DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 4/24/2026. The instant application has claims 1-20 pending. The system, method and medium for porting an phone number using an mobile virtual network operator. There a total of 20 claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant filing of terminal disclaimer obviates the double patenting rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues the GUI that receives the parameters is not taught by cited prior art.
Jiang discloses the MNPS that provides seamless implementation of services including call-related service and non-call related services being carried on computer system which would include an GUI see Par. 0026. This includes message like acknowledgement and update messages based on parameters that client would need, which would be presented on an GUI as output see Par. 0037 & Par. 0039.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub 2007/0155382 to Jiang in view of US Patent Pub 2007/0191011 to Jiang 2.
Regarding claim 1, 11, 20, Jiang discloses A method comprising: receiving, by a graphical user interface at a mobile virtual network operator, a client identifier as a request; and outputting automatically, a plurality of values that are specific to a client assigned to the client identifier (Fig. 2 item 202-204, the ported-out numbers & Par. 0026-0027 & Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client); wherein the plurality of values that are specific to the client assigned to the client identifier comprises a designation of which mobile network operator is currently serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator from among a plurality of mobile network operators that are serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator(Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client & Par. 0031, subscriber unique identifiers).
Jiang does not disclose by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Jiang 2 discloses by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request(Par. 009 & Par. 0021 & Par. 0023 & Par. 0035-0036, the program and the post message for routing procedures for maintains the profiles of the subscriber)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Jiang invention to incorporate by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request for the advantage of providing an operator easy access to make changes as taught in Jiang 2 see Par. 0024.
Regarding claim 2, 12, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of values further comprises at least one from a set comprising a client account identifier, an international mobile equipment identity of a device of the client, an integrated circuit card identification number for a subscription identity module of a device of the client, or a zip code of the client(Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client & Par. 0031, subscriber unique identifiers).
Regarding claim 3, 13, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of values further comprises at least two from the set comprising the client account identifier, the international mobile equipment identity of the device of the client, the integrated circuit card identification number for the subscription identity module of a device of the client, or the zip code of the client(Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client & Par. 0031, subscriber unique identifiers).
Regarding claim 4, 14, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the plurality of values further comprises each one from the set comprising the client account identifier, the international mobile equipment identity of the device of the client, the integrated circuit card identification number for the subscription identity module of a device of the client, or the zip code of the client (Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client & Par. 0031, subscriber unique identifiers) .
Regarding claim 5, 15, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang 2 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the request is received from an agent of the mobile virtual network operator through a frontend graphical user interface(Par. 009 & Par. 0021 & Par. 0023 & Par. 0035-0036, the program and the post message for routing procedures for maintains the profiles of the subscriber).
Regarding claim 6, 16, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 5, wherein outputting automatically, by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request, the plurality of values that are specific to the client assigned to the client identifier facilitates the agent administering a network switch of the client from a source mobile network operator that is serving the client to a target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator(Par. 0033 & Fig. 1 & Par. 009-011, the ported-out to ported-in on different network based on identifiers).
Regarding claim 7, 17, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising the mobile virtual network operator performing the network switch in response to outputting automatically the plurality of values(par. 0031, the subscriber identifiers are shown by the HLR-S).
Regarding claim 8, 18, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the network switch is performed at least in part by the mobile virtual network operator invoking a port in application programming interface at a mobile virtual network enabler to port in a phone number of the client to a target network infrastructure of the target mobile network operator(Par. 0033 & Fig. 1 & Par. 009-011 & abstract, the ported-out to ported-in on different network based on identifiers). .
Regarding claim 9, 19, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the request is issued in response to the mobile virtual network operator detecting a deficiency in service provided by the mobile virtual network operator to the client(Par. 0037, the location update results in weak connection & Par. 0034, Roaming Number).
Regarding claim 10. The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the mobile virtual network operator detects the deficiency in service by receiving a report from the client(Par. 0037, the location update results in weak connection & Par. 0034, Roaming Number).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov