DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Notice of AIA Status
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the tabular data is received from the user device via clickable elements proximate to the fields on the webpage.” The term “proximate” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the scope of the term. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inukonda et al., US 2015/0193123 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Inukonda discloses a dynamic submission automation system comprising:
One or more processors; and memory in communication with the one or more processors. Inukonda fig. 1A.
Storing instructions that are configured to cause the dynamic submission automation system to: receive, from a user device, tabular data and one or more associations of columns from the tabular data to fields on a webpage for one or more submissions. Inukonda teaches accessing spreadsheet data. Inukonda ¶¶ 55, 65, fig. 5A. A column of the spreadsheet data may be mapped to a field in a graphical user interface. Id. ¶ 70. The graphical user interface may be a webpage. Id. ¶¶ 57-58, fig. 6.
[Storing instructions that are configured to cause the dynamic submission automation system to:] extract column data and row data from the tabular data. Inukonda teaches extracting column data and row data from the spreadsheet. Inukonda ¶ 77.
[storing instructions that are configured to cause the dynamic submission automation system to:] transmit, via an API, one or more submissions for each row in the tabular data using the one or more associations of columns. Inukonda teaches transferring the data extracted from the spreadsheet to populate fields in the graphical user interface. Inukonda ¶ 77. APIs (e.g., HTTP) may be used in this process. Id. ¶¶ 58, 69.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 13, Inukonda discloses wherein the tabular data and one or more associations is received from the user device via a browser extension, a mobile application, or both. Inukonda teaches the use of a mobile device. Inukonda ¶ 36. The system uses applications to transfer data. Id. ¶ 42.
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claim 13, Inukonda discloses wherein receiving the tabular data further comprises: receiving a location of the tabular data; and transmitting an API call with the location of the tabular data to retrieve the tabular data. Inukonda teaches using APIs to retrieve data from a spreadsheet from a particular field. Inukonda ¶¶ 58, 69.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 and 16-19 contain allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-12 are allowed. The closest known prior art is Inukonda et al., US 2015/0193123 A1. Inukonda teaches transferring data from a spreadsheet to field on a webpage. However, Inukonda does not teach the use of a machine learning model. Meanwhile, Mayer et al., US 2023/0108015 A1, teaches the use of a machine learning model to match source screen data to target screen data. However, Mayer does not explicitly describe suggesting associations based on (1) data types of webpage fields and extracted column data; or (2) field names of the webpage and column names of extracted column data.
Claims 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Although particular portions of the prior art may have been cited in support of the rejections, the specified citations are merely representative of the teachings. Other passages and figures in the cited prior art may apply. Accordingly, Applicant should consider the entirety of the cited prior art for potentially teaching all or part of the claims.
Asher D. Kells
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2171
/Asher D Kells/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171