Claims 1-3 and 5-17 are present for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the ground" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "first states" and “second states” in line 6, “first states” in line 11 and “second states” in line 14. It is unclear whether “the first states” in line 15 relates back to “first states” in line 6 or line 11 and “the second states” relates back to “second states” in line 6 or line 14.
Claims(s) 9-12 are dependent on claim 8 and are therefore rejected for the reason(s) of indefiniteness as indicated above.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the ground voltage" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the ground voltage" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the ground voltage" in lines 1-2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joo et al. (US 20200143883 A1).
Regarding claim 13: Joo discloses a method of operating a semiconductor device and method of operating (100, FIG. 1), the method comprising: applying a first operating voltage (Vpass1) to a selected word line (sel_WL) coupled to a plurality of memory cells; sensing the plurality of memory cells based on the first operating voltage; decreasing a voltage level of the selected word line (decrease after Vpass2 during T4-T5, FIG. 6C) by electrically coupling the selected word line to a ground node; generating a second operating voltage (Vread); applying the second operating voltage to the selected word line (Vread to sel_WL, par. 80, FIG. 6C); and sensing the plurality of memory cells based on the second operating voltage.
Regarding claim 14: Joo discloses a method of operating a semiconductor device and method of operating (100, FIG. 1), wherein applying the first operating voltage comprises applying the first operating voltage (Vpass1 to sel_WL, FIG. 6C), higher than the ground voltage and the second operating voltage (Vpass1 greater than initial ground voltage from T1 and Vread from T5, FIG. 6C), to the selected word line.
Regarding claim 15: Joo discloses a method of operating a semiconductor device and method of operating (100, FIG. 1), wherein applying the first operating voltage comprises applying the first operating voltage having a positive voltage level (Vpass1 greater than ground voltage, FIG. 6C) to the selected word line.
Regarding claim 16: Joo discloses a method of operating a semiconductor device and method of operating (100, FIG. 1), wherein applying the second operating voltage comprises applying the second operating voltage having a positive voltage level (Vread greater than ground voltage, FIG. 6C) to the selected word line.
Regarding claim 17: Joo discloses a method of operating a semiconductor device and method of operating (100, FIG. 1), wherein applying the ground voltage comprises decreasing the voltage level of the selected word line from the first operating voltage to the ground voltage (decrease from Vpass2 to ground during T4-T5, FIG. 6C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 1-2, and 5-7 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims include allowable subject matter since the prior art made of record andconsidered pertinent to the applicants’ disclosure, taken individually or in combination,does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations having: under-drive operation scheme utilizing a lower operating voltage and a ground voltage via a ground node based on the plurality of states as in claim 1.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY THINH TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2827
/AMIR ZARABIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2827