DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 11/25/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al (US 20240244656 A1) (hereinafter “Baek”) in view of Choi et al (US 20230189056 A1) (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Baek discloses a first device comprising:
one or more processors (see Fig. 1 (102), para. [0050] discloses a first device with one or more processors. A processor may control a memory and transceiver and may configured to implement the function, procedures, methods) configured to:
generate, after establishing a target wake time (TWT) schedule having one or more TWT parameters with a second device, a first frame requesting the second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to update the one or more TWT parameters of the TWT schedule (see Fig.6, para. [0020];[0099];[0193]; [0195] discloses structure of frame used in WLAN; TWT data exchange between AP and non-AP STA using TWT request/response frame; AP may define a frame which will include scheduling information of TWT beacon frame) ;
wirelessly transmit, via a transceiver, the generated first frame to the second device (see Fig. 1 (Device 1, Device2, Transceiver), para. [0196];[0050]-[0051] delivery of the TWT information may be performed through a TWT information frame; processor may transmit wireless signal through transceiver after generation information by processing information in a memory) ;
wirelessly receive, via the transceiver from the second device, a second frame indicating a response to the first frame requesting to update the TWT schedule (see para. [0193] disclose individual TWT data exchange through TWT request/response frame, AP and STA1 may form trigger enabled TWT through a TWT request frame and a TWT response frame); and
Baek fails to disclose in response to receiving the second frame, update the one or more TWT parameters of the TWT schedule without creating a new TWT schedule.
However, Choi teaches in response to receiving the second frame, update the one or more TWT parameters of the TWT schedule without creating a new TWT schedule (see para. [0104] discloses the electronic device may not correct the TWT interval, it is possible to temporarily adjust a TWT schedule without the need to cancel or re-establish the existing TWT agreement).
Baek and Choi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baek to include the TWT update as described by Choi.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve performance required by the service.
Regarding claim 2, Baek discloses a first device wherein one of the first device or the second device is an access point (see Fig. 1, para. [0046]-[0047] discloses first and second device may include access point (AP) may be simply referred as APs).
Regarding claim 3, Baek discloses a first device wherein the one or more TWT parameters include at least one of a target wake time, a wake duration, or a wake interval (see Fig. 18 (B10- B14), para. [0218] discloses TWT parameter set with wake-up interval).
Regarding claim 4, Beak discloses first device according wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
set a first subfield of the first frame to an identifier identifying the TWT schedule (see Fig. 16 (B0-B2, TWT Flow identifier) para. [0198] discloses TWT flow identifier subfield),
set a second subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a request for updating the TWT schedule (See Fig. 16 (B3, Response to Request) para. [0198] discloses response request subfield), and
set one or more subfields of the first frame to a first set of one or more TWT parameters that are different from the one or more TWT parameters of the TWT schedule (see Fig. 16 (B8-BN) para. [0198] discloses (Next TWT subfield)).
Regarding claim 5, The first device wherein the second frame comprises:
a first subfield having the identifier identifying the TWT schedule (see Fig.18, B7-B9)),
a second subfield having a value indicating the response to the request for updating the TWT schedule (see Fig. 16 (B1- B3), and
one or more subfields having a second set of one or more TWT parameters (See Fig. 16 (B4-B14)).
Regarding claim 6, The first device wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
compare the first set of one or more TWT parameters with the second set of one or more TWT parameters (see para [0050]-[0051]; [0289] discloses processor may control memory and/or transceivers and may be configured to implement functions, procedures, methods, operations; through at least one of a TWT information field or a TWT element including interpretation of the existing or new information, whether end time of r-TWT is modified may be signaled) , and
determine, according to a result of the comparing, whether the one or more TWT parameters have been updated (see para [0050]-[0051]; [0289] discloses processor may control memory and/or transceivers and may be configured to implement functions, procedures, methods, operations; through at least one of a TWT information field or a TWT element including interpretation of the existing or new information, whether end time of r-TWT is modified may be signaled).
Regarding claim 7, Baek discloses a first device wherein:
the first frame includes a TWT information element (TWT IE) (see para. 0196] discloses TWT information may be performed through TWT information frame and TWT information element), and
the TWT IE includes the first subfield, the second subfield and the one or more subfields of the first frame (see Fig. 16 discloses a diagram describing example of a TWT information element format).
Regarding claim 10, Baek discloses a first device wherein:
the second frame is a vendor specific action frame (see Fig. 16 discloses a diagram describing example of a TWT information element format)., and
the second frame comprises:
a subfield having a value indicating a status of responding to the request for updating the TWT schedule, wherein the status is one of request accepted, request rejected with indication of alternative TWT parameters, or request rejected without indication of alternative TWT parameters (see para. [0235] discloses TWT setup command subfield may represent a command such as Request, Demand, Accept, Alternate, Dictate, Reject, etc.).
Regarding claim 11, Baek discloses a method comprising:
generating, by a first device after establishing a target wake time (TWT) schedule having one or more TWT parameters with a second device, a first frame requesting the second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to update the one or more TWT parameters of the TWT schedule (see Fig.6, para. [0020];[0099];[0193]; [0195] discloses structure of frame used in WLAN; TWT data exchange between AP and non-AP STA using TWT request/response frame; AP may define a frame which will include scheduling information of TWT beacon frame);
wirelessly transmitting, by the first device via a transceiver, the generated first frame to the second device (see Fig. 1 (Device 1, Device2, Transceiver), para. [0196];[0050]-[0051] delivery of the TWT information may be performed through a TWT information frame; processor may transmit wireless signal through transceiver after generation information by processing information in a memory);
wirelessly receiving, by the first device via the transceiver from the second device, a second frame indicating a response to the first frame requesting to update the TWT schedule (see para. [0193] disclose individual TWT data exchange through TWT request/response frame, AP and STA1 may form trigger enabled TWT through a TWT request frame and a TWT response frame); and
Baekd fails to disclose in response to receiving the second frame, updating the one or more TWT parameters of the TWT schedule without creating a new TWT schedule.
However, Choe teaches in response to receiving the second frame, updating the one or more TWT parameters of the TWT schedule without creating a new TWT schedule (see para. [0104] discloses the electronic device may not correct the TWT interval, it is possible to temporarily adjust a TWT schedule without the need to cancel or re-establish the existing TWT agreement).
Baek and Choi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baek to include the TWT update as described by Choi.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve performance required by the service.
Regarding claim 12, The method according wherein one of the first device or the second device is an access point (see Fig. 1, para. [0046]-[0047] discloses first and second device may include access point (AP) may be simply referred as APs).
Regarding claim 13, The method wherein the one or more TWT parameters include at least one of a target wake time, a wake duration, or a wake interval (see Fig. 18 (B10- B14), para. [0218] discloses TWT parameter set with wake-up interval).
Regarding claim 14, The method according further comprising:
setting a first subfield of the first frame to an identifier identifying the TWT schedule (see Fig. 16 (B0-B2, TWT Flow identifier) para. [0198] discloses TWT flow identifier subfield),
setting a second subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a request for updating the TWT schedule (See Fig. 16 (B3, Response to Request) para. [0198] discloses response request subfield), and
setting one or more subfields of the first frame to a first set of one or more TWT parameters that are different from the one or more TWT parameters of the TWT schedule (see Fig. 16 (B8-BN) para. [0198] discloses (Next TWT subfield)).
Regarding claim 15, The method according wherein the second frame comprises:
a first subfield having the identifier identifying the TWT schedule (see Fig.18, B7-B9)),
a second subfield having a value indicating the response to the request for updating the TWT schedule (see Fig. 16 (B1- B3), and
one or more subfields having a second set of one or more TWT parameters (See Fig. 16 (B4-B14)).
Regarding claim 16, The method further comprising:
comparing the first set of one or more TWT parameters with the second set of one or more TWT parameters (see para [0050]-[0051]; [0289] discloses processor may control memory and/or transceivers and may be configured to implement functions, procedures, methods, operations; through at least one of a TWT information field or a TWT element including interpretation of the existing or new information, whether end time of r-TWT is modified may be signaled), and
determining, according to a result of the comparing, whether the one or more TWT parameters have been updated (see para [0050]-[0051]; [0289] discloses processor may control memory and/or transceivers and may be configured to implement functions, procedures, methods, operations; through at least one of a TWT information field or a TWT element including interpretation of the existing or new information, whether end time of r-TWT is modified may be signaled).
Regarding claim 17, The method wherein:
the first frame includes a TWT information element (TWT IE) (see para. 0196] discloses TWT information may be performed through TWT information frame and TWT information element), and
the TWT IE includes the first subfield, the second subfield and the one or more subfields of the first frame (see Fig. 16 discloses a diagram describing example of a TWT information element format).
Regarding claim 20, Baek discloses a method wherein:
the second frame is a vendor specific action frame (see Fig. 16 discloses a diagram describing example of a TWT information element format), and
the second frame comprises:
a subfield having a value indicating a status of responding to the request for updating the TWT schedule, wherein the status is one of request accepted, request rejected with indication of alternative TWT parameters, or request rejected without indication of alternative TWT parameters (see para. [0235] discloses TWT setup command subfield may represent a command such as Request, Demand, Accept, Alternate, Dictate, Reject, etc.).
Claims 8, 9, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al (US 20240244656 A1) (hereinafter “Baek”) in view of Choi et al (US 20230189056 A1) (hereinafter “Choi”) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Shafin et al (US 20230059237 A1) (hereinafter “Shafin’).
Regarding claim 8, Baek discloses a first device
Baek fails to disclose wherein:
the first frame is a vendor specific action frame, and
the one or more processors are configured to:
set a third subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a reason for updating the TWT schedule, wherein the reason includes one of a change in channel congestion, a change in application traffic profile, or an increase in queue depth.
However, Shafin teaches wherein:
the first frame is a vendor specific action frame, and
the one or more processors are configured to:
set a third subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a reason for updating the TWT schedule, wherein the reason includes one of a change in channel congestion, a change in application traffic profile, or an increase in queue depth (see Fig. 2A (First device with processor), Fig. 3A para. [0068] discloses TWT parameter set subfield including TWT additional info that can contain information on STA congestion level).
Baek and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baek to include the TWT as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance.
Regarding claim 9, Baek discloses a first device according.
Baek fails to disclose wherein:
the vendor specific action frame comprises a quality of service characteristics information element (QoS characteristics IE), and
responsive to setting the third subfield to a value indicating a change in application traffic profile, the one or more processors are configured to:
set the QoS characteristics IE to one or more values indicating a new application traffic profile.
However, Shafin teaches wherein:
the vendor specific action frame comprises a quality of service characteristics information element (QoS characteristics IE) (see para. [0095] discloses Delay Info, Mean Data Rate Info, Peak Data Rate Info, Burst Size Info express the QoS expectation or assurance by the restricted TWT scheduling AP for the traffic for the corresponding TWT schedule, such QoS information can help STA elect a schedule that fulfill the STA QoS requirement or expectation) , and
responsive to setting the third subfield to a value indicating a change in application traffic profile, the one or more processors are configured to:
set the QoS characteristics IE to one or more values indicating a new application traffic profile (see para. [0095];[0097] discloses Delay Info, Mean Data Rate Info, Peak Data Rate Info, Burst Size Info express the QoS expectation or assurance by the restricted TWT scheduling AP for the traffic for the corresponding TWT schedule, such QoS information can help STA elect a schedule that fulfill the STA QoS requirement or expectation; the additional information is advertised so the STA can choose the best TWT schedule that fit the traffic pattern).
Baek and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baek to include the TWT as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance.
Regarding claim 18, Baek discloses a method.
Baekd fails to discloses a method wherein:
the first frame is a vendor specific action frame, and
the method comprises:
setting a third subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a reason for updating the TWT schedule, wherein the reason includes one of a change in channel congestion, a change in application traffic profile, or an increase in queue depth.
However, Shafin teaches a method wherein:
the first frame is a vendor specific action frame, and
the method comprises:
setting a third subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a reason for updating the TWT schedule, wherein the reason includes one of a change in channel congestion, a change in application traffic profile, or an increase in queue depth (see Fig. 2A (First device with processor), Fig. 3A para. [0068] discloses TWT parameter set subfield including TWT additional info that can contain information on STA congestion level).
Baek and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baek to include the TWT as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance.
Regarding claim 19, Baek discloses a method
Baek fails to disclose a method wherein:
the vendor specific action frame comprises a quality of service characteristics information element (QoS characteristics IE), and
the method comprises:
responsive to setting the third subfield to a value indicating a change in application traffic profile, setting the QoS characteristics IE to one or more values indicating a new application traffic profile.
However, Shafin teaches a method wherein:
the vendor specific action frame comprises a quality of service characteristics information element (QoS characteristics IE) ) (see para. [0095] discloses Delay Info, Mean Data Rate Info, Peak Data Rate Info, Burst Size Info express the QoS expectation or assurance by the restricted TWT scheduling AP for the traffic for the corresponding TWT schedule, such QoS information can help STA elect a schedule that fulfill the STA QoS requirement or expectation), and
the method comprises:
responsive to setting the third subfield to a value indicating a change in application traffic profile, setting the QoS characteristics IE to one or more values indicating a new application traffic profile (see para. [0095];[0097] discloses Delay Info, Mean Data Rate Info, Peak Data Rate Info, Burst Size Info express the QoS expectation or assurance by the restricted TWT scheduling AP for the traffic for the corresponding TWT schedule, such QoS information can help STA elect a schedule that fulfill the STA QoS requirement or expectation; the additional information is advertised so the STA can choose the best TWT schedule that fit the traffic pattern).
Baek and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baek to include the TWT as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims -20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hu et al (US 20240098647 A1) discloses “Systems and Methods for Using Restricted TWT in Wireless Communication”.
Uppala et al (US 20230319711 A1) discloses “Target Wake Time (TWT) renegotiation”.
Ficara et al (US 20230300751 A1) discloses “Extending Target Wake Time for Randomized and Changing Media Access Control Address Signaling”
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419