Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: “second bar second” should read “second bar section”. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third guiding projection” and the “fourth guiding projection” must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims contain the limitations of a “third guiding projection” and a “fourth guiding projection”; the specification of the instant application contains no mention of a third or fourth guiding projection. The specification merely states that “the supporting cheeks 42, 44 comprise guiding projections 58, 60 formed on the coupling carrier plate 50” (see [0018] and [0034] of Specification – 2/26/2024). Furthermore, the drawings fail to show more than two supporting cheeks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margraf (EP 3549797) in view of Thomas (US 5217242).
Regarding claim 1, Margraf teaches a coupling arrangement for an agricultural tractor (Abstract, Fig. 3), the coupling arrangement comprising: a coupling carrier plate 30 including: an upper supporting cheek 39 extending across the coupling carrier plate 30, a lower supporting cheek 39 (Paragraphs 52-53, Figs. 1 and 3-5; the upper and lower supporting surfaces of the guide grooves 39a/39b are the supporting cheeks), and an insertion opening between the upper supporting cheek 39 and the lower supporting cheek 39 (Fig. 3; the cheeks define an outer boundary of an insertion opening where a drawbar 40 is inserted); a drawbar 40 having: a first bar section, which is mounted in a longitudinally movable manner for attachment to an agricultural tractor 10 (Paragraphs 59 and 61, Figs. 1-5; the first bar section is the end of the drawbar where holes 50a/50b are located), and a second bar section 56, which is situated opposite the first bar section and is guided in a longitudinally movable manner within the insertion opening between upper supporting cheek 39 and the lower supporting cheek 39 (Paragraph 61, Fig. 3); and a securing element 54, wherein the drawbar 40 is movable into a plurality of coupling positions by longitudinal movement and can be locked therein with respect to the coupling carrier plate 30 via the securing element 54 (Paragraphs 57 and 59, Figs. 4-5).
Margraf teaches a lower supporting cheek 39 on the coupling carrier plate 30 (Fig. 3), but does not teach the lower supporting cheek extending across the coupling carrier plate, nor does Margraf teach a holder or the first bar section mounted in a longitudinally movable manner in the holder for attachment to the tractor.
However, Thomas teaches an adjustable length drawbar assembly supported in a coupling carrier plate by upper 14 and lower 52 supporting cheeks extending across the coupling carrier plate (Col. 2, lines 30-53, Fig. 1 of Thomas), and comprising a holder 34 and a drawbar 32 having: a first bar section 44, which is mounted in a longitudinally movable manner in the holder 34 (Col. 2, line 59-Col. 3, line 2 of Thomas) for attachment to an agricultural tractor (Col. 1, lines 5-8 of Thomas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling arrangement of Margraf to include the holder and the lower supporting cheek extending across the coupling carrier plate of Thomas in order to advantageously provide an adjustable drawbar assembly which avoids dirt accumulation (Col. 2, lines 30-35 of Thomas).
Regarding claim 7, Margraf as modified teaches the coupling arrangement including left and right runners 34a/34b for reception in a rail system carrier 24a/24b of a tractor coupling system, the left and right runners 34a/34b formed on the coupling carrier plate 30 (Paragraph 51, Figs. 3 and 5-6).
Regarding claim 8, Margraf as modified teaches wherein the second bar section 56 is passed in a drawer-like manner through the insertion opening, the insertion opening having a profile that corresponds to an outer contour of the second bar section 56, which enables the second bar section to fit within the coupling carrier plate 30 in a form-fitting manner (Paragraphs 52-53 and 60-61, Figs. 3-6; the insertion opening has guide grooves which correspond to an outer contour of the second bar section 56 in a form-fitting manner).
Regarding claim 9, Margraf as modified teaches wherein a coupling element 46, is attached to the second bar section 56 (Paragraphs 72-73, Figs. 3 and 5; the end of the tow bar which includes the second bar section 56 is also attached to the hitch 46).
Regarding claim 10, Margraf as modified teaches wherein at least one of the upper supporting cheek or the lower support cheek 39a/39b includes guiding projections formed on the coupling carrier plate 30 (Paragraph 53, Fig. 3; the cheeks project down and towards the center of the coupling carrier plate in a width direction, while having upper and lower supporting surfaces that correspond to the outer contour of the second bar section 56).
Regarding claim 11, Margraf as modified teaches wherein the coupling element 48 is a ball head (Paragraph 58, Figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, Margraf as modified teaches wherein the lower supporting cheek forms a sliding surface extending laterally beneath the second bar section (Col. 2, lines 28-34 and lines 48-49 of Thomas; the lower supporting cheek 52 provides a sliding surface for the drawbar).
While Margraf on its own does not teach “the lower supporting cheek forms a sliding surface extending laterally beneath the second bar section”, the question is what would result from the combined teachings of the references. See in re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981). Here, that result would be the modified lower supporting cheek (of Thomas) extending laterally beneath the second bar section (of Margraf) and forming a sliding surface (Col. 2, lines 28-34 and lines 48-49 of Thomas).
Regarding claim 13, Margraf as modified teaches wherein the upper supporting cheek includes a first guiding projection and a second guiding projection and the lower supporting cheek includes a third guiding projection and a fourth guiding projection (See annotated Fig. 3 of Margraf and annotated Fig. 1 of Thomas below; the forward extents of the cheeks at the four corners of the insertion opening are the guiding projections).
Regarding claim 14, Margraf as modified teaches wherein the second bar section 56 is to slide between the first guiding projection, the second guiding projection, the third guiding projection, and the fourth guiding projection (Paragraphs 60-61; See annotated Fig. 1 of Thomas and Fig. 3 of Margraf below).
Regarding claim 15, Margraf as modified teaches wherein the first guiding projection, the second guiding projection, the third guiding projection, and the fourth guiding projection extends from respective corners of the insertion opening (See annotated Fig. 1 of Thomas and Fig. 3 of Margraf below).
Regarding claim 16, Margraf as modified teaches wherein the left and right runners 34a/34b are receivable within respective height-adjustable fixing rails 24a/24b of the rail system carrier (Paragraph 51, Figs. 3 and 5-6).
Regarding claim 17, Margraf as modified teaches wherein the holder includes a supporting plate that extends transversely to a longitudinal extent of the drawbar, extending between two mounting blocks (Col. 2, lines 36-46 of Thomas; See annotated Fig. 1 of Thomas below; the holder 34 has a flat support plate as the bottom portion of the U-shape which extends transversely to the drawbar 32 between two mounting blocks).
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margraf in view Thomas, and further in view of Payne (US 9907221).
Regarding claim 2, Margraf as modified teaches a securing element 54 (Paragraph 59), but does not teach the securing element being threadless and passing through the second bar section and coupling carrier plate.
However, Payne teaches a hitch module 1000 wherein a securing element has a threadless securing bolt (Col. 16, lines 36-43 of Payne; the first engagement pin is the threadless bolt), which can be passed through mutually aligned positioning openings (the through-holes), which are formed in the coupling carrier plate 1002 and the second bar section 1008, in order to lock the drawbar, with the result that a longitudinal movement of the drawbar is blocked (Col. 16, lines 43-49, Fig. 10 of Payne).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the securing element of the modified assembly of Margraf/Thomas to be a pin engaging with a plurality of aligned positioning openings in the carrier plate and the second bar section as Payne teaches in order to advantageously allow the hitch assembly to extend away from the frame while being securely locked relative to the frame (Col. 16, lines 36-49 of Payne).
Regarding claim 5, Margraf as modified does not teach a guide element in a slotted hole in the first bar section.
However, Payne teaches wherein the holder has a guide element 1012, which engages in a slotted hole 1014 in the first bar section, for limiting the extent of the longitudinal movement (Col. 16, lines 19-23, Fig. 10 of Payne).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified coupling arrangement of Margraf/Thomas to have the guide element and slotted hole of Payne in order to advantageously allow the drawbar to be movable along a longitudinal axis (Abstract of Payne).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margraf in view of Thomas and Payne, and further in view of Rasset (US 7909349).
Regarding claim 3, Margraf as modified does not expressly teach the pin having a circumferential collar which rests on the upper side of the coupling carrier plate.
However, Rasset teaches a drawbar retention assembly wherein a collar 26a is formed on the securing bolt 26 and, in the mounted state, rests against an upper side of the coupling carrier plate 20 or an upper fastening eye projecting therefrom (Col. 5, lines 53-59, Figs. 3-6 of Rasset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified coupling arrangement of Margraf/et.al. so that the securing bolts have a collar that rests on the upper surface of the carrier plate in order to advantageously provide a suitable removing means to the pins (Col. 5, lines 53-59 of Rasset).
Regarding the limitation of the collar being circumferential, see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the shape of the collar of the pins to be circumferential in order to advantageously provide a simple pin configuration to manufacture.
Regarding claim 4, Margraf as modified does not teach left and right positioning openings.
However, Rasset teaches a drawbar retention assembly wherein left and right positioning openings for receiving a respective securing bolt 26 are provided on an end plate 133 formed on the second bar section 115, wherein the positioning openings correspond to corresponding left and right positioning openings 28 in the coupling carrier plate 20 (Col. 5, lines 42-56, Figs. 2-4 of Rasset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the left and right positioning openings with securing bolts of Rasset for the modified securing bolt and positioning openings of the modified coupling arrangement of Margraf/et.al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and advantageously provided the ability to selectively adjust the drawbar length and lock it into position (Col. 5, lines 59-66 of Rasset).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margraf in view of Thomas and Payne, and further in view of Joseph (US 1832641).
Regarding claim 6, Margraf as modified does not teach the slotted hole having an open end.
However, Joseph teaches a tractor hitch with a longitudinally extending slot 27 wherein the slotted hole 27 is open toward the free end of a first bar section (Col. 2, lines 1-8, Fig. 4 of Joseph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the open ended longitudinally extending slot of Joseph for the modified longitudinally extending slot of Margraf/et.al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and provided the advantages of allowing the draw bar to be longitudinally adjusted while also being removable from the guide element.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/TIMOTHY WILHELM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617