DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18587321 filed 02/26/2024 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63610350, filed 12/14/2023.
Child data
PCT/US24/60129 filed on 12/13/2024 is a of 18587321, filed on 02/26/2024
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 07/19/2024, 05/14/2025 and 07/01/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marri Sridhar et al (US 2020/0068520) in view of Taori (US 2025/0024238).
Regarding claim 1, Marri Sridhar et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), comprising:
transmitting a first frame from a Wi-Fi device to a Station (STA), wherein the first frame instructs the STA to start a counter or capture a current timestamp of a clock (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (first frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (first frame instructs the STA to start or capture a current timestamp of a clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14); and
transmitting a second frame from the Wi-Fi device to the STA, wherein the second frame instructs the STA to capture a first timestamp of the counter or the clock (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (second frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (second frame instructs the STA to capture a first timestamp of the counter or the clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14);
receiving, at the Wi-Fi device, data from the STA comprising at least the first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock, the second timestamp indicating when the STA transmitted the data to the Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (second frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange. For example, the timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received, [0041], lines 7-14);
capturing a third timestamp at the Wi-Fi device when the Wi-Fi device receives the data from the STA (Wi-Fi device receives (captures) timing information (third timestamp) of each frames when the sent Wi-Fi device timing information (data comprising timestamp) is received, [0041], lines 7-14); and
determining a distance from the Wi-Fi device and the STA based on the first, second, and third timestamps (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 2, Marri Sridhar et al discloses method (fig. 3, method),
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the data from the AMP STA comprises a location of the AMP STA.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of wherein the data from the AMP STA comprises a location of the AMP STA (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of wherein the data from the AMP STA comprises a location of the AMP STA of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Marri Sridhar et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), further comprising:
receiving, at the Wi-Fi device, data from second and third STAs that also received the first and second frames, the data from the second and third STAs comprising at least two timestamps captured by each of the second and third STAs and locations of the second and third STAs (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (second frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange. For example, the timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received, [0041], lines 7-14);
capturing fourth and fifth timestamps at the Wi-Fi device when the Wi-Fi device receives the data from the second and third STAs (Similarly, in a fourth exchange, beginning at time t.sub.4,1, the second WLAN device 120 transmits a fourth FTM frame 430. The fourth FTM frame 430 includes a first field indicating the TOD of the third FTM frame 426 and a second field indicating the TOA of the third ACK 428. The first WLAN device 110 receives the fourth FTM frame 430 at time t.sub.4,2 and transmits a fourth ACK 432 to the second WLAN device 120 at time t.sub.4,3. The second WLAN device 120 receives the fourth ACK 432 at time t.sub.4,4, [0064], lines 1-13);
determining distances from the Wi-Fi device and the second and third STAs based on the at least two timestamps captured by each of the second and third STAs and the fourth and fifth timestamps (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14); and
determining a location of the Wi-Fi device based on the distance from the Wi-Fi device and the STA, the distance from the Wi-Fi device and the second STA, the distance from the Wi-Fi device and the third STA, the location of the STA, the location of the second STA, and the location of the third STA (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 4, Marri Sridhar et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the first frame comprises energy for energizing the STA to capture the first and second timestamps and to transmit the data to the Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (first frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (first frame instructs the STA to start or capture a current timestamp of a clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 5, Marri Sridhar et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), further comprising:
before transmitting the first frame, transmitting a frame from an access point (AP) to the STA that energizes the STA, wherein the Wi-Fi device is a mobile device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (first frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (first frame instructs the STA to start or capture a current timestamp of a clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 6, Marri Sridhar et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), further comprising:
before transmitting the first frame, querying an AP to identify a plurality of STAs to transmit the first and second frames to (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (first frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (first frame instructs the STA to start or capture a current timestamp of a clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 7, Marri Sridhar et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein, when the first frame instructs the STA to capture the current timestamp of the clock, the data received from the STA includes the current timestamp, wherein the distance from the Wi-Fi device and the STA is also based on the current timestamp (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 8, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041], line 9), comprising:
a processor (processor, [0006], line 2);
memory storing a location application configured to (memory may have instructions stored therein which, when executed by the processor, cause the first WLAN device to send an initial ranging protocol request message to initiate a ranging operation between the first WLAN device and a second WLAN device, [0006], lines 3-5):
send a first message to an Ambient Power Station (STA) instructing the STA to start a counter or capture a current timestamp of a clock (FTM protocol, a first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) may send an initial ranging protocol request message (referred to as an initial FTM request (iFTMR) message) to a second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA). The Responding STA may send a first response message (also referred to as a first acknowledgement (ACK) message) to the Initiating STA. Second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (first frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (first frame instructs the STA to start or capture a current timestamp of a clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14);
send a second message to the STA instructing the STA to capture a first timestamp of the counter or the clock (FTM protocol, a first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) may send an initial ranging protocol request message (referred to as an initial FTM request (iFTMR) message) to a second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA). The Responding STA may send a first response message (also referred to as a first acknowledgement (ACK) message) to the Initiating STA. Second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (second frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (second frame instructs the STA to capture a first timestamp of the counter or the clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14);
receive a response from the STA comprising at least the first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock, the second timestamp indicating when the STA transmitted data to the Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (second frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange. For example, the timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received, [0041], lines 7-14);
capture a third timestamp at the Wi-Fi device when the Wi-Fi device receives the data from the STA (Wi-Fi device receives (captures) timing information (third timestamp) of each frames when the sent Wi-Fi device timing information (data comprising timestamp) is received, [0041], lines 7-14); and
determine a distance from the Wi-Fi device and the STA based on the first, second, and third timestamps (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 1-18).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041], line 9), wherein the location application is further configured to send the first message and the second message to a second STA (FTM protocol, a first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) may send an initial ranging protocol request message (referred to as an initial FTM request (iFTMR) message) to a second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA). The Responding STA may send a first response message (also referred to as a first acknowledgement (ACK) message) to the Initiating STA. Second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (first frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (first frame instructs the STA to start or capture a current timestamp of a clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041], line 9), wherein the location application is further configured to send the first message and the second message to a third STA (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (second frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange. For example, the timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041], line 9), wherein the location application is further configured to receive a first response from the second STA and a first response from the third STA (FTM protocol, a first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) may send an initial ranging protocol request message (referred to as an initial FTM request (iFTMR) message) to a second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA). The Responding STA may send a first response message (also referred to as a first acknowledgement (ACK) message) to the Initiating STA. Second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (first frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (first frame instructs the STA to start or capture a current timestamp of a clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041], line 9), wherein the location application is further configured to determine the distance between the Wi-Fi device and the second STA (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041], line 9), wherein the location application is further configured to determine the distance between the Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041, line 9) and the third STA (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041], line 9), wherein the location application is further configured to determine a location of the Wi-Fi device based on the distances between the Wi-Fi device and the STA, the second STA, and the third STA (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA, [0041], line 9), wherein the location application is further configured to receive a known location from at least one of the STA, the second STA, and the third STA and determine the location of the Wi-Fi device with reference to the known location (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Marri Sridhar et al discloses Wi-Fi device, wherein the location application is further configured to determine the distances from the Wi-Fi device and the second and third STAs based on at least two timestamps captured by each of the second and third STAs and a fourth timestamp and a fifth timestamp (Similarly, in a fourth exchange, beginning at time t.sub.4,1, the second WLAN device 120 transmits a fourth FTM frame 430. The fourth FTM frame 430 includes a first field indicating the TOD of the third FTM frame 426 and a second field indicating the TOA of the third ACK 428. The first WLAN device 110 receives the fourth FTM frame 430 at time t.sub.4,2 and transmits a fourth ACK 432 to the second WLAN device 120 at time t.sub.4,3. The second WLAN device 120 receives the fourth ACK 432 at time t.sub.4,4, [0064], lines 1-13).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 17, Marri Sridhar et al discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable program code embodied therewith, the computer readable program code executable by a location application to perform an operation, the operation comprising (computer-readable medium having instructions performed by a processor of a second WLAN device, [0021], lines 2-3):
transmitting a first frame from a Wi-Fi device to an Ambient Power Station (STA), wherein the first frame instructs the STA to start a counter or capture a current timestamp of a clock (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (first frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (first frame instructs the STA to start or capture a current timestamp of a clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14); and
transmitting a second frame from the Wi-Fi device to the STA, wherein the second frame instructs the STA to capture a first timestamp of the counter or the clock (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (second frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (timestamp) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange (second frame instructs the STA to capture a first timestamp of the counter or the clock). For example, the timing information (timestamp) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received (captured), [0041], lines 7-14);
receiving, at the Wi-Fi device, data from the STA comprising at least the first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock, the second timestamp indicating when the STA transmitted the data to the Wi-Fi device (second WLAN device (referred to as a Responding STA) (Wi-Fi device) will send a plurality of FTM frames (second frame) to the first WLAN device (referred to as an Initiating STA) (Wi-Fi device) for the requested FTM frames. The Initiating STA may send acknowledgements (ACK) to each FTM frame. Each subsequent FTM frame includes timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) regarding a previous FTM frame and ACK exchange. For example, the timing information (first timestamp and a second timestamp of the counter or clock) may indicate a time when the previous FTM frame was sent and when the previous ACK was received, [0041], lines 7-14);
capturing a third timestamp at the Wi-Fi device when the Wi-Fi device receives the data from the STA (Wi-Fi device receives (captures) timing information (third timestamp) of each frames when the sent Wi-Fi device timing information (data comprising timestamp) is received, [0041], lines 7-14); and
determining a distance from the Wi-Fi device and the STA based on the first, second, and third timestamps (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 18, Marri Sridhar et al discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium (computer-readable medium having instructions performed by a processor of a second WLAN device, [0021], lines 2-3), the operation further comprises a second STA and a third STA each comprising at least two timestamps captured by each of the second and third STAs and locations of the second and third STAs (Similarly, in a fourth exchange, beginning at time t.sub.4,1, the second WLAN device 120 transmits a fourth FTM frame 430. The fourth FTM frame 430 includes a first field indicating the TOD of the third FTM frame 426 and a second field indicating the TOA of the third ACK 428. The first WLAN device 110 receives the fourth FTM frame 430 at time t.sub.4,2 and transmits a fourth ACK 432 to the second WLAN device 120 at time t.sub.4,3. The second WLAN device 120 receives the fourth ACK 432 at time t.sub.4,4, [0064], lines 1-13).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 19, Marri Sridhar et al discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium (computer-readable medium having instructions performed by a processor of a second WLAN device, [0021], lines 2-3), the operation further comprises determining distances from the Wi-Fi device and the second and third STAs based on the at least two timestamps captured by each of the second STA, the third STA, a fourth timestamp, and a fifth timestamp (Similarly, in a fourth exchange, beginning at time t.sub.4,1, the second WLAN device 120 transmits a fourth FTM frame 430. The fourth FTM frame 430 includes a first field indicating the TOD of the third FTM frame 426 and a second field indicating the TOA of the third ACK 428. The first WLAN device 110 receives the fourth FTM frame 430 at time t.sub.4,2 and transmits a fourth ACK 432 to the second WLAN device 120 at time t.sub.4,3. The second WLAN device 120 receives the fourth ACK 432 at time t.sub.4,4, [0064], lines 1-13).
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 20, Marri Sridhar et al discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium (computer-readable medium having instructions performed by a processor of a second WLAN device, [0021], lines 2-3), the operation further comprises determining a location of the Wi-Fi device based on the distance from the Wi-Fi device and the STA, the distance from the Wi-Fi device and the second STA, the distance from the Wi-Fi device and the third STA, the location of the STA, the location of the second STA, and the location of the third STA (Using the timing information (first, second, and third timestamps) from the Responding STA and the timing measured by the Initiating STA, the Initiating STA can determine a distance between the Initiating STA and the Responding STA, [0041], lines 7-14)..
Marri Sridhar et al does not specifically disclose concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in a system.
However, Taori specifically teaches concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system (FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method of configuring the wireless network to communicate over different RF bands and that involves locating the AMP STA device using a network node device according to at least one embodiment, [0010], lines 1-2, [0026], line 9).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Marri Sridhar et al with concept of ambient Power Station (AMP STA) in s system of Taori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve radio frequency (RF) band and energy harvesting arrangements for operation of wireless ambient power (AMP) devices (Taori, [0002], lines 1-2)
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681