DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 67-86 are pending in the instant application. Claims 81-86 are new claims and drawn to the originally presented subject matter. An action on the merits of claims 67-86 is contained herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner has considered the information disclosure statements filed most recently of record.
Previous Objections/Rejections
Any rejections or objections stated of record in the office action mailed on 7/9/2026 that are not explicitly addressed herein below, are hereby withdrawn in light of applicant's arguments and/or amendments filed 10/8/2026.
Status of Rejections
Double Patenting
The rejection of claims 67-80 is maintained with respect to U.S. Patents No. 11,414,397, 10,597,377, and 10,875,839.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/8/2026, with respect to the rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 7/9/2026, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
To reiterate the rejections of record, claims 67-80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,414,397. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed compounds are disclosed in U.S. Patent No. ‘397 (see col. 343, claim 17, example 2-2, col. 243, lines 33-41 for HCl salt) and its method of use as recited in the instant claims (see col. 9, lines 30-40).
Claims 67-80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,597,377. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct for the reasons set forth in U.S. Patent No. 11,414,397 (more particularly the suggestion of employing the HCl salt in the claimed method).
Claims 67-80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,875,839. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct for the reasons set forth in U.S. Patent No. 11,414,397 (more particularly the suggestion of employing the HCl salt in the claimed method).
Applicants argue that since the patents do not disclose the recited “monohydrochloride” salt as recited in the instant claims for the method of use but the “dihydrochloride” salt (see example 2-2 of patent ‘397 for example where the preparation method is different from what is taught in the instant application); the claims are patentably distinct. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated previously when analyzing U.S. Patent No. ‘397 as an example, the instantly claimed compound is disclosed (see col. 343, claim 17, example 2-2, col. 243, lines 33-41 for HCl salt) and its method of use as recited in the instant claims (see col. 9, lines 30-40). Specifically when examining the suggested limited number of salts disclosed at col. 243, hydrochloric acids are explicitly recited (see below and lines 5-10):
.
The reference does teach a working example at example 2-2 as Applicant has described as a “dihydrochloride” salt. However the language at col. 243 includes all (including the claimed monohydrochloride) HCl salts of the claimed compound and is not limited to the working example.
In terms of anticipation, the patent is viewed as a genus of preferred compounds (in this case HCl salts) and can anticipate a species if it can be “at once envisaged” from the disclosure by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2131.02):
III. A GENERIC DISCLOSURE WILL ANTICIPATE A CLAIMED SPECIES COVERED BY THAT DISCLOSURE WHEN THE SPECIES CAN BE "AT ONCE ENVISAGED" FROM THE DISCLOSURE
"[W]hether a generic disclosure necessarily anticipates everything within the genus … depends on the factual aspects of the specific disclosure and the particular products at issue." Sanofi-Synthelabo v. Apotex, Inc., 550 F.3d 1075, 1083, 89 USPQ2d 1370, 1375 (Fed. Cir. 2008). See also Osram Sylvania Inc. v. American Induction Tech. Inc., 701 F.3d 698, 706, 105 USPQ2d 1368, 1374 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the relative size of a genus or species in a particular technology is of critical importance").
A reference disclosure can anticipate a claim when the reference describes the limitations but "'d[oes] not expressly spell out' the limitations as arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would ‘at once envisage’ the claimed arrangement or combination." Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381, 114 USPQ2d 1250, 1254 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (quoting In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681(CCPA 1962)). In Kennametal, the challenged claim was to a cutting tool requiring a ruthenium binding agent with a physical vapor deposition (PVD) coating. The reference described all the elements of the claimed coated cutting tool but did not explicitly disclose the specific combination of ruthenium binding agent with a PVD coating. However, the reference disclosed that ruthenium was one of five specified binding agents and PVD was one of three suitable coating techniques. The Federal Circuit stated that the reference’s "express ‘contemplat[ion]’ of PVD coatings provided sufficient evidence that a reasonable mind could find that a person of skill in the art… would immediately envisage applying a PVD coating. Thus, substantial evidence supports the Board's conclusion that [the reference] effectively teaches 15 combinations, of which one anticipates pending claim 1. Though it is true that there is no evidence in [the reference] of ‘actual performance’ of combining the ruthenium binder and PVD coatings, this is not required." Kennametal, 780 F.3d at 1383, 114 USPQ2d at 1255 (citations omitted). See also Nidec Motor Corp. v. Zhongshan Broad Ocean Motor Co., 851 F.3d 1270, 1274, 122 USPQ2d 1116, 1120 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Kennametal does not stand for the proposition that a reference missing a limitation can anticipate a claim if a skilled artisan viewing the reference would "at once envisage" the missing limitation. Rather, Kennametal addresses whether the disclosure of a limited number of combination possibilities discloses one of the possible combinations.").[AltContent: rect].
Again, the document teaches a limited number of salts including HCl salts disclosed at col. 243 and one skilled in the art would have readily envisaged the claimed compound (monohydrochloride and even other HCl salts due to the limited genus to select from) and its use in treating acromegaly. Applicant’s arguments suggesting “unique and beneficial properties” is not enough to obviate the anticipatory type ODP since the fact pattern is not centered around obviousness. Thus the rejection is maintained.
Status of Rejections
35 USC § 102(a)(2)
The rejection of claims 67-80 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/8/2026, with respect to the rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 7/9/2026, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive for the reasons stated above in the maintained ODP rejection above referencing U.S. Patent No. 11,414,397.
New Objections and Rejections
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 68-70 and 75-77 be found allowable, claims 81-83 and 84-86 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). For example, claims 68-70 and 81-83 are limited to a method of treating acromegaly using the recited compound specifically (same is true for claims 75-77 and 84-86 which include compositions thereof). Thus the scope of these claims are identical and duplicative. Correction is required.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 81-86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,414,397. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed compounds are disclosed in U.S. Patent No. ‘397 (see col. 343, claim 17, example 2-2, col. 243, lines 33-41 for HCl salt) and its method of use as recited in the instant claims (see col. 9, lines 30-40).
Claims 81-86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,597,377. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct for the reasons set forth in U.S. Patent No. 11,414,397 (more particularly the suggestion of employing the HCl salt in the claimed method).
Claims 81-86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,875,839. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct for the reasons set forth in U.S. Patent No. 11,414,397 (more particularly the suggestion of employing the HCl salt in the claimed method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 81-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated over Zhao et al. [U.S Patent No. 10,597,377-mentioned in IDS].
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The instantly claimed invention is taught. At column 260, lines 54-56, see the units for oral administration. At column 263, lines 48-60, see the guidance for dosing administration. The reference teaches the typical range of 0.01mg -2000 mg per day for adult human treatment. At column 341, see claim 4. The claim is reproduced below:
and HCl salts recited at col. 237, lines 35-41.
(see claim 6 for neuroendocrine tumor treatment as well).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN E MCDOWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624