DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “adjustable flange further comprises a protrusion configured for fitting around part of said patient’s nose” (claim 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification fails to include any discussion of the adjustable flange comprising a protrusion configured for fitting around part of said patient’s nose.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 8-10, 17-21 and 26-27 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, Ln. 2 recites “said first distal opening” which should read “said first opening” following after claim 1
Claim 9, Ln. 2 recites “said first distal opening” which should read “said first opening” following after claim 1
Claim 10, Ln. 2-3 recites “the first circular cross-section of said tubular body” which should read “a first circular cross-section of said flexible tubular body”
Claim 17, Ln. 2 recites “the interface with said tubular body” which should read “an interface with said flexible tubular body”
Claim 18, Ln. 2-3 recites “said tubular body” which should read “said flexible tubular body”
Claim 19, Ln. 2 recites “a patient’s nose” which should read “said patient’s nose” following after claim 1
Claim 20 needs a comma at the end of its preamble
Claim 20, Ln. 2 recites “said tubular body” which should read “said flexible tubular body”
Claim 20, Ln. 2 recites “said first distal opening” which should read “said first opening” following after claim 1
Claim 21, Ln. 1 recites “said at least one securing strap” which should read “said at least one securement strap” for consistency with claim 14
Claim 26 needs a comma at the end of its preamble
Claim 27, Ln. 3 recites “a patient with said securement strap” which should read “the patient with said at least one securement strap” following after claim 1 and for consistency with claim 14
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 13, 20 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “means for controlling slidable friction along said proximal segment of said flexible tubular body” in Ln. 2 which deems the claim indefinite. The flange 50 in the disclosure of the invention is only specifically shown and discussed as sliding along the distal portion of the flexible tubular body (e.g. in Figs. 1 & 7 #50 is below #14). Additionally, claim 12 has recited the adjustable flange as “configured to slidably translate along said distal segment”. It is thus unclear why the instant claim refers to the proximal segment instead of the distal segment. It appears that confusion may be a typographical error. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “means for controlling slidable friction along said distal segment of said flexible tubular body”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the first segment” in Ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the distal segment” based at least upon the discussion of indicators in ¶0048 of the PGPub copy of the instant application.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “the proximal segment” in Ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The proper antecedent basis is found in claim 6. The instant claim should either be made ultimately dependent on claim 6 or be amended to include the limitations of claim 6.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
The corresponding structure for the “means for controlling slidable friction along said proximal segment of said flexible tubular body” is best understood from the specification as at least: twist-lock features, friction lock features, embossments, squeeze-temporary shape change features, and tapered interface areas (¶0021 of the PGPub copy of the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0099273) in view of Guyuron et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0080037).
Regarding claim 1, Wright discloses a nasopharyngeal airway device (Figs. 1-3C; ¶0016) comprising: a tubular body (Figs. 1-2 #12; ¶0016) extending between a first distal end (Figs. 1-2 bottom of #12) and a second proximal end (Figs. 1-2 top of #12), said first distal end configured for placement in a patient’s pharynx via insertion through a nostril (Figs. 3A-3C) and said second proximal end configured to extend outside said patient’s nose (Figs. 3A-3C); a first opening (Fig. 1 #16; ¶0016) at the first distal end of said tubular body, said first opening being offset from a longitudinal center of said tubular body at said first distal end (Fig. 1; ¶0016 – bevel shaped); a second opening (Fig. 3A top of #12) at the second proximal end of said tubular body, said second opening being orthogonal to the longitudinal center of said tubular body at said second proximal end (Figs. 1-3C).
Wright is silent as to whether the tubular body is flexible.
Guyuron teaches a nasopharyngeal airway device (Fig. 2 #10; ¶0031) including a body (Fig. 2 #18) formed of a flexible material (¶0031). Guyuron teaches a flexible body material as providing the benefit of facilitating the insertion of the nasopharyngeal airway into a patient’s nose and through the nasal passage by allowing the nasopharyngeal airway to bend and flex as may be necessary to navigate through the internal anatomy of the patient's nasal passage (¶0031).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Wright the tubular body is flexible in order to provide the benefit of facilitating the insertion of the nasopharyngeal airway into a patient’s nose and through the nasal passage by allowing the nasopharyngeal airway to bend and flex as may be necessary to navigate through the internal anatomy of the patient's nasal passage in view of Guyuron.
Regarding claim 2, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious said flexible tubular body is formed with a shape-memory curvature between the first distal end and second proximal end (Wright – Fig. 2, Guyuron – Fig. 2; intends curved shape), and the first opening at the first distal end of said flexible tubular body is offset toward an interior of said curvature (Wright – Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious said flexible tubular body has an annular cross-section at the first distal end circumscribing a circular interior, and the first opening is an oblong having an area greater than the circular interior (Wright – Figs. 2-3B). The illustrated opening 16 in Wright is obviously suggestive of being larger than the annular cross-section of distal end 18.
Regarding claim 4, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches said flexible tubular body has a rounded distal wall section adjoining the first opening (Wright – Fig. 1 – rounded adjacent #16).
Regarding claim 5, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches said flexible tubular body has an annular cross-section at the second proximal end circumscribing a circular interior, and the second opening is circular with an area
Regarding claim 6, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches said flexible tubular body is stepped along its length between the first distal end and the second proximal end resulting in a distal segment having a smaller diameter than a proximal segment (Figs. 1-2). The trumpet 12 has a widest diameter which steps down to a main, smaller diameter as the tube moves distally.
Regarding claim 7, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and together with Guyuron further teaches a plurality of radially-oriented openings (Guyuron – Fig. 2 #30, 30; ¶0036) along the distal segment of said flexible tubular body. While Wright only teaches a single opening 20 (Fig. 1; ¶0016) Guyuron teaches as obvious adding a further side opening (Fig. 2 #30, 30; ¶0036). Note also holes 50 in Figs. 10-11 of Guyuron (¶¶0052-0054).
Regarding claim 8, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and together with Guyuron further teaches said plurality of radially-oriented openings are spaced longitudinally from said first opening (Wright – location of #20 in Fig. 1; Guyuron – location of #30 in Fig. 2). Note also holes 50 in Figs. 10-11 of Guyuron (¶¶0052-0054).
Regarding claim 9, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and together with Guyuron further teaches said plurality of radially-oriented openings are spaced circumferentially about said first opening (Wright – location of #20 in Fig. 1; Guyuron – location of #30 in Fig. 2). Note also holes 50 in Figs. 10-11 of Guyuron (¶¶0052-0054).
Regarding claim 10, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious said plurality of radially-oriented openings each have a diameter less than or equal to a diameter of a first circular cross-section of said flexible tubular body (Figs. 1-2 #20 only has a limited opening size relative to the tube diameter). Note also holes 50 in Figs. 10-11 of Guyuron (¶¶0052-0054).
Regarding claim 11, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches said second proximal end of the flexible tubular body is configured for attachment to an existing adjunct airway device (Figs. 1-2 & 3C).
Claim(s) 12-13, 16, 18-20, 22 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0099273) in view of Guyuron et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0080037) and further in view of Barodka (U.S. Pub. 2010/0300450).
Regarding claim 12, Wright teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach an adjustable flange configured to slidably translate along said distal segment of said flexible tubular body.
Barodka teaches a nasopharyngeal airway device (Figs. 1-3 #10; ¶0019) including an adjustable flange (Fig. 1 #26; ¶0020) configured to slidably translate along a portion of the device. The adjustable flange 26 of Barodka is located distally of connector portion 22 which creates a stepped diameter along device 10 from a maximum diameter at connector portion 22 to a smaller diameter along a main portion of airway tube 12 (e.g. Figs. 1-2). Barodka teaches an adjustable flange as providing the benefit of being moveably disposed along the tube to help stabilize and hold the device in place at the patient's nostril (¶0020).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted in the modified Wright, in place of the trumpet design, an adjustable flange configured to slidably translate along said distal segment of said flexible tubular body in order to provide the benefit of supply a moveable flange disposed along the tubular body to help stabilize and hold the device in place at the patient's nostril in view of Barodka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized the benefit of the adjustability of the adjustable flange of Barodka over the static trumpet design of Wright.
Regarding claim 13, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Barodka further suggests as obvious said adjustable flange includes means for controlling slidable friction along said proximal segment of said flexible tubular body (Figs. 1-2; ¶0020). The disclosed “means for controlling slidable friction” as noted above covers a wide range of possibilities. The adjustable annular flange 26 of Barodka will obviously have some mechanism to control its sliding, with even a friction fit being readable as at least a functional equivalent of the broadly disclosed “means” of the claim.
Regarding claim 16, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Barodka further suggests as obvious said distal segment of said flexible tubular body comprises at least one adjustment indicator (¶0023 – indicator markings) configured to index a position of said adjustable flange.
Regarding claim 18, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Barodka further teaches said adjustable flange further comprises at least one gripping extension (Figs. 1-2 surface of #26 readable as a gripping extension) that is laterally or axially oriented with respect to said flexible tubular body.
Regarding claim 19, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Barodka further teaches said adjustable flange further comprises a protrusion configured for fitting around part of said patient’s nose (Barodka – Fig. 3 shows #26 protruding around an entrance to the patient’s nose).
Regarding claim 20, Wright teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach at least one indicator along the distal segment of said flexible tubular body to index orientation of said first opening.
Barodka teaches nasopharyngeal airway device (Figs. 1-3 #10; ¶0019) including indicator markings to index depth of insertion (¶0023). Barodka teaches indicator markings as providing the benefit of ensuring correct placement of the device within a patient’s airway (¶0023).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in the modified Wright at least one indicator along the distal segment of said flexible tubular body to index orientation of said first opening in order to provide the benefit of ensuring correct placement of the device within a patient’s airway in view of Barodka.
Regarding claim 22, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Barodka further teaches said adjustable flange comprises at least one lateral extension (Figs. 1-2 surface of #26 readable as a lateral extension).
Regarding claim 26, Wright teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach an external flange extending radially from said flexible tubular body.
Barodka teaches nasopharyngeal airway device (Figs. 1-3 #10; ¶0019) including an external flange (Fig. 1 #26; ¶0020) extending radially from the device. Barodka teaches an external flange as providing the benefit of being moveably disposed along the tube to help stabilize and hold the device in place at the patient's nostril (¶0020).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted in Wright, in place of the trumpet design, an external flange extending radially from said flexible tubular body in order to provide the benefit of supply a moveable flange disposed along the tubular body to help stabilize and hold the device in place at the patient's nostril in view of Barodka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized the benefit of the adjustability of the adjustable flange of Barodka over the static trumpet design of Wright.
Claim(s) 14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0099273) in view of Guyuron et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0080037) and further in view of Barodka (U.S. Pub. 2010/0300450) and further in view of Thompson et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0338521).
Regarding claim 14, Wright teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach said adjustable flange includes at least one securement strap.
Thompson teaches a nasal tube device (e.g. Fig. 5A) including a flange (Fig. 5A #104; ¶0064) includes at least one securement strap (Fig. 5A #510; ¶0064). Thompson teaches a securing strap as providing the benefit of holding the nasal tube device in place and secured to the patient (¶0064).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in the modified Wright said adjustable flange includes at least one securement strap in order to provide the benefit of holding the nasal tube device in place and secured to the patient in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 21, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Thompson further teaches said at least one securement strap is an elastic loop (Fig. 5A; ¶¶0055-0056).
Claim(s) 14-15, 17, 21 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0099273) in view of Guyuron et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0080037) and further in view of Barodka (U.S. Pub. 2010/0300450) and further in view of Byatt (U.S. Pub. 2008/0149107).
Regarding claim 14, Wright teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach said adjustable flange includes at least one securement strap.
Byatt teaches a tracheotomy tube device (Figs. 1-4; ¶0015) including an adjustable flange (#20; ¶0016) including at least one securement strap (Fig. 3 connectable to #57; ¶0016). Thompson teaches a securing strap as providing the benefit of holding the tube in place on the patient during use (¶0016). Byatt is read as analogous art as it addresses the same problem of securing an airway tube to a patient.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in the modified Wright said adjustable flange includes at least one securement strap in order to provide the benefit of holding the tube in place on the patient during use in view of Byatt.
Regarding claim 15, Wright teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach said adjustable flange includes at least one depressed region configured to promote a sturdy grip.
Byatt teaches a tracheotomy tube device (Figs. 1-4; ¶0015) including an adjustable flange (#20; ¶0016) including a depressed region (Figs. 2 & 4 ends of #24, 25 near #1; ¶0017) configured to promote a sturdy grip. Thompson teaches a depressed region as providing the benefit of allowing alternation between an unlocked condition and a locked condition for the flange (¶0017). Byatt is read as analogous art as it addresses the same problem of securing an airway tube to a patient.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in the modified Wright said adjustable flange includes at least one depressed region configured to promote a sturdy grip in order to provide the benefit of allowing alternation between an unlocked condition and a locked condition for the flange in view of Byatt.
Regarding claim 17, Wright teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach said adjustable flange further comprises protrusions at an interface with said flexible tubular body.
Byatt teaches a tracheotomy tube device (Figs. 1-4; ¶0015) including an adjustable flange (#20; ¶0016) including protrusions (Figs. 2 & 4 ends of #24, 25 near #1; ¶0017) at an interface with said flexible tubular body. Thompson teaches protrusions as providing the benefit of allowing alternation between an unlocked condition and a locked condition for the flange (¶0017). Byatt is read as analogous art as it addresses the same problem of securing an airway tube to a patient.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in the modified Wright said adjustable flange further comprises protrusions at an interface with said flexible tubular body in order to provide the benefit of allowing alternation between an unlocked condition and a locked condition for the flange in view of Byatt.
Regarding claim 21, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Byatt further suggests as obvious said at least one securement strap is an elastic loop. One of ordinary skill in the art of airway tubes would obviously have expected a securing strap to be elastic in order to conform to the differently sized anatomy of different patients.
Regarding claim 27, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Byatt further teaches at least one notch in said adjustable flange configured to allow the adjustable flange to pinch said flexible tubular body when secured to a patient with said securement strap (Fig. 4 pinching of #24, 25 against #1; ¶0017).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0099273) in view of Guyuron et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0080037) and further in view of Gingles et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0103332).
Regarding claim 23, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches a rounded distal wall section adjoining the first opening (Wright – Fig. 1 – rounded adjacent #16)
Wright is silent as to said rounded distal wall section having a reduced wall thickness relative to adjoining wall sections to promote atraumatic insertion.
Gingles teaches an airway catheter (Fig. 6; ¶0034) including a gradually decreasing thickness from proximal portion 72 to distal portion 76 (¶0034). Gingles teaches a least thickness provided at the distal end as having the same benefit as using a lowest durometer material at the distal end (¶0034) and teaches the benefit of using a lowest durometer material at the distal end as being to reduce trauma to the airway during insertion (¶0024).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in the modified Wright said rounded distal wall section having a reduced wall thickness relative to adjoining wall sections to promote atraumatic insertion in order to provide the benefit of using a least thickness at the distal end to reduce trauma to the airway during insertion in view of Gingles.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0099273) in view of Guyuron et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0080037) and further in view of Sasaki (U.S. Pub. 2021/0169678).
Regarding claim 24, Wright teaches the invention as modified above but is silent as to whether said flexible tubular body is transparent or translucent.
Sasaki teaches a nasopharyngeal airway device (Fig. 1 #1; ¶0022) and teaches the device as formed of transparent synthetic resin (¶0022, claim 10). Sasaki teaches transparent material as an obvious design choice when seeking to specify a soft synthetic material for use in a patient’s airway(¶0022, claim 10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in the modified Wright said flexible tubular body is transparent based upon an obvious design choice when selecting a particular material in Wright to use a soft synthetic material which is transparent in view of Sasaki.
Regarding claim 25, Wright teaches the invention as modified above and Sasaki further suggests as obvious the proximal segment of said flexible tubular body is transparent or translucent (claim 10 – entire tube transparent).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references. Regarding claim 1 further attention is particularly drawn to: Barodka (U.S. Pub. 2010/0300450; Fig. 3), Guyuron et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0080037; Fig. 2) and Plott et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0378598; Figs. 1A-1B).
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785