DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Phuyal et al. 2022/0386208.
Regarding claim 1:
A communication apparatus comprising: a memory storing a program; and one or more processors configured to execute the program to:
Phuyal discloses a first base station which includes a transceiver, a memory and a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory. See paragraph [0010]. Phuyal also discloses a network unit which includes a transceiver, a memory, and a processor which is configured to receive an indication of a handover of an unmanned aerial vehicle from a first base station to a second base station. See paragraph [0011]. See also Fig. 3, Fig 8 and paragraphs [0099-0102] and paragraphs [0059-0061] which discloses that the network unit includes processor, memory and instructions. See paragraph [0091] which discloses that “instructions” refers to one or more programs, routines, sub-routines, functions, procedures, etc.
obtain path information including information for indicating each of a plurality of waypoints and information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints;
As set forth in paragraph [0050], Phuyal explains that the UE may be a UAV which has flight path information that defines waypoints and expected time of arrival (timestamps) of the UAV at those waypoints. Phuyal states that the network supports methods of communicating the flight path to a target Base Station (BS). See also paragraph [0054] which discloses that the complete flight path including all waypoints with expected time of arrival is obtained and communicated to the target BS. See also paragraph [0135].
As explained in paragraphs [0056-0064], which discusses the functions of a network unit, flight path information is received from a server, intermediate network nodes or the UE.
transmit, to a base station, a first radio resource control, RRC, message including the path information; and
As set forth above, Phuyal discloses the transmission of flight path information to a target base station. In paragraph [0052], Phuyal discloses that the UE is connected in a RRC connected state to the BS. In addition, Phuyal states that the source BS may communicated the UE’s RRC context information and flight path information to the target base station. See also paragraph [0053] which discloses that the flight path information is sent using RRC signaling. See also paragraphs [0062], [0064], [0069], [0117]
transmit, to the base station, a second RRC message including information for indicating an availability of the path information in a case where the communication apparatus has at least one waypoint which is not included in the path information previously transmitted to the base station.
As set forth in paragraph [0087], the UE may change its waypoints based on the occurrence of events and may update the flight path. As further disclosed in paragraph [0088], the network can communicate the updated information to a target information. As set forth above, Phuyal discloses in at least paragraphs [0052-0053] that the flight path information to the target base station occurs via RRC signaling and the UE is in a RRC connected state. In addition, since the flight path information is “new”, then this information was not previously provided. See paragraph [0073] and [0088] which discloses that updated flight path is available. See also paragraph [0094], [0104] and [0112] which discloses the transmission of an indicator to the target base station which indicates that updated flightpath information is available.
Regarding claim 2:
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the program to: receive, from the base station, a third RRC message including information for requesting transmission of the path information; and
As set forth in paragraph [0032],the target base station may request the updated flight path information. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0053],the target BS may transmit a flightPathInfoRequest message in a UEInformationRequest message for request transmission of flightpath information. Phuyal states that the UE and the base station are in a RRC connected state and that RRC signaling is used for the transmission of messages. See also paragraph [0055]
transmit in response to the reception of the third RRC message including the information for requesting transmission of the path information, to the base station, the first RRC message including the path information.
As set forth in paragraph [0053], in response to the transmission of a UEInformationRequest message, the flight path information using RRC signaling may be transmitted. As set forth above, the initial flight path information uses the ‘first’ RRC message, and the updated flight path information uses a second message RRC message and the request from the target base station is the third RRC message.
Regarding claim 3:
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first RRC message includes a UEInformationResponse message, and
As set forth in paragraphs [0077-0080], the target base station may transmit a request for flight path information. Thus, the first RRC message as set forth above in claim 1 which provide the flight path information is a “UEInformationResponse” message since it is responding the target BS request for the flight path information. See also paragraph [0053] which discloses that after the target base station makes a request, the will response with the flight path information. Hence the first RRC message is a UEInformationResponse message.
the second RRC message includes a message of the completion of an RRC connection re-establishment, a message of the completion of an RRC connection reconfiguration, a message of the completion of an RRC connection establishment, or a message of the completion of an RRC connection resumption.
As set forth in paragraph [0071], a RRC reconfiguration completion message is transmitted. See also paragraph [0083]. As explained in paragraph [0114], the RRC reconfiguration is part of the handover process and includes the transmission of flight path information. See also paragraph [0055].
Regarding claim 4:
The communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the third RRC message includes a UEInformationRequest message.
As explained in paragraph [0120], the flight path information may be requested in a UEInformationRequest message. See also paragraphs [0053] and [0062].
Regarding claim 5:
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the path information includes information of a flight path or a moving path.
See paragraphs [0010] and [0031] which discloses that the path information includes information of a flight path.
Regarding claim 6:
A base station comprising: a memory storing a program; and one or more processors configured to execute the program to:
See Figure 8 which discloses a base station with a memory storing a program (instructions), and a processor. See also paragraph [0099]. See paragraph [0091] which discloses that “instructions” refers to one or more programs, routines, sub-routines, functions, procedures, etc.
receive, from a communication apparatus, a first radio resource control, RRC, message including path information, the path information including information for indicating each of a plurality of waypoints and information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints;
As set forth in paragraph [0053], the network unit can be configured to communicate flight path information to a target base station and thus the target base station receives the flight path information. See also paragraphs [0058-0064]
As set forth in paragraph [0050], Phuyal explains that the UE may be a UAV which has flight path information that defines waypoints and expected time of arrival (timestamps) of the UAV at those waypoints. Phuyal states that the network supports methods of communicating the flight path to a target Base Station (BS). See also paragraph [0054] which discloses that the complete flight path including all waypoints with expected time of arrival is obtained and communicated to the target BS. See also paragraph [0135].
As set forth above, Phuyal discloses the transmission of flight path information to a target base station. In paragraph [0052], Phuyal discloses that the UE is connected in a RRC connected state to the BS. In addition, Phuyal states that the source BS may communicated the UE’s RRC context information and flight path information to the target base station. See also paragraph [0053] which discloses that the flight path information is sent using RRC signaling. See also paragraphs [0062], [0064], [0069], [0117]
obtain the path information included in the first RRC message; and
As set forth above, Phuyal discloses the transmission of flight path information to a target base station. In paragraph [0052], Phuyal discloses that the UE is connected in a RRC connected stated to the BS. In addition, Phuyal states that the source BS may communicated the UE’s RRC context information and flight path information to the target base station.
receive, from the communication apparatus, a second RRC message including information for indicating an availability of the path information in a case where the communication apparatus has at least one waypoint which is not included in the path information previously transmitted to the base station.
As set forth in paragraph [0087], the UE may change its waypoints based on the occurrence of events and may update the flight path. As further disclosed in paragraph [0088], the network can communicate the updated information to a target information. As set forth above, Phuyal discloses in at least paragraphs [0052-0053] that the flight path information to the target base station occurs via RRC signaling and the UE is in a RRC connected state. In addition, since the flight path information is “new”, then this information was not previously provided. See paragraph [0073] and [0088] which discloses that updated flight path is available. See also paragraph [0094], [0104] and [0112] which discloses the transmission of an indicator to the target base station which indicates that updated flightpath information is available.
Regarding claim 7:
The base station according to claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the program to: transmit, to the communication apparatus, a third RRC message including information for requesting transmission of the path information; and
As set forth in paragraph [0032],the target base station may request the updated flight path information. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0053],the target BS may transmit a flightPathInfoRequest message in a UEInformationRequest message for request transmission of flightpath information. Phuyal states that the UE and the base station are in a RRC connected state and that RRC signaling is used for the transmission of messages. See also paragraph [0055]
receive in response to the transmission of the third RRC message including the information for requesting transmission of the path information, from the communication apparatus, the first RRC message including the path information.
As set forth in paragraph [0053], in response to the transmission of a UEInformationRequest message, the flight path information using RRC signaling may be transmitted. As set forth above, the initial flight path information uses the ‘first’ RRC message, and the updated flight path information uses a second message RRC message and the request from the target base station is the third RRC message.
Regarding claim 8:
The base station according to claim 6, wherein the first RRC message includes a UEInformationResponse message, and
As set forth in paragraphs [0077-0080], the target base station may transmit a request for flight path information. Thus, the first RRC message as set forth above in claim 1 which provide the flight path information is a “UEInformationResponse” message since it is responding the target BS request for the flight path information. See also paragraph [0053] which discloses that after the target base station makes a request, the will response with the flight path information. Hence the first RRC message is a UEInformationResponse message.
the second RRC message includes a message of the completion of an RRC connection re-establishment, a message of the completion of an RRC connection reconfiguration, a message of the completion of an RRC connection establishment, or a message of the completion of an RRC connection resumption.
As set forth in paragraph [0071], a RRC reconfiguration completion message is transmitted. See also paragraph [0083]. As explained in paragraph [0114], the RRC reconfiguration is part of the handover process and includes the transmission of flight path information. See also paragraph [0055]
Regarding claim 9:
The base station according to claim 7, wherein the third RRC message includes a UEInformationRequest message.
As explained in paragraph [0120], the flight path information may be requested in a UEInformationRequest message. See also paragraphs [0053] and [0062].
Regarding claim 10:
The base station according to claim 6, wherein the path information includes information of a flight path or a moving path.
See paragraphs [0010] and [0031] which discloses that the path information includes information of a flight path.
Regarding claim 11:
A method performed by a communication apparatus, comprising:
Phuyal discloses a network unit which includes a transceiver, a memory, and a processor which is configured to receive an indication of a handover of an unmanned aerial vehicle from a first base station to a second base station. See paragraph [0011]. See also Fig 8 and paragraphs [0099-0102] and paragraphs [0059-0061] which discloses that the network unit includes processor, memory and instructions.
obtaining path information including information for indicating each of a plurality of waypoints and information for indicating each of a plurality of timestamps, the each of the plurality of timestamps indicating a time to arrive at the each of the plurality of waypoints;
As set forth in paragraph [0050], Phuyal explains that the UE may be a UAV which has flight path information that defines waypoints and expected time of arrival (timestamps) of the UAV at those waypoints. Phuyal states that the network supports methods of communicating the flight path to a target Base Station (BS). See also paragraph [0054] which discloses that the complete flight path including all waypoints with expected time of arrival is obtained and communicated to the target BS. See also paragraph [0135].
As explained in paragraphs [0056-0064], which discusses the functions of a network unit, flight path information is received from a server, intermediate network nodes or the UE.
transmitting, to a base station, a first radio resource control, RRC, message including the path information; and
As set forth above, Phuyal discloses the transmission of flight path information to a target base station. In paragraph [0052], Phuyal discloses that the UE is connected in a RRC connected state to the BS. In addition, Phuyal states that the source BS may communicated the UE’s RRC context information and flight path information to the target base station. See also paragraph [0053] which discloses that the flight path information is sent using RRC signaling. See also paragraphs [0062], [0064], [0069], [0117]
transmitting, to the base station, a second RRC message including information for indicating an availability of the path information in a case where the communication apparatus has at least one waypoint which is not included in the path information previously transmitted to the base station.
As set forth in paragraph [0087], the UE may change its waypoints based on the occurrence of events and may update the flight path. As further disclosed in paragraph [0088], the network can communicate the updated information to a target information. As set forth above, Phuyal discloses in at least paragraphs [0052-0053] that the flight path information to the target base station occurs via RRC signaling and the UE is in a RRC connected state. In addition, since the flight path information is “new”, then this information was not previously provided. See paragraph [0073] and [0088] which discloses that updated flight path is available. See also paragraph [0094], [0104] and [0112] which discloses the transmission of an indicator to the target base station which indicates that updated flightpath information is available.
Regarding claim 12:
The method according to claim 11, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a third RRC message including information for requesting transmission of the path information; and
As set forth in paragraph [0032],the target base station may request the updated flight path information. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0053],the target BS may transmit a flightPathInfoRequest message in a UEInformationRequest message for request transmission of flightpath information. Phuyal states that the UE and the base station are in a RRC connected state and that RRC signaling is used for the transmission of messages. See also paragraph [0055]
transmitting in response to the reception of the third RRC message including the information for requesting transmission of the path information, to the base station, the first RRC message including the path information.
As set forth in paragraph [0053], in response to the transmission of a UEInformationRequest message, the flight path information using RRC signaling may be transmitted. As set forth above, the initial flight path information uses the ‘first’ RRC message, and the updated flight path information uses a second message RRC message and the request from the target base station is the third RRC message.
Regarding claim 13:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the first RRC message includes a UEInformationResponse message, and
As set forth in paragraphs [0077-0080], the target base station may transmit a request for flight path information. Thus, the first RRC message as set forth above in claim 1 which provide the flight path information is a “UEInformationResponse” message since it is responding the target BS request for the flight path information. See also paragraph [0053] which discloses that after the target base station makes a request, the will response with the flight path information. Hence the first RRC message is a UEInformationResponse message.
the second RRC message includes a message of the completion of an RRC connection re-establishment, a message of the completion of an RRC connection reconfiguration, a message of the completion of an RRC connection establishment, or a message of the completion of an RRC connection resumption.
As set forth in paragraph [0071], a RRC reconfiguration completion message is transmitted. See also paragraph [0083]. As explained in paragraph [0114], the RRC reconfiguration is part of the handover process and includes the transmission of flight path information. See also paragraph [0055]
Regarding claim 14:
The method according to claim 12, wherein the third RRC message includes a UEInformationRequest message.
As explained in paragraph [0120], the flight path information may be requested in a UEInformationRequest message. See also paragraphs [0053] and [0062].
Regarding claim 15:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the path information includes information of a flight path or a moving path.
See paragraphs [0010] and [0031] which discloses that the path information includes information of a flight path.
Conclusion
/Ovidio Escalante/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992