Response to Amendment
This Office action has been issued in response to amendment filed on 08/27/2026
Claims 1-20 pending. Applicants' arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered and addressed. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended claims were fully considered and are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 9-10, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kamil Karbowiak (hereinafter Karbowiak) US Publication No 20250259247 in view of W Mahajan et al (hereinafter Mahajan) US Publication No 20170132817.
As per claim 1, Karbowiak teaches:
Currently Amended) A system comprising:
one or more processors;
(Paragraph [0008])
memory in communication with the one or more processors (Paragraph [0008])
and storing an input template, a plurality of assumption templates, an output template, and instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a first graphical user interface displaying the input template;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0003], [0006], [0033] and [0047]-[0048])
transmit the first graphical user interface to a user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive, via the first graphical user interface, a first indication from the user device indicating a first selection of first input data;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive or retrieve, using the input template, the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0006], [0033], [0037], [0047]-[0048] and [0083]-[0084])
identify, based on the first selection of the first input data, one or more assumption templates of the plurality of assumption templates, each of the identified one or more assumption templates comprising one or more parameters that correspond to the first input data defining an analyzation type for the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0048], [0077] and [0082])
generate a second graphical user interface displaying an option of the identified one or more assumption templates;
(Paragraphs [0048], [0077] and [0082])
transmit the second graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Paragraphs [0048], [0077] and [0082])
receive, via the second graphical user interface, a second indication from the user device indicating one or more selected assumption templates of the identified one or more assumption templates;
(Paragraphs [0048], [0077] and [0082])
generate a third graphical user interface displaying the output template;
(Paragraphs [0048], [0077] and [0082])
transmit the third graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Paragraphs [0048], [0077] and [0082])
Karbowiak does not explicitly teach and output the data analysis according to the third indication from the user device using the selected output configuration, however in analogous art of data analysis, Mahajan teaches:
receive, via the third graphical user interface, a third indication from the user device indicating a selected output configuration;
(Paragraphs [0007]-[0008], [0019]-[0020] and [0030])
calculate a data analysis using the one or more selected assumption templates and the first input data from the input template, wherein calculating the data analysis comprises inputting the one or more parameters from the one or more selected assumption templates into programming functions associated with the one or more selected assumption templates, the programming functions comprising modules of code in a programming language, and receiving the data analysis returned from the programming functions;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0007], [0020], [0030] and [0038])
and output the data analysis according to the third indication from the user device using the selected output configuration.
(Paragraphs [0007]-[0008], [0019]-[0020] and [0030] and [0038])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Mahajan by incorporating the teaching of Mahajan into the method of Karbowiak. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Mahajan into the system of Karbowiak for the purpose of improving output layout by customizing report based on predefined configuration parameters.
As per claim 7, Karbowiak and Mahajan teach:
The system of claim 1, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive, as part of the second indication from the user device, additional instructions to adjust the one or more selected assumption templates.
(Paragraphs [0006], [0047]-[0048], wherein report template is the assumption template and wherein customizing/modifying template is the adjustment)(Karbowiak)
As per claim 9, Karbowiak and Mahajan teach:
The system of claim 1, wherein the memory further stores a drop-down template, wherein the drop-down template is configured to cause the system to:
generate a fourth graphical user interface to manipulate the first input data;
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0034], [0047]-[0048] and [0081]-[0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak) and (Abstract and paragraphs [0034] and [0042])( Mahajan)
transmit the fourth graphical user interface to the user device;
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0034], [0047]-[0048] and [0081]-[0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak) and (Abstract and paragraphs [0034] and [0042])( Mahajan)
and receive, via the fourth graphical user interface, a third selection to manipulate the first input data.
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0034], [0047]-[0048] and [0081]-[0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak) and (Abstract and paragraphs [0034] and [0042])( Mahajan)
As per claim 10, Karbowiak teaches:
A system comprising: one or more processors; memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a first graphical user interface for indicating input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
transmit the first graphical user interface to a user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive, via the first graphical user interface, a first indication from the user device indicating a first selection of first input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
identify, based on the first selection of the first input data, one or more assumption templates that comprise one or more parameters corresponding to the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0048], [0077] and [0082])
generate a second graphical user interface displaying an option of one or more assumption templates, each of the one or more assumption templates configured to perform a data analysis;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
transmit the second graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive, via the second graphical user interface, a second indication from the user device indicating one or more selected assumption templates;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084], wherein the financial template is assumption template and wherein the subsequent GUI is the second graphical user interface)
process the first input data from the input data using one or more selected assumption templates to generate first output data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
generate a third graphical user interface displaying the first output data; and transmit the third graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
Karbowiak does not explicitly teach wherein processing the first input data comprises using programming language functions associated with the one or more selected assumption templates and using the one or more parameters in the programming language functions, however in analogous art of data analysis, Mahajan teaches:
wherein processing the first input data comprises using programming language functions associated with the one or more selected assumption templates and using the one or more parameters in the programming language functions;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0007], [0020], [0030] and [0038])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Mahajan by incorporating the teaching of Mahajan into the method of Karbowiak. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Mahajan into the system of Karbowiak for the purpose of managing data analysis and customizing data report based on predefined configuration parameters.
As per claim 15, Karbowiak and Mahajan teach:
The system of claim 10, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive, as part of the second indication from the user device, additional instructions to adjust the one or more assumption templates.
(Paragraphs [0047]-[0048], wherein report template is the assumption template and wherein customizing/modifying template is the adjustment)
As per claim 16, Karbowiak and Mahajan teach:
The system of claim 10, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a fourth graphical user interface with drop down options to manipulate the first input data;
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak)
transmit the fourth graphical user interface to the user device; and receive, via the fourth graphical user interface, a second selection to manipulate the first input data.
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak)
As per claim 17, Karbowiak teaches
A system comprising: one or more processors; memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a first graphical user interface for indicating input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
transmit the first graphical user interface to a user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive, via the first graphical user interface, a first indication from the user device indicating a selection of first input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive or retrieve the first input data according to the selection of first input data of the first indication;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
update the first graphical user interface to display the first input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
identify, based on the selection of first input data, one or more assumption templates associated with the first input data, each of the identified one or more assumption templates comprising one or more parameters;
(Paragraphs [0048], [0077] and [0082])
generate a second graphical user interface displaying an option of one or more assumption templates, each of the one or more assumption templates configured to perform a data analysis;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084], wherein the financial template is assumption template and wherein the subsequent GUI is the second graphical user interface)
transmit the second graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
Karbowiak does not explicitly teach and output the data analysis according to the third indication from the user device using the selected output configuration, however in analogous art of data analysis, Mahajan teaches:
receive, via the second graphical user interface, a second indication from the user device indicating one or more selected assumption templates and a selected output configuration;
(Paragraphs [0088] and [0489], wherein the report is the output)
and process the first input data from the input data using one or more selected assumption templates to generate first output data in the selected output configuration, wherein processing the first input data comprises applying programming functions associated with the one or more selected assumption templates to the one or more parameters of the one or more selected assumption templates.
(Paragraphs [0007]-[0008], [0019]-[0020] and [0030] and [0038])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Mahajan by incorporating the teaching of Mahajan into the method of Karbowiak. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Mahajan into the system of Karbowiak for the purpose of improving output layout by customizing report based on predefined configuration parameters.
As per claim 19, Karbowiak and Mahajan teach:
The system of claim 17, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receiving, as part of the second indication from the user device, additional instructions to adjust the one or more assumption templates.
(Paragraphs [0047]-[0048], wherein report template is the assumption template and wherein customizing/modifying template is the adjustment)(Karbowiak)
As per claim 20, Karbowiak and Mahajan teach:
The system of claim 17, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a third graphical user interface to display the first output data;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0006]-[0009], [0018], [0027] and [0033])( Mahajan)
while receiving a fourth indication from the user device to manipulate the first input data, iteratively perform the following steps:
manipulate the first output data according to the fourth indication from the user device;
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0034], [0047]-[0048] and [0081]-[0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak) and (Abstract and paragraphs [0034] and [0042])( Mahajan)
update the third graphical user interface to display the manipulated first output data;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0006]-[0009], [0018], [0027] and [0033])( Mahajan)
and transmit the updated third graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0006]-[0009], [0018], [0027] and [0033])( Mahajan)
Claims 2-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karbowiak and Mahajan in view of Conrad et al (hereinafter Conrad) US Publication No 20240184781.
As per claim 2, Karbowiak and Mahajan do not explicitly teach update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data, however in analogous art data management, Conrad teaches:
update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0164] and [0166])
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad by incorporating the teaching of Conrad into the method of Karbowiak and Mahajan. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Conrad into the system of Karbowiak and Mahajan for the purpose of visually reviewing the data and managing the data based on desired criteria.
As per claim 3, Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 2, wherein the memory stores further instructions as part of the input template that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a fourth indication from the user device to manipulate the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
manipulate the first input data according to the fourth indication from the user device;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display an updated preview of the manipulated first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
As per claim 4, Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 3, wherein manipulating the first input data comprises removing a second selection of the first input data, changing start dates and end dates, changing data versions, changing database versions, or combinations thereof.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
As per claim 5, Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 2, wherein the memory stores further instructions as part of the input template that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a fifth indication from the user device to add second input data;
(Paragraphs [0046] and [0172])(Conrad)
receive or retrieve, using the input template the second input data according to the fifth indication;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
As per claim 6, Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 5, wherein the memory stores further instructions as part of the input template that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a sixth indication from the user device to overlay the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display an overlay preview of the first input data and the second input data; and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
As per claim 18, Karbowiak and Mahajan do not explicitly teach update the first graphical user interface to display an updated preview of the manipulated first input data, however in analogous art data management, Conrad teaches:
while receiving a third indication from the user device to manipulate the first input data, iteratively perform the following steps:
manipulate the first input data according to the third indication from the user device;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
update the first graphical user interface to display an updated preview of the manipulated first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad by incorporating the teaching of Conrad into the method of Karbowiak and Mahajan. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Conrad into the system of Karbowiak and Mahajan for the purpose of visually reviewing the data and managing the data based on desired criteria.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karbowiak and Mahajan in view of Murray Reicher (hereinafter Reicher) US Patent No. 9075899
As per claim 8, Karbowiak and Mahajan do not explicitly teach adjust the one or more assumption templates further comprise utilizing shorthand commands, however in analogous art data management, Reicher teaches:
adjust the one or more selected assumption templates further comprise utilizing shorthand commands.
(Column 6, lines 28-34)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Mahajan and Reicher by incorporating the teaching of Reicher into the method of Karbowiak and Mahajan. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Reicher into the system of Karbowiak and Mahajan for the purpose of improving operation speed.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karbowiak and Mahajan in view of Conrad et al (hereinafter Conrad) US Publication No 20240184781.
As per claim 11, Karbowiak and Mahajan do not explicitly teach update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data, however in analogous art data management, Conrad teaches:
update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0164] and [0166])
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad by incorporating the teaching of Conrad into the method of Karbowiak and Mahajan. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Conrad into the system of Karbowiak and Mahajan for the purpose of visually reviewing the data and managing the data based on desired criteria.
As per claim 12, Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 11, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a third indication from the user device to manipulate the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
manipulate the first input data according to the third indication from the user device;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display an updated preview of the manipulated first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
As per claim 13, Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 11, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a fourth indication from the user device to add second input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
receive or retrieve the second input data according to the fourth indication;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
As per claim 14, Karbowiak and Mahajan and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 13, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a fifth indication from the user device to overlay the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display an overlay preview of the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
Conclusion
As necessitated by amendment, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tarek Chbouki whose telephone number is 571-2703154. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached at 571-2701760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TAREK CHBOUKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 9/29/2026