Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As previously set forth, independent claim 1 recites “distribute the second mask to the convolutional layers of the second convolutional neural network, based on the resolutions used in the convolutional layers…”. Although the Applicant has amended the claim to further recite “such that, for each convolutional layer having a particular feature map resolution, a corresponding region of the second mask is selected and applied to the feature map,” the scope of the claim remains unclear.
Specifically, the term “distribute” lacks a clear and definite meaning in the context of the claimed invention. The added “such that” clause merely describes an intended result or outcome of the distributing step, but does not clarify the specific operation performed. Furthermore, the phrase “applied to the feature map” is itself ambiguous, as it does not specify how the corresponding region of the second mask interacts with the feature map (e.g., whether through element-wise multiplication, masking, gating, weighting, or another operation). As such, it remains unclear how the second mask is used by or incorporated into the convolutional layers.
Accordingly, the claim fails to inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention because multiple plausible interpretations of the recited operations remain. Therefore, the 112b indefiniteness rejection is maintained.
Claims 2–4 and 7–9 are rejected for the same reasons as they depend from indefinite claims. Claims 5 and 6, which recite commensurate subject matter, are likewise indefinite.
With respect to the limitation reciting “generate a first mask based on a difference between a first frame image and a second frame image, or a difference between … feature maps,” Habibian discloses computing residual frames (rt), which represent differences between consecutive frames and/or intermediate feature maps (see Habibian, Sec. 3 and 3.1). These residuals are used as inputs to a gating function that produces a binary mask indicating which spatial locations should be processed. Accordingly, Habibian discloses generating a mask based on differences between frames or feature maps, as claimed.
Regarding the limitation reciting “generate a second mask for each of resolutions used in convolutional layers … based on the first mask,” Habibian teaches that each convolutional layer is associated with a gating function that produces a binary mask corresponding to that layer’s spatial resolution (see Introduction and Sec. 3.1). Because convolutional layers operate at different spatial resolutions, the masks generated for each layer correspond to those resolutions. The generation of such masks based on residual information (i.e., differences between frames or feature maps) reasonably corresponds to the claimed generation of masks based on a prior mask or precursor information under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to the limitation “distribute the second mask to the convolutional layers … based on the resolutions used in the convolutional layers,” Applicant’s arguments rely on an unreasonably narrow interpretation of “distribute” as requiring assignment of a single shared mask across multiple layers. However, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “distribute” encompasses providing or making available masks to convolutional layers for use therein. Habibian expressly discloses that each convolutional layer is coupled with a gating function and that the resulting binary mask is applied within each layer to determine which spatial locations are processed (see Fig. 1 and Sec. 3.1). Thus, Habibian teaches providing (i.e., distributing) masks to convolutional layers based on their respective resolutions.
Further, the recitation that “a corresponding region of the second mask is selected and applied to the feature map” is met by Habibian’s disclosure that the binary mask indicates spatial locations to be processed and is applied within the convolutional operation, effectively selecting regions of the feature map for computation.
Applicant’s distinction that Habibian generates independent masks per layer rather than a “second mask” derived from a “first mask” is not persuasive, as the claim does not require a single shared mask or a specific transformation distinct from Habibian’s residual-to-mask generation process. Habibian’s use of residual information to generate masks for each layer constitutes a multi-stage transformation that reasonably corresponds to the claimed mask generation under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, Habibian discloses each and every limitation of claim 1. Claims 2–9 are rejected for similar reasons, as they depend from or recite commensurate subject matter. Therefore, the 102 and 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “distribute” in claim 1 renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 recites the limitation, “distribute the second mask to the convolutional layers of the second convolutional neural network, based on the resolutions used in the convolutional layers of the second convolutional neural network.” There is not sufficient clarity as to how the second mask is applied to, used by, or incorporated into the convolutional layers. It is therefore unclear whether “distribute” encompasses applying the mask to feature maps, providing the mask as an input to layers, gating activations, storing the mask in memory accessible to the layers, or some other operation. As claims 5 and 6 contain identical subject matter, they are also rejected. Accordingly, claims 2-4 and 7-9 are rejected for depending on claims 1 and 6, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Habibian et. al (“Skip-Convolutions for Efficient Video Processing”).
Regarding Claim 1, Habibian teaches an image processing apparatus comprising (Habibian: Fig. 1 (shown below)):
at least one memory storing instructions (Habibian: 3.2.2 Gumbel Gate);
Structured Sparsity: “First, block structures can be leveraged to reduce the memory overhead involved in gathering and scattering of input and output tensors.”
and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (Habibian: 4.1. Object Detection):
Implementation details: “All models are trained with mini-batches of size 4 using four GPUs, where synchronized batch-norm is used to handle small effective batch sizes.”
generate a first mask based on a difference between a first frame image and a second frame image, or a difference between a first output feature map that is output from a first convolutional layer of a first convolutional neural network for processing the first frame image and a second output feature map that is output from a first convolutional layer of a second convolutional neural network for processing the second frame image (Habibian: 3. Skip Convolution and 3.1 Convolution on Residual Frames);
3. Skip Convolutions: “Instead of treating a video as a sequence of still images, we represent it as a series of residual frames defined both for the input frames and for intermediate feature maps.”
3.1. Convolution on Residual Frames: “rt represents the residual frame as the difference between the current and previous feature maps xt − xt−1…to save even further, we introduce a gating function for each convolutional layer, g : R ci×h×w → {0, 1} h×w, to predict a binary mask indicating which locations should be processed, and taking only rt as input.”
Explanation: This explicitly shows the following sequence: difference between frames [Wingdings font/0xE0] residual [Wingdings font/0xE0] used to generate binary mask, with a direct disclosure of feature-map differences.
generate a second mask for each of resolutions used in convolutional layers of the second convolutional neural network, based on the first mask and each of the resolutions (Habibian: Introduction and 3.1 Convolution on Residual Frames);
Introduction: “Each convolutional layer is coupled with a gating function learned to distinguish between the residuals that are important for the model accuracy and background regions that can be safely ignored (Fig. 1).”
3.1. Convolution on Residual Frames: “To save even further, we introduce a gating function for each convolutional layer, g : R ci×h×w → {0, 1} h×w, to predict a binary mask indicating which locations should be processed, and taking only rt as input.”
Explanation: Since each convolutional layer can have different spatial resolutions, this establishes per-layer (per-resolution) mask generation.
and distribute the second mask to the convolutional layers of the second convolutional neural network, based on the resolutions used in the convolutional layers of the second convolutional neural network, such that, for each convolutional layer having a particular feature map resolution, a corresponding region of the second mask is selected and applied to the feature (Habibian: Introduction and 3.1 Convolution on Residual Frames).
Introduction: “Each convolutional layer is coupled with a gating function learned to distinguish between the residuals that are important for the model accuracy and background regions that can be safely ignored (Fig. 1).”
3.1. Convolution on Residual Frames: “To save even further, we introduce a gating function for each convolutional layer, g : R ci×h×w → {0, 1} h×w, to predict a binary mask indicating which locations should be processed, and taking only rt as input.”
Explanation: As Habibian discloses that a binary mask is generated to indicate which locations should be processed, where the mask g(rt) is applied directly within every convolutional layer, he teaches selecting spatial locations (i.e., corresponding regions) of a feature map and applying the mask within the convolutional layer, as recited.
Regarding Claim 2, Habibian teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
generate the second mask by executing pooling processing on the first mask (Habibian: 3.2.2 Gumbel Gate).
Structured Sparsity: “More specifically, we add a max-pooling layer with the kernel size and stride of b followed by a nearest neighbor upsampling with the same scale factor of b. This enforces the predicted gates to have b × b structure, as illustrated in Figure 3.”
Explanation: This shows max-pooling applied to the gate/mask, which then generates the second structured mask.
Regarding Claim 3, Habibian teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
every time a resolution used in the convolutional layers changes, generate the second mask based on the changed resolution (Habibian: 3.2.2 Gumbel Gate).
3.2.2 Gumbel Gate: “For each convolutional layer l we define a light-weight gating function f (rt; φl), parameterized by φl, as a convolution with a single output channel…To generate masks of the same resolution, the gate function uses the same kernel size, stride, padding, and dilation as its corresponding layer.”
Explanation: This is a direct disclosure that mask resolution adapts whenever layer resolution changes.
Regarding Claim 5, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 because it is a method claim that performs substantially the same steps.
Regarding Claim 6, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 because it recites a non-transitory computer readable recording medium that performs substantially the same steps.
Regarding Claim 7, Habibian teaches the non-transitory computer readable recording medium according to claim 6, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 8, Habibian teaches the non-transitory computer readable recording medium according to claim 6, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Habibian et. al in view of Shaikh (“Smoothing of a Noisy Image Using Different Low Pass Filters”).
Regarding Claim 4, Habibian teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach that the one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: remove noise by executing blurring processing on the first frame image and the second frame image, or on the first output feature map and the second output feature map.
However, Shaikh teaches that blurring (smoothing/low-pass filtering) is used for noise removal, stating that “Low pass filters are basically used for removing noise from image” (Abstract). Shaikh further states that “Low pass filtering (aka smoothing), is employed to remove high spatial frequency noise from a digital image” (IV. FILTERING). Shaikh additionally explains that blurring filters such as mean filters and Gaussian filters are used for smoothing images, stating that “mean filter is the basic filter for blurring image…Gaussian blur is the fastest of the three options and is usually good for most applications” (IV. CONCLUSIONS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate noise removal and blurring into Habibian’s system. Shaikh teaches that blurring is used to remove noise and improve the quality of image data for further processing. Therefore, adding a denoising step such as blurring to Habibian’s frame or feature map inputs would have been a predictable design choice to improve the quality and robustness of the data used for subsequent difference calculation and mask generation.
Regarding Claim 9, Habibian teaches the non-transitory computer readable recording medium according to claim 6, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 4 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wei et. al (CN114118425A) teaches a dynamic sparse convolution method for accelerating neural network interference by generating data masks and channel masks from input feature maps to predict redundant computation locations and guide convolution layers to process only important positions, thereby skipping unnecessary operations and reducing computation while maintaining accuracy.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM ADU-JAMFI/Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677