The claims received 9/30/2025 are entered. Claims 13-20 are new.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“gas replenishment structure” includes the generic/nonce term “structure” coupled with the function of “gas replenishment”. A return to the specification provides element 400, which is an inlet. Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
The term “throttling device” of claim 12 is not interpreted under §112f as the term is understood in the art to cover a broad class of structures that takes its name from the function performed, i.e. throttling. A term is not required to denote a specific structure of precise physical structure in order to avoid application of 35 U.S.C. §112(f). MPEP 2181(I)(A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 17 recite “wherein the annular gap is configured to leave a portion of the male rotor and the female rotor exposed when embedded in the groove of the male rotor and the female rotor.” There is no support for this limitation in the original disclosure. The term “exposed” is not within the original disclosure. Moreover the respective rotors are within a housing such that no portion of the rotors is exposed.
The phrase “annular gap” is entirely absent from the original disclosure.
The phrase “circumferential gap” is entirely absent from the original disclosure. Moreover the “circumferential gap” of claim 20 depends from claim 17 thus the annular gap and circumferential gap cannot be the same gap. The original disclosure references “a small gap can be left between the two” where the “two” refer to one of the rotors (110 or 120) and the housing 200.
Claims depending from a rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 recite “wherein the annular gap is configured to leave a portion of the male rotor and the female rotor exposed when embedded in the groove of the male rotor and the female rotor.” As noted above there is no support for this limitation in the original disclosure. The respective rotors are within a housing such that no portion of the rotors is exposed thus it is unclear what the meaning of the term is within the claim(s).
Claims 1 and 17 recite “the annular gap” (singular) but recite earlier “an annular gap in each” (plural) antecedent basis is unclear.
Claims depending from a rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-20 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akerman (US 3,209,990).
Regarding claims 1 and 17-18, Akerman screw compressor, comprising:
a rotor set comprising a pair of male rotor and female rotor meshing with each other (6,8 and 7,9), where axis of a main shaft of the male rotor and axis of a main shaft of the female rotor are parallel to each other, and the male rotor and the female rotor are respectively provided with grooves with the same width in an axial direction that are arranged circumferentially around them in the same radial direction, wherein a bottom surface of grooves of the male rotor and a bottom surface of grooves of the female rotor are an outer circumferential surface of the main shaft of the male rotor and an outer circumferential surface of the main shaft of the female rotor, respectively;
a rotor housing (1) for accommodating the rotor set; and
a partition plate (30), fixed on the rotor housing (1), for dividing the rotor housing into a low-pressure stage housing (at bores 2 and 3) and a high-pressure stage housing (at bores 4 and 5) connected to each other, wherein the partition plate has a first annular section and a second annular section connected to each other, where the first annular section and the second annular section are respectively embedded in a groove of the male rotor and that of the female rotor and have the same width in the axial direction as the groove of the male rotor and that of the female rotor, and the first annular section has a free end and a connecting end connected to the second annular section, and the second annular section has a free end and a connecting end connected to the first annular section;
wherein, a diameter of an annular outer surface of the first annular section is the same as a diameter of a circle where tooth tips of male rotor teeth of the male rotor are located, and a diameter of an annular inner surface of the first annular section is the same as a diameter of the main shaft of the male rotor (2:59 to 3:11 describe the clearance and thus said elements have substantially the same diameter; “substantially airtight fit but with sufficient clearance”); and
wherein, a diameter of an annular outer surface of the second annular section is the same or substantially the same as a diameter of a circle where tooth tips of female rotor teeth of the female rotor are located, and a diameter of an annular inner surface of the second annular section is the same as a diameter of the main shaft of the female rotor (2:59 to 3:11 describe the clearance and thus said elements have substantially the same diameter; “substantially airtight fit but with sufficient clearance”),
wherein the partition plate further comprises an annular gap (46 and 47 or gaps at annulus to receive fasteners) in each of the first annular section and the second annular section, wherein the annular gap is configured to leave a portion of the male rotor and the female rotor exposed when embedded int eh groove of the male rotor and the female rotor (as noted above the meaning of the this limitation is entirely unclear, none the less the rotors extend through the annulus of the partition plate and are thus exposed).
Regarding claim 2, Akerman discloses the connecting end of the first annular section and the connecting end of the second annular section form an intermediate section of the partition plate, where the intermediate section is located between the male rotor and the female rotor (shown in figure 5, where 28 and 29 are sealing portions of the male and female rotors).
Regarding claim 3, Akerman discloses the first annular section and the second annular section are integrally formed (as identified in annotated figure at claim 1, both sections are portions of integral piece 30A).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Akerman discloses the free end of the first annular section is provided with outlines that are the same as contour outlines of male rotor teeth of the male rotor, the free end of the second annular section is provided with outlines that are the same as contour outlines of female rotor tooth of the female rotor, and the intermediate section is provided with outlines that are the same as contour outlines of male rotor teeth of the male rotor and/or outlines that are the same as contour outlines of female rotor teeth of the female rotor (all the respective elements are round and thus are the same).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Akerman discloses
wherein, a diameter of an annular outer surface of the first annular extension section is the same as a diameter of a circle where tooth tips of male rotor teeth of the male rotor are located, and a diameter of an annular inner surface of the first annular extension section is the same as the diameter of the main shaft of the male rotor; and wherein, a diameter of an annular outer surface of the second annular extension section is the same as a diameter of a circle where tooth tips of female rotor teeth of the female rotor are located, and a diameter of an annular inner surface of the second annular extension section is the same as the diameter of the main shaft of the female rotor;
wherein, an end face of the first annular extension section facing the high-pressure stage housing is flush with an end face of the first annular section facing the high-pressure stage housing, and an end face of the second annular extension section facing the high-pressure stage housing is flush with an end face of the second annular section facing the high-pressure stage housing (as shown in figure 2 the partition plate and annular extensions thereof divide the high and lower pressure sections); and
wherein, a width of the first annular extension section in the axial direction is the same as a width of the second annular extension section in the axial direction, and is smaller than a width of the first annular section in the axial direction and a width of the second annular section in the axial direction (width in the axial dimension of the extension sections being smaller than the annular sections is shown in figure 10 at region of flange 48).
Regarding claim 6, Akerman discloses the other end of the first annular extension section is provided with outlines that are the same as contour outlines of male rotor teeth of the male rotor, and the other end of the second annular extension section is provided with outlines that are the same as contour outline of female rotor teeth of the female rotor (all the respective elements are round and thus are the same).
Regarding claim 7, Akerman discloses the first annular extension section, the second annular extension section, the first annular section, and the second annular section are integrally formed (as bolted together in figures 5 and 10 said elements are integral).
Regarding claim 8, Akerman discloses seal structures are respectively provided on the annular inner surface of the first annular section, the annular inner surface of the second annular section, the annular inner surface of the first annular extension section, and the annular inner surface of the second annular extension section (said elements of the partition plate seal with 28 and 29 as shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Akerman discloses the partition plate is fixed to the rotor housing by bolt connection (bolt 37 shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, Akerman discloses the low-pressure stage housing and the high-pressure stage housing are integrally constructed to form the rotor housing (1; shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Akerman discloses a starting end of a low-pressure stage rotor pair of the low-pressure stage housing corresponds to a first-stage suction port and a tail end of the low-pressure stage rotor pair corresponds to a first-stage discharge port (2:1-8 describe two stage arrangement).
Regarding claim 14, Akerman discloses a starting end of a high-pressure stage rotor pair of the high-pressure stage housing corresponds to a second-stage suction port and a tail end of the high-pressure stage rotor pair corresponds to a second-stage discharge port (2:1-8 describe two stage arrangement).
Regarding claim 15, Akerman discloses a first-stage discharge port of the low-pressure stage housing is located on a first side of the partition plate facing the low-pressure stage housing and a second-stage suction port of the high-pressure stage housing is located on a second side of the partition plate facing the high-pressure stage housing (the partition plate divides the low and high compressor stages as shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Akerman discloses a first connecting notch is formed circumferentially between the free end and the connecting end of the first annular section to form a first-stage discharge port of the low-pressure stage housing, and wherein a second connecting notch is formed circumferentially between the free end and the connecting end of the second annular section to form a second-stage suction port of the high-pressure stage housing (3:11-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akerman (US 3,209,990).
Regarding claims 11-12, Akerman discloses the screw compressor of claim 1, but lacks a gas replenishment structure and use in a refrigeration system.
In the previous office action on the merits the Examiner took Official Notice that screw compressors are old and well known for use in refrigeration cycles (including a condenser, throttling device, and evaporator). Moreover it is known to provide compressors with economizer inlets, corresponding to a gas replenishment structure in order to optimize the cycle. In his subsequent reply to this office action, the applicant did not traverse Examiner’s assertion of Official Notice with regard to these elements. Therefore the Official Notice statements by the Examiner regarding these elements are now taken as admitted prior art by Applicant. See MPEP §2144.03(C).
It has been held that where there exists an art recognized suitability for an intended purpose that it is obvious to apply the known means to the known purpose. MPEP 2144.07. In this instance Akerman provides for a screw compressor. Official notice is taken to evidence that refrigeration cycles utilize screw compressors. Merely applying the known screw compressor to the known purpose of compressing refrigerant is prima facie obvious yielding predictable results. Moreover it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a gas replenishment structure in order to economize the cycle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As detailed above the claims as presented are not supported by the original disclosure nor are they clear. The examiner also noted that Mosemann (previously cited) discloses an intermediate partition plate that does not fully circumferentially enclose the respective rotors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kasahara et al (US 11,773,853) multi-stage screw compressor.
Mosemann et al (US 7,618,248) intermediate plate of screw compressor.
Schibbye (US 3,283,996) screw rotor.
Nilsson (US 3,102,681) rotary piston housing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799