DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the locking portions that “are driving teeth formed on the drive transmission gear to mesh with the tooth portions of the inner rotating ring” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The figures and specification label the locking portions has the teeth 78 meshing with lock receiving portions 81 (see Fig. 7), while a separate set of teeth 77 are the driving teeth that mesh with the teeth 61 of the inner rotating ring. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 8 recites that “the locking portions are driving teeth formed on the drive transmission gear to mesh with the tooth portions of the inner rotating ring.” Because the figures and specification show teeth of the locking portions meshing with the lock receiving portion and a separate set of driving teeth meshing with the tooth portions of the inner rotating ring, this limitation has been read as -the locking portions are driving teeth formed on the drive transmission gear-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7 all recite “the locking portion.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations because claim 1 recites “a plurality of locking portions.” For the purposes of examination, “the locking portion” has been read as -the locking portions- and “is” has been read as -are- where appropriate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yao (US 20250076815) in view of Oshio (JP 2010139399).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses (Figs. 5 and 7-8) a timepiece comprising: a case (abstract); a dial having a circular plate shape (all timepieces have a dial, and Fig. 1 shows a circular plate shape) and accommodated in the case (all dials are in a watch case); and a rotation restriction unit (3) configured to restrict an operation of the rotation operation unit ([0016]), the rotation operation unit includes a rotation shaft portion (22) rotatable around a shaft center (201) along a radial direction of the dial (Fig. 5), and a drive transmission gear (203) provided on the rotation shaft portion, a plurality of locking portions (81) is formed in the drive transmission gear at different positions in a direction around a shaft (of 203), the rotation restriction unit includes a lock receiving portion (30) biased toward the locking portions and detachably locked to the locking portions (Fig. 5 shows 30 locked to the locking portions of 203, and Fig. 6 shows 30 unlocked), and the lock receiving portion restricts rotation of the drive transmission gear by being locked to the locking portion ([0016]: the lock receiving portion prevents rotation of the drive transmission gear with respect to the lock receiving portion).
Yao does not show an inner rotating ring formed in a ring shape along an outer peripheral edge of the dial and rotatable in a circumferential direction, the rotation operation unit being configured to rotate the inner rotating ring, the inner rotating ring including a plurality of tooth portions, and the drive transmission gear meshing with the tooth portions to rotate the inner rotating ring.
Oshio teaches (Fig. 2) an inner rotating ring (23) formed in a ring shape along an outer peripheral edge of a dial and rotatable in a circumferential direction ([0030]), a rotation operation unit (42) being configured to rotate the inner rotating ring, the inner rotating ring including a plurality of tooth portions (233), and a drive transmission gear (423) meshing with the tooth portions (233) to rotate the inner rotating ring ([0043] of the translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Oshio’s drive transmission gear and inner rotating ring with Yao’s drive transmission gear. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide a scale with rotatable, shifting indices for a user to control so as to provide accurate information based on different situations ([0003] of Oshio).
Regarding claim 2, Yao discloses (Figs. 13-14) the timepiece according to claim 1, wherein the locking portion (81) is formed in a convex shape protruding outward in a radial direction of the drive transmission gear (Fig. 14), and the lock receiving portion has a receiving recess (30 and grooves between 82) to be engaged with the locking portion in a concave-convex manner ([0062]).
Regarding claims 4-6, Yao discloses (Figs. 13-14) the timepiece according to claim 1, wherein the number of locking portions is the same as that of driving teeth (810) of the drive transmission gear (Fig. 14), and the positions of the locking portions in the direction around the shaft are positions corresponding to the driving teeth. The drive transmission gear (203) meshes with the lock receiving portion (30 and Figs. 7-8), and since the drive transmission gear and lock receiving portion have revolutionary symmetry, the number of ways to mesh, i.e., the number of locking portions, is the same as the number of driving teeth.
Regarding claim 7, Yao discloses (Figs. 7, 14) the timepiece according to claim 1, wherein the locking portions (81) are flat portions formed on the drive transmission gear (formed on 202 in Fig. 7), and the lock receiving portion is locked to the flat portion by surface contact (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Yao discloses (Figs. 7, 14) the timepiece according to claim 1, wherein the locking portions are driving teeth (810) formed on the drive transmission gear (203), and the lock receiving portion (30, 82) is engaged with the driving teeth in a concave-convex manner (Figs. 5-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 3, the prior art does not show or suggest a rotation restriction unit including a biasing unit configured to bias a lock receiving portion toward the locking portion by a bending elastic force, in combination with the other limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jang et al. (US 20220074731) discloses a crown of a watch coupled to an inner structure that measures the crown’s angular rotation (abstract, [0061]).
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833