DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 2/26/2024. The instant application has claims 1-20 pending. The system, method and medium for porting an phone number using an mobile virtual network operator. There a total of 20 claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawing filed on 2/26/2024 has been accepted and in compliance of 37 CFR 1.83 & 37 CFR 1.84.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 2/26/2024 is accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/587440 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over the claims of ‘440 application. The steps involved are similar, uses the similar elements and has the similar goal.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
US App # 18587513
US App # 18/587440
Comments
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a graphical user interface at a mobile virtual network operator, a client identifier as a request; and outputting automatically, by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request, a plurality of values that are specific to a client assigned to the client identifier; wherein the plurality of values that are specific to the client assigned to the client identifier comprises a designation of which mobile network operator is currently serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator from among a plurality of mobile network operators that are serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator.
1. A method comprising: receiving, at a mobile virtual network operator, a request for the mobile virtual network operator to perform a network switch by porting a phone number of a client of the mobile virtual network operator from a source network infrastructure of a source mobile network operator that is serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator to a target network infrastructure of a target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator; porting out, by the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request, the phone number from the source network infrastructure of the source mobile network operator; and porting in, by the mobile virtual network operator in response to the same request, the phone number into the target network infrastructure of the target mobile network operator such that the mobile virtual network operator provides telecommunication service to the client through the target network infrastructure.
The instant claim 1 and claim 1 of ‘440 application recites the port-out and port-in of mobile numbers using an mobile virtual network operator. Thus, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to include specific details about target mobile network operator and phone number from an source mobile network operator in order to provide details about the service being provided as mentioned in US Patent Pub 2007/0155382 to Jiang see Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub 2007/0155382 to Jiang in view of US Patent Pub 2007/0191011 to Jiang 2.
Regarding claim 1, 11, 20, Jiang discloses A method comprising: receiving, by a graphical user interface at a mobile virtual network operator, a client identifier as a request; and outputting automatically, a plurality of values that are specific to a client assigned to the client identifier (Fig. 2 item 202-204, the ported-out numbers & Par. 0026-0027 & Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client); wherein the plurality of values that are specific to the client assigned to the client identifier comprises a designation of which mobile network operator is currently serving the client for the mobile virtual network operator from among a plurality of mobile network operators that are serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator(Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client & Par. 0031, subscriber unique identifiers).
Jiang does not disclose by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Jiang 2 discloses by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request(Par. 009 & Par. 0021 & Par. 0023 & Par. 0035-0036, the program and the post message for routing procedures for maintains the profiles of the subscriber)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Jiang invention to incorporate by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request for the advantage of providing an operator easy access to make changes as taught in Jiang 2 see Par. 0024.
Regarding claim 2, 12, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of values further comprises at least one from a set comprising a client account identifier, an international mobile equipment identity of a device of the client, an integrated circuit card identification number for a subscription identity module of a device of the client, or a zip code of the client(Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client & Par. 0031, subscriber unique identifiers).
Regarding claim 3, 13, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of values further comprises at least two from the set comprising the client account identifier, the international mobile equipment identity of the device of the client, the integrated circuit card identification number for the subscription identity module of a device of the client, or the zip code of the client(Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client & Par. 0031, subscriber unique identifiers).
Regarding claim 4, 14, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the plurality of values further comprises each one from the set comprising the client account identifier, the international mobile equipment identity of the device of the client, the integrated circuit card identification number for the subscription identity module of a device of the client, or the zip code of the client (Par. 0065, the IMSI message or Called Party Address(CdPA) are the values associated with client & Par. 0031, subscriber unique identifiers) .
Regarding claim 5, 15, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang 2 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the request is received from an agent of the mobile virtual network operator through a frontend graphical user interface(Par. 009 & Par. 0021 & Par. 0023 & Par. 0035-0036, the program and the post message for routing procedures for maintains the profiles of the subscriber).
Regarding claim 6, 16, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 5, wherein outputting automatically, by the graphical user interface at the mobile virtual network operator in response to the request, the plurality of values that are specific to the client assigned to the client identifier facilitates the agent administering a network switch of the client from a source mobile network operator that is serving the client to a target mobile network operator that is serving clients for the mobile virtual network operator(Par. 0033 & Fig. 1 & Par. 009-011, the ported-out to ported-in on different network based on identifiers).
Regarding claim 7, 17, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising the mobile virtual network operator performing the network switch in response to outputting automatically the plurality of values(par. 0031, the subscriber identifiers are shown by the HLR-S).
Regarding claim 8, 18, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the network switch is performed at least in part by the mobile virtual network operator invoking a port in application programming interface at a mobile virtual network enabler to port in a phone number of the client to a target network infrastructure of the target mobile network operator(Par. 0033 & Fig. 1 & Par. 009-011 & abstract, the ported-out to ported-in on different network based on identifiers). .
Regarding claim 9, 19, The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the request is issued in response to the mobile virtual network operator detecting a deficiency in service provided by the mobile virtual network operator to the client(Par. 0037, the location update results in weak connection & Par. 0034, Roaming Number).
Regarding claim 10. The combined method/system of Jiang and Jiang 2, mutatis mutandis, Jiang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the mobile virtual network operator detects the deficiency in service by receiving a report from the client(Par. 0037, the location update results in weak connection & Par. 0034, Roaming Number).
Conclusion
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov