Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek (CN 116913637), and
in view of Keum (US 20230318369), Eydelie (US 6967554), Nguyen (US 20200083763), and Hosek2016 (US 20160197523).
As to claim 1, Hosek discloses a method of making a stator, comprising: providing a yoke,
wherein the yoke comprises a spray-formed yoke (“The exemplary stator core 140 of Figs. 8A and 8B may be generated, for example, by axially accumulating the material of the stator core, i.e., by
material deposition (spray forming) in a direction parallel to the axis of rotation of the motor”, “For
example, in order to create a direction-dependent and position-dependent microstructure as shown in
Figure 9A, the stator core 180 may be rotated, the material may be deposited radially at a fixed position,
and two sets of process parameters may be used. First, when forming the inner portion of the stator
core 180 corresponding to the tooth portion 183, the process parameters may be set to produce a
substantially isotropic microstructure. Then, when forming the outer portion of the stator core 180
corresponding to the yoke portion 181, the process parameters are set to produce the desired
anisotropic microstructure. In this case, the process parameters can be switched according to the radial
accumulation of the deposited material”); providing a tooth ring, wherein the tooth ring comprises a
spray-formed tooth ring (“For example, in order to create a direction-dependent and position-
dependent microstructure as shown in Figure 9A, the stator core 180 may be rotated, the material may
be deposited radially at a fixed position, and two sets of process parameters may be used. First, when
forming the inner portion of the stator core 180 corresponding to the tooth portion 183, the process
parameters may be set to produce a substantially isotropic microstructure. Then, when forming the
outer portion of the stator core 180 corresponding to the yoke portion 181, the process parameters are
set to produce the desired anisotropic microstructure. In this case, the process parameters can be
switched according to the radial accumulation of the deposited material”.
Hosek fails to disclose separating portions of the tooth ring to form a plurality of teeth;
arranging the separated teeth in a circular pattern, wherein each separated tooth is spaced from an
adjacent tooth; inserting a coil over each separated tooth and pressing the coils to maximize density of material of the coil, wherein the coil comprises two lead wires extending from a same face of each coil; locating the yoke onto the plurality of teeth; placing a housing onto the yoke; and connecting the coils to each other at the two lead wires extending from the same face of each coil.
Kuem, however, discloses separating portions of the tooth ring to form a plurality of teeth;
arranging the separated teeth in a circular pattern (Fig. 2), wherein each separated tooth is spaced from
an adjacent tooth (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with separating portions of the
tooth ring to form a plurality of teeth; arranging the separated teeth in a circular pattern, wherein each
separated tooth is spaced from an adjacent tooth, as disclosed by Kuem, in order to accommodate
spacing for the coils.
Eydelie, however, discloses inserting a coil over each separated tooth (Fig. 9), wherein the coil
comprises two lead wires extending from a same face of each coil (Fig. 8); and connecting the coils to
each other at the two lead wires extending from the same face of each coil (Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with a coil over each separated
tooth, wherein the coil comprises two lead wires extending from a same face of each coil; and
connecting the coils to each other at the two lead wires extending from the same face of each coil, as
disclosed by Eydelie, to establish a point of connection for the coils.
Nguyen discloses pressing the coils to maximize density of material of the coil (Para 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with pressing the coils to maximize density of material of the coil, as disclosed by Nguyen, to increase slot factor fill and improve efficiency.
Hosek2016 discloses placing a housing onto the yoke (Para 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with placing a housing onto the yoke, as disclosed by Hosek2016, in order to protect the motor by providing a casing.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek, Keum, Eydelie,
Nguyen, Hosek2016, and in view of Dirk (EP 4203253).
As to claim 2, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, and Hosek2016 discloses the method of claim 1.
Hosek fails to disclose wherein each tooth of the plurality of teeth is wrapped with an electrical
insulation tape.
Dirk, however, discloses wherein each tooth of the plurality of teeth is wrapped with an
electrical insulation tape (In embodiments, the non-ferromagnetic cooling fins are separated from
the tooth-coil-elements by an electrical insulator, e.g., a, insulating tape such as nomex.sup.® tape or
Kapton" tape (a polyimide film)”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with each tooth of the plurality of
teeth is wrapped with an electrical insulation tape, as disclosed by Dirk, to provide proper insulation of
the coils.
As to claim 3, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, Hosek2016, and Dirk, discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising coating each tooth wrapped with the electrical insulation tape
with epoxy (Dirk: “In embodiments, a resin, such as epoxy resin, may fill gaps between the non-
ferromagnetic cooling fins and the tooth-coil-elements and provide good thermal conductivity from the
tooth-coil-elements to the non-ferromagnetic cooling fins”).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, Hosek2016, and in view of Yao (DE 102020100528).
As to claim 4, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, and Hosek2016 discloses the method of claim 1.
Hosek fails to disclose wherein arranging the separated teeth in the circular pattern comprises
arranging the separated teeth on a locating fixture plate.
Yao, however, discloses wherein arranging the separated teeth in the circular pattern comprises
arranging the separated teeth on a locating fixture plate (136; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with arranging the separated teeth
in the circular pattern comprises arranging the separated teeth on a locating fixture plate, as disclosed
by Yao, in order to better secure the teeth into their position.
As to claim 5, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, Hosek2016, and Yao discloses the method of claim 4, wherein features on the locating fixture plate are accommodated between
adjacently positioned teeth to align the separated teeth (136; Fig. 3).
As to claim 6, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Nguyen, Eydelie, and Hosek2016 discloses the method of claim 1, and the housing.
Hosek fails to disclose wherein placing the housing onto the yoke comprises orienting the yoke
into the housing relative to locating features on the yoke.
Yao, however, discloses placing the housing onto the yoke comprises orienting the yoke into the
housing relative to locating features on the yoke (160 and 130; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with wherein placing the housing
onto the yoke comprises orienting the yoke into the housing relative to locating features on the yoke, as
disclosed by Yao, to better secure the components of the motor to the housing.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek, Keum, Eydelie,
Nguyen, Hosek2016, and in view of Ikeda (US 20180248432).
As to claim 7, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, and Hosek2016 discloses the method of claim 1, and the two lead wires extending from the same face of each coil.
Hosek fails to disclose wherein connecting the coils to each other at the two lead wires
extending from the same face of each coil comprises connecting the coils in a wye or delta configuration
and a series or parallel configuration.
Ikeda, however, discloses wherein connecting the coils to each other at the two lead wires
extending from the same face of each coil comprises connecting the coils in a delta configuration and a
parallel configuration (Para 0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with wherein connecting the coils to
each other at the two lead wires extending from the same face of each coil comprises connecting the
coils in a delta configuration and a parallel configuration, as disclosed by Ikeda, to properly secure a
connection for the coils.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek, Keum, Eydelie,
Nguyen, Hosek2016, Ikeda and in view of Onihashi (US 20240063666).
As to claim 8, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, Hosek2016, and Ikeda discloses the method of claim 7, wherein connecting the coils comprises routing interconnecting wires of the coils.
Hosek fails to disclose wherein connecting the coils comprises routing interconnecting wires of
the coils along a periphery of the yoke in a ring-shaped volume defined by an outer surface of the yoke,
surfaces of the coils, and the housing.
Onihasi, however, discloses wherein connecting the coils comprises routing interconnecting
wires of the coils along a periphery of the yoke in a ring-shaped volume defined by an outer surface of
the yoke, surfaces of the coils, and the housing (Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with wherein connecting the coils
comprises routing interconnecting wires of the coils along a periphery of the yoke in a ring-shaped
volume defined by an outer surface of the yoke, surfaces of the coils, and the housing, as disclosed by
Onihashi, to simplify routing the wire connection of the coils.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek, Keum, Eydelie,
Nguyen, Hosek2016, and in view of Arai (JP 20100252508).
As to claim 9, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, and Hosek2016 discloses the method of claim 1.
Hosek fails to disclose further comprising placing a temperature sensing device between
adjacently positioned coils.
Arai, however, discloses further comprising placing a temperature sensing device (28; Fig. 3)
between adjacently positioned coils.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with placing a temperature sensing
device between adjacently positioned coils, as disclosed by Arai, to monitor the temperature between
coils during operation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek, Keum, Eydelie,
Nguye, Hosek2016, Arai and in view of Wissmiller (US 2583524).
As to claim 10, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Hosek2016, Nguyen, and Arai discloses the method of claim 9.
Hosek fails to disclose wherein the temperature sensing device is a thermistor bulb.
Wissmiller, however, discloses wherein the temperature sensing device is a thermistor bulb (Col
3, lines 67-75).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with wherein the temperature
sensing device is a thermistor bulb, as disclosed by Wissmiller, for optimized temperature sensitive
readings.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek, Keum, Eydelie,
Nguyen, Hosek2016, and in view of Johnson (CN 110459376).
As to claim 11, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, and Hosek2016 discloses the method of claim 1, and the spray-formed yoke and the spray-formed tooth ring.
Hosek fails to disclose spray-formed in near-net shape manners.
Johnson, however, discloses spray-formed in near-net shape manners (“Such process can also
be referred to as "rapid manufacturing process". additive manufacturing process by sequentially and
repeatedly depositing and bonding material layer to create a net or near net shape forming structure”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with spray-formed in near-net shape
manners, as disclosed by Johnson, to reduce the amount of traditional mechanical fine processing
techniques.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek, Keum, Eydelie,
Nguyen, Hosek2016, and in view of Yao476 (US 20230275476).
As to claim 12, the combination of Hosek, Keum, Eydelie, Nguyen, and Hosek2016 discloses the method of claim 1.
Hosek fails to disclose using a magnet to create an attractive force on the yoke to force the yoke
to make contact with the teeth.
Yao476, however, discloses using a magnet (112; Fig. 1) to create an attractive force on the yoke
to force the yoke to make contact with the teeth (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Hosek with using a magnet to create an
attractive force on the yoke to force the yoke to make contact with the teeth, as disclosed by Yao476, to
simplify construction of the stator and reduce size of the stator.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834