Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: “c141” in Figure 21D. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0101, line 4, “movement stage 2” should read “movement stage 2a”
Paragraph 0113, line 2, “monitor 4enables” should read “monitor 4 enables”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnkrant (U.S. Patent No. 9,107,573) in view of Kishi (WIPO Pub. No. 2013/018927), Barenboym et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2023/0380843), and Shelton, IV et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0275053).
Regarding claim 1, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) comprising: a base unit (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 51) including a drive source (Fig. 3B, Col. 10, line 14) therein; and a bendable unit (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 51) that is to be detachably attached (Fig. 1-2, Col. 8, lines 10-12) to the base unit and includes a bending portion (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, lines 54-55) and a bending drive unit (Fig. 3A, Col. 9, lines 5-6) configured to receive drive force from the drive source and bend the bending portion (Col. 9, lines 5-7), the bending drive unit including a linear member (Fig. 3A, Col. 9, lines 10-11) connected to the bending portion (Col. 9, lines 17-20), wherein the bendable unit includes a connection unit (Fig. 4A-4B, Col. 11, lines 3-4) including a first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5) and a second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4).
Birnkrant does teach that the bendable unit includes a connection unit including a first member connected to a drive source, and a second member connected to the linear member. Birnkrant does not teach a medical apparatus, wherein, in a case where pulling force at a first threshold value or less or compression force at a second threshold value or less acts between the first and second members, the connection unit maintains a state in which the first and second members are connected, and drive force from the drive source is transmitted to the linear member. Birnkrant also does not teach a medical apparatus, wherein, in a case where pulling force exceeding the first threshold value or compression force exceeding the second threshold value acts between the first and second members, the connection unit separates the first and second members from each other, and cuts off transmission of the drive force from the drive source to the linear member.
Kishi, however, teaches an operation support device that includes a connection unit (Fig. 16A-16D, paragraph 0131, line 3) with a first member (Fig. 16A, paragraph 0098, line 5) connected to the drive source (Paragraph 0098, lines 4-5), and a second member (Fig. 16A, paragraph 0098, line 3) connected to the linear member (Paragraph 0104, lines 7-8).
Barenboym, however, teaches a hemostatic clip assembly that allows pulling force at a first threshold value or less or compression force at a second threshold value or less to be transmitted to a linear member (Paragraph 0080, lines 11-13). Barenboym also teaches a hemostatic clip assembly that only allows linear transmission forces to be transmitted up to a predetermined level (Paragraph 0080, lines 11-13).
Shelton, however, teaches a powered surgical instrument that transmits drive force from the drive source to the linear member (Fig. 9, paragraph 0185, lines 12-14) when a connection unit maintains a state in which the first and second members are connected (Fig. 9, paragraph 0185, lines 9-11). Furthermore, Shelton teaches a powered surgical instrument that cuts of transmission of the drive force from the drive source to the linear member (Paragraph 0185, lines 25-27) when the connection unit separates the first and second members from each other (Paragraph 0185, lines 22-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to combine the teachings of Kishi, Barenboym, and Shelton to include a connection unit with a first member connected to a drive source, and a second member connected to the linear member, and where said connection unit uses threshold values of either tension or compression forces to transmit drive forces from the drive unit. Doing so would ensure that the drive forces from the drive unit can be properly transmitted through a secure connection, and that there is a limit to the amount of tension and compression forces the connection unit can withstand to transmit drive forces, as recognized by Kishi, Barenboym, and Shelton.
Regarding claim 2, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) according to claim 1, which includes connection unit (Fig. 4A-4B, Col. 11, lines 3-4) between the first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5) and the second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4). Birnkrant does not teach that the connection unit includes a stopper disposed on at least one of the first member and the second member, and wherein, in a state in which transmission of the drive force from the drive source to the linear member is cut off in the connection unit, the stopper restricts separation of the first member and the second member by engaging with the other one of the first member and the second member when the bendable unit is detached.
Shelton, however, teaches a powered surgical instrument that includes a connection unit (Fig. 9, paragraph 0185, lines 4-9) that includes a stopper (Fig. 8-12, paragraph 0186, line 6) disposed on at least one of the first member (Fig. 9, paragraph 0185, line 4) and second member (Fig. 9, paragraph 0185, line 1). Shelton also teaches that, in a state in which transmission of the drive force from the drive source to the linear member is cut off in the connection unit (Paragraph 0185, lines 25-27), the stopper restricts separation of the first and second members (Paragraph 0186, lines 6-9) by engaging with the other one of the first and second members (Paragraph 0186, lines 9-10) when the bendable unit is detached (Paragraph 0185, lines 22-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to incorporate the teachings of Shelton to include a connection unit that includes a stopper disposed on at least one of the first member and the second member, and wherein, in a state in which transmission of the drive force from the drive source to the linear member is cut off, the stopper restricts separation of the first member and the second member. Doing so would ensure that the first and second members don’t become completely separated, even when drive force transmission is cut off, as recognized by Shelton.
Regarding claim 3, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) according to claim 1, wherein the first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5) and the second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4) are connected. Birnkrant does not disclose a medical apparatus, wherein the first member and second member are connected by a protruding portion that is disposed on one of the first member and second member and protrudes in a direction intersecting with a length direction of the linear member, being fitted in a recess portion disposed on the other one of the first member and the second member.
Kishi, however, teaches an operation support device wherein the first member (Fig. 16A, paragraph 0098, line 5) and second member (Fig. 16A, paragraph 0098, line 3) are connected (Fig. 16A-16D, paragraph 0131, line 3) by a protruding portion (Fig. 16C, paragraph 0132, line 1) that is disposed on (Fig. 16C) one of the first member and second member and protrudes in a direction intersecting with a length of the linear member (Fig. 16A-16D), being fitted in a recess portion (Fig. 16C, paragraph 0132, line 2) disposed on (Fig. 16C) the other one of the first member and the second member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to incorporate the teachings of Kishi to include a protruding portion and recess portion on either one of the first and second members. Doing so would ensure that there is a proper connection unit between the first and second members.
Furthermore, based on the above rejection of claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include that when drive forces are transmitted from the drive source when pulling force or compression force are at respective threshold values or less, a state in which the protruding portion is fitted in the recess portion is maintained, as this is a connection unit as specified in the rejection of claim 1. It would have also been obvious to include that when pulling force or compression forces exceed respective threshold values, the protruding portion comes off from the recess portion and the drive force is no longer transmitted from the drive source, as this is a connection unit as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) according to claim 3, wherein the connection unit (Fig. 4A-4B, Col. 11, lines 3-4) is between the first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5) and the second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4). Birnkrant does not teach that the connection unit includes an elastic element which is elastically deformable, that a state in which the protruding portion is fitted in the recess portion is maintained with elastic force of the elastic element, or that a state in which the protruding portion is allowed to come off the recess portion with elastic deformation of the elastic element.
Kishi, however, teaches an operation support device with a connection unit (Fig. 16A-16D, paragraph 0131, line 3) that includes an elastic element which is elastically deformable (Paragraph 0109, lines 10-11). Kishi further teaches that the connection between the protruding portion (Fig. 16C, paragraph 0132, line 1) and recess portion (Fig. 16C, paragraph 0132, line 2) is maintained with elastic force (Paragraph 0151, lines 18-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to incorporate the teachings of Kishi to include that the connection unit includes an elastic element which is elastically deformable, and that the connection between the protruding portion and recess portion is maintained with elastic force. Doing so would ensure that the protruding portion and the recess portion can easily maintain a connection or disconnect based on pulling and compression forces and threshold values, as recognized by Kishi.
Furthermore, based on the above rejections of claims 1 and 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include that when drive forces are transmitted from the drive source when pulling force or compression force are at respective threshold values or less, a state in which the protruding portion is fitted in the recess portion is maintained with elastic force of the elastic element, as this is a connection unit as specified in the rejection of claim 1. It would have also been obvious to include that when pulling force or compression forces exceed respective threshold values, the protruding portion comes off from the recess portion with elastic deformation of the elastic element, and the drive force is no longer transmitted from the drive source, as this is a connection unit as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) according to claim 3, that includes the first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5) and the second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4). Birnkrant does not teach that the first member has a space into which the second member is insertable from one side in the length direction of the linear member. Birnkrant also does not teach in a state in which the second member is inserted in the space of the first member, the protruding portion is fitted in the recess portion.
Kishi, however, teaches an operation support device that includes a first member (Fig. 16A, paragraph 0098, line 5) with a space (Paragraph 0128, line 4) into which a second member (Fig. 16A, paragraph 0098, line 3) is insertable from one side (Paragraph 0128, line 3) in the length direction of the linear member (Fig. 16A-16D). Kishi also teaches that in a state in which the second member is inserted in the space of the first member, the protruding portion (Fig. 16C, paragraph 0132, line 1) is fitted in the recess portion (Fig. 16C, paragraph 0132, line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to incorporate the teachings of Kishi to include that the first member has a space into which the second member is insertable, and when inserted, the protruding portion is fitted in the recess portion. Doing so would ensure that the first and second members fit securely with one another, and further provide a tight and secure fit between the protruding portion and recess portion, as recognized by Kishi.
Regarding claim 6, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) according to claim 5, wherein the first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5) includes a tubular portion (Fig. 4A-4B, Col. 11, lines 46-49) that has a length in the length direction (Fig. 4A-4B) of the linear member (Fig. 3A, Col. 9, lines 10-11) and forms the space, wherein the second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4) includes an insertion portion (Fig. 4A-4B, Col. 11, lines 46-49) to be inserted into the space (Fig. 4A-4B) in the tubular portion.
Birnkrant does not teach that the protruding portion is disposed on one of an inner surface of the tubular portion and an outer surface of the insertion portion, or that the recess portion is disposed in the other one of the inner surface of the tubular portion and the outer surface of the insertion portion. Kishi, however, teaches an operation support device wherein a protruding portion (Fig. 16C, paragraph 0132, line 1) is disposed on the outer surface of the insertion portion (Fig. 16A-16D), and wherein a recess portion (Fig. 16C, paragraph 0132, line 2) is disposed in the other one of the inner surface of the tubular portion (Fig. 16A-16D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to incorporate the teachings of Kishi to include that a protruding portion can be disposed on one of an inner surface of the tubular portion and an outer surface of the insertion portion, and that the recess portion is disposed in the other one of the inner surface of the tubular portion and the outer surface of the insertion portion. Doing so would ensure a tight and secure fit between the protruding portion and recess portion, as recognized by Kishi.
Claim 7 lists essentially the same elements as claim 3, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 8 lists essentially the same elements as claim 4, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 9 lists essentially the same elements as claim 5, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 5 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 10 lists essentially the same elements as claim 6, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of drive sources (Fig. 3B, Col. 10, line 14); and a plurality of linear members (Fig. 3A, Col. 9, lines 10-11) configured to bend the bending portion (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, lines 54-55) by being respectively driven by (Col. 9, lines 5-7) the plurality of drive sources, wherein the connection unit (Fig. 4A-4B, Col. 11, lines 3-4) is disposed for each set of a drive source and a linear member (Fig. 3A, Col. 9, lines 10-11) that includes one drive source (Fig. 3A-3B) of the plurality of drive sources, and one linear member (Fig. 3A-3B) of the plurality of linear members that is to be driven by the corresponding drive source. Birnkrant does not specifically teach a plurality of drive sources. Kishi, however, teaches an operation support device that includes one or more drive sources (Paragraph 0090, lines 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to incorporate the teachings of Kishi to include a plurality of drive sources that correlate to a plurality of linear members. Doing so would ensure each linear member is individually and properly controlled, so as to best manipulate the bending portion of the bending unit of said medical apparatus, as recognized by Kishi.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnkrant (U.S. Patent No. 9,107,573) in view of Kishi (WIPO Pub. No. 2013/018927), Barenboym et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2023/0380843), and Shelton, IV et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0275053) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haubert (U.S. PGPub No. 2022/0040450).
Regarding claim 11, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line
49) according to claim 1, which includes the second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4), the first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5), and the linear member (Fig. 3A, Col. 9, lines 10-11).
Birnkrant does not teach a medical apparatus, wherein a magnet, a first magnetic member, and a second magnetic member are disposed on the second member, an engagement member engaging with the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member is disposed on the first member, the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member are arranged in such a manner as to hold the magnet therebetween in a length direction of the linear member, and the first member and the second member are connected to each other with the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member engaging with the engagement member by the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member being in close contact with the magnet, wherein, in a case where pulling force at a first threshold value or less acts between the first member and the second member, a state in which the first magnetic member in close contact with the magnet is engaged with the engagement member is maintained, and the drive force is transmitted from the drive source to the linear member, wherein, in a case where pulling force exceeding the first threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the first magnetic member moves away from the magnet, and transmission of the drive force from the drive source to the linear member is cut off, wherein, in a case where compression force at a second threshold value or less acts between the first member and the second member, a state in which the second magnetic member in close contact with the magnet is engaged with the engagement member is maintained, and the drive force is transmitted from the drive source to the linear member, and wherein, in a case where compression force exceeding the second threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the second magnetic member moves away from the magnet, and transmission of the drive force from the drive source to the linear member is cut off.
Haubert, however, teaches a robot-assisted steerable medical device with a magnetic connector (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, lines 1-2) that includes a magnet (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, line 7), a first magnetic member (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, lines 2-3), and a second magnetic member (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, line 4) that are disposed on the second member (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, line 2), an engagement member (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, lines 6-7) engaging with the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member (Fig. 4, 6-9) is disposed on the first member (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, lines 3-4), the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member are arranged in such a manner as to hold the magnet therebetween (Fig. 4, 6, 7A, and 8A, paragraph 0074, lines 1-6) in a length direction of the linear member (Fig. 6-9, paragraph 0075, lines 13-15), and the first member and the second member are connected to each other with the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member engaging with the engagement member by the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member being in close contact with the magnet (Fig. 4).
Haubert also teaches that when excessive tensile (pulling) force (Fig. 7B, paragraph 0080, line 2) exists between the first and second members (Paragraph 0080, lines 2-4), the first magnet member moves away from the magnet (Fig. 7B, paragraph 0080, lines 4-8). Haubert teaches that when excessive compression force (Fig. 7A, paragraph 0079, line 4) exists between the first and second members (Fig. 7A, paragraph 0079, lines 3-6), the second magnetic member moves away from the magnet (Fig. 7B, paragraph 0079, lines 9-12).
Furthermore, based on the above rejection of claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include that when drive forces are transmitted from the drive source when pulling force or compression force are at respective threshold values or less, a state in which either the first magnetic member or the second magnetic member is in close contact with the magnet is maintained, as this is a connection unit as specified in the rejection of claim 1. It would have also been obvious to include that when pulling force or compression forces exceed respective threshold values, either the first magnetic member of the second magnetic member moves away from the magnet, and the drive force is no longer transmitted from the drive source, as this is a connection unit as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) according to claim 11, which includes the second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4), the first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5), and the linear member (Fig. 3A, Col. 9, lines 10-11).
Birnkrant does not teach an engagement member that has a space into which a magnet is insertable, and the engagement member includes a protruding portion partially protruding inward at a position corresponding to the space, and wherein, in a state in which the first member and the second member are connected, the first magnetic member is in close contact with the magnet and is in close contact with an end surface of the protruding portion on a proximal end side in a length direction of the linear member, and the second magnetic member is in close contact with the magnet and is in close contact with an end surface of the protruding portion on a distal end side in the length direction of the linear member.
Haubert, however, teaches a robot-assisted steerable medical device that includes an engagement member (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, lines 6-7) that has a space (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, line 14) into which a magnet (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, line 7) is insertable (Fig. 6-9). Haubert teaches that the engagement member includes a protruding portion partially protruding inward (Fig. 6-9) at a position corresponding to the space (Fig. 6-9, paragraph 0075, 14-15).
Furthermore, Haubert teaches that in a state when the first and second members are connected (Fig. 4, 6, 7A, and 8A, paragraph 0074, lines 1-6), the first magnetic member is in close contact with the magnet (Fig. 4) and an end surface of the protruding portion on a proximal end side (Fig. 4, paragraph 0062, lines 7-8) in a length direction of the linear member (Fig. 6-9, paragraph 0075, lines 13-15). Haubert also teaches in a state when the first and second members are connected, the second magnetic member is in close contact with the magnet (Fig. 4) and an end surface of the protruding portion on a distal end side (Fig. 4, paragraph 0062, lines 10-11) in a length direction of the linear member (Fig. 6-9, paragraph 0075, lines 13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to incorporate the teachings of Haubert to include an engagement member that has a space for a magnet to be inserted, a protruding portion at a position corresponding to the space, and that in a state when the first and second members are connected, the first magnetic member is in close contact with the magnet and an end surface of the protruding portion on a proximal end side, and the second magnetic member is in close contact with the magnet and is in close contact with an end surface of the protruding portion on a distal end side. Doing so would ensure that the magnet, first magnetic member, and second magnetic member are all well secured within the engagement space, as recognized by Haubert.
Regarding claim 13, Birnkrant teaches a medical apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Col. 7, line 49) according to claim 11, which includes the second member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 4), the first member (Fig. 4A, Col. 11, line 5), and the linear member (Fig. 3A, Col. 9, lines 10-11).
Birnkrant does not teach that the second member includes a shaft portion that pivotally supports the magnet, the first magnetic member, and the second magnetic member, the shaft portion is fixed to the linear member, the magnet is fixed to the shaft portion, and the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member are slidable with respect to the shaft portion.
Haubert, however, teaches a robot-assisted steerable medical device that has a second member that includes a shaft portion (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, line 2) that pivotally supports (Fig. 4, 6-9) the magnet (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, line 7), the first magnetic member (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, lines 2-3), and the second magnetic (Fig. 6, paragraph 0075, line 4). Haubert also teaches that the shaft portion is fixed to the linear member (Fig. 4, 6-9, paragraph 0062, lines 12-15), the magnet is fixed to the shaft portion (Paragraph 0095, lines 24-27), and the first and second magnetic members are slidable with respect to the shaft portion (Fig. 6-9, paragraph 0075, lines 13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birnkrant to incorporate the teachings of Haubert to include that the second member includes a shaft portion that pivotally supports the magnet, the first magnetic member, and the second magnetic member, where the shaft portion is fixed to the linear member, the magnet is fixed to the shaft portion, and the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member are slidable with respect to the shaft portion. Doing so would ensure that the first and second magnetic members can slide as necessary to accommodate excess tension or compression forces within the connection unit, as recognized by Haubert.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. PGPub No. 2022/0168038, U.S. PGPub No. 2006/0052664, U.S. PGPub No. 2020/0405403, U.S. PGPub No. 2024/0189047, and U.S. PGPub No. 2023/0404593.
/H.A.H./Patent Examiner , Art Unit 3796
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796