DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto et al. (GB 2032657) in view of Awano (US 20170060093) and Shibazaki (JPS63249080).
Regarding claim 1, Enomoto et al. discloses (Figs. 1, 5) a timepiece dial comprising: a first substrate (20) on which an index (12) protrudes from a first main surface (20); and a second substrate (22) overlapped on the first main surface (20), wherein a through hole through which the index is inserted and exposed is formed in the second substrate (Figs. 5-6 show index 12 exposed above second substrate 22).
Enomoto et al. does not show a surface decoration having unevenness formed on the second substrate and a part of the index protruding upward from an upper surface of the second substrate.
Awano teaches (Fig. 2) a surface decoration (4a, 42) having unevenness (Fig. 4) formed on a second substrate (41) overlapped on a first substrate (43). See paragraph [0041].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Enomoto et al.’s second substrate to have an uneven surface decoration, as suggested by Awano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve the predictable effect of imbuing the watch dial with a decorative visual effect due to light refracting and reflecting ([0073] of Awano).
The combination of Enomoto and Awano does not show a part of the index protruding upward from an upper surface of the second substrate.
Shibazaki teaches (Fig. 1) a first substrate (1) and a second substrate (2), wherein a part of an index on the first substrate protrudes upward from an upper surface of the second substrate (see image below).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Enomoto’s index so that it protrudes upwards from an upper surface of the second substrate as suggested by Shibazaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve a desired aesthetic appearance that displays both the first substrate’s original visual appearance and enhanced/augmented visual appearance (abstract of Applicant’s provided translation: “the abbreviated form and the dial base can be integrally expressed”).
Regarding claim 2, Enomoto et al. discloses the timepiece dial according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the second substrate is covered with a transparent resin layer (abstract discloses 22 being transparent resin).
Regarding claim 5, Enomoto et al. discloses the timepiece dial according to claim 1, wherein the first and second substrates are bonded by at least one of an adhesive (page 2, lines 57-68 discloses epoxy, which is an adhesive, bonding the first and second substrates).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 10, Enomoto et al. discloses a timepiece comprising the timepiece dial according to claims 1-2 and 5, respectively (page 2, lines 82-84).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto et al. in view of Awano and Shibazaki as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hoshino (US 20210405586).
Regarding claim 3, Enomoto et al. discloses the timepiece dial according to claim 1, wherein the second substrate is formed of plastic (the abstract discloses 22 being resin, which is a thermoplastic). Enomoto et al. also discloses the first substrate being metal (page 2, lines 62-64).
Enomoto et al. does not disclose the metal being an alloy containing one or two or more of copper, iron, titanium, gold, silver, or platinum.
Hoshino teaches a dial comprising a metal alloy containing one or two or more of copper, gold, silver, or platinum ([0029]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Enomoto et al.’s metal for Hoshino’s metal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a dial with a known and desired hardness and color.
Regarding claim 8, Enomoto et al. discloses a timepiece comprising the timepiece dial according to claim 3 (page 2, lines 82-84).
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto et al. in view of Awano and Shibazaki as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 6538959).
Regarding claim 4, Enomoto et al. in view of Awano discloses the timepiece dial according to claim 1.
The combination of Enomoto et al., Awano, and Shibazaki does not show the second substrate being subjected to a surface treatment by at least one of coating, printing, wet plating, or dry plating.
Yamaguchi teaches a substrate subjected to a dry plating and coating surface treatment (abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have dry plated and coated Enomoto et al.’s second substrate, as suggested by Yamaguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to as a known and predictable solution for improving the dial’s visual appearance (column 2, lines 53-57).
Regarding claim 9, Enomoto et al. discloses a timepiece comprising the timepiece dial according to claim 4 (page 2, lines 82-84).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831