DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/05/2024, 7/12/2024, 12/09/2024, 1/10/2024, and 6/20/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0169936 A1 by Han et al. (hereafter referred to as Han).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a communication apparatus (see at least Fig. 4) comprising:
a memory storing a program (see at least Fig. 4); and
one or more processors configured to execute the program (see at least Fig. 4) to:
obtain path information including first information for indicating each of a plurality of waypoints; transmit, to a base station, a message of the completion of a radio resource control, RRC, connection reconfiguration, the message including information for indicating an availability of the path information (see at least ¶[0105]; “The method 700 starts, and in one embodiment, the processor 405 accesses 705 a base station 110. In one embodiment, the processor 405 indicates that the flight path data 200 is available in an RRC setup procedure when accessing 705 the base station 110.”);
receive, from the base station, a UEInformationRequest message including second information used for configuring a granularity of the first information (see at least ¶ [0106]-[0108]; “The processor 405 may further receive 710 the measurement data 260 from the base station 110. The measurement data 260 may be received 710 in response to accessing 705 the base station 110. The processor 405 may further measure 715 the base stations 110 indicated by the measurement data 260. For example, the processor 405 may measure signal strength, available bandwidth, and the like.”); and
transmit in response to the reception of the UEInformationRequest message, to the base station, a UEInformationResponse message including the path information including the first information on a basis of the second information (see at least ¶ [0109]; “The processor 405 may communicate 730 the flight path data 200 to the aerial server 105 via the base station 110. The flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to the flight path data request 310. In addition, the flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to validating the flight path data request 310. In one embodiment, the processor 405 communicates 730 updated flight path data 200 in response to a change in a flight path 330.”).
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 1.
In addition, Han teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the program to transmit, to the base station, a message of the completion of an RRC connection re-establishment, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information, a message of the completion of an RRC connection establishment, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information, or a message of the completion of an RRC connection resumption, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information (see at least ¶ [0109]; “The processor 405 may communicate 730 the flight path data 200 to the aerial server 105 via the base station 110. The flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to the flight path data request 310. In addition, the flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to validating the flight path data request 310. In one embodiment, the processor 405 communicates 730 updated flight path data 200 in response to a change in a flight path 330.”).
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 1.
In addition, Han teaches wherein the path information includes information of a flight path or a moving path (see at least ¶ [0092]-[0103]; flight path data).
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches A base station (see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0088]; base station 110) comprising:
a memory storing a program (see at least Fig. 4); and
one or more processors configured to execute the program (see at least Fig. 4) to:
receive, from a communication apparatus, a message of the completion of a radio resource control, RRC, connection reconfiguration, the message including information for indicating an availability of path information, the path information including first information for indicating each of a plurality of waypoints; obtain the information for indicating the availability of the path information included in the message (see at least ¶[0105]; “The method 700 starts, and in one embodiment, the processor 405 accesses 705 a base station 110. In one embodiment, the processor 405 indicates that the flight path data 200 is available in an RRC setup procedure when accessing 705 the base station 110.”);
transmit, to the communication apparatus, a UEInformationRequest message including second information used for configuring a granularity of the first information (see at least ¶ [0106]-[0108]; “The processor 405 may further receive 710 the measurement data 260 from the base station 110. The measurement data 260 may be received 710 in response to accessing 705 the base station 110. The processor 405 may further measure 715 the base stations 110 indicated by the measurement data 260. For example, the processor 405 may measure signal strength, available bandwidth, and the like.”); and
receive in response to the transmission of the UEInformationRequest message, from the communication apparatus, a UEInformationResponse message including the path information including the first information on a basis of the second information (see at least ¶ [0109]; “The processor 405 may communicate 730 the flight path data 200 to the aerial server 105 via the base station 110. The flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to the flight path data request 310. In addition, the flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to validating the flight path data request 310. In one embodiment, the processor 405 communicates 730 updated flight path data 200 in response to a change in a flight path 330.”).
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches the base station according to claim 5.
In addition, Han teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the program to receive, from the communication apparatus, a message of the completion of an RRC connection re-establishment, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information, a message of the completion of an RRC connection establishment, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information, or a message of the completion of an RRC connection resumption, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information (see at least ¶ [0109]; “The processor 405 may communicate 730 the flight path data 200 to the aerial server 105 via the base station 110. The flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to the flight path data request 310. In addition, the flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to validating the flight path data request 310. In one embodiment, the processor 405 communicates 730 updated flight path data 200 in response to a change in a flight path 330.”).
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches the base station according to claim 5.
In addition, Han teaches wherein the path information includes information of a flight path or a moving path (see at least ¶ [0092]-[0103]; flight path data).
Regarding claim 9, Han teaches a method performed by a communication apparatus, comprising: obtaining path information including first information for indicating each of a plurality of waypoints; transmitting, to a base station, a message of the completion of a radio resource control, RRC, connection reconfiguration, the message including information for indicating an availability of the path information (see at least ¶[0105]; “[0105] The method 700 starts, and in one embodiment, the processor 405 accesses 705 a base station 110. In one embodiment, the processor 405 indicates that the flight path data 200 is available in an RRC setup procedure when accessing 705 the base station 110.”);
receiving, from the base station, a UEInformationRequest message including second information used for configuring a granularity of the first information (see at least ¶ [0106]-[0108]; “The processor 405 may further receive 710 the measurement data 260 from the base station 110. The measurement data 260 may be received 710 in response to accessing 705 the base station 110. The processor 405 may further measure 715 the base stations 110 indicated by the measurement data 260. For example, the processor 405 may measure signal strength, available bandwidth, and the like.”); and
transmitting in response to the reception of the UEInformationRequest message, to the base station, a UEInformationResponse message including the path information including the first information on a basis of the second information (see at least ¶ [0109]; “The processor 405 may communicate 730 the flight path data 200 to the aerial server 105 via the base station 110. The flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to the flight path data request 310. In addition, the flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to validating the flight path data request 310. In one embodiment, the processor 405 communicates 730 updated flight path data 200 in response to a change in a flight path 330.”).
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches the method according to claim 9. In addition, Han teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, a message of the completion of an RRC connection re-establishment, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information, a message of the completion of an RRC connection establishment, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information, or a message of the completion of an RRC connection resumption, the message including the information for indicating the availability of the path information (see at least ¶ [0109]; “The processor 405 may communicate 730 the flight path data 200 to the aerial server 105 via the base station 110. The flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to the flight path data request 310. In addition, the flight path data 200 may be communicated 730 in response to validating the flight path data request 310. In one embodiment, the processor 405 communicates 730 updated flight path data 200 in response to a change in a flight path 330.”).
Regarding claim 12, Han teaches the method according to claim 9. In addition, Han teaches wherein the path information includes information of a flight path or a moving path (see at least ¶ [0092]-[0103]; flight path data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 3, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claims 1, 5, and 9 above, in view of US 2021/0021334 A1 by Tang et al. (hereafter referred to as Tang).
Regarding claim 3, Han teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 1.
Han does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the path information includes information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints.
In the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches wherein the path information includes information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints (see at least ¶ [0119], [0178], and [0193]; “Optionally, the flight path information includes timestamp information of arrival at the target node.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the flight path of Han with the flight path taught by Tang in order to more accurately help the network device determine a location of the terminal device at any moment (Tang ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Han teaches the base station according to claim 5.
Han does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the path information includes information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints.
In the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches wherein the path information includes information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints (see at least ¶ [0119], [0178], and [0193]; “Optionally, the flight path information includes timestamp information of arrival at the target node.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the flight path of Han with the flight path taught by Tang in order to more accurately help the network device determine a location of the terminal device at any moment (Tang ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 11, Han teaches the method according to claim 9.
Han does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the path information includes information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints.
In the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches wherein the path information includes information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints (see at least ¶ [0119], [0178], and [0193]; “Optionally, the flight path information includes timestamp information of arrival at the target node.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the flight path of Han with the flight path taught by Tang in order to more accurately help the network device determine a location of the terminal device at any moment (Tang ¶ [0055]).
Conclusion
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA W COSME whose telephone number is (571)270-7225. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465