DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Examiner notes that there is no description of the steel plates “clearance range” of not more than 5% of a width of the steel plates. There is no definition of “clearance range” and what that actually means and requires in the claim.
Claims 2-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Clms 2 and 7: These claims recite the term “donut-shaped”. This term is unclear as to what constitutes “donut-shaped”, since donuts can have many different shapes. It is unclear as to what is required to have a donut-shape.
Re Clms 3 and 8: These claims refer to a “clearance range”. It is unclear as to what this clearance range refers to and what is being required by such a claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 8890030).
Re Clms 1 and 6: Lin et al. disclose a laser welding method for steel plates and steel plate assembly, comprising the following steps and components of: joining two steel plates (62, 64; disclosed as sleet plates), wherein a joint face of the steel plates extends along a joint line (weld line); using a laser to weld the joint face (as disclosed), wherein the laser has a power of between 20,000 and 30,000 watts (disclosed “up to or exceeding 20-kW); forming a molten region on the joint face using the laser (as shown and disclosed), wherein the molten region extends along the joint line (as shown), after the molten region is cooled and solidified, the steel plates are combined with each other (combined, as they are welded together; see col 4, lines 54-57).
Lin et al. fail to disclose a welding angle is defined between the laser and the joint line, and the welding angle is between 0 degrees and 10 degrees; and the molten region has a molten depth of between 20 and 50 mm, and the molten region has a molten width of between 4 and 7 mm.
Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that providing a laser welding angle between laser and the joint line is extremely common and utilized for the purpose of optimizing the weld depth required for the application. Providing a specific welding angle between 0 degrees and 10 degrees would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed laser weld angle range to provide a desired weld depth for the application.
Regarding the claimed dimensions of the molten region (depth and width), Examiner notes that these dimensions do not provide any unexpected results. Further, it appears the prior art would perform equally well with any suitable and desired depth and width. As such, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed dimensions of the molten region. Further, it has been held that when the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is merely the disclosure of the size of a component that does not provide any unexpected results a finding of prima facie obviousness is appropriate (see MPEP $2144.04).
Re Clms 2 and 7 (as best understood): Lin et al. as modified above suggest wherein at least one of the following conditions is met: a defocusing distance of the laser is between 0 and ± T/2 mm, T is a thickness of the steel plates; the laser has a power variation of ± 3%, a wavelength of the laser is between 1030 and 1080 nanometers; a spot shape of the laser is circular or donut-shaped; a spot diameter of the laser is between 0.3 and 5 mm. Examiner notes that as best understood, Lin et al. disclose at least one of the listed conditions.
Re Clms 3 and 8 (as best understood): Lin et al. as modified above suggest wherein when the steel plates are joined, the steel plates have a clearance range of not more than 5% of a width of the steel plates. Examiner notes that as best understood, Lin et al. disclose such a limitation.
Re Clms 4 and 9: Lin et al. disclose wherein the laser has a welding speed ranging from 5 to 80 millimeters per second (middle of col 4).
Re Clms 5 and 10: Lin et al. disclose providing a protective gas (shielding gas, col 4, line 23) to remove a plasma generated during welding of the laser, however, fails to disclose wherein the protective gas is one of argon, helium, nitrogen and carbon dioxide, or a combination thereof. Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that inert gases such as argon, helium, nitrogen and carbon dioxide are well-known shielding gases to protecting the weld by reducing plasma on the weld. As such, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used a known gas such as argon, helium, nitrogen and carbon dioxide as the shielding gas to protect the weld.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678