DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image processing unit” in claim 1, “a control unit” in claim 1, “a control apparatus” in claim 9 and “an image processing apparatus” in claim 10.
“image processing unit” in claim 1 is read as the item 20 shown in Fig.4, “a control unit” in claim 1 is read as the item 10 shown in Fig.3, “a control apparatus” in claim 9 is read as the item 10 shown in Fig.3 and “an image processing apparatus” in claim 10 in claim 1 is read as the item 20 shown in Fig.4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Notredame’390 (US 6,049,390).
With respect to claim 1, Notredame’390 teaches an image processing control system (Fig. 10) including a plurality of image processing units (Fig.10, items 1009, 1003 and 1017) configured to execute an image process for performing printing in a printing apparatus (Fig.10, item 1019) and a control unit [the system shown in Fig.10 is inherent disclosed with a processor to perform its desired functions] configured to cause the plurality of image processing units to execute the image process (Fig.10), wherein the control unit outputs control information to a first image processing unit,
the control information including information indicating input data to be processed and the image processing unit that performs a next process on processed output data [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing.], and
the first image processing unit executes a first image process on the input data based on the control information and outputs the output data to the image processing unit that performs a next process [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing].
With respect to claim 2, which further limits claim 1, Notredame’390 teaches wherein the plurality of image processing units include the first image processing unit and a second image processing unit that executes the image process to be executed after the image process executed by the first image processing unit [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing], and at least the second image processing unit can be implemented in a plurality of computers (col.14, lines 1-3),
the control information includes information indicating the second image processing unit that performs a next process on the output data after the process by the first image processing unit [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing], and
the first image processing unit outputs the output data to the second image processing unit indicated by the control information after the first image process [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing].
With respect to claim 6, which further limits claim 1, Notredame’390 teaches wherein the control information includes information specifying the image processing unit that performs a series of processes for printing of the printing apparatus among the plurality of image processing units [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing], and
the specified image processing unit executes the image process [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing].
With respect to claim 7, which further limits claim 1, Notredame’390 teaches wherein the control information includes the input data [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing].
With respect to claim 8, which further limits claim 1, Notredame’390 teaches wherein the control information includes a parameter used in the image process, and the image processing unit executes the image process using the parameter [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing].
With respect to claim 9, Notredame’390 teaches a control apparatus [regarding to the system shown in Fig.10] for causing a plurality of image processing units (Fig.10, items 1009, 1003 and 1017), which are configured to execute an image process for performing printing in a printing apparatus (Fig.10, item 1019), to execute the image process, wherein
the control apparatus outputs control information to the image processing unit, the control information including information indicating input data to be processed and the image processing unit that performs a next process on processed output data [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing].
With respect to claim 10, Notredame’390 teaches an image processing apparatus [regarding to the system shown in Fig. time 10) for executing any of a plurality of image processes (Fig.10, items 1009, 1003 and 1017) for performing printing (Fig.10, item 1019) in a printing apparatus,
wherein the image processing apparatus executes the image process on input data to be processed, based on control information including information indicating the input data and an image processing apparatus that executes a next process on processed output data, and outputs the output data to the image processing apparatus that executes a next process [as shown in Fig.10, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Notredame’390 (US 6,049,390), and further in view of Yamashita’580 (US 2012/0182580).
With respect to claim 3, which further limits claim 1, Notredame’390 teaches wherein
a storage location where the control information is stored is associated with each of the plurality of image processing units [the system shown in Fig.10 is inherent disclosed with at least a storage location where the control information is stored is associated with the RIP system 1009, the rapid merge system 1003 and the decompress & screening system 1017 in order to enable the said system to perform its desired function], and
Notredame’390 does not teach the image processing unit monitors the storage location associated with the image processing unit, and when the control information is stored at the storage location, starts the image process based on the input data indicated by the stored control information, and stores the control information at the storage location associated with the image processing unit that performs a next process.
Yamashita’580 teaches the image processing unit monitors the storage location associated with the image processing unit [monitoring a hot folder such that when a file is being detected in the hot holder, the file is being transmitted to a desired device for processing (paragraph 33)], and when the control information is stored at the storage location, starts the image process based on the input data indicated by the stored control information [monitoring a hot folder such that when a file is being detected in the hot holder, the file is being transmitted to a desired device for processing (paragraph 33). Therefore, a control information is considered being stored at the storage location for controlling the execution to be performed on the file which is being received in the hot folder], and stores the control information at the storage location associated with the image processing unit that performs a next process [monitoring a hot folder such that when a file is being detected in the hot holder, the file is being transmitted to a desired device for processing (paragraph 33). Therefore, a control information is considered being stored at the storage location for controlling the next execution to be performed on the file which is being received in the hot folder]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Notredame’390 according to the teaching of Yamashita’580 to include hot folders to enable the system to perform image data transmission and the desired image processing operations on the RIP system (Fig.10, item 1009), the rapid merge system (Fig.10, item 1003) and the decompress & screening system (Fig.10, item 1017) because this will allow the image data be processed more effectively in a system.
With respect to claim 4, which further limits claim 3, Notredame’390 does not teach wherein the control information includes information indicating the printing apparatus that executes printing, and the storage location includes a location associated with the image processing unit that generates the output data to be output to the printing apparatus, and when the control information is stored at the location, the output data is output to the printing apparatus indicated by the stored control information and printing is performed.
Notredame’390 teaches wherein the control information includes information indicating the printing apparatus that executes printing [monitoring a hot folder such that when a file is being detected in the hot holder, the file is being transmitted to a printer device for printing (paragraph 33)], and
and when the control information is stored at the location, the output data is output to the printing apparatus indicated by the stored control information and printing is performed [monitoring a hot folder such that when a file is being detected in the hot holder, the file is being transmitted to a printer device for printing (paragraph 33)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Notredame’390 according to the teaching of Yamashita’580 to include hot folders to enable the system to perform image data transmission and the desired image processing operations on the RIP system (Fig.10, item 1009), the rapid merge system (Fig.10, item 1003) and the decompress & screening system (Fig.10, item 1017) because this will allow the image data be processed more effectively in a system.
The combination of Notredame’390 and Yamashita’580 does not teach the storage location includes a location associated with the image processing unit that generates the output data to be output to the printing apparatus.
Since as shown in Fig.10 in Notredame’390, the RIP system 1009 performs the desired image processing operations on the image data and then to transmit the processed image data to the rapid merge system 1003. The rapid merge system 1003 performs the desired image processing operations on the processed image data and then to transmit the new processed image data to the decompress & screening system 1017 to perform another desired image processing before transmitting it to a printing device 1019 for printing and Yamashita’580 teaches monitoring a hot folder such that when a file is being detected in the hot holder, the file is being transmitted to a printer device for printing (paragraph 33), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to include a hot folder in the rapid merge system (Fig.10, item 1003 in Notredame’390) such that the rapid merge system (Fig.10, item 1003 in Notredame’390) processes the image data and stores it in the said hot folder which enables the processed image data received in the hot folder to transmit to the decompress & screening system (Fig.10, item 1017 in Notredame’390) to perform further image processing before printing (the storage location includes a location associated with the image processing unit that generates the output data to be output to the printing apparatus) because this will allow the image data be printed more effectively in a printer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Notredame’390 and Yamashita’580 to include a hot folder in the rapid merge system (Fig.10, item 1003 in Notredame’390) such that the rapid merge system (Fig.10, item 1003 in Notredame’390) processes the image data and stores it in the said hot folder which enables the processed image data received in the hot folder to transmit to the decompress & screening system (Fig.10, item 1017 in Notredame’390) to perform further image processing before printing (the storage location includes a location associated with the image processing unit that generates the output data to be output to the printing apparatus) because this will allow the image data be printed more effectively in a printer.
With respect to claim 5, which further limits claim 1, Notredame’390 does not teach wherein the control information includes information indicating a storage location of status data indicating progress of the image process, the image processing unit stores the status data at the storage location, and the control unit executes a process according to the status data stored at the storage location.
Yamashita’580 teaches wherein the control information includes information indicating a storage location of status data indicating progress of the image process, the image processing unit stores the status data at the storage location [monitoring a hot folder such that when a file is being detected (available status of a file) (status data indicating progress of the image process) in the hot holder, the file is being transmitted to a printer device for printing (paragraph 33)], and
the control unit executes a process according to the status data stored at the storage location [monitoring a hot folder such that when a file is being detected (available status of a file) (status data indicating progress of the image process) in the hot holder, the file is being transmitted to a printer device for printing (paragraph 33)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Notredame’390 according to the teaching of Yamashita’580 to include hot folders to enable the system to perform image data transmission and the desired operations on the RIP system (Fig.10, item 1009), the rapid merge system (Fig.10, item 1003) and the decompress & screening system (Fig.10, item 1017) because this will allow the image data be processed more effectively in a system.
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682