DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, drawn to claims 1-8 and 12-13, in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 403. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 408. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “diary” in lines 1 and 9 of claim 1 appear to be misspelled and intend to read “dairy”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ur-Rehman (US 2019/0045805 A1) found in applicant’s IDS filed 02/26/2024, as evidenced by Harvard Health (“The benefits of probiotic bacteria”), in view of Carrigan (US 9,167,824 B2) found in applicant’s IDS filed 02/26/2024, further in view of Larsen (US 2012/0231116 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ur-Rehman teaches a method of making a reduced sugar dairy-based food product (lactose approaching zero Par. 0068; making yogurt by concentrating a skim milk product Par. 0006)
separating milk into a skim portion and a cream portion (separating fresh or raw milk product into the skim product and cream Par. 0028 Fig. 1)
filtering the skim portion by ultrafiltration to form a permeate and a retentate (ultrafiltering the skim milk product, protein-enriched milk fraction Par. 0029 Fig. 1; filtration technologies produce retentate/concentrate and permeate Par. 0022)
adding a portion of the permeate and a blend to the cream potion to form a mixture (cream combined with the protein-enriched milk fraction Par. 0039; inoculation with yoghurt culture Par. 0049 Fig. 1)
wherein the blend comprises a lactic acid bacteria, a yogurt starter culture, and probiotics (lactobacillus bulgaricus, lactobacillus acidophilus Par. 0051; yoghurt culture Par. 0049). Further, as evidenced by Harvard Health, lactobacillus acidophilus is probiotic (Pg. 4).
and maturing the mixture for about 1 to about 18 hours to form the reduced sugar dairy-based food product (fermented for a period in a range from about 1 to about 18 hours Par. 0052).
Regarding maturing the mixture for at least 8 hours to form the reduced sugar dairy-based food product, Ur-Rehman discloses maturing for about 1 to about 18 hours (Par. 0052, see above). As this range overlaps with the maturation time of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Ur-Rehman to have a maturation time of at least 8 hours. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. 8 hours to about 18 hours) from the taught range of about 1 to about 18 hours (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Ur-Rehman does not teach a zero sugar product, the method comprising pasteurizing an amount of raw milk to form pasteurized milk, adding an acyl transferase, or wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.01 wt%.
Carrigan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches pasteurizing an amount of raw milk to form pasteurized milk (pasteurization prior to carrying out step a Col. 4 lines 38-52; pasteurizing if raw milk is used Col. 5 lines 64-67)
and adding an enzyme (addition of enzyme Col. 8 lines 25-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to further modify the invention of Ur-Rehman with the invention of Carrigan. One would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce pathogens (Carrigan Col. 13 lines 20-39).
Carrigan does not teach the enzyme added is an acyl transferase.
Larsen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches acyl transferase (the use of a lipid acyltransferase Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to further modify the invention of modified Ur-Rehman with the enzyme of Larsen. One would have been motivated to make this modification to improve stability (Larsen Par. 0035).
Larsen does not teach a zero sugar product, or wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.01 wt%.
Regarding a zero sugar product wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.01 wt%, Ur-Rehman teaches a product with lactose approaching zero (Par. 0068) and any addition of sugars is merely optional (Par. 0063), therefore Ur-Rehman discloses a product with sugar content approaching zero. Further, the combination of references disclose the ingredients and method as claimed and therefore one having ordinary skill in the art would expect the respective products to have similar characteristics.
Regarding claim 3, Ur-Rehman further teaches heating the mixture to about 104°F to 113°F (Par. 0049).
Regarding heating the mixture to 104°F, Ur-Rehman discloses heating at 104°F to 113°F (Par. 0049, see above). As this range overlaps with the maturation temperature of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Ur-Rehman to have a maturation temperature of 104°F. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. 104°F) from the taught range of 104°F to 113°F (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 4, Ur-Rehman further teaches the yogurt starter culture comprises Streptococcus thermophilus and Lactobacillus bulgaricus (yogurt cultures can include Streptococcus thermophilus and Lactobacillus bulgaricus Par. 0051).
Regarding claim 6, Par. 0052 of applicant’s specification filed 02/26/2024 as well as Figs. 2-3 appear to show fermentation within a maturation tank, therefore claims 6-8 are interpreted that fermentation may occur during the maturation step.
Ur-Rehman further teaches fermenting the mixture (inoculated base is fermented Par. 0049 Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Ur-Rehman further teaches fermenting the mixture at a temperature of between 104°F and 113°F (fermented at a temperature in range from about 40 to about 45°C Par. 0049).
Regarding fermenting the mixture at a temperature of between 104°F and 107.6°F, Ur-Rehman discloses fermenting at a temperature of between about 104°F and about 113°F (Par. 0049, see above). As this range overlaps with the fermentation temperature of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Ur-Rehman to have a fermentation temperature of between 104°F and 107.6°F. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. between 104°F and 107.6°F) from the taught range of between about 104°F and about 113°F (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 8, Ur-Rehman further teaches fermenting the mixture includes fermenting the mixture for between 1 hours and 18 hours (Par. 0052).
Regarding fermenting the mixture for between 10 hours and 16 hours, Ur-Rehman discloses fermenting for about 1 to about 18 hours (Par. 0052, see above). As this range overlaps with the fermentation time of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Ur-Rehman to have a fermentation time of between 10 and 16 hours. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. between 10 and 16 hours) from the taught range of about 1 to about 18 hours (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ur-Rehman, as evidenced by Harvard Health, in view of Carrigan and Larsen, further in view of Yasosky (US 2020/0288738 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ur-Rehman teaches the method of claim one but it does not teach the cream portion comprises fat between 55wt% and 65wt% of the cream portion.
Yasosky, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a cream portion comprising fat above 42% of the cream portion (cream with a milk fat content above 42 percent Par. 0026, Claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to further modify the invention of modified Ur-Rehman with the fat content of Yasosky. As Yasosky discloses the use of cream with varying fat percentages (Par. 0026), the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding fat between 55wt% and 65wt% of the cream portion, Yasosky discloses fat above 42% (Par. 0026, Claim 14, see above). As this range overlaps with the fat content of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasosky to have a fat content of between 55% and 65%. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. between 55% and 65% fat) from the taught range of above 42% (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ur-Rehman, as evidenced by Harvard Health, in view of Carrigan and Larsen, further in view of Garault (US 2019/0082706 A1), found in applicant’s IDS filed 02/26/2024.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ur-Rehman teaches the method of claim 1. Ur-Rehman further teaches the probiotics comprise a Bifidobacterium species and a Lactobacillus casei species (Par. 0051).
Modified Ur-Rehman does not teach a Lactobacillus rhamnosus species and a Lactobacillus helveticus species.
Garault, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a Lactobacillus rhamnosus species and a Lactobacillus helveticus species (Lactobacillus rhamnosus strain Par. 0004; may further comprise Lactobacillus halveticus Par. 0025).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to further modify the invention of modified Ur-Rehman with the bacteria of Garault. One would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve exceptional organoleptic characteristics (Garault Par. 0004).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ur-Rehman in view of Holst (US 2020/0178550 A1) found in Applicant’s IDS filed 02/26/2024, as evidenced by Farmland (“Ultra-Pasteurized”), further in view of Yasosky, Kontkanen (US 2017/0202232 A1) found in Applicant’s IDS filed 02/26/2024, and Queguiner (US 2005/0095317 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Ur-Rehman teaches a method of making a reduced sugar dairy-based food product (lactose approaching zero Par. 0068; making yogurt by concentrating a skim milk product Par. 0006)
separating a milk product into a skim portion and a cream portion (separating milk product into the skim product and cream Par. 0028 Fig. 1)
filtering the skim portion by ultrafiltration to form a permeate and a retentate (ultrafiltering the skim milk product, protein-enriched milk fraction Par. 0029 Fig. 1; filtration technologies produce retentate/concentrate and permeate Par. 0022)
mixing the permeate with the cream portion to form a cream blend (cream combined with the protein-enriched milk fraction to result in standardized yogurt base Par. 0039)
adding additional ingredients to the cream blend to form the dairy-based food product, the additional ingredients selected from a group consisting of probiotics, natural flavoring, artificial flavoring, vitamins, pectin, oil, and combinations thereof (combining with ingredients such as probiotic, a vitamin, or an omega 3 fatty acid Par. 0063).
Ur-Rehman does not teach a zero-sugar product, adding a first amount of enzymes to a mixture of cream and water to form an enzyme mixture, wherein the cream comprises fat in an amount between 30 wt% and 40 wt% of the cream, and the water is present in the mixture in a 50:50 weight ratio of water to fat; pasteurizing the enzyme mixture; wherein the cream portion comprises fat in an amount of about 55 wt% and 65 wt% of the cream portion; adding a second amount of the enzymes to the permeate to form a permeate with enzymes; adding a protease to the zero sugar cream blend to form the zero sugar dairy-based food product; heating the zero sugar cream blend to a temperature of between 285°F and 295°F for between 3 seconds and 10 seconds to form the dairy-based food product, wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.04 wt%.
Holst teaches adding a first amount of enzymes to a mixture of cream and water to form an enzyme mixture (contacting milk related feed with lactase enzyme Par. 0114; milk related feed may contain cream Par. 0087-0089; milk related feed comprising water Par. 0095)
wherein the cream comprises fat up to 40 wt% of the cream (whipping cream with at most 40% milk fat Par. 0088)
and the water is present in the mixture in at least 50% w/w with the balance being substantially fat (milk-related feed may comprise at least 50% w/w water Par. 0095); as evidenced by Farmland, cream with fat within the claimed range contains very small amounts of carbohydrates and protein compared to the fat, therefore the invention of Holst with at least 50% w/w water would have nearly 50% w/w of fat.
pasteurizing the enzyme mixture (may contain a pasteurization step Par. 0249)
and heating in excess of 275°F for between 3 seconds and 10 seconds (Ultra high temperature processing by heating in excess of 135 degrees C [275°F] and held for approx. 4 sec., resulting in a product that is whiter, tastes less caramelised, has reduced whey protein denaturation, and reduced loss of heat-sensitive vitamins Par. 0008).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of Ur-Rehman with the invention of Holst. One would have been motivated to make this modification to produce a product with a long shelf life while reducing the cooked taste (Par. 0012) as well as further reducing lactose content (Par. 0011).
Regarding the cream comprises fat in an amount between 30 wt% and 40 wt% of the cream, Holst discloses fat in an amount of at most 40% Par. 0088, see above). As this range overlaps with the fat content of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Holst to have a fat content of between 30 wt% and 40 wt%. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. between 30 wt% and 40 wt% fat) from the taught range of at most 40% (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding the water is present in the mixture in a 50:50 weight ratio of water to fat, Holst discloses water in an amount of at least 50% w/w water with the balance being nearly 50% w/w fat (Par. 0095, see above). As this range overlaps with the ratio of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Holst to have a weight ratio of water to fat of 50:50. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. 50:50 water to fat) from the taught range of at least 50% w/w water (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding heating to a temperature of between 285°F and 295°F, Holst discloses heating in excess of 275°F (Par. 0008, see above). As this range overlaps with that of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Holst to have a heating temperature of between 285°F and 295°F. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. heating to between 285°F and 295°F) from the taught range of in excess of 275°F (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Holst does not teach a zero-sugar product, wherein the cream portion comprises fat in an amount of about 55 wt% and 65 wt% of the cream portion; adding a second amount of the enzymes to the permeate to form a permeate with enzymes; adding a protease to the zero sugar cream blend to form the zero sugar dairy-based food product; or wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.04 wt%.
Yasosky, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a cream portion comprising fat above 42% of the cream portion (cream with a milk fat content above 42 percent Par. 0026, Claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to further modify the invention of modified Ur-Rehman with the fat content of Yasosky. As Yasosky discloses the use of cream with varying fat percentages (Par. 0026), the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding fat between 55wt% and 65wt% of the cream portion, Yasosky discloses fat above 42% (Par. 0026, Claim 14, see above). As this range overlaps with the fat content of the instant specification, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasosky to have a fat content of between 55% and 65%. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. between 55% and 65% fat) from the taught range of above 42% (as seen above). In re Werthein, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Yasosky does not teach a zero-sugar product, adding a second amount of the enzymes to the permeate to form a permeate with enzymes; adding a protease to the zero sugar cream blend to form the zero sugar dairy-based food product, or wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.04 wt%.
Kontkanen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches adding an amount of the enzymes to a permeate to form a permeate with enzymes (ideal whey protein solution is permeate of a milk material Par. 0017; treating ideal whey protein solution with a protein modifying enzyme Par. 0005).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to further modify the invention of modified Ur-Rehman with the enzyme addition of Kontkanen. One would have been motivated to make this modification to produce a product with a high protein content as well as improved mouth feel and rheological performance (Kontkanen Abstract).
Kontkanen does not teach a zero-sugar product, adding a protease to the zero sugar cream blend to form the zero sugar dairy-based food product, or wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.04 wt%.
Queguiner teaches adding a protease (proteolyze at least one of the caseins naturally contained in the milk, namely at least kappa-casein Par. 0008; proteolyzed by means of a coagulating enzyme of the milk, e.g. chymosin Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to further modify the invention of modified Ur-Rehman with the protease addition of Queguiner. One would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the viscosity of yogurts and fermented milks (Queguiner Par. 0008).
Queguiner does not teach a zero-sugar product, wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.04 wt%.
Regarding a zero sugar product wherein the dairy-based food product comprises a sugar content of between 0 wt% and 0.04 wt%, Ur-Rehman teaches a product with lactose approaching zero (Par. 0068) and any addition of sugars is merely optional (Par. 0063), therefore Ur-Rehman discloses a product with sugar content approaching zero. Further, the combination of references disclose the ingredients and method as claimed and therefore one having ordinary skill in the art would expect the respective products to have similar characteristics.
Regarding claim 13, Holst does not teach the zero sugar cream blend has a pH of between 6.5 and 7.1
Ur-Rehman teaches the cream blend has a pH of between 6.5 and 7.1 (pH of the standardized yogurt base can be in a range from about 6.6 to about 6.9 Par. 0047).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to further modify the invention of modified Holst with the invention of Ur-Rehman. One would have been motivated to make this modification to maintain the cream blend at a neutral pH similar to the starting milk product (Ur-Rehman, Par. 0047).
Conclusion
/A.M.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792