DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 5, 8 – 9 and 11 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (US 20150048057 A1), hereinafter Wada, in view of O’Neill (WO 9836865 A1) and hereinafter “O’Neill”.
Regarding claim 1, Wada discloses a welding system (welding system 500, see FIG.9), comprising:
a welding torch (a welding torch 1, see FIG.9) comprising a non-consumable electrode (a non-consumable electrode 2, see FIG.9) configured to establish an arc between the non-consumable electrode and a workpiece (the non-consumable electrode 2 establishes arc between the electrode and an object to be welded, (0163));
a wire feeder (a wire feeder 502, see FIG.9) coupled to the welding torch and configured to direct a welding wire toward the workpiece at a location of the arc (the wire feeder 502 is attached to the welding torch 1 and configured to deliver welding wire 10 towards the object to be welded (0151, 0169 and see FIG.9)); and
control circuitry (a control device 506, see FIG.9) configured to control at least one of a current to the arc, a wire feed speed of the welding wire, or preheat energy applied to the welding wire (the control device 506 controls the welding wire feeder 502, adjusts wire feed speed, controls power delivered to the welding torch 1 from the welding power source 501, (0156 – 0157)), to deliver the welding wire to the workpiece such that the welding wire applies a physical force to the workpiece prior to melting (when an end side of the welding wire 10 is delivered to the object to be welded S during welding, a pushing force is applied by the welding wire onto the object before melting and the distance D and angle between the non-consumable electrode 2 and the welding wire 10 is adjusted to control the pushing force of the welding wire in a non-melting or semi-melting state and the welding wire transfer configuration (bridge, droplet configurations), (0115 - 0116 , 0119 – 0120 and see FIG.2)).
Wada does not explicitly teach the pushing force applied by the welding wire onto the object before melting is to push the welding torch along the workpiece.
However, O’Neill that relates to welding wire feeding techniques and apparatus for TIG welding (page 1, lines 1 – 5), also teaches that the welding wire is controlled to be fed at reasonable angle to the workpiece in a manner such that the resultant push force of the welding wire to the workpiece, propels the welding torch in a direction of the weld to be formed on the workpiece, (page 10, line 143 – page 11, line 05, and see claims 1, 12 & 25).
Further, O’Neil discusses this is advantageous in keeping the welding wire feed rate constant and proportional as the torch is propelled forward during welding to produce a smooth and quality weld free from ridges and waves and compared to traditional welding methods wherein the operator must draw the torch along the workpiece and worry about synchronizing torch draw rate with the wire feed rate , this yielded a three-fold increase in welding speed, that less experienced operators could also weld at faster rates, and still produce exceptional quality welds, (page 12, lines 5 – 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pushing force applied by the welding wire to the workpiece of Wada to be controlled in a manner such that the resultant push force of the welding wire to the workpiece, propels the welding torch in a direction of the weld to be formed on the workpiece, in order to keep the welding wire feed rate constant and proportional as the torch is propelled forward resulting in producing a quality welds with less experienced operators at faster rates as taught in O’Neill.
Regarding claim 4, Wada in view of O’Neill teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the at least one of the current to the arc, the wire feed speed of the welding wire, or the preheat energy applied to the welding wire based on a property of the workpiece (the control device 506 controls the welding wire feeder 502, adjusts wire feed speed, controls power delivered to the welding torch 1 from the welding power source 501, (0156 – 0157)) and welding current , welding wire diameter , and feed speed are selected for different metal type workpieces (SUS304, UNS S32750, austenite stainless steel) and sheet thickness(8, 10, and 12mm) to be welded, Wada (0174 - 0200)).
Regarding claim 5, Wada in view of O’Neill teaches the welding system as defined in claim 4, wherein the property of the workpiece comprises a workpiece thickness, a joint type, or a joint dimension (austenite stainless steel sheets, sheet thickness (8, 10, 12mm) are butt welded, Wada (0174 – 0200)).
Regarding claim 8, Wada in view of O’Neill teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, further comprising a wire nozzle attached to the welding torch and configured to direct the welding wire from the wire feeder toward the workpiece (feeding head 12 attached to the outer circumference section of the torch 1 by the attaching jig 14 to deliver the welding wire 10 from the wire feeder 502 to the workpiece via the liner 13 , Wada (0155 001516 and see FIG.9)).
Regarding claim 9, Wada in view of O’Neill teaches the welding system as defined in claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the at least one of the current to the arc, the wire feed speed of the welding wire, or the preheat energy applied to the welding wire based on an angle between the non-consumable electrode and the wire nozzle (angle of the welding wire determines the speed torch assembly being propelled away from the newly formed weld is kept to a proportional speed by which the welding wire is fed into the weld zone, O’Neill (page 11, lines 17 – 19 and see claim 2)).
Regarding claim 11, Wada in view of O’Neill teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, further comprising an input device configured to provide an input signal to the control circuitry, the control circuitry configured to adjust the at least one of the current to the arc, the wire feed speed of the welding wire, or the preheat energy applied to the welding wire (a remote control 507 for remotely conducting various operations is electrically connected to the wire control device 506 via a connection cable C11, Wanda (0159 and see FIG.9)).
Regarding claim 12, Wada discloses a method to perform welding (welding methods in examples 1 – 3, (0173 – 0200)), the method comprising:
selecting an arc current to be provided by a non-consumable electrode of a welding torch (selecting a welding current provided to a non-consumable electrode, (0176 – 0177, 0183 – 0184 and 0192 - 0193)), a welding wire having a wire diameter (selecting a welding wire diameter, (0178, 0185 and 0194)), and a wire feed speed of the welding wire (selecting welding wire delivering speed, (0178, 0185 and 0194 ));
initiating welding of a workpiece using the non-consumable electrode (conducting butt welding using welding torch 1that has a non-consumable electrode 2, (0174, 0176 and see FIG.9)); and
guiding the welding torch while delivery of the welding wire to the workpiece pushes the welding torch along the workpiece (welding with welding torch 1 while adjusting the distance D and angle between the non-consumable electrode 2 and the welding wire 10 to control the pushing force of the welding wire in a non-melting or semi-melting state and the welding wire transfer configuration (bridge, droplet configurations), (0114 - 0116 , 0119 – 0120 and see FIG.2)).
Wada is not explicit in the welding wire push is guiding the welding torch along the workpiece.
However, O’Neill teaches that the welding wire is controlled to be fed at reasonable angle to the workpiece in a manner such that the resultant push force of the welding wire to the workpiece, propels the welding torch in a direction of the weld to be formed on the workpiece, (page 10, line 143 – page 11, line 05, and see claims 1, 12 & 25).
Further, O’Neil discusses this is advantageous in keeping the welding wire feed rate constant and proportional as the torch is propelled forward during welding to produce a smooth and quality weld free from ridges and waves and compared to traditional welding methods wherein the operator must draw the torch along the workpiece and worry about synchronizing torch draw rate with the wire feed rate , this yielded a three-fold increase in welding speed, that less experienced operators could also weld at faster rates, and still produce exceptional quality welds, (page 12, lines 5 – 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pushing force applied by the welding wire to the workpiece of Wada to be controlled in a manner such that the resultant push force of the welding wire to the workpiece, propelling or guiding the welding torch in a direction of the weld to be formed on the workpiece, in order to keep the welding wire feed rate constant and proportional as the torch is propelled forward resulting in producing a quality welds with less experienced operators at faster rates as taught in O’Neill.
Regarding claim 13, Wada in view of O’Neill teaches the method as defined in claim 12, further comprising adjusting an angle between the wire and the workpiece to change a push force of the welding wire on the workpiece (adjusting the feed angle and/or direction of the welding wire to the workpiece to change a push force of the wire, O’Neill (page 10, line 143 – page 11, line 08, page 16, lines 13 – 16 and page 19, lines 13 – 14)).
Claim(s) 2 – 3, 6 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada in view of O’Neill in further view of Stol (US 4580026 A) and hereinafter “Stol”.
Regarding claim 2, Wada in view of O’Neill teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein a combined a hot wire and composite welding is conducted, preliminary warming the welding wire 10 to increase welding speed weld deposit, Wada (0147).
Wada in view of O’Neill does not explicitly teach comprising a wire preheater configured to apply the preheat energy to the welding wire.
However, Stol that relates to a non-consumable electrode 43 arc welding (4:20 – 5:13 and see FIGS. 2 – 3 and 5), also teaches a preheating power supply (53, P), see FIGS.2 – 3 and 5, supplying current to preheat a welding wire before supplied to the workpiece, (4:45 – 52).
This is advantageous in softening up the welding wire to have a low electric resistance enabling welding with some metals with a relatively low welding current, (4: 55 – 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the welding system of claim 1 taught by Wada in view of O’Neill to include a preheating power supply to soften up the welding wire in order to weld with a welding torch that would not require a high welding power to produce the weld.
Regarding claim 3, Wada in view of O’Neill in further view of Stol teaches the welding system as defined in claim 2.
Wada in view of O’Neill in further view of Stol does not explicitly teach that the control circuitry is configured to control the preheat energy applied to the welding wire based on the wire feed speed of the welding wire and a wire diameter of the welding wire.
However, Stol further teaches a preheating controller “C” configured to control the preheating current based on the wire feed rate (WFR) and diameter of the wire, (7:43 – 8:33 and see FIG.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller of the Wada in view of O’Neill to include to control the preheat energy applied to the welding wire based on the wire feed speed of the welding wire and a wire diameter of the welding wire in order to adjust the a suitable preheating current for different wire feed speeds and diameters as taught in Stol.
Regarding claim 6, Wada in view of O’Neill in further view of Stol teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to: determine a travel speed based on a property of the workpiece and the current to the arc (the controller selects the arc current for different types of metal workpieces (see examples 1 – 3) , Wada (0174 – 0200)); and determine the wire feed speed and the preheat energy based on the travel speed and a diameter of the welding wire (different wire feed speeds and welding wire diameters are selected in the examples , Wada (0174 – 0200), further preheating current of the welding wire is controlled based on the wire feed speed and diameter of the welding wire, Stol (7:43 – 8:33 and see FIG.5), thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate determining the travel speed (welding speed) based on the property of the workpiece and the arc current as these parameters determine weld pool formation).
Regarding claim 7, Wada in view of O’Neill in further view of Stol teaches the welding system as defined in claim 6, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the preheat energy based on a type of the welding wire (the preheating current is determined based the alloy type and diameter of the welding wire, Stol (7:43 – 8:33 and see FIG.5)).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada in view of O’Neill in further view of Takada et al. (US 5728991 A) and hereinafter “Takada”.
Regarding claim 10, Wada in view of O’Neill teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, further comprising a standoff attached to the welding torch, the standoff positioned to set a lower distance limit between the non-consumable electrode and the workpiece (wherein a distance H from the tip end of non-consumable electrode 2 to the welding pool P of the workpiece in the vertical direction is set (3, 5 , or 10 mm) manually by the eye of the operator Wada (0121 – 0122 and see FIGS.3A – 3B)).
Wada in view of O’Neill does not explicitly teach a standoff attached to the welding torch.
However, Takada that relates to a plasma arc welding apparatus (1: 05 – 10), also teaches a torch holder 14 attached to the torch 7 to adjust the required standoff length L between the torch and the workpiece, (6: 20 – 46 and please see FIG.5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the welding torch of Wada to further include a standoff attached to the welding torch in order to provide a reliable structure that sets the required standoff length between the welding torch and the workpiece as taught in Takada.
Conclusion
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761