DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 7,911,716 B1; Lu) in view of KAWAKAMI (US 2015/0222863 A1).
As of claim 1, Lu teaches a lens module 100 [fig 1] that couples an enlargement-side (magnified side) [fig 1] image formation plane 60 (image processing device) [fig 1] (col 5, line 40), to a reduction-side image formation plane (reduced side) [fig 1] that is a reduced version of the enlargement-side image formation plane (magnified side) [fig 1], the lens module 100 [fig 1] comprising: a first lens group 110 [fig 1] formed of a plurality of lenses 112, 114 [fig 1] and having positive power (the first lens group is disposed between a magnified side and a reduced side, and has a positive refractive power) (line 2, lines 30-32); a second lens group 130 [fig 1] including a diaphragm 120 (aperture stop) [fig 1] and at least one negative lens 134 [fig 1] (col 5, lines 3-4) and having negative power (the second lens group is disposed between the first lens group and the reduced side, and the second lens group has a negative refractive power) (line 2, lines 38-40); and a third lens group 140 [fig 1] formed of a plurality of lenses and having positive power (the third lens group is disposed between the second lens group and the reduced side, and has a positive refractive power) (line 2, lines 45-47), the three lens groups 110, 130, 140 [fig 1] sequentially arranged in a direction in which beams travel from the enlargement side (magnified side) [fig 1] toward the reduction side (reduced side) [fig 1], and enlargement-side (magnified side) [fig 1] and reduction-side (reduced side) [fig 1] portions of the lens system 100 [fig 1] are telecentric portions (col 5, lines 24-25); an arrangement of lens power of the lens 142 [fig 1] of the first lens group 110 [fig 1], which are arranged from the enlargement side (magnified side) [fig 1] toward the reduction side (reduced side) [fig 1], is the same as an arrangement of lens power (the first lens group is disposed between a magnified side and a reduced side, and has a positive refractive power) (line 2, lines 30-32) of the plurality of lenses of the third lens group (the third lens group is disposed between the second lens group and the reduced side, and has a positive refractive power) (line 2, lines 45-47), which are arranged from the reduction side (reduced side) [fig 1] toward the enlargement side (magnified side) [fig 1].
Lu does not teach a relay system; wherein the number of lenses of the first lens group and the number of lenses of the third lens group are equal to each other.
KAWAKAMI teaches a relay optical system 40 [fig 1] [0057] having the number of lenses of the first lens group 41R [fig 1] and the number of lenses [fig 1] of the third lens group 41B [fig 1] are equal to each other [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a relay system; wherein the number of lenses of the first lens group and the number of lenses of the third lens group are equal to each other as taught by KAWAKAMI to the lens module as disclosed by Lu to produce a high-definition image with a high contrast ratio (KAWAKAMI; [0009]).
As of claim 3, Lu teaches out of the lenses of the first, second, and third lens groups 110, 130, 140 [fig 1], a lens 134 [fig 1] having a smallest effective diameter (smallest lens) [fig 1] has aspheric surfaces (col 8, lines 61-62).
As of claim 4, Lu teaches the second lens group 130 [fig 1] is formed of the diaphragm 120 [fig 1] and the single negative lens 134 [fig 1] (col 5, lines 3-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 2, the closest prior art Lu et al. (US 7,911,716 B1; Lu) teaches a lens module 100 of the embodiment is disposed between a magnified side and a reduced side, and includes a first lens group 110, an aperture stop 120, a second lens group 130, and a third lens group 140 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side. In the embodiment, the first lens group 110, the second lens group 130, and the third lens group 140 are positive refractive power, negative refractive power and positive refractive power respectively. Specifically, the first lens group 110 includes a first sub-lens group 110a and a second sub-lens group 110b arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the first sub-lens group 110a and the second sub-lens group 110b are, for example, negative and positive sequentially. The first sub-lens group 110a has a first lens 112, and a surface S1 of the first lens 112 facing the magnified side is a concave surface. The second sub-lens group 110b has a second lens 114. The second lens group 130 includes a third lens 132 and a fourth lens 134 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the third lens 132 and the fourth lens 134 are, for example, positive and negative sequentially. Herein, the third lens group 140 is consisted of a fifth lens 142, and a refractive power of the fifth lens 142, for example, is positive. Specifically, in the embodiment, the first lens 112 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the magnified side and a convex surface facing the reduced side. Moreover, the first lens 112 has a negative refractive power. A surface S6 of the second lens group 130 closest to the magnified side is a convex surface. The third lens 132 is a concave-convex lens with a convex surface facing the magnified side and a concave surface facing the reduced side. The fourth lens 134 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the reduced side and a convex surface facing the magnified side. A surface S10 of the fifth lens 142 facing the magnified side is a convex surface. However, the invention is not limited thereto. In other embodiment, the lens can be in shapes not illustrated above depending on actual requirements. In the embodiment, in order for the lens module 100 to be compact and miniaturized, at least one lens for consisting the lens module 100 is an aspherical lens. Thus, less lenses (i.e. five lenses) are used for consisting a lens module having a telecentric system while also having superior imaging quality. Here, the telecentric system is adopted to enhance light source utilization and frame luminance uniformity. Consequently, the main light beam at the reduced side of the lens module 100 and the optical axis A thereof are as parallel to each other as possible; that is, the lens module 100 has an optical feature of a telecentric lens. Particularly, the first lens 112 and the fourth lens 134 illustrated in the lens module 100 of the embodiment are each an aspherical lens; however, the invention is not limited thereto. In another embodiment, other lenses in the lens module can also be aspherical lenses. In addition, when the lens adopts an aspherical design, the lens can be made of glass. The lens can also be made of plastic, so as to save fabrication cost. The parameter and design of the aspherical lens are to be illustrated in the following. Lu does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the first lens group includes two positive lenses and a cemented unit lens sequentially arranged from the enlargement side toward the reduction side, and the third lens group includes two positive lenses and a cemented unit lens sequentially arranged from the reduction side toward the enlargement side.
As of claim 5, the closest prior art Lu et al. (US 7,911,716 B1; Lu) teaches a lens module 100 of the embodiment is disposed between a magnified side and a reduced side, and includes a first lens group 110, an aperture stop 120, a second lens group 130, and a third lens group 140 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side. In the embodiment, the first lens group 110, the second lens group 130, and the third lens group 140 are positive refractive power, negative refractive power and positive refractive power respectively. Specifically, the first lens group 110 includes a first sub-lens group 110a and a second sub-lens group 110b arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the first sub-lens group 110a and the second sub-lens group 110b are, for example, negative and positive sequentially. The first sub-lens group 110a has a first lens 112, and a surface S1 of the first lens 112 facing the magnified side is a concave surface. The second sub-lens group 110b has a second lens 114. The second lens group 130 includes a third lens 132 and a fourth lens 134 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the third lens 132 and the fourth lens 134 are, for example, positive and negative sequentially. Herein, the third lens group 140 is consisted of a fifth lens 142, and a refractive power of the fifth lens 142, for example, is positive. Specifically, in the embodiment, the first lens 112 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the magnified side and a convex surface facing the reduced side. Moreover, the first lens 112 has a negative refractive power. A surface S6 of the second lens group 130 closest to the magnified side is a convex surface. The third lens 132 is a concave-convex lens with a convex surface facing the magnified side and a concave surface facing the reduced side. The fourth lens 134 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the reduced side and a convex surface facing the magnified side. A surface S10 of the fifth lens 142 facing the magnified side is a convex surface. However, the invention is not limited thereto. In other embodiment, the lens can be in shapes not illustrated above depending on actual requirements. In the embodiment, in order for the lens module 100 to be compact and miniaturized, at least one lens for consisting the lens module 100 is an aspherical lens. Thus, less lenses (i.e. five lenses) are used for consisting a lens module having a telecentric system while also having superior imaging quality. Here, the telecentric system is adopted to enhance light source utilization and frame luminance uniformity. Consequently, the main light beam at the reduced side of the lens module 100 and the optical axis A thereof are as parallel to each other as possible; that is, the lens module 100 has an optical feature of a telecentric lens. Particularly, the first lens 112 and the fourth lens 134 illustrated in the lens module 100 of the embodiment are each an aspherical lens; however, the invention is not limited thereto. In another embodiment, other lenses in the lens module can also be aspherical lenses. In addition, when the lens adopts an aspherical design, the lens can be made of glass. The lens can also be made of plastic, so as to save fabrication cost. The parameter and design of the aspherical lens are to be illustrated in the following. Lu does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the relay system satisfies conditional expressions below, D1<L1
D2<L2 where L1 represents a largest air spacing, D1 represents a smaller effective diameter of a lens or an image formation plane adjacent to the largest air spacing, that is, either an effective diameter of the lens or an effective diameter of one of the enlargement-side and reduction-side image formation planes, L2 represents a second largest air spacing, and D2 represents a smaller effective diameter of a lens or an image formation plane adjacent to the second largest air spacing, that is, either the effective diameter of the lens or the effective diameter of another one of the enlargement-side and reduction-side image formation planes.
Claims 7, 9 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 5.
As of claim 6, the closest prior art Lu et al. (US 7,911,716 B1; Lu) teaches a lens module 100 of the embodiment is disposed between a magnified side and a reduced side, and includes a first lens group 110, an aperture stop 120, a second lens group 130, and a third lens group 140 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side. In the embodiment, the first lens group 110, the second lens group 130, and the third lens group 140 are positive refractive power, negative refractive power and positive refractive power respectively. Specifically, the first lens group 110 includes a first sub-lens group 110a and a second sub-lens group 110b arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the first sub-lens group 110a and the second sub-lens group 110b are, for example, negative and positive sequentially. The first sub-lens group 110a has a first lens 112, and a surface S1 of the first lens 112 facing the magnified side is a concave surface. The second sub-lens group 110b has a second lens 114. The second lens group 130 includes a third lens 132 and a fourth lens 134 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the third lens 132 and the fourth lens 134 are, for example, positive and negative sequentially. Herein, the third lens group 140 is consisted of a fifth lens 142, and a refractive power of the fifth lens 142, for example, is positive. Specifically, in the embodiment, the first lens 112 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the magnified side and a convex surface facing the reduced side. Moreover, the first lens 112 has a negative refractive power. A surface S6 of the second lens group 130 closest to the magnified side is a convex surface. The third lens 132 is a concave-convex lens with a convex surface facing the magnified side and a concave surface facing the reduced side. The fourth lens 134 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the reduced side and a convex surface facing the magnified side. A surface S10 of the fifth lens 142 facing the magnified side is a convex surface. However, the invention is not limited thereto. In other embodiment, the lens can be in shapes not illustrated above depending on actual requirements. In the embodiment, in order for the lens module 100 to be compact and miniaturized, at least one lens for consisting the lens module 100 is an aspherical lens. Thus, less lenses (i.e. five lenses) are used for consisting a lens module having a telecentric system while also having superior imaging quality. Here, the telecentric system is adopted to enhance light source utilization and frame luminance uniformity. Consequently, the main light beam at the reduced side of the lens module 100 and the optical axis A thereof are as parallel to each other as possible; that is, the lens module 100 has an optical feature of a telecentric lens. Particularly, the first lens 112 and the fourth lens 134 illustrated in the lens module 100 of the embodiment are each an aspherical lens; however, the invention is not limited thereto. In another embodiment, other lenses in the lens module can also be aspherical lenses. In addition, when the lens adopts an aspherical design, the lens can be made of glass. The lens can also be made of plastic, so as to save fabrication cost. The parameter and design of the aspherical lens are to be illustrated in the following. Lu does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the relay system satisfies conditional expressions below, D1<L1
D2<L2 where L1 represents a largest air spacing, D1 represents a smaller effective diameter of a lens or an image formation plane adjacent to the largest air spacing, that is, either an effective diameter of the lens or an effective diameter of one of the enlargement-side and reduction-side image formation planes, L2 represents a second largest air spacing, and D2 represents a smaller effective diameter of two lenses, that is, the effective diameter of a lens adjacent to the second largest air spacing.
Claim 8 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 6.
As of claim 10, the closest prior art Lu et al. (US 7,911,716 B1; Lu) teaches a lens module 100 of the embodiment is disposed between a magnified side and a reduced side, and includes a first lens group 110, an aperture stop 120, a second lens group 130, and a third lens group 140 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side. In the embodiment, the first lens group 110, the second lens group 130, and the third lens group 140 are positive refractive power, negative refractive power and positive refractive power respectively. Specifically, the first lens group 110 includes a first sub-lens group 110a and a second sub-lens group 110b arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the first sub-lens group 110a and the second sub-lens group 110b are, for example, negative and positive sequentially. The first sub-lens group 110a has a first lens 112, and a surface S1 of the first lens 112 facing the magnified side is a concave surface. The second sub-lens group 110b has a second lens 114. The second lens group 130 includes a third lens 132 and a fourth lens 134 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the third lens 132 and the fourth lens 134 are, for example, positive and negative sequentially. Herein, the third lens group 140 is consisted of a fifth lens 142, and a refractive power of the fifth lens 142, for example, is positive. Specifically, in the embodiment, the first lens 112 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the magnified side and a convex surface facing the reduced side. Moreover, the first lens 112 has a negative refractive power. A surface S6 of the second lens group 130 closest to the magnified side is a convex surface. The third lens 132 is a concave-convex lens with a convex surface facing the magnified side and a concave surface facing the reduced side. The fourth lens 134 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the reduced side and a convex surface facing the magnified side. A surface S10 of the fifth lens 142 facing the magnified side is a convex surface. However, the invention is not limited thereto. In other embodiment, the lens can be in shapes not illustrated above depending on actual requirements. In the embodiment, in order for the lens module 100 to be compact and miniaturized, at least one lens for consisting the lens module 100 is an aspherical lens. Thus, less lenses (i.e. five lenses) are used for consisting a lens module having a telecentric system while also having superior imaging quality. Here, the telecentric system is adopted to enhance light source utilization and frame luminance uniformity. Consequently, the main light beam at the reduced side of the lens module 100 and the optical axis A thereof are as parallel to each other as possible; that is, the lens module 100 has an optical feature of a telecentric lens. Particularly, the first lens 112 and the fourth lens 134 illustrated in the lens module 100 of the embodiment are each an aspherical lens; however, the invention is not limited thereto. In another embodiment, other lenses in the lens module can also be aspherical lenses. In addition, when the lens adopts an aspherical design, the lens can be made of glass. The lens can also be made of plastic, so as to save fabrication cost. The parameter and design of the aspherical lens are to be illustrated in the following. Lu does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a color separation system that separates white light output from the light source into first color light having a first wavelength band containing blue light and other color light having a wavelength band longer than the first wavelength band; a first light modulator that modulates the first color light separated by the color separation system; a second light modulator that modulates the other color light separated by the color separation system; the relay system, in which the first light modulator is disposed at the enlargement-side image formation plane and which reduces a luminous flux width of the first color light modulated by the first light modulator to a size of the reduction-side image formation plane; a light combining prism that combines the first color light the luminous flux width of which is reduced by the relay system and the other color light modulated by the second light modulator with each other into combined light and outputs the combined light; and a projection system that projects the combined light output from the light combining prism, wherein an effective area of the first light modulator is larger than an effective area of the second light modulator, the relay system includes a first planar mirror disposed between the enlargement-side image formation plane and the first lens group, and a second planar mirror disposed between the third lens group and the reduction-side image formation plane, the first and second planar mirrors each deflect the beams, an optical axis of the enlargement-side image formation plane and an optical axis of the reduction-side image formation plane are parallel to each other, and a direction in which the first color light is incident on the enlargement-side image formation plane is opposite a direction in which the first color light exits via the reduction-side image formation plane.
As of claim 11, the closest prior art Lu et al. (US 7,911,716 B1; Lu) teaches a lens module 100 of the embodiment is disposed between a magnified side and a reduced side, and includes a first lens group 110, an aperture stop 120, a second lens group 130, and a third lens group 140 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side. In the embodiment, the first lens group 110, the second lens group 130, and the third lens group 140 are positive refractive power, negative refractive power and positive refractive power respectively. Specifically, the first lens group 110 includes a first sub-lens group 110a and a second sub-lens group 110b arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the first sub-lens group 110a and the second sub-lens group 110b are, for example, negative and positive sequentially. The first sub-lens group 110a has a first lens 112, and a surface S1 of the first lens 112 facing the magnified side is a concave surface. The second sub-lens group 110b has a second lens 114. The second lens group 130 includes a third lens 132 and a fourth lens 134 arranged in sequence from the magnified side to the reduced side, and refractive powers of the third lens 132 and the fourth lens 134 are, for example, positive and negative sequentially. Herein, the third lens group 140 is consisted of a fifth lens 142, and a refractive power of the fifth lens 142, for example, is positive. Specifically, in the embodiment, the first lens 112 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the magnified side and a convex surface facing the reduced side. Moreover, the first lens 112 has a negative refractive power. A surface S6 of the second lens group 130 closest to the magnified side is a convex surface. The third lens 132 is a concave-convex lens with a convex surface facing the magnified side and a concave surface facing the reduced side. The fourth lens 134 is a convex-concave lens with a concave surface facing the reduced side and a convex surface facing the magnified side. A surface S10 of the fifth lens 142 facing the magnified side is a convex surface. However, the invention is not limited thereto. In other embodiment, the lens can be in shapes not illustrated above depending on actual requirements. In the embodiment, in order for the lens module 100 to be compact and miniaturized, at least one lens for consisting the lens module 100 is an aspherical lens. Thus, less lenses (i.e. five lenses) are used for consisting a lens module having a telecentric system while also having superior imaging quality. Here, the telecentric system is adopted to enhance light source utilization and frame luminance uniformity. Consequently, the main light beam at the reduced side of the lens module 100 and the optical axis A thereof are as parallel to each other as possible; that is, the lens module 100 has an optical feature of a telecentric lens. Particularly, the first lens 112 and the fourth lens 134 illustrated in the lens module 100 of the embodiment are each an aspherical lens; however, the invention is not limited thereto. In another embodiment, other lenses in the lens module can also be aspherical lenses. In addition, when the lens adopts an aspherical design, the lens can be made of glass. The lens can also be made of plastic, so as to save fabrication cost. The parameter and design of the aspherical lens are to be illustrated in the following. Lu does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a color separation system that separates white light output from the light source into first color light having a first wavelength band containing blue light and other color light having a wavelength band longer than the first wavelength band; a first light modulator that modulates the first color light separated by the color separation system; a second light modulator that modulates the other color light separated by the color separation system; the relay system, in which the first light modulator is disposed at the enlargement-side image formation plane and which reduces a luminous flux width of the first color light modulated by the first light modulator to a size of the reduction-side image formation plane; a light combining prism that combines the first color light the luminous flux width of which is reduced by the relay system and the other color light modulated by the second light modulator with each other into combined light and outputs the combined light; and a projection system that projects the combined light output from the light combining prism, wherein an effective area of the first light modulator is larger than an effective area of the second light modulator, the relay system includes a first planar mirror disposed between the enlargement-side image formation plane and the first lens group, and a second planar mirror disposed in the first lens group, the first and second planar mirrors each deflect the beams, an optical axis of the enlargement-side image formation plane and an optical axis of the reduction-side image formation plane are parallel to each other, and a direction in which the first color light is incident on the enlargement-side image formation plane is opposite a direction in which the first color light exits via the reduction-side image formation plane.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art NAGATOSHI (US 20190094504 A1) teaches an imaging optical system consists of, in order from the magnification side, a first optical system forming an intermediate image and a second optical system re-forming the intermediate image, and is configured to be telecentric on the reduction side. The imaging optical system satisfies predetermined conditional expressions relating to a ray height on a lens surface closest to the magnification side in the second optical system, a ray height on a lens surface closest to the reduction side in the first optical system, and heights of rays at a position where a principal ray with the maximum angle of view intersects with the optical axis in the second optical system;
- Prior Art HIRATA et al. (US 20190025680 A1) teaches a projection-type image display apparatus which has a projection optical system that can sufficiently meet requirements for significant reduction in a throw distance and a large image and that can downsize. A projection image display apparatus of an oblique type comprising, inside a housing: a light source; an image display element configured to modulate an intensity of light from the light source in accordance with an image signal; and a projection lens system including a plurality of lenses configured to project image light onto a projection plane from an oblique direction, the image light being modulated from the image display element. The projection lens system has a lens integrally having an aspherical lens surface and a freeform lens surface, and the lens integrally having the aspherical lens surface and the freeform lens surface is arranged in the projection lens system so that light components of luminous flux are separated.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882