DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 02/26/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 02/26/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent Application 18/587,464 in view of Goebel et al. (US 20070275288 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent Application 18/587,464 also claims a fuel cell stack comprising all elements of claim 1 of the instant application:
A cell stacked body formed by stacking a plurality of power generation cells each having an electrolyte membrane in a predetermined direction.
An exhaust gas flow path penetrating the cell stacked body in the predetermined direction so as to discharge a reaction gas supplied to the plurality of power generation cells.
A second opening communicating with the exhaust gas flow paths between an end on a small diameter side of the reduced diameter portion and the outlet of the exhaust gas flow path, which is not patentably distinct from a flow path forming portion forming a drainage flow path so that water flows from an upstream side to a downstream side of the exhaust gas flow path, as the second opening is necessarily an exhaust gas flow path forming portion, forming a drainage flow path. It is known at the time of the invention that water is present in exhaust gases of fuel cell stacks, as is disclosed in Goebel [0006], and that water would flow from an upstream side to a downstream side of the exhaust gas flow path.
A communicating tube disposed in the exhaust gas flow path so as to communicate with an upstream side and a downstream side of the exhaust gas flow path respectively through a first opening and a second opening of the communicating tube, which is not patentably distinct from a flow path forming portion including a communicating tube disposed in the exhaust gas flow path so as to communicate with the upstream side and the downstream side of the exhaust gas flow path respectively through a first opening and a second opening of the communicating tube, as the communicating tube is disposed in the exhaust gas flow path so as to communicate with the upstream side and downstream side through a first and second opening in both claims.
The exhaust gas flow path includes a reduced diameter portion configured to gradually decrease a flow path area toward an outlet of the exhaust gas flow path, which is not patentably distinct from a flow path forming portion further including a diaphragm portion at an inlet of the drainage flow path, as a diaphragm portion necessarily forms an inlet of the drainage flow path and a reduced diameter portion configured to gradually decrease a flow path area toward an outlet of the exhaust gas flow path.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent Application 18/587,464. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reduced diameter portion configured to gradually decrease a flow path area toward an outlet of the exhaust gas flow path in claim, which is not patentably distinct from the diaphragm portion, is already provided in the communicating tube disclosed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Goebel et al. (US 20070275288 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goebel discloses a fuel cell stack [0011], a cell stacked body formed by stacking a plurality of power generation cells each having an electrolyte membrane in a predetermined direction [0092], an exhaust gas flow path penetrating the cell stacked body in the predetermined direction so as to discharge a reaction gas supplied to the plurality of power generation cells [0059], and a flow path forming portion forming a drainage flow path so that water flows from an upstream side to a downstream side of the exhaust gas flow path [Fig 17, represented between plates 240 and 242], wherein the flow path forming portion includes a communicating tube disposed in the exhaust gas flow path so as to communicate with the upstream side and the downstream side of the exhaust gas flow path respectively through a first opening and a second opening of the communicating tube [Fig 17, 244 and 246], and the flow path forming portion further includes a diaphragm portion at an inlet of the drainage flow path [Fig 17, diaphragm circled below].
Regarding claim 2, Goebel discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Goebel also discloses a diaphragm portion provided in the communicating tube [Fig 17, diaphragm circled below].
Regarding claim 3, Goebel discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Goebel also discloses a communicating tube including a first end portion at which the first opening is provided and a second end portion at which the second opening is provided [Fig 17]. Goebel discloses a tube support portion supporting the first end portion [0072, 0076, Fig 10]. For clarity, Figures 10 and 17 are produced below. The cathode side bipolar plate 114 in figure 10 [described in 0076] is also represented as the cathode side bipolar plate 242 in figure 17 [described in 0083]. Goebel describes the use of shims to create tunnels and support seal loads [0072]. The shims [elements 122 and 126] and raised portion (element 128), by maintaining seal integrity of the cathode side of the fuel cell [0076], are functioning as a tube support portion.
Regarding claim 7, Goebel discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Goebel also discloses a tube support portion provided in a manner bulged upward from a bottom surface of the exhaust gas flow path. Figure 10 is produced below for clarity. Goebel discloses a raised portion 128 and shim 126, and that the combination of the shim and the raised portion maintain the seal integrity of the cathode side of the fuel cell. As a raised portion is necessarily bulged upward, the tube support portion is provided in a manner bulged upward from a bottom surface of the exhaust gas flow path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goebel et al. (US 20070275288 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ishida (US 20150104729 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Goebel discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Goebel does not disclose a division portion provided at an inlet of the drainage flow path so as to cross the drainage flow path to divide water. Ishida teaches a buffer provided in the vicinity of reactive gas inlet and outlet manifolds, to cause smooth flow of the reactive gas over entire electrode reaction surfaces [Ishida 0008]. Goebel and Ishida pertain to the same field of invention, fuel cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the buffers disclosed in Ishida to the fuel cell disclosed in Goebel, in order to cause smooth flow of the reactive gas over entire electrode reaction surfaces [Ishida 0008]. For clarity, Ishida Figure 4 is produced below. The oxidant gas inlet buffer [Ishida Figure 4 element 28] divides the flow path between a first oxidant gas inlet buffer region 28a and a more deeply grooved second oxidant gas inlet buffer region 28b [0037]. Goebel discloses that cathode exhaust gases include water as a stack by-product [Goebel 0006]. By applying the oxidant gas inlet buffer taught by Ishida to the drainage flow path disclosed by Goebel, the buffer would necessarily act as a division portion provided at an inlet of the drainage flow path so as to cross the drainage flow path to divide water.
Regarding claim 5, modified Goebel discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Goebel further discloses a division portion provided at a diaphragm portion. For clarity, Ishida Figure 4 and Goebel Figure 17 have been produced below. The first oxidant gas inlet buffer 28 includes a first oxidant gas inlet buffer region 28a [Ishida 0037]. It can be seen in Ishida Figure 4 that the first oxidant gas inlet buffer region 28a is provided in a diaphragm portion in Ishida, as shown below [Ishida Figure 4]. When applying the oxidant gas inlet buffer to the fuel cell in Goebel, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to provide the oxidant gas inlet buffer at the diaphragm portion.
Regarding claim 6, modified Goebel discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Goebel further discloses a division portion provided to divide the first opening into a plurality of regions. For clarity, Ishida Figure 4 has been produced below. The first oxidant gas inlet buffer 28 includes a first oxidant gas inlet buffer region 28a and a second oxidant gas inlet buffer region 28b. The buffer taught by Ishida, when applied to Goebbel, acts as a division portion to divide the first opening into a plurality of regions.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goebel et al. (US 20070275288 A1) as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Nonoyama et al. (US 20180241069 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Goebel discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Goebel does not disclose an insulator disposed outside the cell stacked body in the predetermined direction, wherein the tube support portion is provided at the insulator. Nonoyama discloses an insulator disposed outside the cell stacked body in the predetermined direction, wherein the tube support portion is provided at the insulator, for electrically insulating the end plates of the fuel cell [Nonoyama 0032]. Goebel and Nonoyama pertain to the same field of invention, fuel cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the insulating plates from Nonoyama to the fuel cell stack in Goebel, because the outermost plates of the fuel cell stack would be exposed without providing a frame or other structure around the fuel cell disclosed in Goebel. The tube supporting portion disclosed in Goebel comprises a raised portion of the cathode side bipolar plate [Goebel 0076]. With the insulating plates disclosed in Nonoyama applied to the fuel cell disclosed in Goebel, the insulating plates would be adjacent to the cathode side bipolar plate, and the insulator would be disposed outside the cell body in the predetermined direction, with the tube support portion provided at the insulator.
Correspondence
/G.W.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1781
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781