Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “switchover mechanism” in claims 8-11 and 19-22.
the claim limitation uses the term “mechanism” is a generic placeholder.
the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, switching over.
the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Since the specification does not provide a structure for the “switchover mechanism”, it is interpreted as any structure or switch capable of performing the function of switching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Neither the specification nor the drawings show the structure of the switchover mechanism.
Claims 8-11 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 8-11 and 19- 22 recite the limitation " switchover mechanism". Neither the specification nor the drawings show the structure of the switchover mechanism. For examination purposes, the “switchover mechanism” is interpreted as any structure or switch capable of performing the function of switching.
Claims 9, 11, 20, and 22 recite the limitation "the switchover mechanism" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brocke et al. (US 2025/0136171 A1) hereinafter, Brocke.
Regarding claim 1, Brocke teaches a method for operating a hydrostatic vehicle steering system (16), comprising:
rotationally operating an input shaft (44) via a steering handle (26);
rotary operating a steering dosing valve (30) via an output shaft (46), the steering dosing valve used for hydraulic actuation of a steering cylinder (36) interacting with steerable vehicle wheels (20, 22);
establishing a releasable rotary connection between the input shaft and the output shaft via a clutch (62, Fig 1 and Para [0039]);
applying a predefinable steering torque to the output shaft via an actuating drive (58, Para [0056]);
automatically assuming a closed clutch position of the clutch under the effect of a restoring spring force (84) in a first operating mode (First Emergency Operating Mode, Second Emergency Operating Mode, First Assistance Mode) intended for manual steering operation (Para [0039] and [0043]); and
bringing the clutch into an open clutch position counter to the effect of the restoring spring force via a controller (94) in a second operating mode (Automatic Mode) intended for autonomous steering operation (Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Brocke teaches a hydrostatic vehicle steering system (16), comprising:
an input shaft (44), which can be rotationally operated via a steering handle (26);
an output shaft (46) for rotary operation of a steering dosing valve (30), which is used for hydraulic actuation of a steering cylinder (36) interacting with steerable vehicle wheels (20, 22);
an actuating drive (58) for applying a predefinable steering torque to the output shaft (Para [0055]- [0056]); and
a clutch (62) for establishing a releasable rotary connection between the input shaft and the output shaft, the clutch automatically assuming a closed clutch position under the effect of a restoring spring force (84) in a first operating mode (First Emergency Operating Mode, Second Emergency Operating Mode, First Assistance Mode) intended for manual steering operation (Para [0039] and [0043]), and the clutch being brought into an open clutch position counter to the effect of the restoring spring force via a controller (94) in a second operating mode (Automatic Mode) intended for autonomous steering operation (Para [0055]).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Brocke teaches that wherein, in the first operating mode, the actuating drive is actuated by the controller to provide one or more of a haptically perceivable steering feedback (Para [0052]) and a reduction in steering operation forces to be applied by the operator (Para [0046]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Brocke teaches that wherein, in the second operating mode, the actuating drive is actuated by the controller according to steering commands predefined by an autonomous vehicle controller (114, Para [0055]).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Brocke teaches that wherein, in the second operating mode, a free rotation of the input shaft is inhibited via a brake element (60) that is passive or can be operated by the controller (Para [0055]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Brocke teaches that wherein the actuating drive is an electric gear motor (64) that can be actuated by the controller (Para [0037]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Brocke teaches that wherein the clutch is switched over into the first operating mode from the second operating mode in the event one or more a manual steering operation exerted via the steering handle (Para [0043]- [0044]) and a pressure drop of a hydraulic source provided for feeding the steering dosing valve with pressurized hydraulic fluid (Para [0046]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Brocke teaches that wherein the clutch is electrically operated, wherein it automatically assumes the closed clutch position under the effect of a restoring spring force (84) of an electrically controllable switchover mechanism (86) when in the non-energized state (Para [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 20-22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 7 and 18 recite that the clutch is brought into the open clutch position, at the prompting of a switchover signal that can be generated via an operating arrangement, only when first and second trigger signals transmitted by the controller are present at the operating arrangement at the same time.
KR 20220060025 to Hyo discloses that a control unit may receive the steering angle signal and the steering torque signal, and control the clutch 420 or the second steering force by using the received steering torque signal (second paragraph of page 4). However, Hyo does not disclose a switchover signal that can be generated via an operating arrangement, only when first and second trigger signals transmitted by the controller are present at the operating arrangement at the same time.
Claims 10 and 21 recite that the clutch is designed to be operated by hydraulic pressure, wherein it automatically assumes the closed clutch position under the effect of a restoring spring force of a hydraulically controllable switchover mechanism when in the depressurized state.
KR 20220060025 to Hyo discloses a clutch that may have a clutch structure such as a fluid clutch (third to last paragraph of page 3). However, Hyo does not disclose that the clutch assumes the closed clutch position under the effect of a restoring spring force of a hydraulically controllable switchover mechanism when in the depressurized state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teach hydrostatic vehicle steering systems of interest.
/HOSAM SHABARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3611