Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 08/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5 and 7 have been amended. Claims 8-12 have been added. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 08/04/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the 35 U.S.C. §102 rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections of claim 5 have been considered but are not persuasive. Examiner notes that these arguments are also moot due to the new grounds of rejection relying on a different primary reference. However, to promote clarity of the record, the arguments regarding claim 5 are addressed below.
(A) Applicant argues, “Furthermore, in rejecting claim 5, the Office Action cites portions of Armbruster. The cited portions of Armbruster describe that at "440, the control module 220 analyzes radar returns from a radar of the towing vehicle to identify radar features within an area behind the towing vehicle 100. In one arrangement, the control module 220 identifies cells in the grid that correspond with patterns indicative of characteristics of the trailer. The radar features are peaks and valleys in signal strengths of radar returns that correspond with edges of the trailer and parts of the trailer. Thus, the control module 220 identifies, in one approach, neighboring cells with similar or dissimilar radar returns. Where similarities exist, the control module 220 may indicate correspondence. In one approach, similarities are determined according to an extent of correspondence in signal values (e.g., a defined threshold of 70%). Even still, areas of similarities may not be sufficient in some cases to identify radar features associated with the trailer. Thus, in further approaches, the control module 220 may implement further analysis, such as linear regression, machine learning, or another approach to correlate the grid cells." Armbruster at [0039]. Furthermore, Armbruster's "method includes determining a trailer size (250) of the trailer (100) from the radar features. The method includes adjusting operation of the towing vehicle (100) according to the trailer size (250)." Armbruster at [Abstract]. Therefore, Armbruster's method is aimed at determining trailer size. The machine learning is used "correlate the grid cells" in order to identify dimensions and size of a trailer. Armbruster's machine learning is not a classification algorithm that decides whether location data represents a trailer or not. Armbruster's machine learning is a sizing algorithm. Therefore, Armbruster fails to disclose that "the classification algorithm is a machine learning algorithm," as recited in amended claim 5,” (from remarks page 7).
As to point (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that the machine learning taught in Armbruster is aimed at determining a trailer size and is thus not a classification algorithm that determines the presence or absence of a trailer. Examiner posits that under broadest reasonable interpretation, processing radar data to detect trailer edges and size is a form of classifying the trailer. Furthermore, determining the presence of a trailer rather than the size of a trailer represents a routine programming variation within the ability of a person of ordinary skill. Armbruster establishes that machine learning is known in the field to be effective in identifying physical trailer characteristics from raw radar data. Substituting a conventional threshold-based classification for a machine-learning based one using the same input data would represent applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to the predictable results of improved classification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hoetzer et al. (US-921889-B1, cited in the IDS dated 02/26/2024; hereinafter Hoetzer).
Regarding claim 1, Hoetzer discloses:
A method for detecting a trailer being towed by a towing vehicle (see at least Abs; “A driver assistance method and system senses the presence of a trailer secured to a host vehicle and provides an indication thereof.”) using a radar system of the towing vehicle (see at least col. 2, lines 22-24; “In another embodiment, the rear sensor units comprise at least one selected from a group of: radar units, video camera units, LIDAR units and ultrasonic units.” See also Figs. 1 and 7, rear sensor units 22 and 28), comprising the following steps:
estimating parameters of a trailer model using location data of the radar system (see at least col. 5, lines 17-23; “At step 60, the sensor units 22, 28 determine the presence, velocity and the distance of an object from the rear of the host vehicle 40. The data is provided to the ECU. At step 62, the ECU determines whether an object is detected within longitudinal and lateral predetermined distances defining a predetermined trailer zone. In some embodiments the predetermined trailer zone is within two meters of the vehicle.” See also col. 2, lines 27-35; “…obtaining data regarding location and presence of objects relative to a host vehicle and motion information including moving direction and speed of the objects relative to the host vehicle from at least one rear sensor unit; processing the data acquired, including the detection of objects and their location and presence with respect to a longitudinal axis and a transverse axis of the host vehicle and motion information including moving direction and speed of objects…”);
predicting changes in the location data using the trailer model and using movement data of the towing vehicle (see at least col. 5, lines 31-35; “In some embodiments, the predetermined threshold is about 3% of the host vehicle speed. Thus, the speed of the object must be within the threshold that defines a range of 3% greater or less than the host vehicle speed.”); and
comparing measured changes in the location data with the predicted changes and deciding, using a classification algorithm and using results of the comparison, when the location data represents a trailer and when the location data does not represent a trailer (see at least col. 5, lines 29-39; “At step 70, the ECU determines whether the speed of the host vehicle is within a predetermined threshold of the speed of the object…If not the speed of the object is not within the range or threshold, the ECU advances to step 56 and resets the timer. Then the ECU returns to restart at step 52. When the relative speed of the host vehicle 40 and the object is the same, the ECU advances to step 74.” Referring to Fig. 6, end conditions of the algorithm comprising step 70 are either detection of a trailer 78 or reset of a timer 56 and continued monitoring.).
Regarding claim 3, Hoetzer discloses the method according to claim 1. Hoetzer further teaches:
wherein in the parameters of the trailer model are continuously updated using current location data (see at least col. 5, lines 40-47; “At step 74, the timer is incremented and the ECU advances to step 76. At step 76, the incremented timer value is compared with a predetermined time value. If the timer value is not greater than the predetermined time value, the ECU returns to step 52 and re-executes the steps without resetting the timer. So long as an object is detected, the ECU will again advance through the steps including incrementing the timer at step 74.” Referring to Fig. 6, if detections triggering a timer reset 56 are made, the steps are likewise re-executed.).
Regarding claim 6, Hoetzer discloses the method according to claim 1. Hoetzer further teaches:
wherein the trailer model also includes a model of a towed vehicle (see at least col. 1, lines 28-31; “…determine presence of a trailer when the motion information and the detected objects indicate the presence of a trailer attached to the rear of the host vehicle when the host vehicle and the trailer have same velocity…” Examiner maps towed vehicle to the trailer.).
Regarding claim 7, Hoetzer discloses:
A towing vehicle (see at least Fig. 5, host vehicle 40), comprising:
at least one radar sensor (see at least col. 2, lines 22-24; “In another embodiment, the rear sensor units comprise at least one selected from a group of: radar units, video camera units, LIDAR units and ultrasonic units.” See also Figs. 1 and 7, rear sensor units 22 and 28); and
an electronic evaluation device (see at least Fig. 1, electronic control unit ECU 24) configured to detect trailer being towed by the towing vehicle using the radar sensor of the towing vehicle (see at least Abs; “A driver assistance method and system senses the presence of a trailer secured to a host vehicle and provides an indication thereof.”), the electronic evaluation device being configured to:
estimate parameters of a trailer model using location data of the radar system (see at least col. 5, lines 17-23; “At step 60, the sensor units 22, 28 determine the presence, velocity and the distance of an object from the rear of the host vehicle 40. The data is provided to the ECU. At step 62, the ECU determines whether an object is detected within longitudinal and lateral predetermined distances defining a predetermined trailer zone. In some embodiments the predetermined trailer zone is within two meters of the vehicle.” See also col. 2, lines 27-35; “…obtaining data regarding location and presence of objects relative to a host vehicle and motion information including moving direction and speed of the objects relative to the host vehicle from at least one rear sensor unit; processing the data acquired, including the detection of objects and their location and presence with respect to a longitudinal axis and a transverse axis of the host vehicle and motion information including moving direction and speed of objects…”),
predict changes in the location data using the trailer model and using movement data of the towing vehicle (see at least col. 5, lines 31-35; “In some embodiments, the predetermined threshold is about 3% of the host vehicle speed. Thus, the speed of the object must be within the threshold that defines a range of 3% greater or less than the host vehicle speed.”), and
compare measured changes in the location data with the predicted changes and deciding, using a classification algorithm and using results of the comparison, when the location data represents a trailer and when the location data does not represent a trailer (see at least col. 5, lines 29-39; “At step 70, the ECU determines whether the speed of the host vehicle is within a predetermined threshold of the speed of the object…If not the speed of the object is not within the range or threshold, the ECU advances to step 56 and resets the timer. Then the ECU returns to restart at step 52. When the relative speed of the host vehicle 40 and the object is the same, the ECU advances to step 74.” Referring to Fig. 6, end conditions of the algorithm comprising step 70 are either detection of a trailer 78 or reset of a timer 56 and continued monitoring.).
Regarding claim 8, Hoetzer discloses the method according to claim 1. Hoetzer further teaches:
wherein the classification algorithm decides that the location data represents a trailer if the parameters of the trailer model converge toward stable values at which deviations between a predicted location data and the location data are below suitable threshold values (see at least col. 5, lines 40-50; “At step 74, the timer is incremented and the ECU advances to step 76. At step 76, the incremented timer value is compared with a predetermined time value. If the timer value is not greater than the predetermined time value, the ECU returns to step 52 and re-executes the steps without resetting the timer. So long as an object is detected, the ECU will again advance through the steps including incrementing the timer at step 74. When at subsequent execution of step 76 the timer value is greater than the predetermined time value, the ECU advances to step 78 and indicates that a trailer 44 is hitched or attached to the host vehicle 40.” Thus, if the distance and velocity thresholds are met enough times for the timer to increment above its predetermined value, the algorithm decides that the location data represents a trailer.).
Regarding claim 9, Hoetzer discloses the method according to claim 1. Hoetzer further teaches:
wherein the classification algorithm decides that the location data does not represent a trailer if deviations between a predicted location data and the location data are temporarily below a threshold value but the parameters of the trailer model fluctuate over time (see at least col. 5, lines 40-47; “At step 74, the timer is incremented and the ECU advances to step 76. At step 76, the incremented timer value is compared with a predetermined time value. If the timer value is not greater than the predetermined time value, the ECU returns to step 52 and re-executes the steps without resetting the timer. So long as an object is detected, the ECU will again advance through the steps including incrementing the timer at step 74.” Referring to Fig. 6, if the object does not continue to be detected within the distance and speed thresholds, the timer will be reset and the process will start over.).
Regarding claim 10, Hoetzer discloses the method according to claim 1. Hoetzer further teaches:
wherein, if convergence of the parameters of the trailer model has not occurred after a certain number of location events, the classification algorithm decides that the location data does not represent a trailer (see at least col. 5, lines 40-50; “At step 74, the timer is incremented and the ECU advances to step 76. At step 76, the incremented timer value is compared with a predetermined time value. If the timer value is not greater than the predetermined time value, the ECU returns to step 52 and re-executes the steps without resetting the timer. So long as an object is detected, the ECU will again advance through the steps including incrementing the timer at step 74. When at subsequent execution of step 76 the timer value is greater than the predetermined time value, the ECU advances to step 78 and indicates that a trailer 44 is hitched or attached to the host vehicle 40.” Thus, for any timer value less than the threshold, if the distance and velocity measurements diverge, the system resets the time and does not detect a trailer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoetzer in view of Eix et al. (WO-2021130074-A1; hereinafter Eix).
Regarding claim 2, Hoetzer discloses the method according to claim 1. Hoetzer does not explicitly teach, but Eix in analogous art teaches:
wherein in which the parameters of the trailer model include at least one of the following variables: a distance between a hitch position and an axle of the trailer, a number of axles of the trailer (see translation at least [0017]; “According to a further embodiment of the method for determining at least one articulation angle of the vehicle combination, the calculation of the at least one position information includes determining a micro-Doppler information based on the determined radar data, wherein a position and/or number of wheels of the at least one further vehicle is determined based on the micro-Doppler information. Due to the rotation of the rims, areas of the rims move towards the radar sensor and other areas move away from the radar sensor. This typical velocity distribution can be detected using the micro-Doppler effect, allowing the position of the wheels to be determined precisely. Information regarding the position and/or number of wheels or axles of at least one other vehicle can be used to identify the type of trailer and further increases the accuracy of the determined articulation angle.”), a wheelbase of a multi-axle trailer, a track width of the trailer, a width of the trailer, a length of a trailer, and a height of the trailer.
Hoetzer uses radar mounted on a towing vehicle to determine if a trailer is present. Eix uses radar on a towing vehicle to identify a type of towed trailer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radar-based axle identification of Eix into the method of Hoetzer. Doing so would optimize the classification accuracy of Hoetzer by guaranteeing that the analyzed radar reflections come from wheeled vehicles rather than unrelated objects.
Regarding claim 4, Hoetzer discloses the method according to claim 1. Hoetzer does not explicitly teach, but Eix in analogous art teaches:
wherein wheels of an object potentially to be classified as a trailer are recognized using a micro-Doppler effect (see translation at least [0017]; “According to a further embodiment of the method for determining at least one articulation angle of the vehicle combination, the calculation of the at least one position information includes determining a micro-Doppler information based on the determined radar data, wherein a position and/or number of wheels of the at least one further vehicle is determined based on the micro-Doppler information. Due to the rotation of the rims, areas of the rims move towards the radar sensor and other areas move away from the radar sensor. This typical velocity distribution can be detected using the micro-Doppler effect, allowing the position of the wheels to be determined precisely. Information regarding the position and/or number of wheels or axles of at least one other vehicle can be used to identify the type of trailer and further increases the accuracy of the determined articulation angle.”).
Hoetzer uses radar mounted on a towing vehicle to determine if a trailer is present. Eix uses radar on a towing vehicle to identify a type of towed trailer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radar-based axle identification of Eix into the method of Hoetzer. Doing so would optimize the classification accuracy of Hoetzer by guaranteeing that the analyzed radar reflections come from wheeled vehicles rather than unrelated objects.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoetzer in view of Armbruster et al. (WO-2022224858-A1; hereinafter Armbruster).
Regarding claim 5, Hoetzer discloses the method according to claim 1. However, Hoetzer does not teach wherein the classification algorithm is a machine learning algorithm.
Armbruster teaches using machine learning to analyze radar data from a towing vehicle of a trailer (see at least [0039]; “At 440, the control module 220 analyzes radar returns from a radar of the towing vehicle to identify radar features within an area behind the towing vehicle 100. In one arrangement, the control module 220 identifies cells in the grid that correspond with patterns indicative of characteristics of the trailer. The radar features are peaks and valleys in signal strengths of radar returns that correspond with edges of the trailer and parts of the trailer. Thus, the control module 220 identifies, in one approach, neighboring cells with similar or dissimilar radar returns. Where similarities exist, the control module 220 may indicate correspondence. In one approach, similarities are determined according to an extent of correspondence in signal values (e.g., a defined threshold of 70%). Even still, areas of similarities may not be sufficient in some cases to identify radar features associated with the trailer. Thus, in further approaches, the control module 220 may implement further analysis, such as linear regression, machine learning, or another approach to correlate the grid cells.”).
Both Hoetzer and Armbruster detect a trailer using radar measurements made from a towing vehicle. Hoetzer detects a trailer by comparing distance and speed information of the radar data to a threshold. Armbruster teaches that assigning which radar data belongs to a trailer may be improved through use of machine learning analysis (see at least [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to substitute the threshold-based classification of Hoetzer with a machine learning-based classification using the trailer-detecting tool taught by Armbruster. Doing so would enhance detection of the trailer within radar data and yield the predictable results of optimizing classification accuracy.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoetzer in view of Armbruster, further in view of Lacaze et al. (WO-2024081306-A1, valid prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) due to its priority date of 10/11/2022; hereinafter Lacaze).
Regarding claim 11, Hoetzer in view of Armbruster discloses the method according to claim 1. However, these references do not explicitly disclose:
wherein training data for the machine learning algorithm is generated during test drives with a plurality of types of trailers and with vehicles other than trailers.
Lacaze, in analogous art, teaches:
wherein training data for the machine learning algorithm is generated during test drives with a trailer and with a vehicle other than a trailer (see at least [0042]; “According to some embodiments, data from the one or more viewing devices 216 may be utilized by the system 200 employing a Machine Learning (ML) and/or Artificial Intelligence (Al) model to identify, classify, and/or locate the trailer feature 202-1 (e.g., the side as depicted, edges, wheels, rivets, seams, handles, tires, etc.) at different times, orientations, and/or locations. The ML/AI model may be trained to learn the trailer feature 202-1,for example, such as at different trailer angles and/or orientations, for example, the angle "a" of the trailer relative to the vehicle at multiple time instances and during, subsequent or after movement of the vehicle 210 and the trailer 202. In some embodiments, this visual data is used to determine the trailer length and/or or pivot point "PP" of the trailer. In some embodiments, the ML/AI model may be trained as the vehicle 210/trailer 202 combination travels forward, e.g., at a trailer angle of zero (0) in the case of straight forward travel.” Vehicle other than a trailer is mapped to vehicle 210.).
Hoetzer, Armbruster and Lacaze all detect a trailer using radar measurements from a towing vehicle (see [0030] of Lacaze). Armbruster teaches identifying and locating trailer features using machine learning, but does not teach how the machine learning model is trained. Lacaze teaches identifying and locating trailer features using machine learning, and teaches that the model may be trained based on date gathered as the vehicle/trailer combination moves forward. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hoetzer in view of Armbruster to supply machine learning training data as taught by Lacaze. Doing so would allow the machine learning model to appropriately identify trailer features.
Lacaze does not explicitly teach performing test drives with a plurality of types of trailers, only explicitly reciting gathering data for a vehicle/trailer combination. However, the method of Armbruster teaches characterizing the features of trailers relevant to determining the size of the trailer (see Abs). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to train the machine learning of Armbruster on a plurality of types of trailers, so that the training data would match the expected input data.
Regarding claim 12, Hoetzer in view of Armbruster discloses the method according to claim 1. However, these references do not explicitly disclose:
wherein for each of at least three different points in time between which an articulation angle between the towing vehicle and the trailer has changed, a hitch position of the trailer is determined by determining a position of a reflection point of the radar system on the trailer, and determining a radius and a position of a midpoint of a circle on which the reflection point moves as the articulation angle changes.
Hoetzer does teach using the towing vehicle radar to measure the location of specific points on the trailer during turning (see at least col. 6, lines 10-21; “The correspondence of a reflection point and the trailer is determined based on a comparison of host vehicle velocity and the velocity of the reflection point detected. If the velocity of the host vehicle and the velocity of the reflection are the same or differ less than a certain threshold (e.g. 0.5 msec) during a certain period of time (for example five seconds while driving in a curve), the reflection point will be considered as a reflection point that belongs to the trailer. Adjacent reflection points also are sensed to determine the presence of a side wall of the trailer and to thus define the reflection point 79 at the farthest edge thereof.” Reflection point 79 is the farthest reflection point, see Fig. 7.).
Lacaze teaches a trailer towing system that tracks points on the trailer across multiple articulation states to calculate a hitch pivot point (see at least [0055]; “At the first orientation and first time instance and with the trailer 102, 202, 302 angled relative to the yard vehicle 110, 210, 310, the one or more viewing devices 216 measure a first angle of the trailer 102, 202,302 relative to the vehicle 110,210,310. This angle may be measured in accordance with any of the methodologies described in connection with FIGS. 2A-2D and 3A-3B hereinabove including with the use of vanishing points and/or use of a camera obtaining the view of a particular trailer feature 202-1, for example, the wheel of the trailer. Thereafter, the yard vehicle 110,210,310 is manipulated again (for example, advanced to another position within the yard and turned from its prior orientation) to correspondingly move and orient the trailer 102, 202, 302 (STEP 504) to assume a second orientation at a second time instance. At the second orientation and time instance, the one or more viewing devices measure a second angle of the trailer 102, 202, 302 relative to the vehicle 110, 210, 310. In addition, during movement in the second time instance, spatial, temporal and/or movement data may be collected with respect to one or more of velocity, speed, acceleration, displacement, location, distance, time etc. of the trailer 102, 202, 302, yard vehicle and/or the yard described. In STEP 506, the first and second trailer angles of the trailer 102,202,302 are used as input into one or more mathematical algorithms or models described hereinabove to determine a pivot point of the trailer.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the radar-tracked points of Hoetzer to calculate a hitch pivot point according to the tracking methodologies taught by Lacaze. Lacaze establishes that tracking discrete trailer points across different spatial positions provides the necessary data to determine the trailer’s rotational center. Using radar-derived reflection points as taught by Hoetzer represents a predictable substitution of known techniques to achieve the expected result of identifying a hitch location.
Furthermore, tracking a single reflection point across three different articulation angles to fit a circular arc represents a routine design choice among known mathematical alternatives, as fitting an arc from three spatial points is a standard kinematic method to find the center of rotation (the pivot).
Conclusion
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648