Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 11-20 in the reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden because different fields of search are not required. This is not found persuasive because in the Restriction Requirement dated 3/30/2026, Examiner pointed out the different classification classes that are required to be searched and impose a serious search burden. Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barthel et al. (US 2022/0003347 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Barthel et al. discloses an attachment assembly comprising: a first component (surface 9) having a scannable feature (code 7); and a second component having a shield portion (portion 8) and a window (recess 10): wherein: the first component is movable relative to the second component in a first direction from an initial configuration to an attached configuration; in the initial configuration the scannable feature is received within the second component and the shield portion covers the scannable feature (shown partially covered in Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A & 5B); and in the attached configuration, the scannable feature is revealed by the window (Figs. 3B & 4B).
Regarding claim 12, Barthel et al. discloses the attachment assembly of claim 11. Barthel et al. further discloses wherein: the first component includes a first locking feature; the second component includes a second locking feature; and the first locking feature is configured to engage the second locking feature to lock the attachment assembly in the attached configuration (Paras. 0036 & 0041).
Regarding claim 13, Barthel et al. further discloses the attachment assembly of claim 11. Barthel et al. further discloses wherein: the first component includes a first retaining feature; the second component includes a second retaining feature; and the first retaining feature is configured to hold the second retaining feature in the initial configuration and to release the second retaining feature upon application of a force in the first direction (Paras. 0036, 0041 & 0051).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. A prior art search did not uncover a reference that teaches wherein: the second component includes a distal projection extending in a second direction opposite the first direction and configured for insertion in a hole in a wall; and the distal projection includes a deformable radially-outward extension configured to engage a backside of the wall.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. A prior art search did not uncover any references that teach wherein the second component includes inward-extending arms that terminate at a central passageway.
Claims 16-20 are allowed. A prior art search did not uncover a reference that teaches: a coolant system including a hose; and an attachment assembly comprising: a first component having a scannable feature; and a second component including a ring portion engaging the hose and having a shield portion and a window; wherein: the first component is movable relative to the second component in a first direction from an initial configuration to an attached configuration; in the initial configuration the scannable feature is received within the second component and the shield portion covers the scannable feature; and in the attached configuration, the scannable feature is revealed by the window
Inquiry
/HILARY L JOHNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613