Applicant’s filing of claims 1-11 on 2/26/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/23/24 was acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim language “which each include one or more projections” is unclear. Does the “each” refer to the matrix of open-ended apertures?
Claim 1 is rejected because “the bottom of the box frame” raises an antecedent basis issue.
Claim 11 is rejected for indefiniteness because the claim language, “using laser cutting techniques,” merely recites a use, e.g., “using” or “used to,” without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Interpretation
The Office asserts that terms and phrases like “for” and “wherein” constitute recitations of intended use language for purposes of examination. The Office asserts that in the examined claims reciting such “for” language, the claim language that follows such recitations does not necessarily denote structure MPEP 2173.05(g). The functional limitation was evaluated and considered, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, a “wherein” clause may have a limiting effect on a claim if the language limits the claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04. The determination of whether a “wherein” clause is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (“Zhao,” CN217016725) in view of Laska (US 5993745).
As to claim 1, Zhao discloses a rack for sample tubes, the rack comprising:
a. a box lid (packing cover plate 3) and a box frame (base main body 11);
b. at least one tube holder layer (test tube placing plate 2) that has a matrix of open-ended apertures for receiving the sample tubes, wherein the at least one tube holder layer is constructed from a corrugated material (paper material on p. 3); and
c. a tube layer (another test tube placing plate) that has a matrix of open-ended apertures, aligned with the matrix of open-ended apertures (holes) of the at least one tube holder layer;
wherein the tube layer (another test tube placing plate) is positioned between the at least one tube holder layer (test tube placing plate 2) and the bottom of the box frame (see figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao does not specifically disclose a tube locking layer comprising a matrix of open-ended apertures, each open-ended aperture has one or more projections extending into the aperture for locking received sample tubes against rotation relative to the tube locking layer. Laska discloses in figs. 3A-3B and in e.g., col. 3 et seq., a plurality of storage bay openings 25 (“open-ended aperture”) defined by center section 3 and by one of a plurality of centering recesses 24 (one of which is referenced in FIG. 1A) defined by bottom section 2. For each storage bay of test tube guide plate 32, guide 30 preferably provides four fingers 30A-30D (“one or more projections”). As test tubes are inserted from above guide plate 32, fingers 30A-30D point downwardly toward base section 2. At the same time, the force exerted on the test tube by fingers 30A-30D and protrusions 31A-31D is preferably sufficient to minimize or reduce the risk of rotation of the test tube due to ordinary vibration or handling. Minimizing or reducing rotation of the test tube ensures that the orientation of the stored test tube is maintained even during transportation of the storage tray assembly 1. Thus, if a test tube is stored in a storage bay at a desired orientation, such as an orientation dictated by a label reading sensor, the test tube and its label would remain at that desired orientation. See e.g., col. 5 et seq. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the radial cuts in the perforations because minimizing or reducing rotation of the test tube ensures that the orientation of the stored test tube is maintained even during transportation of the storage tray assembly (col. 5-6 of Laska).
As to claim 2, Zhao discloses the box frame has an open bottom in figs. 4 and 5.
As to claim 3, Zhao discloses a bottom spacer (fixing slot 14 or limiting groove 15), wherein the bottom spacer is positioned between the tube locking layer and the bottom of the box frame. See fig. 1.
As to claim 4, Zhao discloses a top spacer (fixing slot 14 or limiting groove 15), wherein the top spacer is affixed to the interior of the box lid proximate the top of the box lid, and configured to seat against a top surface of the box frame. See fig. 1.
As to claim 5, Zhao discloses a flange (connecting bump 12), wherein the flange is affixed to the exterior of the box frame, and configured to block seating of the box lid on the box frame beyond a predetermined depth. See figs. 1 and 4.
As to claim 6, Zhao discloses the rack is constructed from a cardboard material on pg. 2.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viladomat Lopez (US Pub. No. 2022/0331807) in view of Zhao and Laska.
See Zhao and Laska above.
As to claim 7, Viladomat Lopez teaches a process for manufacturing a rack, the process comprising the steps of:
cutting one or more blanks of cardboard material into a box template and a box frame template, a tube holder layer template, and a tube layer template (e.g., [0018] et seq.);
folding and securing the box template and box frame template, respectively, to form a box and box frame (e.g., [0018] et seq.);
cutting the tube holder layer template and tube layer template, respectively, to form matrices of open-ended apertures that are configured to mutually align when the respective layers are positioned within the box frame (e.g., [0018] et seq.); and
positioning the cut tube holder layer and the cut tube layer within the box frame, with the tube layer positioned between the tube holder layer and the bottom of the box frame. See figs. 1-6 and [0018] et seq.
Regarding claim 7, Viladomat Lopez does not specifically teach a box lid. Zhao teaches a box lid. See cover plate 3 in fig. 5. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a box lid because it would help protect the contents inside the rack. Furthermore, Viladomat Lopez does not specifically teach a tube locking layer. Laska teaches in figs. 3A-3B and in e.g., col. 3 et seq., a plurality of storage bay openings 25 (“open-ended aperture”) defined by center section 3 and by one of a plurality of centering recesses 24 (one of which is referenced in FIG. 1A) defined by bottom section 2. See e.g., col. 5 et seq. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a tube locking layer because it would minimize or reduce rotation of the test tube to ensure that the orientation of the stored test tube is maintained during transportation of the storage tray assembly (col. 5-6 of Laska).
As to claim 8, the combination of Viladomat Lopez, Zhao and Laska teach the cutting step includes cutting a bottom spacer, and the positioning step includes positioning the bottom spacer between the tube locking layer and the bottom of the box frame. See e.g., figs. 1-6 and [0018] et seq. of Viladomat Lopez; and fixing slot 14 or limiting groove 15 and fig. 1 of Zhao. For motivation statement, see above.
As to claim 9, the combination of Viladomat Lopez, Zhao and Laska teach the cutting step includes cutting a top spacer, and an additional positioning step includes affixing the top spacer to the interior of the box lid proximate the top of the box lid, wherein the top spacer is positioned and configured to seat against a top surface of the box frame upon assembly of the box lid to the box frame. See e.g., figs. 1-6 and [0018] et seq. of Viladomat Lopez; and fixing slot 14 or limiting groove 15, cover plate 3 and fig. 1 of Zhao. For motivation statement, see above.
As to claim 10, the combination of Viladomat Lopez, Zhao and Laska teach the cutting step includes cutting an external flange, and an additional positioning step includes affixing the flange to the exterior of the box frame, wherein the flange is positioned and configured to block seating of the box lid on the box frame beyond a predetermined depth upon assembly of the box lid to the box frame. See e.g., figs. 1-6 and [0018] et seq. of Viladomat Lopez; and connecting bump 12 and figs. 1 and 4 of Zhao. For motivation statement, see above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viladomat Lopez in view of Zhao, Laska and Fang (CN 218012859)
See Viladomat Lopez, Zhao and Laska above.
As to claim 11, Viladomat Lopez does not specifically teach using laser cutting techniques. Fang teaches laser welding in page 14. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a laser cutting technique because it would be desirable to utilize a technique that is known for its high precision and speed.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
6/23/2026