Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 6, applicant asserts that:
“In light of the above, the Applicant submits that claim 1 as amended is novel in view of the cited art. Claims 6 and 13 are novel for similar reasons. The dependent claims are allowable at least based on their dependency.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
Claim 6 does not include the limitation, “the filler forms a second channel through which the cooling medium guided from the introduction opening flows in the axial direction, the second channel communicating with the gap provided in the first region”, as disclosed in independent claims 1 and 13. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over rejected Down (US 2007/0138878) and in view of Ito (US 2024/0204584).
As to claim 6, Down discloses a rotating electric machine (Para 0016) comprising a rotor and a stator, the stator has a stator coil extending in an axial direction (Fig. 4), an insulating member enclosing the stator coil (Fig. 4), and an annular stator core in which a plurality of slots into which the stator coil enclosed by the insulating member is inserted are formed (Fig. 4; Para 0003), in the stator core, a first channel for introducing a cooling medium into each of the plurality of slots is formed (Fig. 4), and in the insulating member (Fig. 4), an introduction opening for guiding the cooling medium introduced into a slot (Fig. 4), among the plurality of slots, to a space enclosed by the insulating member is provided, wherein the insulating member has, along the axial direction (Fig. 4), a first region where the introduction opening is provided and a pair of second regions provided on both sides of the first region in the axial direction where the introduction opening is not provided (Fig. 4), in the first region, a gap is provided between the insulating member and the stator coil (Fig. 4).
Down fails to disclose a filler to be applied into the gap is provided.
Ueda, however, discloses a filler to be applied into the gap is provided (Para 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the machine of Down, with a filler to be applied into the gap is provided, as disclosed by Ueda, to prevent the movement of the conductors due to vibration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, and 7-13 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 1, Down discloses a rotating electric machine comprises a rotor and a stator (Para
0016), wherein the stator has a stator coil extending in an axial direction (Fig. 4), an insulating member
enclosing the stator coil (Fig. 4), and an annular stator core in which a plurality of slots into which the
stator coil enclosed by the insulating member are inserted are formed (Fig. 4; Para 0003), in the stator
core, a channel for introducing a cooling medium into each of the plurality of slots are formed (Fig. 4),
and in the insulating member (Fig. 4), an introduction opening for guiding the cooling medium
introduced into a slot (Fig. 4), among the plurality of slots, to a space enclosed by the insulating member
is provided (Fig. 4), wherein the insulating member has, along the axial direction, a first region where the introduction opening is provided and a second region where the introduction opening is not provided (Fig. 4), in the first region, a gap is provided between the insulating member and the stator coil (Fig. 4).
Ueda discloses a filler to be applied into the gap is provided.
Down fails to disclose the filler forms a second channel through which the cooling medium guided from the introduction opening flows in the axial direction, the second channel communicating with the gap provided in the first region.
Claims 2-4, and 7-13 are allowed for similar reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834