DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the second end portion of the upper portion has a convex bottom surface engaged with a concave upper surface of the cushion ring” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 40 recites that “the second end portion of the upper portion has a convex bottom surface engaged with a concave upper surface of the cushion ring” which is not found in the specification as filed. There is no disclosure of the second end of the upper portion being convex or of the ring being concave. The only disclosure is of a concave second end and a convex ring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 25, 26, 35, 36, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 204599617 (Li).
Regarding Claim 21, Li teaches a foot (5) for a medical mobility device, comprising: an upper portion (51) including a first end portion defining an opening (into which 2 projects) configured to receive an end (2) of a medical mobility device, and a second end portion (513); a traction surface (52/54) coupled to the second end portion of the upper portion, the second end portion of the upper portion and the traction surface defining an annular cavity (at 513) therebetween, wherein the upper portion and the traction surface are configured to tilt relative to one another; and a cushion ring (55) positioned in the annular cavity, wherein the cushion ring is configured to compress between the upper portion and the traction surface during tilting of the traction surface relative to the upper portion.
Regarding Claim 22, Li teaches a post (521) positioned on a central longitudinal axis defined by the foot and coupling the second end portion of the upper portion to the traction surface, wherein the cushion ring is positioned about the post.
Regarding Claim 25, Li teaches that the cushion ring defines a central passageway through which the post extends.
Regarding Claim 26, Li teaches that the traction surface has an underside configured to engage a ground surface, and a concave upper surface (between 521 and the upper surface of 54) engaged with a convex bottom surface (the round inner curve) of the cushion ring.
Regarding Claim 35, Li teaches a medical mobility device, comprising: a leg (2) having a bottom end portion (See Fig. 2); and a foot (5) including: an upper portion (51) defining an opening (into which 2 projects) at a first end of the upper portion, the bottom end portion of the leg supported in the opening along a central longitudinal axis defined by the foot; an upper portion post (25) extending downwardly from a second end portion of the upper portion; a base (54/52) configured to be positioned on a ground surface; a lower portion post (521) extending upwardly from the base and connected to or monolithically formed with the upper portion post; and a cushion ring (55) positioned about the upper portion post and the lower portion post and between the upper portion and the base, wherein the bottom end portion of the leg is spaced axially above the cushion ring.
Regarding Claim 36, Li teaches that the upper portion includes a midsection (above 513) extending between the first and second end portions, the midsection not contacting the cushion ring.
Regarding Claim 39, Li teaches that the cushion ring defines a central passageway through which the upper portion post and the lower portion post extend.
Regarding Claim 40, Li teaches that the second end portion of the upper portion has a convex bottom surface (the round outer surface) engaged with a concave upper surface (the round inner surface) of the cushion ring.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 29719745 (Pedersen).
Regarding Claim 21, Pedersen teaches a foot for a medical mobility device, comprising: an upper portion (5) including a first end portion (into which 7 projects) defining an opening configured to receive an end (7) of a medical mobility device, and a second end portion (the bottom surface of A, see below); a traction surface (1) coupled to the second end portion of the upper portion, the second end portion of the upper portion and the traction surface defining an annular cavity (10) therebetween, wherein the upper portion and the traction surface are configured to tilt relative to one another; and a cushion ring (B) positioned in the annular cavity, wherein the cushion ring is configured to compress between the upper portion and the traction surface during tilting of the traction surface relative to the upper portion (see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 22, Pedersen teaches a post (9) positioned on a central longitudinal axis defined by the foot and coupling the second end portion of the upper portion to the traction surface, wherein the cushion ring is positioned about the post.
Regarding Claim 23, Pedersen teaches that the traction surface and the post are monolithically formed with one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to Claim 21 above in view of Youngren in US Patent 1438883. Li is silent on the use of a hollow cushion. Youngren teaches a cushion (B) for a mobility device foot that is a hollow, sealable bladder containing a gas (air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cushion ring of Li by using a hollow gas filled cushion as taught by Youngren in order to allow the user to adjust the resilience of the cushion.
Claims 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 204599617 (Li) in view of Youngren in US Patent 1438883.
Regarding Claim 27, Li teaches a foot (5) for a medical mobility device, comprising: an upper portion (51) including a first end portion defining an opening (into which 2 projects) configured to receive an end (2) of a medical mobility device, and a second end portion (513), the second end portion having a cylindrical extension (521) extending centrally therefrom; a bottom portion (52/54) including a first end portion (52), and a second end portion (54) configured to contact a ground surface, the first end portion of the bottom portion including a cylindrical extension (521) extending centrally therefrom and connected to or monolithically formed with the cylindrical extension of the upper portion such that the upper portion and the bottom portion define a ring-shaped area (at 513) therebetween; and a cushion (55) secured between the upper portion and the bottom portion and around the cylindrical extensions, the cushion positioned in the ring-shaped area.
Li is silent on the use of a gas-filled cushion. Youngren teaches a cushion (B) for a mobility device foot that is a hollow, sealable bladder containing a gas (air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cushion ring of Li by using a hollow gas filled cushion as taught by Youngren in order to allow the user to adjust the resilience of the cushion.
Regarding Claim 28, Li, as modified, teaches that the gas-filled cushion defines a central passageway through which the cylindrical extensions extend.
Regarding Claim 29, Li, as modified, teaches that the second end portion of the bottom portion has an underside (54) configured to engage a ground surface, and the first end portion of the bottom portion has a concave upper surface (between 521 and the upper surface of 54) engaged with a convex bottom surface (the round inner surface) of the gas-filled cushion.
Regarding Claim 30, Li, as modified, teaches that the cylindrical extensions are monolithically formed with one another.
Regarding Claim 31, Li, as modified, teaches that the cylindrical extensions are connected to one another.
Regarding Claim 32, Li, as modified, teaches that the cylindrical extensions are fabricated from a resilient material (the “rubber sleeve”).
Regarding Claim 33, Li, as modified, teaches that the opening has a bottom-most end (at 512) spaced axially above a bottom-most end of the upper portion.
Regarding Claim 34, Li, as modified, teaches see Fig. 2) that the cylindrical extension of the upper portion is solid.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to Claim 35 above in view of Dollarhide in US Publication 2017/0312164. Li is silent on the use of a foam cushion. Dollarhide teaches a cushion ring (202) that includes foam (see Paragraph 0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li by using a foam cushion ring as taught by Dollarhide in order to provide a resilient and lightweight cushion for the device.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to Claim 35 above in view of Youngren in US Patent 1438883. Li is silent on the use of a hollow cushion. Youngren teaches a cushion (B) for a mobility device foot that is a hollow, sealable bladder containing a gas (air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cushion ring of Li by using a hollow gas filled cushion as taught by Youngren in order to allow the user to adjust the resilience of the cushion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hipwood and Chen et al. teach crutch feet.
NOAH CHANDLER HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636