DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 7/16/2026, with respect to the 112(a) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(a) rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The arguments state that the applied references do not disclose the claimed limitations of “the first result generated for determining an end of a document region, the control unit being configured to determine the end of the document region based on the first result and extracting image data corresponding to the document region from the second result using the document region determined based on the first result”. The reference of Sato cures the deficiency of the previously applied references.
Regarding the first contention, this limitation can be disclosed by either the primary reference of Yoshizawa or Sato. For example, the primary reference performs determining if a cut sheet is completed in scanning and the image of the scanned sheet is sent to the computer. The image of the cut sheet is determined using the result of equation (1) of the shading correction operation in order to send the images of the cut sheets to the user, which is taught in ¶ [75]-[84]. The image of the scanned sheet is considered as a document including the ends of the sheet itself. This is one interpretation that performs the limitation related to the first result.
The second interpretation is using the Sato reference. Shading correction is used to detect a first end of a white sheet that is scanned, which is taught in ¶ [39]. The second reference additionally contains the same shading correction equation to determine Yideal and Yreal results. These results are used in a calculation in order to calculate a streak on a sheet (i.e. SG) that is extracted based on using the prior calculations of Yideal and Yreal, which is taught in Sato ¶ [52]-[59]. The second result using the Y equations together in order to determine a second result that is used to extract or remove the streak is considered as a second result using the first result of detecting an initial end of a document to extract image data. These calculations within the Sato reference performs both the calculation of the first result, generating a second result and using the first result with the second result to extract image data. Therefore, based on the above, the features of the claims are disclosed.
Thus, based on the above, the features of the claims are disclosed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: light source and control unit in claims 1-8, 10 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The phrase “use the streak to identify a document region in the image” is considered as new matter. When reviewing the specification, the first result involves making specific calculations and comparing the result to a threshold to determine if a pixel is a part of a document. The specification does not disclose using the streak, specifically, to determine the document region from the image including both the document region and background region. Thus, claims 1 and 11 are considered as new matter. Claims 2-10 are rejected based on their dependency.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “by using the edge of the document region and by distinguishing a dirt region included in a background region in a second result from a dirt region included in the document region in the first result” is considered as new matter. The specification does not disclose “by using the edge of the document” in conjunction with the other claimed limitations when cutting out a document. Since this is not seen within the specification, this is considered as new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa (US Pub 2019/0320089) in view of Sato (JP Pub 2015-142304 (Pub date: 8/3/2015)).
Re claim 12: Yoshizawa discloses an image reading device comprising:
a light source (interpretation: The light source 31 is, for example, an LED, a fluorescent lamp, or the like. The light source 31 emits light. Specifically, the light source 31 irradiates the facing reading unit with light, which is taught in ¶ [23]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to emit light (e.g. an image scanner contains a light source to emit light onto a reference panel or document, which is taught in ¶ [21].);
[0021] The image scanner 30 has a light source 31, lens array 32, and image sensor 33. The light emitted from the light source 31 passes through the platen glass 61 and illuminates the white reference panel 62 or the document S conveyed over the platen glass 61. The light reflected from the white reference panel 62 or the document S is incident to the image sensor 33 through the lens array 32.
a reference portion for shading correction (e.g. the reference panel is used to acquire white and black reference data in order to use this data for shading correction, which is taught in ¶ [30] and [35].);
[0030] The controller 70 acquires the white reference data by driving the light source 31 to illuminate the white reference panel 62, and detecting the reflection with the image sensor 33. The controller 70 acquires the black reference data by acquiring the detection result from the image sensor 33 when the light source 31 is off. The black reference data and white reference data preferably indicate the read results of all sensor chips arrayed on the X-axis, but if speed is more important than precision, the photoelectric conversion elements may be sampled to capture the read results from a subset of the photoelectric conversion elements.
[0035] The shading corrector 51 in this embodiment uses the black reference data acquired before acquiring scanning data, and black reference data acquired after capturing the scanning data, to apply shading correction to the scanning data resulting from scanning a document S. This process is described in further detail below. Note that the image processor 50 may also apply image processes other than shading correction, such as gamma correction, line correction, and skew correction, after shading correction by the shading corrector 51.
a reading unit (interpretation: The reading unit 32 reads the document M and outputs the read data. The reading unit 32 may read an image of one line in the scanning direction D2. The reading unit 32 may output the read data including a plurality of pixels arranged in the scanning direction D2. The reading unit 32 may include a plurality of image sensors arranged in the scanning direction D2. The plurality of image sensors may be modularized. The reading unit 32 is, for example, a contact type image sensor. Specifically, the reading unit 32 is a CMOS image sensor. the reading unit 32 photoelectrically converts received light. The reading unit 32 outputs an output value corresponding to the amount of received light. The output value obtained when the reading unit 32 reads the white document M is larger than the output value obtained when the black reference portion 33 is read. The output value is converted into a luminance value by A/D conversion. The reading unit 32 may be a monochrome sensor or a color sensor. The reading unit 32 may be configured to read the document M in full color, which is taught in ¶ [24] and []25]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to read a document and output read data (e.g. an image is scanned, stored for processing and is output, which is taught in ¶ [31] and [32].); and
[0031] The scanning data storage 42 stores the scanning data read from the document S. When storing scanning data, the scanning data storage 42 is configured to overwrite the scanning data that was previously stored with the new scanning data. The controller 70 stores the scanning data captured from the document S when the light source 31 is on in the scanning data storage 42 without correcting shading.
[0032] The image processor 50 applies various image processes to the scanning data to generate an output image, and includes a shading corrector 51. The image processor 50 in this example is a dedicated ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit) for image processing. The image processor 50 may obviously be configured with a CPU, or by using both a CPU and ASIC.
a control unit, wherein a particular one of first black reference data and first white reference data is data that is obtained by reading the reference portion by the reading unit with the light source turned on (e.g. the invention discloses acquiring white reference data after reading a reference portion by the scanner with the light source turned on. Since potentially could mean may or may not in the future, this is considered as not having dirt impact the black reference data. The black reference data is explained in ¶ [30] above.) and
a control unit (interpretation: The image reading device 11 includes a control unit 37. The control unit 37 comprehensively controls driving of each mechanism in the image reading device 11 and controls various operations executed in the image reading device 11. The control unit 37 can be configured as a circuit including α: one or more processors that execute various processing according to a computer program, β: one or more dedicated hardware circuits that execute at least part of the various processing, and γ: a combination thereof. The hardware circuit is, for example, an application-specific integrated circuit. The processor includes a CPU and a memory such as a RAM and ROM, and the memory stores program codes or instructions configured to cause the CPU to execute processing. The memory or a computer-readable medium includes any readable medium that can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer, which is taught in ¶ [31] This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.), the control unit being configured to generate a first result by executing shading correction including dividing a value obtained by subtracting the first black reference data from the read data by a value obtained by subtracting the first black reference data from the first white reference data (e.g. as seen in the ¶ [42]-[54], the system generates a result using the subtraction of the black reference from image data divided by the subtract of the black reference from the white reference data. This turns into a first result that is seen in equation (2).),
[0042] FIG. 3 illustrates the relationship between the timing of reference data acquisition and the scanning data acquisition period in a first embodiment of the invention.
[0043] At first acquisition time ti. the controller 70 acquires, as first reference data, first black reference data and first white reference data, and immediately starts conveying and scanning a document S. The controller 70 then pauses conveying and scanning the document S at second acquisition time t2 when time ΔT0 (ΔT0 t2−t1) has past after starting conveying and scanning the document S. The controller 70 acquires scanning data during time ΔT0. At second acquisition time t2 while conveying and scanning the document S is paused, the controller 70 acquires second black reference data as second reference data.
[0044] After acquiring the second reference data, the controller 70 resumes conveying and scanning the document S, and pauses conveying and scanning the document S at third acquisition time t3 after acquiring scanning data for time AT0. The scanning data acquired during this time AT0 is referred below to as second scanning data. At third acquisition time t3 while conveying and scanning the document S is paused, the controller 70 acquires third black reference data as third reference data.
[0045] The controller 70 then continues these steps of acquiring reference data and scanning data until scanning the document S is completed.
[0046] When calculating the black reference data in the acquisition period of the first scanning data read between first acquisition time t1 and second acquisition time t2, the first acquisition time ti and second acquisition time t2 are equivalent to the first time point and second time point in the accompanying claims. The second acquisition time t2 and third acquisition time t3 are equivalent to the first time point and second time point in the accompanying claims when calculating the black reference data in the acquisition period of the second scanning data read between second acquisition time t2 and third acquisition time t3.
[0047] In other words, the first time point of the invention is not limited to the first acquisition time ti in this embodiment, and may be any acquisition time (N−1) where N is an integer value of N≥2. The second time point is also not limited to second acquisition time t2 in this embodiment, and may be any acquisition time N. More specifically, the first time point and second time point of the invention are a time before acquisition of scanning data for which black reference data is calculated, and a time after scanning data is acquired.
[0048] FIG. 4 to FIG. 6 are graphs showing examples of acquired and calculated reference data values, and scanning data acquisition values. In these graphs the signal level is shown on the Y-axis, and X coordinates are on the X-axis. In FIG. 4, Bs [1] [x] indicates the acquisition values for the first black reference data, and Ws [1] [x] indicates the acquisition values for the first white reference data, where [x] indicates a pixel number of the multiple sensor chips arrayed on the X-axis direction.
[0049] FIG. 5 shows scanning data acquisition values i [y] [x], and calculated black reference data values b [y] [x], where [y] represents the pixel line scanned by conveyance of the document S in the +Y direction.
[0050] FIG. 6 shows the second black reference data acquisition values Bs [2] [x].
[0051] As will be understood from FIG. 4 and FIG. 6, the black reference data acquisition values vary. To cancel the effects of this variation in black reference data on the output image, the shading corrector 51 uses, as the black reference data used in shading correction, the black reference data calculated based on the black reference data values acquired before and after the scanning data acquisition period.
[0052] The shading correction equation is described next. The scanning data output value Out [y] [x] is calculated using equation (1) below. Note that Out [y] [x] is a value normalized by 1.
[0053] As shown in equation (1), the output value of the scanning data can be calculated by dividing the difference of the acquired scanning data value minus the black reference data by the difference of the white reference data minus the black reference data.
[0054] As described above, because the output value of the scanning data is calculated assuming the level of the difference of the white reference data minus the black reference data does not change, the difference of the white reference data minus the black reference data w[y] [x]-[y] [x] is constant. Therefore, the output value of the scanning data is calculated as shown in equation (2).
the first result being generated for determining an end of a document region, the control unit being configured to determine the end of the document region based on the first result (e.g. the system discloses using the result of the shading correction to determine an output image, which includes the end of the document or image region. The shading correction data is applied to generate the document region image, which is taught in ¶ [62]-[64] ad [75]-[83].).
[0062] Using the black reference data N and black reference data (N−1) stored in the reference data storage 41, the image reading device 1 then calculates, based on equation (3) above, the black reference data in the acquisition period of scanning data (N−1) (509). This step S09 is an example of a calculation step of the invention. Next, using the calculated black reference data, the image reading device 1 applies shading correction based on equation (2) above, applies image processes other than shading correction as appropriate, and generates an output image (S10). This step S10 is an example of a generation step of the invention.
[0063] The image reading device 1 outputs the generated output image to the host device 100 (S11), and determines if document S scanning is completed (S12). The image reading device 1 determines document S scanning is completed when the detection result from the document sensor 21 changes from Document Detected to No Document. The image reading device 1 ends the scanning process when it determines that document S scanning has ended (S12: Yes), and returns to S04 if it determines document S scanning has not ended (S12: No), S04.
[0064] As described above, the image reading device 1 according to this embodiment calculates black reference data in the acquisition period of first scanning data using the black reference data acquired at a first acquisition time t1 and at a second acquisition time t2, and applies shading correction using the calculated black reference data to the first scanning data acquired during time ΔT0 between the first acquisition time t1 and second acquisition time t2. By thus using calculated black reference data, change in the signal level of the black reference data between first acquisition time t1 and second acquisition time t2 can be absorbed, and its effect on the output image can be reduced.
[0075] The image reading device 1 then starts conveying and scanning the document S (S24). The image reading device 1 acquires scanning data as it reads the document S, and stores the acquired scanning data in the scanning data storage 42 (S25). This step S25 is an example of a first scanning step of the invention.
[0076] The image reading device 1 then determines if reading one sheet of the document S, which is cut-sheet media, ended (S26), and if reading one sheet is not completed (S26: No), returns to S24. The image reading device 1 determines scanning one sheet has ended based on the detection result of the paper feed sensor 22 changing from Document Detected to No Document. More specifically, by dividing the length stored as the distance from the location of the paper feed sensor 22 to the scanning position by the conveyance speed of the document 5, the image reading device 1 calculates the time required for the document S to advance this distance, and determines scanning one sheet is completed when this time has past since the detection result of the paper feed sensor 22 changed from Document Detected to No Document.
[0077] If the image reading device 1 determines that scanning one sheet of the document S has ended (S26: Yes), the image reading device 1 turns the light source 31 off and acquires black reference data N, and stores the acquired black reference data N in the reference data storage 41 (S27).
[0078] The image reading device 1 then immediately turns the light source 31 on, acquires white reference data N, and stores the acquired white reference data N in the reference data storage 41 (S28). In other words, the image reading device 1 acquires the black reference data N and white reference data N substantially simultaneously. Note that N is an integer value of N≥2. Steps S27 and S28 are examples of a second acquisition step of the invention.
[0079] Using the black reference data N, white reference data N, black reference data (N−1), and white reference data (N−1) stored in the reference data storage 41, the image reading device 1 then calculates, based on equations (3) and (4) above, the black reference data and white reference data in the acquisition period of the scanning data (S29). This step S29 is an example of a calculation step of the invention.
[0080] Next, using the calculated black reference data and white reference data, the image reading device 1 applies shading correction based on equation (1) above, applies image processes other than shading correction as appropriate, and generates an output image (S30). This step S30 is an example of a generation step of the invention.
[0081] The image reading device 1 outputs the generated output image to the host device 100 (S31), and determines if scanning all sheets of the document S is completed (S32).
[0082] The image reading device 1 determines all sheets of the document S have been scanned when a specific continuous time has past since the detection result from the document sensor 21 changed from Document Detected to No Document, when the set number of sheets in the document S have been scanned, or when no document S is delivered to the conveyance path. When the image reading device 1 determines scanning all sheets of the document S is completed (S32: Yes), the image reading device 1 ends the scanning process, but returns to S24 if it determines scanning all sheets of the document S has not ended (S32: No).
[0083] As described above, because the image reading device 1 according to this embodiment applies shading correction using both black reference data and white reference data, change in the difference of the white reference data minus the black reference data can be absorbed by shading correction.
However, Yoshizawa fails to specifically teach the features of the control unit being configured to generate a second result by executing shading correction on the read data, and the control unit configured to extract image data corresponding to the document region from the second result using the document region determined based on the first result.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Sato. Similar to the primary reference, Sato discloses performing shading correction (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Sato discloses the control unit being configured to generate a second result by executing shading correction on the read data, and the control unit configured to extract image data corresponding to the document region from the second result using the document region determined based on the first result (e.g. the system discloses detecting a first end or edge of a document in order to perform shading correction on a streak of the document, which is taught in ¶ [52]-[54]. The system must perform the shading correction before determining the end of the document that can be composed of mostly white, which is taught in ¶ [39]. The Yreal and Yideal are calculated in order to calculate the area associated with the streak (i.e. SG). The data used to extract the streak data to correct the overall image is considered as the second result used to extract image data, which is presented in ¶ [55]-[59]. The extraction of the streak information uses the Yideal and Yreal equations which resemble the initially claimed equation.).
[0039] In the 3C of the figure, there is shown a change in the pixel value of the outputted pixel after the shading correction is performed based on the acquired black reference datum and the gray reference datum when the concentration of the document M is changed from white to black. In FIG. 2, changes in pixel values of two different light receiving elements in the image sensor 22 are illustrated by a dashed-dotted line and a broken line. For example, in the drawing, since the shading correction is not performed using the white reference data, the density change of the document M and the pixel value of the output pixel of each light receiving element do not coincide with each other. Therefore, when the document M mainly composed of white is read, there is a problem that a stripe of light and shade is generated due to the sensitivity variation of each light receiving element.
[0052](Document Reading Process)CPU3 first reads the leading edge of the document M to extract the background color (S31). Next, in CPU3, the moving mechanism 31 moves the front surface reading unit 21 in the sub-scanning direction by one line of the image on the lower surface of the document M immediately below the FB glass surface 41 (S32), and reads one line of the image on the lower surface of the document M (S33).[0053]Next, the CPU3 performs shading correction (8-bit outputs) on the read image of the lower surface of the document M for one line (S34). Thereafter, CPU3 determines whether or not the background color extracted in S31 is white (S35).[0054]When the CPU3 determines that the background color is not white (S35: NO), the S36 executes a streak correction process for correcting a vertical streak of the document M (LA). In the streak correction processing, the CPU3 corrects the vertical streak of the document M by the following Expression 2. The streak correction process is an example of a correction calculation process.
[0055](Calculation of Correction Coefficient H)Let W be an ideal white signal and B be an ideal black signal used in S34 shading correction. When ideal shading correction is performed on the input pixel X (n) using these values, the ideal output pixel value Yideal (n) is expressed by Equation 3.(Formula 3)Yideal (n) = 255 × (X (n) - B (n)) / (W (n) - B (n)) Here, n indicates each light receiving element. In addition, hereinafter, a case where colors from white to gray are corrected as intermediate colors will be described.[0056]However, in practice, an error N, which is a device-specific error, is superimposed on the actual black data B due to random noise and characteristic variations of the front surface reading device 21. The output pixel value Yreal (n) at this time is expressed by Expression 4.(Formula 4)Yreal (n) = 255 ? [X (n) - (B (n) + N (n))] / [W (n) - (B (n) + N (n))][0057]Since a difference between Yideal (n) and Yreal (n) is generated as a stripe of light and shade due to a variation in sensitivity of each light receiving element, when a pixel value corresponding to the stripe of light and shade with respect to the input pixel X (n) is S (X (n)), S (X (n)) is expressed by Expression 5.(Formula 5)S(X(n))=Yreal(n)-Yideal(n)[0058]However, it is difficult to obtain the ideal white data W, the ideal black data B, and the error N when the shading data is obtained by reading the actual front-side white reference member 57. Therefore, after the shading correction, it is necessary to extract the streak data Pd from the data of the intermediate color in which the dark and light streaks occur.[0059]Since the amount of the dark and light streaks changes depending on the input pixel X (n), in order to remove the dark and light streaks from the input pixels X (n) of various values, it is necessary to multiply the streak data acquired in a specific color (for example, gray, hereinafter referred to as gray) by a correction coefficient H (X (n)) depending on the input pixel X (n). Therefore, when the streak data acquired from gray is SG, the dark and light streaks can be completely removed in each pixel when Expression 6 is satisfied.(Formula 6)Yreal (n) -SG×H (X (n)) = Yideal (n)
Therefore, in view of Sato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the control unit being configured to generate a second result by executing shading correction on the read data, and the control unit configured to extract image data corresponding to the document region from the second result using the document region determined based on the first result, incorporated in the device of Yoshizawa, in order to extract image data from an image based on a first and second result to suppress light and dark streaks, which can improve the overall image (as stated in Sato ¶ 04]-[06]).
Re claim 13: However, Yoshizawa fails to specifically teach the features of the image reading device of claim 12, wherein the second result is generated using second reference data that is not affected by dirt.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Sato. Similar to the primary reference, Sato discloses performing shading correction (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Sato discloses wherein the second result is generated using second reference data that is not affected by dirt (e.g. the second result is generated using several references that are not impacted by dirt and turning off the lights to collect the black reference data to use in the calculations, which is taught in ¶ [44].).
[0044]Next, the CPU3 obtains a black reference datum for use in shading correction. To be specific, CPU3 turns off all of the RGB light sources of the front surface reading unit 21 (S4), and in this state, the image sensor 22 receives the read image. As a result, CPU3 acquires the black reference datum (S5).
Therefore, in view of Sato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the second result is generated using second reference data that is not affected by dirt, incorporated in the device of Yoshizawa, in order to extract image data from an image based on a the use of reference data to suppress light and dark streaks, which can improve the overall image (as stated in Sato ¶ 04]-[06]).
Re claim 14: Yoshizawa discloses the image reading device of claim 13, wherein the second reference data includes black reference data obtained by reading the reference portion with the light source turned off (e.g. second black reference data can be acquired using the light turned off, which is taught in ¶ [77] and [86].).
[0077] If the image reading device 1 determines that scanning one sheet of the document S has ended (S26: Yes), the image reading device 1 turns the light source 31 off and acquires black reference data N, and stores the acquired black reference data N in the reference data storage 41 (S27).
[0086] The controller 70 in the first embodiment described above acquires reference data at a regular time AT0 interval, but is not limited to a constant time interval. For example, the interval between first acquisition time ti when the first reference data is acquired and second acquisition time t2 when the second reference data is acquired may be shorter than the interval between second acquisition time t2 when the second reference data is acquired and third acquisition time t3 when third reference data is acquired.
Re claim 16: Yoshizawa discloses the image reading device of claim 12, wherein the first black reference data corresponds to a lower luminance level and the first white reference data corresponds to a higher luminance level (e.g. the black reference corresponds to a lower luminance level of light while the white reference data is associated with a higher luminance of the light. The light is captured for both modes, which is taught in ¶ [57]-[59].).
Claim(s) 18i s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa in view of Sato and Sodeura (US Pub 2005/0206968).
Re claim 18: Yoshizawa discloses the image reading method for an image reading device including a light source, a reference portion for shading correction, and a reading unit configured to read a document and output read data, the method comprising:
obtaining first black reference data and first white reference data by reading the reference portion with the light source turned on, at least one of the first black reference data and the first white reference data (e.g. the system discloses acquiring the black reference data and the white reference data by turning on and off the light source to capture the reference data from the reference portion, which is taught in ¶ [57]-[59] above.);
generating a first result by executing shading correction including dividing a value obtained by subtracting the first black reference data from the read data by a value obtained by subtracting the first black reference data from the first white reference data (e.g. as seen in the ¶ [42]-[54], the system generates a result using the subtraction of the black reference from image data divided by the subtract of the black reference from the white reference data. This turns into a first result that is seen in equation (2).),
the first result being generated for determining an end of a document region, determining the end of the document region based on the first result (e.g. the system discloses using the result of the shading correction to determine an output image, which includes the end of the document or image region. The shading correction data is applied to generate the document region image, which is taught in ¶ [62]-[64].).
[0062] Using the black reference data N and black reference data (N−1) stored in the reference data storage 41, the image reading device 1 then calculates, based on equation (3) above, the black reference data in the acquisition period of scanning data (N−1) (509). This step S09 is an example of a calculation step of the invention. Next, using the calculated black reference data, the image reading device 1 applies shading correction based on equation (2) above, applies image processes other than shading correction as appropriate, and generates an output image (S10). This step S10 is an example of a generation step of the invention.
[0063] The image reading device 1 outputs the generated output image to the host device 100 (S11), and determines if document S scanning is completed (S12). The image reading device 1 determines document S scanning is completed when the detection result from the document sensor 21 changes from Document Detected to No Document. The image reading device 1 ends the scanning process when it determines that document S scanning has ended (S12: Yes), and returns to S04 if it determines document S scanning has not ended (S12: No), S04.
[0064] As described above, the image reading device 1 according to this embodiment calculates black reference data in the acquisition period of first scanning data using the black reference data acquired at a first acquisition time t1 and at a second acquisition time t2, and applies shading correction using the calculated black reference data to the first scanning data acquired during time ΔT0 between the first acquisition time t1 and second acquisition time t2. By thus using calculated black reference data, change in the signal level of the black reference data between first acquisition time t1 and second acquisition time t2 can be absorbed, and its effect on the output image can be reduced.
However, Yoshizawa fails to specifically teach the features of generating a second result by executing shading correction on the read data, and extracting image data corresponding to the document region from the second result using the document region determined based on the first result.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Sato. Similar to the primary reference, Sato discloses performing shading correction (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Sato discloses generating a second result by executing shading correction on the read data, and extracting image data corresponding to the document region from the second result using the document region determined based on the first result (e.g. the system discloses detecting a first end or edge of a document in order to perform shading correction on a streak of the document, which is taught in ¶ [52]-[54]. The system must perform the shading correction before determining the end of the document that can be composed of mostly white, which is taught in ¶ [39]. The Yreal and Yideal are calculated in order to calculate the area associated with the streak (i.e. SG). The data used to extract the streak data to correct the overall image is considered as the second result used to extract image data, which is presented in ¶ [55]-[59]. The extraction of the streak information uses the Yideal and Yreal equations which resemble the initially claimed equation.).
Therefore, in view of Sato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the control unit being configured to generate a second result by executing shading correction on the read data, and the control unit configured to extract image data corresponding to the document region from the second result using the document region determined based on the first result, incorporated in the device of Yoshizawa, in order to extract image data from an image based on a first and second result to suppress light and dark streaks, which can improve the overall image (as stated in Sato ¶ 04]-[06]).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of first white reference data being affected by dirt.
Sodeura discloses first white reference data being affected by dirt (e.g. the invention discloses having dirt or dust on the reference portion, which is taught in ¶ [73] above.).
Therefore, in view of Sodeura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of first white reference data being affected by dirt, incorporated in the device of Yoshizawa, in order to detect and correct for potentially impacted reference position by dirt which can prevent stripes and image defects from being output as the image (as stated in Sodeura ¶ [89]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
15. (New) The image reading device of claim 12, wherein the control unit sets the document region by comparing the first result to a threshold value to distinguish a document region from a background region.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The underlined features in claim 15 were not found in the cited and/or applied prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aoki discloses shading correction.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683