Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022136334 see page 8, paragraph [0040]-[0043], [0056] and page,10 paragraph [0072]-[0074]; in view of CN102977137A see page 2, lines 22-30 and page 3 lines 17-21.
Claim 1 is directed to:
A depolymerization liquid generation system, comprising: a depolymerization liquid generation device configured to knead waste plastics and predetermined liquid to generate depolymerization liquid; a depolymerization liquid concentration device configured to heat the depolymerization liquid generated by the depolymerization liquid generation device to separate the depolymerization liquid into concentrated depolymerization liquid and gas; and a condensing device configured to condense the gas separated by the depolymerization liquid concentration device to generate condensed liquid, wherein the depolymerization liquid generation device includes a kneader configured to knead the waste plastics and the predetermined liquid, wherein the condensed liquid generated by the condensing device is mixed into the kneader.
WO2022136334 processing waste plastic material and describes melting and kneading pretreatment and feeding the plastic to the depolymerization reactor. See page 8, paragraph [0040]-[0043], [0056]. It also teaches combining the molten waste plastic with hydrocarbon oil before it enters the depolymerization reactor.
WO2022136334 also teaches the reactor contents having both a liquid slurry phase and a gaseous phase. See page,10 paragraph [0072]-[0074].
WO2022136334 does not disclose the recycled condensed liquid into the kneader.
CN102977137 discloses recovering condensate in a collection tank and reusing the condensate in the depolymerization reaction. See page 2, lines 22-30 and page 3 lines 17-21.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022136334 to recycle recovered condensate back into the depolymerization feed and kneading stages as taught by CN102977137 to recover useful material and reuse it as reaction material.
Claim 2 is directed to:
The depolymerization liquid generation system according to claim 1, wherein the depolymerization liquid generation device further includes a heater configured to heat the predetermined liquid supplied to the kneader.
WO2022136334 discloses heating by using a plastic feed depolymerization system. The reference teaches premixing molten waste plastic with hydrocarbon oil before entering the reaction and also shows the use of an external heater. See page 8 paragraph [0056] and page,10 paragraph [0068].
Claim 3 is directed to:
The depolymerization liquid generation system according to claim 1, wherein the depolymerization liquid generation device further includes a liquid storage tank configured to store the predetermined liquid supplied to the kneader, wherein the condensed liquid generated by the condensing device is mixed into the kneader through the liquid storage tank.
CN102977137 discloses a condensate collection tank receiving the condensed liquid and the liquid is collected and is reused in the depolymerization reaction.
See page 2, lines 22-30 and page 3, lines 17-21.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022136334 to have a collection and storage tank to temporarily collect recovered condensate before returning it to the depolymerization feed.
Claim 4 is directed to:
The depolymerization liquid generation system according to claim 1, further comprising: a heat exchanger configured to cool the depolymerization liquid generated by the depolymerization liquid generation device by heat exchange with heating medium; and a circulation device configured to circulate the heating medium between the heat exchanger and the depolymerization liquid concentration device, wherein the depolymerization liquid concentration device heats the depolymerization liquid by heat exchange with the heating medium.
WO2022136334 discloses transferring heat to the depolymerization reactor through the reactor jacket and an external heat exchanger and states that the molten salt heating medium is circulated using a circulation pump. Thus the reference discloses the heat exchanger, heating medium, circulation pump and depolymerization reactor arrangement. See page 9 paragraph [0061] –[0062].
Claim 5 is directed to:
The depolymerization liquid generation system according to claim 4, further comprising: a depolymerization liquid storage device configured to store the depolymerization liquid supplied to the depolymerization liquid concentration device, wherein the depolymerization liquid cooled by the heat exchanger is stored in the depolymerization liquid storage device.
WO2022136334 discloses a heat exchange circulation system in page 9 paragraphs [0061]-[0062].
CN102977137 discloses collection storage of the depolymerization liquid and the reuse thereof. See page 2 lines 29-30 and page 3 lines 17-21.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022136334 to have a storage vessel for the cooled depolymerization liquid before it is reused in the process.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022136334 see page 8, paragraph [0040]-[0043], [0056] and page,10 paragraph [0072]-[0074]; in view of CN102977137A see page 2, lines 22-30 and page 3 lines 17-21 further in view of CN1068105 see Embodiment 2.
Claim 6 is directed to:
The depolymerization liquid generation system according to claim 4, wherein the heating medium is water.
Neither WO2022136334 nor CN102977137 discloses that the heat medium is water. Note however CN1068105A disclose in Embodiment 2 that water may be used in the stream in a similar recycled system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022136334 in view CN102977137 by using water as the heating medium as in CN1068105A since the reference teach the use of water in liquid streams in a similar systems.
Claim 7 is directed to:
The depolymerization liquid generation system according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined liquid is water.
Neither WO2022136334 nor CN102977137 discloses that the predetermined liquid is water. Note however CN1068105A disclose in Embodiment 2 that water may be used in the stream in a similar recycled system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022136334 in view CN102977137 by using water as the predetermined liquid as in CN1068105A since the reference is directed to the recirculation of liquid (containing water) in a similar systems.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765