/24; ‘Herkel’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
787 recites methods of treating a disease associated with apoptosis by administering a peptide (claim 12). 787 recites the peptide of SEQ ID NO: 2 (LPPLPYAib) (claim 5).
787 does not recite ALS in the claims.
Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
Herkel teach peptides for treating degenerative disease (abstract and claim 45) specifically amyloid lateral sclerosis (pages 20-21 connecting paragraph). Herkel teach a peptide identified as stressin-1 (SEQ ID NO:1) of sequence LPPLPYP (page 7 line 1). Herkel teach beneficial properties of SEQ ID NO:1 (examples 2-8). Herkel teach peptides with anti-apoptotic activity (claim 1). Herkel teach a fragment of SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 12). Herkel teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16). Herkel expressly refers to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first complete paragraph). Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 787 because Ovadia and Herkel teach similar peptides and teach for treating amyloid lateral sclerosis. Since Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first paragraph) one would have been motivated to delete a residue from either terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 resulting in LPPLPY for example. Further, 787 recognizes that X1 or X7 can be absent (claim 1). Since both references teach for amyloid lateral sclerosis one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
In relation to the subject of claim 6, Ovadia teach for treating ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of a peptide to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202).
In relation to the peptide of claim 6, LPPLPY as discussed above is instant SEQ ID NO:7.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,852,634 (‘634’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Ovadia et al. (US 2016/0033529; ‘Ovadia’; first cited 2/27/25) in view of Herkel et al. (WO 2006/021954 as cited with IDS 3/3/24; ‘Herkel’).
634 recites treating a subject with ALS by administering SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) (claim 1).
634 does not specifically recite one of the amino acid sequences recited in instant claim 6.
Ovadia teach the use of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) for treating neurodegenerative disease specifically ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of SEQ ID NO:1 (LPPLPYP) to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202) and teach a significant increase in survival (section 0195) and delay in progression of disease symptoms (sections 0201-0202). Ovadia teach advantages of using the peptide (section 0029). Ovadia teach that ALS is characterized by apoptosis (section 0190). Ovadia teach anti-apoptotic effects of the peptide (section 0092).
Herkel teach peptides for treating degenerative disease (abstract and claim 45) specifically amyloid lateral sclerosis (pages 20-21 connecting paragraph). Herkel teach a peptide identified as stressin-1 (SEQ ID NO:1) of sequence LPPLPYP (page 7 line 1). Herkel teach beneficial properties of SEQ ID NO:1 (examples 2-8). Herkel teach peptides with anti-apoptotic activity (claim 1). Herkel teach a fragment of SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 12). Herkel teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16). Herkel expressly refers to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first complete paragraph). Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 634 because Ovadia and Herkel teach the same LPPLPYP peptide and also teach for treating amyloid lateral sclerosis. Since Herkel specifically teach that the peptide comprises from 5 to 25 amino acids (claim 2) with 5 to 20 amino acids being preferred (page 17 lines 15-16) and Herkel expressly refer to peptides having a deletion of a residue (page 18 first paragraph) one would have been motivated to delete a residue from either terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 resulting in LPPLPY for example. Since both references teach for amyloid lateral sclerosis one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Herkel teach that methods of synthesis are known (page 17 first complete paragraph).
In relation to the subject of claim 6, 634 recites a subject with ALS (claim 1). Ovadia teach for treating ALS (abstract and sections 0003 and 0036). Ovadia teach in examples 2-3 the administration of a peptide to mice with ALS (sections 0190-0191 and 0202).
In relation to the peptide of claim 6, LPPLPY as discussed above is instant SEQ ID NO:7.
Response to Arguments – Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejection set forth above.
Although applicants request deferring addressing issues until certain conditions are met, the request is denied and no such conditions have been met.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658