DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 4, insert “of” between “plurality” and “signals.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 10, delete “,” and replace with “:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 23 depends on claim 20 and recites the exact same limitation as claim 21, which also depends on claim 20. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 14-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,927,678.
Application 18/586,935 claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,927,678 claims
1. An apparatus comprising a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver configured to provide anti-spoofing capability, the apparatus comprising:
an acquisition and tracking circuit comprising at least a correlator, the acquisition and tracking circuit configured to track a plurality signals;
a processor configured to determine which of the plurality of signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the plurality of signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
a beamformer at least partially controlled by the processor, wherein the beamformer has at least a first output with a first group of signals and a second output with a second group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a first antenna pattern and the second output corresponds to a second antenna pattern different than the first antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the acquisition and tracking circuit; and
wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a particular signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal based at least in part on determining whether the particular signal is behaving as expected with respect to a space vehicle.
1. An apparatus comprising a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver configured to provide anti-spoofing capability to a second GNSS receiver, the apparatus comprising:
an acquisition and tracking circuit comprising at least a matched filter, the acquisition and tracking circuit configured to track a plurality downconverted signals;
a processor configured to determine which of the plurality of downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the plurality of downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
a beamformer at least partially controlled by the processor, wherein the beamformer has at least a first output with a first group of signals and a second output with a second group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a first antenna pattern and the second output corresponds to a second antenna pattern different than the first antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the acquisition and tracking circuit; and
wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a particular downconverted signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal.
Claim 4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to determine that a given downconverted signal is from an authentic space vehicle at least partly in response to determining, when a spot beam antenna pattern nominally pointed towards a location in space of a corresponding space vehicle is dithered, that a signal strength of the given downconverted signal varies in an expected manner with dithering of the spot beam antenna pattern.
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 7
Claim 4
8. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals using a first acquisition and tracking circuit; determining:
which of the multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals, and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
wherein the GNSS comprises a global positioning system (GPS), and wherein the multiple signals comprise at least a first authentic signal and a second spoofed signal, independently tracking the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal, wherein the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal have different timing offsets.
14. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability from a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to a second GNSS receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple downconverted signals using a first acquisition and tracking circuit; determining:
which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals, and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
wherein the GNSS comprises a global positioning system (GPS), and wherein the multiple downconverted signals comprise at least a first downconverted authentic signal and a second downconverted spoofed signal, independently tracking the first downconverted authentic signal and the second downconverted spoofed signal, wherein the first downconverted authentic signal and the second downconverted spoofed signal have different timing offsets.
Claim 9
Claim 15
Claim 10
Claim 16
11. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals; determining which of the multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
using a beamformer, generating multiple outputs corresponding to multiple antenna patterns;
receiving groups of signals corresponding to the multiple antenna patterns; and
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used to acquire and track the multiple signals.
17. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability from a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to a second GNSS receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple downconverted signals; determining which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
using a beamformer, generating multiple outputs corresponding to multiple antenna patterns;
receiving groups of signals corresponding to the multiple antenna patterns; and
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used to acquire and track the multiple downconverted signals.
Claim 12
Claim 18
Claim 13
Claim 20
14. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals;
determining which of the acquired multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used in acquiring and tracking the multiple signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals; and
using a beamformer, generating at least an output with a group of signals, wherein the output corresponds to a first antenna pattern; and
monitoring at least one characteristic of the group of signals; and based at least in part on the monitored at least one characteristic of the group of signals, determining whether a particular monitored signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal.
19. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability from a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to a second GNSS receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple downconverted signals;
determining which of the acquired multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used in acquiring and tracking the multiple downconverted signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals; and
using a beamformer, generating at least an output with a group of signals, wherein the output corresponds to a first antenna pattern, wherein the group of signals is provided as an input to the first group of acquisition and tracking functions, wherein the first group of acquisition and tracking functions are used by the processor to determine whether a particular downconverted signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal.
Claim 15
Claim 20
Claim 16
Claim 21
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively (see table above showing the patent claims that correspond to the instant application claims). The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claims 1-16 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 14-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,181,646.
Application 18/586,935 claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,181,646 claims
1. An apparatus comprising a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver configured to provide anti-spoofing capability, the apparatus comprising:
an acquisition and tracking circuit comprising at least a correlator, the acquisition and tracking circuit configured to track a plurality signals;
a processor configured to determine which of the plurality of signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the plurality of signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
a beamformer at least partially controlled by the processor, wherein the beamformer has at least a first output with a first group of signals and a second output with a second group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a first antenna pattern and the second output corresponds to a second antenna pattern different than the first antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the acquisition and tracking circuit; and
wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a particular signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal based at least in part on determining whether the particular signal is behaving as expected with respect to a space vehicle.
1. An apparatus comprising a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver configured to provide anti-spoofing capability to a second GNSS receiver, the apparatus comprising:
an acquisition and tracking circuit comprising at least a matched filter, the acquisition and tracking circuit configured to track a plurality downconverted signals;
a processor configured to determine which of the plurality of downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the plurality of downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
a beamformer at least partially controlled by the processor, wherein the beamformer has at least a first output with a first group of signals and a second output with a second group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a non-directional antenna pattern and the second output corresponds to a spot beam antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the acquisition and tracking circuit; and
wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a particular downconverted signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal. Claim 4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to determine that a given downconverted signal is from an authentic space vehicle at least partly in response to determining, when a spot beam antenna pattern nominally pointed towards a location in space of a corresponding space vehicle is dithered, that a signal strength of the given downconverted signal varies in an expected manner with dithering of the spot beam antenna pattern.
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 1
Claim 7
Claim 4
8. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals using a first acquisition and tracking circuit; determining:
which of the multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals, and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
wherein the GNSS comprises a global positioning system (GPS), and wherein the multiple signals comprise at least a first authentic signal and a second spoofed signal, independently tracking the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal, wherein the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal have different timing offsets.
14. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability from a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to a second GNSS receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple downconverted signals using a first acquisition and tracking circuit; determining:
which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals, and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
wherein the GNSS comprises a global positioning system (GPS), and wherein the multiple downconverted signals comprise at least a first downconverted authentic signal and a second downconverted spoofed signal, independently tracking the first downconverted authentic signal and the second downconverted spoofed signal, wherein the first downconverted authentic signal and the second downconverted spoofed signal share a same space vehicle (SV) pseudo-random noise (PRN) code, but have different timing offsets.
Claim 9
Claim 15
Claim 10
Claim 16
11. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals; determining which of the multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
using a beamformer, generating multiple outputs corresponding to multiple antenna patterns;
receiving groups of signals corresponding to the multiple antenna patterns; and
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used to acquire and track the multiple signals.
Claim 17. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability from a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to a second GNSS receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple downconverted signals; determining which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
using a beamformer, generating multiple outputs corresponding to multiple spot beam antenna patterns;
receiving groups of signals corresponding to the multiple spot beam antenna patterns; and
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used to acquire and track the multiple downconverted signals.
Claim 12
Claim 18
Claim 13
Claim 20
14. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals;
determining which of the acquired multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used in acquiring and tracking the multiple signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals; and
using a beamformer, generating at least an output with a group of signals, wherein the output corresponds to a first antenna pattern; and
monitoring at least one characteristic of the group of signals; and based at least in part on the monitored at least one characteristic of the group of signals, determining whether a particular monitored signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal.
19. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability from a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to a second GNSS receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple downconverted signals;
determining which of the acquired multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used in acquiring and tracking the multiple downconverted signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals; and
using a beamformer, generating at least an output with a group of signals, wherein the output corresponds to a spot beam antenna pattern, wherein the group of signals is provided as an input to the first group of acquisition and tracking functions, wherein the first group of acquisition and tracking functions are used by the processor to determine whether a particular downconverted signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal.
Claim 15
Claim 20
Claim 16
Claim 21
Claim 19
Claim 20
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively (see table above showing the patent claims that correspond to the instant application claims). The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claims 1-7, 11, 12, 14-16, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,725,182.
Application 18/586,935 claims
U.S. Patent No. 10,725,182 claims
1. An apparatus comprising a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver configured to provide anti-spoofing capability, the apparatus comprising:
an acquisition and tracking circuit comprising at least a correlator, the acquisition and tracking circuit configured to track a plurality signals;
a processor configured to determine which of the plurality of signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the plurality of signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
a beamformer at least partially controlled by the processor, wherein the beamformer has at least a first output with a first group of signals and a second output with a second group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a first antenna pattern and the second output corresponds to a second antenna pattern different than the first antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the acquisition and tracking circuit; and
wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a particular signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal based at least in part on determining whether the particular signal is behaving as expected with respect to a space vehicle.
1. An apparatus comprising a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver for providing anti-spoofing capability to a second GNSS receiver, the apparatus comprising:
a first group of acquisition and tracking functions configured to acquire and track multiple downconverted signals, wherein an acquisition and tracking function includes a hardware correlator;
a processor configured to determine which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
beamformer at least partially controlled by the processor, wherein the beamformer has at least a first output with a first group of signals and a second output with a second group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a non-directional antenna pattern and the second output corresponds to a spot beam antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the first group of acquisition and tracking functions;
GNSS signal replicators configured to generate replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used by the first group of acquisition and tracking functions to track the multiple downconverted signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals and not on timing settings used to track the multiple downconverted signals that are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
a and a second group of acquisition and tracking functions, wherein the second group of acquisition and tracking functions are used by the processor to determine whether a particular downconverted signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal. Claim 4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine that a downconverted signal is from an authentic space vehicle when a spot beam antenna pattern nominally pointed towards a location in space of a corresponding space vehicle is dithered and a signal strength of the downconverted signal varies in an expected manner with dithering of the spot beam antenna pattern.
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 1
Claim 7
Claim 4
11. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals; determining which of the multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
using a beamformer, generating multiple outputs corresponding to multiple antenna patterns;
receiving groups of signals corresponding to the multiple antenna patterns; and
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used to acquire and track the multiple signals.
16. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability from a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to a second GNSS receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple downconverted signals using a first group of acquisition and tracking functions, wherein an acquisition and tracking function includes a hardware correlator; determining which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
using a beamformer, generating multiple outputs corresponding to multiple spot beam antenna patterns;
using GNSS signal replicators, generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used by the first group of acquisition and tracking functions to track the multiple downconverted signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals and not on timing settings used to track the multiple downconverted signals that are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
using additional groups of acquisition and tracking functions, receiving groups of signals corresponding to the multiple spot beam antenna patterns, wherein the first group of acquisition and tracking functions also receive a group of signals from the beamformer; and generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used by the first group and additional groups of acquisition and tracking functions.
Claim 12
Claim 12
14. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals;
determining which of the acquired multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used in acquiring and tracking the multiple signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals; and
using a beamformer, generating at least an output with a group of signals, wherein the output corresponds to a first antenna pattern; and
monitoring at least one characteristic of the group of signals; and based at least in part on the monitored at least one characteristic of the group of signals, determining whether a particular monitored signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal.
18. A method for providing anti-spoofing capability from a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to a second GNSS receiver, the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple downconverted signals using a first group of acquisition and tracking functions, wherein an acquisition and tracking function includes a hardware correlator; determining which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple downconverted signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals;
using GNSS signal replicators, generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used by the first group of acquisition and tracking functions to track the multiple downconverted signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals and not on timing settings used to track the multiple downconverted signals that are based on spoofed GNSS signals; and
using a beamformer, generating at least an output with a group of signals, wherein the output corresponds to a spot beam antenna pattern, wherein the group of signals is provided as an input to the first group of acquisition and tracking functions, wherein the first group of acquisition and tracking functions are used by the processor to determine whether a particular downconverted signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal.
Claim 15
19
Claim 16
20
Claim 19
19
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively (see table above showing the patent claims that correspond to the instant application claims). The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 11, 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al US 20110102259 (hereinafter Ledvina) in view of Feria et al US 20180164441 (hereinafter Feria).
Regarding claim 1, Ledvina discloses an apparatus comprising a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver configured to provide anti-spoofing capability (GNSS receiver 10, see figs. 1-3, [0055], [0057], [0062]), the apparatus comprising:
an acquisition and tracking circuit comprising at least a correlator, the acquisition and tracking circuit configured to track a plurality signals (signal correlator bank 101, receives incoming IF data, see figs. 1-4, [0060], [0062], [0082], [0102]-[0104]);
a processor (spoofing detector module 64, see fig. 3, [0063]) configured to determine which of the plurality of signals are based on authentic GNSS signals (outputting spoofing-free observables, see fig. 4, [0114]-[0115]) and which of the plurality of signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals (spoofing detection, see [0081]-[0084]);
and
wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a particular signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal based at least in part on determining whether the particular signal is behaving as expected with respect to a space vehicle (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101]).
Ledvina does not disclose a beamformer at least partially controlled by the processor, wherein the beamformer has at least a first output with a first group of signals and a second output with a second group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a first antenna pattern and the second output corresponds to a second antenna pattern different than the first antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the acquisition and tracking circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Feria discloses a beamformer (phased array antenna, see [0031]) at least partially controlled by a processor (200, see fig. 2), wherein the beamformer has at least a first output with a first group of signals (phased array that is omni-directional, see [0031]) and a second output with a second group of signals (phased array that is directional, see [0031]), wherein the first output corresponds to a first antenna pattern (phased array that is omni-directional, see [0031]) and the second output corresponds to a second antenna pattern different than the first antenna pattern (phased array that is directional, see [0031]), wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the acquisition and tracking circuit (phased array that is for omni-directional use during signal acquisition, see [0031]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Feria with Ledvina with a reasonable expectation of success by incorporation of a phased array antenna/beamformer having multiple beam patterns for receiving signals as taught by Feria, for the benefit of optimizing and accelerating the satellite signal acquisition process.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Ledvina and Feria disclose the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to determine that a given signal is from an authentic space vehicle at least partly in response to determining, when a spot beam antenna pattern nominally pointed towards a location in space of a corresponding space vehicle has a change in an orientation of a corresponding gain pattern, that a signal strength of the given signal varies in an expected manner with the orientation of the spot beam antenna pattern (see fig. 5, [0083]-[0093]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Ledvina and Feria disclose the claimed invention. Feria further discloses wherein the beamformer is configured to provide a non-directional antenna pattern output (phased array that is omni-directional, see [0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Ledvina discloses a method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (GNSS receiver 10, see figs. 1-3, [0055], [0057], [0062]), the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals (signal correlator bank 101 receiving incoming IF data, see figs. 1-4, [0060], [0062], [0082], [0103], [0102]-[0104] (i.e., a RF signal transmitted from a satellite, which has been filtered and down converted));
determining which of the multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals (outputting spoofing-free observables, see fig. 4, [0114]-[0115]) and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals (spoofing detecting, see [0081]-[0084]); and
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used to acquire and track the multiple signals (replicating authentic GNSS signals, via the GNSS signal simulator connected to the reference oscillator 70, see fig. 3, [0121], [0124]-[0126], [0137]).
Ledvina does not disclose using a beamformer, generating multiple outputs corresponding to multiple antenna patterns; and
receiving groups of signals corresponding to the multiple antenna patterns.
In the same field of endeavor, Feria discloses a method comprising using a beamformer (phased array antenna, see [0031]), generating multiple outputs corresponding to multiple antenna patterns (omni-directional and directional pattern, see [0031]); and
receiving groups of signals corresponding to the multiple antenna patterns (signal acquisition and normal communication, see [0031]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Feria with Ledvina with a reasonable expectation of success by incorporation of a phased array antenna/beamformer having multiple beam patterns for receiving signals as taught by Feria, for the benefit of optimizing and accelerating the satellite signal acquisition process.
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11, the combination of Ledvina and Feria disclose the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses performing anti-jam processing in signal paths between outputs of the beamformer and inputs of an acquisition and tracking circuit (140, see fig. 4, [0119]).
Regarding claim 14, Ledvina discloses a method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (GNSS receiver 10, see figs. 1-3, [0055], [0057], [0062]), the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals;
determining which of the acquired multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals (signal correlator bank 101 receiving incoming IF data, see figs. 1-4, [0060], [0062], [0082], [0103], [0102]-[0104] (i.e., a RF signal transmitted from a satellite, which has been filtered and down converted));
generating replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used in acquiring and tracking the multiple signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals (replicating authentic GNSS signals, via the GNSS signal simulator connected to the reference oscillator 70, see fig. 3, [0121], [0124]-[0126], [0137]);
monitoring at least one characteristic of a group of signals (see [0083]-[0093]); and
based at least in part on the monitored at least one characteristic of the group of signals, determining whether a particular monitored signal is based on an authentic GNSS signal or on a spoofed GNSS signal (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101]).
Ledvina does not disclose using a beamformer, generating at least an output with a group of signals, wherein the output corresponds to a first antenna pattern. In the same field of endeavor, Feria discloses a method comprising using a beamformer (phased array antenna, see [0031]) to generate at least an output with a group of signals, wherein the output corresponds to a first antenna pattern (omni-directional and directional pattern for acquiring signals from a satellite, see [0031]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Feria with Ledvina with a reasonable expectation of success by incorporation of a phased array antenna/beamformer having multiple beam patterns for receiving signals as taught by Feria, for the benefit of optimizing and accelerating the satellite signal acquisition process.
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 14, the combination of Ledvina and Feria discloses the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses determining that a signal is from an authentic space vehicle at least partly in response to determining that a signal strength of the signal varies in an expected manner with dithering of an antenna pattern when the antenna pattern nominally pointed towards a location in space of a corresponding space vehicle is dithered (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 14, the combination of Ledvina and Feria discloses the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses performing anti-jam processing on a signal in a path from the output of the beamformer and an input of an acquisition and tracking circuit (140, see fig. 4, [0119]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 14, the combination of Ledvina and Feria discloses the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses wherein the at least one characteristic of the group of signals comprises power (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0083]-[0094], [0096]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 14, he combination of Ledvina and Feria discloses the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses wherein the at least one characteristic of the group of signals comprises carrier-to-noise ratio (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subburaj et al US 20140354475 (hereinafter Subburaj) in view of Pon US 20190094377.
Regarding claim 8, Subburaj discloses a method for providing anti-spoofing capability by a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (100, see fig. 1, [0023]), the method comprising:
acquiring and tracking multiple signals using a first acquisition and tracking circuit (see [0021], [0029]);
determining:
which of the multiple signals are based on authentic GNSS signals, and which of the multiple signals are based on spoofed GNSS signals (detect presence of corresponding GNSS signal and presence of spurious signals, see [0021]-[0022]);
wherein the GNSS comprises a global positioning system (GPS) (see [0021]), and wherein the multiple signals comprise at least a first authentic signal and a second spoofed signal (see [0021]-[0022]),
independently tracking the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal (tracking the spurious signal, see [0026]; tracking the satellite signal, see [0029]).
Subburaj does not specifically disclose wherein the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal have different timing offsets.
In a similar field of endeavor, Pon discloses a method for anti-spoofing capability of a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (see fig. 4), the method comprising:
Acquiring multiple signals that are based on authentic and spoofed GNSS signals (see [0003], [0027]-[0028], [0036]), wherein the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal have different timing offsets (verifying timing offsets between satellites and base stations to defend against GNSS spoofing (i.e., spoofed signals detected based on different timing offset because verification of the timing offsets via timing comparisons provide an indication of trustworthiness of the satellite, see [0015])).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Pon with Subburaj with a reasonable expectation of success by verifying that a satellite signal is spoofed by comparing that the timing offsets of satellite(s) to a nearby base station in order to ensure that the received satellite signal is not a GNSS spoofing attack.
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al US 6,784,831 (hereinafter Wang) in view of Ledvina et al US 20110102259 (hereinafter Ledvina).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses a method, the method comprising:
selecting, using a processor (255, see fig. 3B), a first space vehicle code (uniquely assigned to receive GPS L1 signals(C/A code), see col. 9, lines 9-17) and/or a first oscillator timing;
forming and aiming a beam using a beamformer (228, 230 for estimating direction of the GPS satellite, and scanning and tracking, see figs. 2A-2 and 3B, col. 9, lines 21 – col. 10, line 17, col. 17, lines 57-64), wherein the beam is aimed towards a point in space where a space vehicle associated with the first space vehicle code is expected (228, 230 for estimating direction of the GPS satellite, and scanning and tracking, see figs. 2A-2 and 3B, col. 9, lines 21 – col. 10, line 17);
dithering or moving the beam around the point in space where the space vehicle is expected (see col. 10, lines 18-41);
monitoring a signal that appears to be from the space vehicle while the beam is being dithered or moved around the point in space where the space vehicle is expected (processing the received signal from the satellite to obtain accumulated data includes multipath signal and signals from intentional and unintentional radiators located in the neighborhood of the GPS receiver, see col. 8, line 58 – col. 9, line 8, col. 10, lines 42-56).
Wang further discloses determining if the signal being monitored while the beam is being dithered or moved around the point in space where the space vehicle contains signals from intentional radiators in the neighborhood of the GPS receiver (see col. 10, lines 42-51).
However, Wang does not specifically disclose determining if the signal being monitored while the beam is being dithered or moved around the point in space where the space vehicle is varying as expected for the space vehicle;
at least partly in response to determining that the signal being monitored while the beam is being dithered or moved around the point in space where the space vehicle is not varying as expected, determining that the signal is from a spoofer and/or untrustworthy; and
at least partly in response to determining that the signal is from a spoofer and/or untrustworthy, generating a corresponding indication that the signal is from a spoofer and/or untrustworthy.
In the same field of endeavor, Ledvina discloses a method comprising:
determining if the signal being monitored while a beam is a point in space where a space vehicle is (GNSS satellites 2, transmitting satellites signals to GNSS navigation radio 10, see fig. 1, [0055]) varying as expected for the space vehicle (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101]);
at least partly in response to determining that the signal being monitored at the point in space where the space vehicle is not varying as expected, determining that the signal is from a spoofer and/or untrustworthy (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101]); and
at least partly in response to determining that the signal is from a spoofer and/or untrustworthy, generating a corresponding indication that the signal is from a spoofer and/or untrustworthy (alert, warning, see [0006], [0055], [0128], [0147]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ledvina with Wang with a reasonable expectation of success by determining if a signal received by the GPS receiver is from a spoofer, using the methods disclosed by Ledvina, for the benefit of countering GNSS signal spoofing.
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 20, the combination of Wang and Ledvina disclose the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses using the determination that the signal is from a spoofer and/or untrustworthy in providing anti-spoofing capabilities (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0036], [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101], [0128]).
Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 20, the combination of Wang and Ledvina disclose the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses the method further comprising using the first oscillator timing (common reference oscillator 70 provides reference timing between the clock of GNSS navigation receiver 10 and GNSS satellites 2, see fig. 2, [0055], [0077], [0121], [0126]) to generate a reconstruction of a clean version of a GNSS signal without spoofing (local code replica, see [0095], [0104]).
Regarding claim 23 as applied to claim 20, the combination of Wang and Ledvina disclose the claimed invention. Ledvina further discloses using the determination that the signal is from a spoofer and/or untrustworthy in providing anti-spoofing capabilities (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal see figs. 3-6, [0036], [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101], [0128]).
Regarding claim 24 as applied to claim 20, the combination of Wang and Ledvina disclose the claimed invention. The combination further discloses:
selecting a second oscillator timing (Wang, col. 8, lines 20-39);
forming and aiming a second beam using the beamformer, wherein the second beam is aimed towards a second point in space where the space vehicle associated with the first space vehicle code is expected (Wang col. 8, lines 20-44);
dithering or moving the second beam around the second point in space where the space vehicle is expected (Wang col. 10, lines 18-41);
monitoring a signal that appears to be from the space vehicle while the second beam is being dithered or moved around the second point in space where the space vehicle is expected;
determining if the signal being monitored while the second beam is being dithered or moved around the second point in space where the space vehicle is varying as expected for the space vehicle (processing the received signal from the satellite to obtain accumulated data includes multipath signal and signals from intentional and unintentional radiators located in the neighborhood of the GPS receiver, see Wang, col. 8, line 58 – col. 9, line 8, col. 10, lines 42-56);
at least partly in response to determining that the signal being monitored while the second beam is being dithered or moved around the second point in space where the space vehicle is varying as expected, determining that the signal is authentic (identifying optimal satellite signals, see Wang, col. 10, lines 4-11); and
at least partly in response to determining that the signal is authentic, generating a corresponding indication that the signal is authentic (outputting spoofing-free observables, see Ledvina, fig. 4, [0114]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 25 as applied to claim 20, the combination of Wang and Ledvina disclose the claimed invention. Wang further discloses wherein the method is performed using a GNSS receiver comprising a downconverter, a correlator, an acquisition and tracking processor, and a GNSS signal replicator (see figs. 3A-3B., col. 6, lines 47-50, col. 8, lines 64 – col. 9, line 8, col. 1, lines 39-51, col. 2, lines 61-64, col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 17)
Regarding claim 26 as applied to claim 20, the combination of Wang and Ledvina disclose the claimed invention. Wang further discloses forming at least one beam using space-frequency adaptive processing (identifying a given set of weight values that nulls interfering signals, see col. 5, lines 9-23, col. 8, lines 1-12).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al US 20110102259 (hereinafter Ledvina) in view of Feria et al US 20180164441 (hereinafter Feria) as applied to claims 11 and 14 above, and further in view of Anderson et al US 7,764,224 (hereinafter Anderson).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Ledvina and Feria discloses the claimed invention except GNSS signal replicators configured to generate replicas of authentic GNSS signals based on timing settings used to track the plurality of signals that are based on authentic GNSS signals, wherein the timing settings comprise numerically controlled oscillator (NCO) settings. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Anderson discloses using time settings to track downconverted signals that are based on spoofed signals (see fig. 6, col. 11, lines 26-51).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Anderson with the combination of Ledvina and Feria by using a NCO to provide information for detecting authentic and spoofing signals as taught by Anderson (see col. 11, lines 7-51).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al US 20110102259 (hereinafter Ledvina) in view of Feria et al US 20180164441 (hereinafter Feria) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Subburaj et al US 20140354475 (hereinafter Subburaj).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Ledvina and Feria disclose the claimed invention including wherein the plurality of signals comprise at least a first authentic signal (outputting spoofing-free observables, see fig. 4, [0114]-[0115], Ledvina) and a second spoofed signal (spoofing detection, see [0081]-[0084], Ledvina) combination of wherein both the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal have different timing offsets ([0091], [0100], Ledvina). However, combination of Ledvina and Feria does not disclose that both the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal are independently tracked by the acquisition and tracking circuit. Subburaj discloses that both the first authentic signal and the second spoofed signal are independently tracked by an acquisition and tracking circuit (tracking the spurious signal, see [0026]; tracking the satellite signal, see [0029]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Subbuarj with the combination of Ledvina as modified by Feria with a reasonable expectation of success, to track the spurious signal and authentic signal, as taught by Subburaj, for the benefit of removing any spurious signals before they are tracked by the acquisition and tracking unit.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Ledvina and Feria disclose the claimed invention except a space-time adaptive processor or a space-frequency adaptive processor disposed in a signal path between at least one beamformer output and the input of the acquisition and tracking circuit. In a similar field of endeavor, Subburaj discloses a space-time adaptive processor or a space-frequency adaptive processor disposed in a signal path between at least one beamformer output and the input of an acquisition and tracking circuit (112, see [0023], [0025], Subburaj).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Subbuarj with the combination of Ledvina as modified by Feria with a reasonable expectation of success, by using a notch filter to between the output of the antenna system and tracking and acquisition unit of the GNSS receiver, as taught by Subburaj, for the bnefit of removing any spurious signals before they are tracked by the acquisition and tracking unit.
Claims 7, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al US 20110102259 (hereinafter Ledvina) in view of Feria et al US 20180164441 (hereinafter Feria) as applied to claims 11 and 14 above, and further in view of Wang et al US 6,784,831 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claims 7, 13 and 19 as applied to claims 1, 11 and 14, the combination of Ledvina and Feria discloses the claimed invention except wherein an orientation of an antenna gain pattern is varied using dithering, an orientation of the multiple antenna pattern orientation is varied using dithering and varying the first antenna pattern orientation using dithering. In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses wherein an orientation of the multiple antenna pattern orientation is varied using dithering and varying antenna pattern orientation using dithering (see col. 10, lines 18-41).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the combination of Ledvina and Feria by dithering a the beamformer as taught by Wang for the benefit of changing the pointing direction of the beamformer to correspond to a direction with maximum received signal strength.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subburaj et al US 20140354475 (hereinafter Subburaj) in view of Pon US 20190094377 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ledvina et al US 20110102259 (hereinafter Ledvina).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Subburaj and Pon disclose the claimed invention except determining that a signal is from an authentic space vehicle at least partly in response to determining that a signal strength of the signal varies in an expected manner with movement of a beam antenna pattern when a beam antenna pattern nominally pointed towards a location in space of a corresponding space vehicle is moved. In the same field of endeavor, Ledvina discloses determining that a signal is from an authentic space vehicle at least partly in response to determining that a signal strength of the signal varies in an expected manner with movement of a beam antenna pattern when a beam antenna pattern nominally pointed towards a location in space of a corresponding space vehicle is moved (spoofing detection, based on different methods that determine spoofing based on variations, deviations, sudden shifts, outlying data, and/or inconsistent observables in the received signal (specifically, answers “No” in fig. 5, see figs. 3-6, [0036], [0084]-[0094], [0096]-[0101], [0128]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ledvina with Wang with a reasonable expectation of success by determining if a signal received by the GPS receiver is from a spoofer or not, using the methods disclosed by Ledvina, for the benefit of countering GNSS signal spoofing when it is detected.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subburaj et al US 20140354475 (hereinafter Subburaj) in view of Pon US 20190094377 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Feria et al US 20180164441 (hereinafter Feria).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 8, the combination of Subburaj and Pon disclose the claimed invention, including providing first anti-jam processing in a first signal path between the first output of the beamformer and an input of the first acquisition and tracking circuit (112, see [0023], [0025], Subburaj). However, the combination of Subburaj and Pon does not teach using a beamformer, generating at least a first output with a first group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a non-directional antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the first acquisition and tracking circuit. In a similar field of endeavor, feria discloses using a beamformer, generating at least a first output with a first group of signals, wherein the first output corresponds to a non-directional antenna pattern, wherein the first group of signals is provided as an input to the first acquisition and tracking circuit (phased array that is for omni-directional use during signal acquisition, see [0031]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Feria with the combination of Subburaj as modified by Pon with a reasonable expectation of success by incorporation of a phased array antenna/beamformer having multiple beam patterns for receiving signals as taught by Feria, for the benefit of optimizing and accelerating the satellite signal acquisition process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Strachan US 20090167597 discloses methods and apparatus relating to signal inconsistency detection of spoofing (SIDS), i.e. the use of inconsistencies in signals received at a plurality of points in space to detect spoofing.
Hartman 5,557,284 discloses a GPS spoofing detection apparatus includes at a satellite positioning signal receiver system for tracking satellite vehicles transmitting a selected RF carrier signal, the apparatus comprising an analyzing processor provided for analyzing and/or comparing, the satellite-specific relative range difference values, or alternatively, "rate of change" measurements of the satellite-specific relative range difference values, associated with one or more satellites with a spoofing detection threshold whereby an indication is provided as to whether or not a the GPS signal receiver system is operating on erroneous signals generated by a spoofing signal generator.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648