Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 9, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kamil Karbowiak (hereinafter Karbowiak) US Publication No 20250259247 in view of Williams et al (hereinafter Williams) US Publication No 20240281410.
As per claim 1, Karbowiak teaches:
A system comprising:
one or more processors; memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing an input template, one or more assumption templates, an output template, and instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a first graphical user interface displaying the input template;
(Paragraphs [0006], [0033] and [0047]-[0048])
transmit the first graphical user interface to a user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive, via the first graphical user interface, a first indication from the user device indicating a first selection of first input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive or retrieve, using the input template, the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0006], [0033], [0037], [0047]-[0048] and [0083]-[0084])
generate a second graphical user interface displaying an option of the one or more assumption templates, each of the one or more assumption templates configured to perform a data analysis;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084], wherein the financial template is assumption template and wherein the subsequent GUI is the second graphical user interface)
transmit the second graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084], wherein the financial template is assumption template and wherein the subsequent GUI is the second graphical user interface)
receive, via the second graphical user interface, a second indication from the user device indicating one or more selected assumption templates;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
generate a third graphical user interface displaying the output template;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
transmit the third graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
calculate the data analysis using the one or more selected assumption templates and the first input data from the input template;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
Karbowiak does not explicitly teach and output the data analysis according to the third indication from the user device using the selected output configuration, however in analogous art of data analysis, Williams teaches:
receive, via the third graphical user interface, a third indication from the user device indicating a selected output configuration;
(Paragraphs [0088] and [0489], wherein the report is the output)
and output the data analysis according to the third indication from the user device using the selected output configuration.
(Paragraphs [0088] and [0489], wherein the report is the output)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Williams by incorporating the teaching of Williams into the method of Karbowiak. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Williams into the system of Karbowiak for the purpose of improving output layout by customizing report based on predefined configuration parameters.
As per claim 7, Karbowiak and Williams teach:
The system of claim 1, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive, as part of the second indication from the user device, additional instructions to adjust the one or more assumption templates.
(Paragraphs [0047]-[0048], wherein report template is the assumption template and wherein customizing/modifying template is the adjustment)(Karbowiak)
As per claim 9, Karbowiak and Williams teach:
The system of claim 1, wherein the memory further stores a drop-down template, wherein the drop-down template is configured to cause the system to:
generate a fourth graphical user interface to manipulate the first input data;
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak) and (Paragraphs [0105], [0145] and [0201])(Williams)
transmit the fourth graphical user interface to the user device;
Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak) and (Paragraphs [0105], [0145] and [0201])(Williams)
and receive, via the fourth graphical user interface, a third selection to manipulate the first input data.
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak) and (Paragraphs [0105], [0145] and [0201])(Williams)
As per claim 17, Karbowiak teaches
A system comprising: one or more processors; memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a first graphical user interface for indicating input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
transmit the first graphical user interface to a user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive, via the first graphical user interface, a first indication from the user device indicating a selection of first input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive or retrieve the first input data according to the selection of first input data of the first indication;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
update the first graphical user interface to display the first input data; transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
generate a second graphical user interface displaying an option of one or more assumption templates, each of the one or more assumption templates configured to perform a data analysis;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084], wherein the financial template is assumption template and wherein the subsequent GUI is the second graphical user interface)
transmit the second graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
Karbowiak does not explicitly teach and output the data analysis according to the third indication from the user device using the selected output configuration, however in analogous art of data analysis, Williams teaches:
receive, via the second graphical user interface, a second indication from the user device indicating one or more selected assumption templates and a selected output configuration;
(Paragraphs [0088] and [0489], wherein the report is the output)
and process the first input data from the input data using one or more selected assumption templates to generate first output data in the selected output configuration.
(Paragraphs [0088] and [0489], wherein the report is the output)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Williams by incorporating the teaching of Williams into the method of Karbowiak. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Williams into the system of Karbowiak for the purpose of improving output layout by customizing report based on predefined configuration parameters.
As per claim 19, Karbowiak and Williams teach:
The system of claim 17, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receiving, as part of the second indication from the user device, additional instructions to adjust the one or more assumption templates.
(Paragraphs [0047]-[0048], wherein report template is the assumption template and wherein customizing/modifying template is the adjustment)(Karbowiak)
As per claim 20, Karbowiak and Williams teach:
The system of claim 17, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a third graphical user interface to display the first output data;
(Paragraphs [0130], [0250], [0332], [0348] and [0495])(Willaims)
while receiving a fourth indication from the user device to manipulate the first input data, iteratively perform the following steps:
manipulate the first output data according to the fourth indication from the user device;
(Paragraphs [0130], [0250], [0332], [0348] and [0495])(Willaims)
update the third graphical user interface to display the manipulated first output data;
(Paragraphs [0130], [0250], [0332], [0348] and [0495])(Willaims)
and transmit the updated third graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0130], [0250], [0332], [0348] and [0495])(Willaims)
Claims 2-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karbowiak and Williams in view of Conrad et al (hereinafter Conrad) US Publication No 20240184781.
As per claim 2, Karbowiak and Williams do not explicitly teach update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data, however in analogous art data management, Conrad teaches:
update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0164] and [0166])
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Williams and Conrad by incorporating the teaching of Conrad into the method of Karbowiak and Williams. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Conrad into the system of Karbowiak and Williams for the purpose of visually reviewing the data and managing the data based on desired criteria.
As per claim 3, Karbowiak and Williams and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 2, wherein the memory stores further instructions as part of the input template that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a fourth indication from the user device to manipulate the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
manipulate the first input data according to the fourth indication from the user device;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display an updated preview of the manipulated first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
As per claim 4, Karbowiak and Williams and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 3, wherein manipulating the first input data comprises removing a second selection of the first input data, changing start dates and end dates, changing data versions, changing database versions, or combinations thereof.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
As per claim 5, Karbowiak and Williams and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 2, wherein the memory stores further instructions as part of the input template that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a fifth indication from the user device to add second input data;
(Paragraphs [0046] and [0172])(Conrad)
receive or retrieve, using the input template the second input data according to the fifth indication;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
As per claim 6, Karbowiak and Williams and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 5, wherein the memory stores further instructions as part of the input template that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a sixth indication from the user device to overlay the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display an overlay preview of the first input data and the second input data; and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
As per claim 18, Karbowiak and Williams do not explicitly teach update the first graphical user interface to display an updated preview of the manipulated first input data, however in analogous art data management, Conrad teaches:
while receiving a third indication from the user device to manipulate the first input data, iteratively perform the following steps:
manipulate the first input data according to the third indication from the user device;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
update the first graphical user interface to display an updated preview of the manipulated first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Williams and Conrad by incorporating the teaching of Conrad into the method of Karbowiak and Williams. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Conrad into the system of Karbowiak and Williams for the purpose of visually reviewing the data and managing the data based on desired criteria.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karbowiak and Williams in view of Murray Reicher (hereinafter Reicher) US Patent No. 9075899
As per claim 8, Karbowiak and Williams do not explicitly teach adjust the one or more assumption templates further comprise utilizing shorthand commands, however in analogous art data management, Reicher teaches:
adjust the one or more assumption templates further comprise utilizing shorthand commands.
(Column 6, lines 28-34)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Williams and Reicher by incorporating the teaching of Reicher into the method of Karbowiak and Williams. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Reicher into the system of Karbowiak and Williams for the purpose of improving operation speed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karbowiak (hereinafter Karbowiak) US Publication No 20250259247.
As per claim 10, Karbowiak teaches:
A system comprising: one or more processors; memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a first graphical user interface for indicating input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
transmit the first graphical user interface to a user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive, via the first graphical user interface, a first indication from the user device indicating a first selection of first input data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
generate a second graphical user interface displaying an option of one or more assumption templates, each of the one or more assumption templates configured to perform a data analysis;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
transmit the second graphical user interface to the user device for display;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
receive, via the second graphical user interface, a second indication from the user device indicating one or more selected assumption templates;
(Fig. 7-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0048] and [0083]-[0084], wherein the financial template is assumption template and wherein the subsequent GUI is the second graphical user interface)
process the first input data from the input data using one or more selected assumption templates to generate first output data;
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
generate a third graphical user interface displaying the first output data; and transmit the third graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Fig. 1-2, 7-8 and paragraphs [0037], [0048] and [0083]-[0084])
As per claim 15, Karbowiak teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive, as part of the second indication from the user device, additional instructions to adjust the one or more assumption templates.
(Paragraphs [0047]-[0048], wherein report template is the assumption template and wherein customizing/modifying template is the adjustment)
As per claim 16, Karbowiak teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
generate a fourth graphical user interface with drop down options to manipulate the first input data;
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak)
transmit the fourth graphical user interface to the user device; and receive, via the fourth graphical user interface, a second selection to manipulate the first input data.
(Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [0047]-[0048] and [0082], wherein options are selection dropdown menu (i.e balance))( Karbowiak)
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karbowiak in view of Conrad et al (hereinafter Conrad) US Publication No 20240184781.
As per claim 11, Karbowiak does not explicitly teach update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data, however in analogous art data management, Conrad teaches:
update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0164] and [0166])
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Karbowiak and Conrad by incorporating the teaching of Conrad into the method of Karbowiak. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Conrad into the system of Karbowiak for the purpose of visually reviewing the data and managing the data based on desired criteria.
As per claim 12, Karbowiak and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 11, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a third indication from the user device to manipulate the first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
manipulate the first input data according to the third indication from the user device;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display an updated preview of the manipulated first input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
As per claim 13, Karbowiak and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 11, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a fourth indication from the user device to add second input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
receive or retrieve the second input data according to the fourth indication;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display a preview of the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0160], [0164] and [0166])(Conrad)
As per claim 14, Karbowiak and Conrad teach:
The system of claim 13, wherein the memory stores further instructions that are configured to cause the system to:
receive a fifth indication from the user device to overlay the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
further update the first graphical user interface to display an overlay preview of the first input data and the second input data;
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
and transmit the updated first graphical user interface to the user device for display.
(Paragraphs [0027], [0040], [0046], [0160], [0164]-[0166] and [0172])(Conrad)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tarek Chbouki whose telephone number is 571-2703154. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached at 571-2701760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TAREK CHBOUKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 5/21/2026