Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 24 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang (US 20220312282).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 17/24/31, Chang teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system ([Fig.1 and 0084]), the method comprising:
identifying whether a transmission on a secondary cell group (SCG) is suspended and whether the SCG is deactivated ([0086], “UE determines whether an SCG/DC is configured and whether SCG link quality is good.” And [0091], “The SCG link quality being good described above may refer to ... that the SCG is not suspended), based on a radio link failure detection for a master cell group (MCG) ([0084-0085], when an “an MCG RLF occurs.”);
if the transmission on the SCG is not suspended and the SCG is not deactivated ([0086], “if ... the SCG link quality is good, then the UE performs step 3A.”), initiating a procedure of reporting the radio link failure for the MCG ([0087], “In step 3A, an MCG failure information procedure is initiated to resume link connection. That is, link connection recovery is initiated by transmitting MCG failure information to the SCG.”); and
if the transmission on the SCG is suspended or the SCG is deactivated ([0086], “the SCG link quality is not good, then the UE performs step 3B.” And [0091], “the SCG link quality being not good may refer to ... that the SCG is suspended.”), initiating a radio resource control (RRC) connection reestablishment procedure ([0088], “In step 3B, the UE determines whether the UE has the stored conditional handover configuration ... if the UE does not have the stored conditional handover configuration, then the UE performs step 4B.” And [0090], “In step 4B, an RRC connection re-establishment procedure is initiated to resume the link connection.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19, 25-26 and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Wang (US 20220167445).
Regarding claim(s) 18/25/32, Wang teaches receiving ([Fig.9 and 0231], “S902. The SN sends a deactivation indication to the UE.”), from a base station ([Fig.9], SN), a first RRC message including an indication of a deactivation of the SCG ([Fig.9 and 0231], “S902. The SN sends a deactivation indication to the UE.” And [0278], “The deactivation indication or the activation indication may be included in a MAC CE, physical layer signaling, or an RRC message.”); and
deactivation of the SCG ([0237], “S904. The UE performs, according to the deactivation indication, an operation of deactivating the SCG.”); and performing radio link monitoring on SCG ([Fig.9, stepS906], the UE monitors SCG in order to be able to receive activation indication from the MN.), based on the indication of the deactivation of the SCG ([0231], “deactivation indication”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Chang to specify deactivate SCG as taught by Wang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to save energy.
Regarding claim(s) 19/26/33, Wang teaches receiving, from the base station, a second RRC message including cell group configuration information of the SCG ([Fig.9 and 0240], “S906. The SN sends an activation indication to the UE.”); and activating the SCG based on the second RRC message ([0243], “S908. The UE performs, according to the activation indication, an operation of activating the SCG.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Chang to specify activate SCG as taught by Wang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to convey data between a UE and a base station.
Claim(s) 20, 27 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Yilmaz (US 20200359441).
Regarding claim(s) 20/27/34, Yilmaz teaches in case that an indication that a maximum number of retransmissions is reached is received from a radio link control (RLC) entity of the MCG ([0082], “1> upon indication from MCG RLC that the maximum number of retransmissions has been reached.”) and a carrier aggregation (CA) duplication is configured and activated for the MCG ([0082], “2> if CA duplication is configured and activated.”), initiating a procedure of reporting an RLC failure ([0084], “3> initiate the failure information procedure as specified in 5.7.x to report RLC failure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Chang to specify maximum number retransmission as taught by Yilmaz. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report failure information.
Claim(s) 22, 29 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni (US 20230284312).
Regarding claim(s) 22/29/36, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches identifying whether a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change is performed ([0168] 5> if PSCell change is not ongoing.”),
wherein initiating the procedure of reporting the radio link failure for the MCG includes, if the transmission on the SCG is not suspended and the SCG is not deactivated and the PSCell change is not performed, initiating the procedure of reporting the radio link failure for the MCG ([0168], “if SCG transmission is not suspended; and [0168] 5> if PSCell change is not ongoing ... [0169] 6> initiate the MCG failure information procedure as specified in 5.7.3b to report MCG radio link failure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Chang to specify determining whether pscell is changed as taught by Parichehrehteroujeni. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report failure information.
Claim(s) 23 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Lee (US 20180007715).
Regarding claim(s) 23/30, Lee teaches wherein initiating the RRC connection reestablishment procedure includes:
stopping one or more timers if running ([0185], “the UE shall resume all SCG DRBs and resume SCG transmission for split DRBs, if suspended, stop timer T313, if running.”);
resetting a medium access control (MAC) entity; and releasing dual connectivity (DC) if the DC is configured.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Chang to specify stop timer as taught by Lee. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to resume connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues (Remark page 11, last paragraph)
“However, "suspended" and "deactivated" are not equivalent states in the relevant art.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner interprets being suspended is equivalent to being deactivated because suspend or deactivate means being inactive. According to specification of the instant application, [0488] of the PG PUB, “In another method, when the reserved bit (e.g., R field) is configured as 0 (or 1), it may mean an indication to deactivate or suspend the cell group (e.g., SCG),” so to deactivate is interchangeable with to suspend. The examiner interprets claimed (SCG) is suspended and the SCG is deactivated” as SCG is suspended or the SCG is deactivated.
Based on the foregoing reasoning, the rejections are sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411