DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Receipt of the Preliminary Amendment filed on February 26, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are pending in this application.
All pending claims are under examination in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on February 26, 2024 is acknowledged. A signed copy is attached to this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “(hereinafter referred to as “component (A)”)”; “(hereinafter referred to as “component (B)”)”; “(hereinafter referred to as “component (C)”)”; “(hereinafter referred to as “component (D)”)”; and “(hereinafter referred to as “component (E)”)” is redundant and unnecessary. The components are already listed as (A) –(E).
Regarding claim 2, the claim is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art is that of Yamada (JP 2019108286; cited on IDS dated February 26, 2024), as discussed below. There is not disclosure of a combination disclosed in the instant claim within the teachings or motivation within the prior art to utilized such a combination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2019108286; cited on IDS dated February 26, 2024) in view of Goldner et al. (US 4,119,712).
Yamada discloses water-in-oil emulsion compositions having excellent stability and spreading properties on the skin and excellent freshness, as well as having excellent feeling of use without sliminess and stickiness.
The composition contains:
Dipolyhydroxystearate PEG-30 (component B);
Ester oil that is semi-solid at 25 ˚C (component A);
Diglyercin; and
Water (component E) (abstract).
It is noted that semi-solid ester oils exist in a paste-like state at room temperature.
While there are numerous silicone based components recited in the Examples, it is noted that the required components do not recite a silicone. The components recited are drawn to optional additional excipients.
Regarding claim 3, examples of ester oils include (phytosteryl/isostearyl/cetyl/stearyl/behenyl) dimer dilinoleic acids (paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 6, examples 24 and 25 disclose 1.0% of component B and 15% and 14% of component E.
Regarding claim 7, the compositions can be used as foundations and make up based (paragraph 0002).
Yamada does not disclose C or D.
Goldner discloses make up foundations in the form of water in oil emulsions (examples).
Example 5 disclose a water in oil emulsion comprising beeswax and ozokerite (component C) and isopropyl myristate and mineral oil (component D).
Regarding claim 4, as noted above, Example 5 disclose beeswax and ozokerite (component C).
Regarding claim 5, as noted above, Example 5 disclose isopropyl myristate and mineral oil (component D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included components C and D are disclosed in Goldner into the composition of Yamada since they are disclosed as being routinely incorporated into water in oil emulsions as emollient and thickener excipients.
Conclusion
/MELISSA S MERCIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615