CTNF 18/587,169 CTNF 85340 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-13 are subject under examination. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is claiming TCI without providing full form of TCI . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abedini (US 2021/0306064 A1), hereafter referred as Abedini’064 . Regarding claim 1, Abedini’064 (US 20210306064 A1) teaches a communication method of a repeater (fig 4 A repeater) , comprising: receiving a first forwarding signal from a network device by using a predefined first beam or a first beam indicated by the network device (s ee para 0083 “the repeater may relay or forward uplink communications by transmitting RF analog signals received from the UE via an Rx beam of the second beam pair to the BS using an Rx beam of the first beam pair.”) , performing signal processing on the first forwarding signal to generate a second forwarding signal ( see para 0047 “a repeater (or relay) 140 may receive a radio frequency (RF) analog signal (e.g., an analog millimeter wave signal) from a base station 110, may amplify the RF analog signal, and may transmit the amplified RF signal to one or more UEs 120.” ); and transmitting the second forwarding signal to a third device by using a second beam indicated by the network device or configured by the network device or configured and indicated by the network device(s ee para 0083 “the repeater may relay or forward uplink communications by transmitting RF analog signals received from the UE via an Rx beam of the second beam pair to the BS using an Rx beam of the first beam pair.”; see para 0060 “base station 110 may include … means for transmitting, to the repeater 140, an indication of the one or more parameters for mechanical beam steering”) [ an indication of the one or more parameters for mechanical beam steering by base station implies network device indicating beam/ beam parameters ] receiving a third forwarding signal from the third device by using a third beam indicated by the network device or configured by the network device or configured and indicated by the network device ( See para 0091 “the repeater may receive a communication or signal from the UE (e.g., on a mmWave frequency) and may forward or transmit the communication or the signal to the BS” ); performing signal processing on the third forwarding signal to generate a fourth forwarding signal(see para 0047 “ see para 0047 “a repeater (or relay) 140 may receive a radio frequency (RF) analog signal (e.g., an analog millimeter wave signal) from a base station 110, may amplify the RF analog signal, and may transmit the amplified RF signal to one or more UEs 120.” ); and transmitting the fourth forwarding signal to the network device by using a predefined fourth beam or a fourth beam indicated by the network device ( see para 0091 “the repeater may receive a communication or signal from the UE (e.g., on a mmWave frequency) and may forward or transmit the communication or the signal to the BS.”) Regarding claim 13, Abedini’064 (US 20210306064 A1) teaches a repeater (fig 4 A repeater) , comprising: A receiver configured to receive a first forwarding signal from a network device by using a predefined first beam or a first beam indicated by the network device (s ee para 0083 “the repeater may relay or forward uplink communications by transmitting RF analog signals received from the UE via an Rx beam of the second beam pair to the BS using an Rx beam of the first beam pair.”) , A processor configured to perform signal processing on the first forwarding signal to generate a second forwarding signal ( see para 0047 “a repeater (or relay) 140 may receive a radio frequency (RF) analog signal (e.g., an analog millimeter wave signal) from a base station 110, may amplify the RF analog signal, and may transmit the amplified RF signal to one or more UEs 120.” ); and A transmitter configured to transmit the second forwarding signal to a third device by using a second beam indicated by the network device or configured by the network device or configured and indicated by the network device(s ee para 0083 “the repeater may relay or forward uplink communications by transmitting RF analog signals received from the UE via an Rx beam of the second beam pair to the BS using an Rx beam of the first beam pair.”; see para 0060 “base station 110 may include … means for transmitting, to the repeater 140, an indication of the one or more parameters for mechanical beam steering”) [ an indication of the one or more parameters for mechanical beam steering by base station implies network device indicating beam/ beam parameters ] Wherein the receiver is further configured to receive a third forwarding signal from the third device by using a third beam indicated by the network device or configured by the network device or configured and indicated by the network device ( See para 0091 “the repeater may receive a communication or signal from the UE (e.g., on a mmWave frequency) and may forward or transmit the communication or the signal to the BS” ); the processor is further configured to perform signal processing on the third forwarding signal to generate a fourth forwarding signal(see para 0047 “ see para 0047 “a repeater (or relay) 140 may receive a radio frequency (RF) analog signal (e.g., an analog millimeter wave signal) from a base station 110, may amplify the RF analog signal, and may transmit the amplified RF signal to one or more UEs 120.” ); and the transmitter is further is configured to transmit the fourth forwarding signal to the network device by using a predefined fourth beam or a fourth beam indicated by the network device ( see para 0091 “the repeater may receive a communication or signal from the UE (e.g., on a mmWave frequency) and may forward or transmit the communication or the signal to the BS.”) Regarding claim 5, Abedini’064 teaches receiving a fifth communicating signal from the network device by using a fifth beam ( see para 0047 “a repeater (or relay) 140 may receive a radio frequency (RF) analog signal (e.g., an analog millimeter wave signal) from a base station 110”) , and demodulating and/or decoding the fifth communicating signal ( see para 0053 “A receive processor 258 may process (e.g., demodulate and decode) the detected symbols, provide decoded data for UE 120”) , wherein the fifth beam is predefined or the fifth beam is indicated or configured by the network device ( see para 0049 “the base station 110 is capable of controlling and/or configuring beamforming for the repeater”). Regarding claim 6, Abedini’064 teaches generating a sixth communicating signal; and transmitting the sixth communicating signal to the network device by using a sixth beam, wherein the sixth beam is predefined or the sixth beam is indicated or configured by the network device ( see para 0017 “communicate a plurality of first RF analog signals based at least in part on a plurality of mechanical beam steering parameters and a plurality of electrical beamforming parameters; perform, based at least in part on a first subset of the plurality of mechanical beam steering parameters, mechanical beam steering for at least one of a transmit beam of the repeater or a receive beam of the repeater;”). Regarding claim 10, Abedini’064 teaches further comprising generating the second forwarding signal at least by performing amplify process on the first forwarding signal, and/or, generating the fourth forwarding signal at least by performing amplify process on the third forwarding signal (see para 0082 ““relaying” or “forwarding” a received RF analog signal may refer to transmitting the received RF analog signal (e.g., after amplifying the received RF analog signal) without decoding the received RF analog signal.”) Regarding claim 11, Abedini’064 teaches the network device is a device of a cell where the repeater is located, and/or, the network device is a device of a serving cell of the repeater. ( see para 0085 “A repeater can provide a low-cost and easily deployable option to efficiently enhance wireless network performance by extending the coverage or range of BSs in the wireless network, by increasing the capacity (e.g., providing stronger end-to-end connections) of BSs.”) Regarding claim 12, Abedini’064 teaches wherein the repeater does not demodulate and/or decode the first forwarding signal, the second forwarding signal, the third forwarding signal and the fourth forwarding signal. ( see para 0082 ““relaying” or “forwarding” a received RF analog signal may refer to transmitting the received RF analog signal (e.g., after amplifying the received RF analog signal) without decoding the received RF analog signal and/or without modifying information carried in the received RF analog signal.”) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 6. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim (s) 2, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (US 2021/0306064 A1), hereafter referred as Abedini’064 in view of Abedini (US 20220053486 A1), hereafter referred as Abedini’486 . Regarding claim 2, Abedini’064 doesn’t teach receiving from the network device first information used to configure and/or indicate the second beam and/or the third beam; and receiving from the network device second information used to indicate the first beam and/or the fourth beam, wherein the second beam and the third beam in the first information are denoted by beam indexes, the first beam and the fourth beam in the second information are denoted by TCI. Abedini’486 teaches receiving from the network device first information used to configure and/or indicate the second beam and/or the third beam (see para 0107 “receiving from the network device first information used to configure and/or indicate the second beam and/or the third beam; and receiving from the network device second information used to indicate the first beam and/or the fourth beam, wherein the second beam and the third beam in the first information are denoted by beam indexes, the first beam and the fourth beam in the second information are denoted by TCI.”) ; and receiving from the network device second information used to indicate the first beam and/or the fourth beam ( See para 0109 “UE 602 can further identify the downlink transmit beams selected by the base station from the beam measurements. Transmission of the beam measurement report may occur periodically (e.g., as configured via RRC signaling by the gNB),”) , wherein the second beam and the third beam in the first information are denoted by beam indexes, the first beam and the fourth beam in the second information are denoted by TCI (see para 0193 “a first table 1600 populated with MAC-CE configured fronthaul-link active TCI states 1602”; see para 0194 “According to the first table 1600 of FIG. 16A, a TCI state index 1606 of 0 1608 corresponds to a relay unit beam index 1616, wherein the relay unit beam index 1616 may be associated with n beams indicated by .sub.i.sub.11.sup.RU, . . . , b.sub.i.sub.1n.sup.RU (each of these n values b.sub.i.sub.1x.sup.RU indicates one beam).”) Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine second beam and the third beam in the first information are denoted by beam indexes, the first beam and the fourth beam in the second information are denoted by TCI in the system of Abedini’064. The motivation is to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network ( Abedini’486: see para 0064) Regarding claim 3, Abedini’064 doesn’t teach the first information is semi-static configuration and is carried by RRC signaling, and/or, the first information is dynamic indication. Abedini’486 (US 20220053486 A1) teaches wherein the first information is semi-static configuration and is carried by RRC signaling, and/or, the first information is dynamic indication (see para 0107 “Transmission of the beam reference signals may occur periodically (e.g., as configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling by the gNB), semi-persistently (e.g., as configured via RRC signaling”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine semi-static configuration and is carried by RRC signaling in the system of Abedini’064. The motivation is to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network ( Abedini’486: see para 0064) Regarding claim 4, Abedini’064 doesn’t teach wherein the second information is carried by MAC layer signaling. Abedini’486 teaches the second information is carried by MAC layer signaling. (See para 0163 “Configuration via MAC-CE or RRC (e.g., for semi-persistent/periodic modes) also may be supported.”) Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the second information is carried by MAC layer signaling in the system of Primary. The motivation is to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network ( Abedini’486: see para 0064) 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim (s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (US 2021/0306064 A1), hereafter referred as Abedini’064 in view of Matsumara (US 20240172215 A1) Regarding claim 7, Abedini’064 doesn’t teach wherein the fifth communicating signal and the first forwarding signal are at least partially overlapped in a time domain; or the fifth communicating signal and the first forwarding signal are not overlapped in the time domain. Matsumara (US 20240172215 A1) teaches wherein the fifth communicating signal and the first forwarding signal are at least partially overlapped in a time domain; or the fifth communicating signal and the first forwarding signal are not overlapped in the time domain (see para 0034 “The UE may perform reception of a DL signal/channel and transmission of a UL signal/channel in overlapping time resources (may perform simultaneous transmission and reception) by using different transmission/reception panels/antennas/beams.”) Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of invention to combine the fifth communicating signal and the first forwarding signal are at least partially overlapped in a time domain in the system of Abedini’064. The motivation is to improve resource usage efficiency ( Matsumara: see para 0039) Regarding claim 8, Abedini’064 doesn’t teach wherein the sixth communicating signal and the fourth forwarding signal are at least partially overlapped in a time domain; or, the sixth communicating signal and the fourth forwarding signal are not overlapped in the time domain. Matsumara teaches the sixth communicating signal and the fourth forwarding signal are at least partially overlapped in a time domain (see para 0034 “The UE may perform reception of a DL signal/channel and transmission of a UL signal/channel in overlapping time resources (may perform simultaneous transmission and reception) by using different transmission/reception panels/antennas/beams.”) Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of invention to combine the fifth communicating signal and the first forwarding signal are at least partially overlapped in a time domain in the system of Abedini’064. The motivation is to improve resource usage efficiency ( Matsumara: see para 0039) 07-21-aia AIA 9. Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (US 2021/0306064 A1), hereafter referred as Abedini’064 in view of Cirik (US 2021/0360631 A1) . Regarding claim 9, Abedini’064 doesn’t teach generating a sixth communicating signal; and transmitting the sixth communicating signal to the network device by using a sixth beam, wherein the sixth beam is predefined or the sixth beam is indicated or configured by the network device, the fifth communicating signal and the sixth communicating signal are not overlapped in a time domain, and the second forwarding signal and the third forwarding signal are not overlapped in the time domain. Cirik (US 2021/0360631 A1) teaches generating a sixth communicating signal; and transmitting the sixth communicating signal to the network device by using a sixth beam, wherein the sixth beam is predefined or the sixth beam is indicated or configured by the network device, the fifth communicating signal and the sixth communicating signal are not overlapped in a time domain, and the second forwarding signal and the third forwarding signal are not overlapped in the time domain. ( see para 0243 “, the plurality of uplink signal or channel transmission occasions (e.g., 1st TX occasion, 2nd TX occasion, 3rd TX occasion, or 4th TX occasion) may not overlap in time.”) Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of invention to combine the fifth communicating signal and the first forwarding signal are at least partially overlapped in a time domain in the system of Abedini’064. The motivation is to improve performance. ( Cirik: see para 0039) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMIT KAUR whose telephone number is (571)270-5665. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NOEL BEHARRY can be reached at 5712705630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAMIT KAUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 2 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 3 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 4 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 5 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 6 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 7 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 8 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 9 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 10 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 11 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 12 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 13 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 14 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/587,169 Page 15 Art Unit: 2416