DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 02/26/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 2-7, 10-14, 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1, 8-9, 15 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravi Gidvani et al (US 20170273017 A1) in view of Yuchen Guo et al (US 20230363001 A1) & Sundaresan Sundaram et al (US 20140029494 A1).
Claims 1-20 of the instant application are directed to an access point (AP) receiving, via the transceiver operating in a low power receive (LPR) state, a first uplink (UL) multi-user (MU)-Request to Send (RTS) frame, wherein the AP has implemented a UL MU-RTS power save feature; initiating transitioning the transceiver to a full power state during a first padding duration corresponding to the first UL MU-RTS frame; receiving, subsequent to transitioning to the full power state, first data via the transceiver; and transitioning, subsequent to receiving the first data, the transceiver to the LPR state, the system shown in FIG. 4A.
The Gidvani reference is concerned with an AP 105-b powering down RF chains in 315; receiving a RTS from Station 115-b; powering up RF chains in 325 subsequent to receipt of the RTS ; and performing data communication with the Station in 335, the system shown in FIG. 3.
The Guo reference, cures the deficiency in the Gidvani reference by teaching First AP receiving, from First STA, first frame in S202, wherein the first frame is an MU-RTS frame. First AP further determines the determined padding duration in S203, the system shown in FIG. 9.
For Claim 1, Gidvani discloses an access point (AP) comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver (Gidvani teaches, in FIG. 5, is a diagram of an AP 105, comprising receiver 505, RTS/CTS mode manager 510, and transmitter 515), configured to: receive, via the transceiver operating in a low power receive (LPR) state (Gidvani teaches, in FIG. 3, step 315, the AP 105-b power down RF chains), a first uplink (UL) multi-user (MU)-Request to Send (RTS) frame (Gidvani teaches, in FIG. 3, step 320, that while an AP 105-b has powered down RF chains receiving a RTS from Station 115-b), wherein the AP has implemented a UL MU-RTS power save feature; initiate transitioning the transceiver to a full power state (Gidvani teaches, in FIG. 3, step 325, the AP 105-b powering up RF chains); and receive, subsequent to transitioning to the full power state, first data via the transceiver (Gidvani teaches, in FIG. 3, step 335, that while an AP 105-b has powered up RF chains, AP 105-b and STA 115-b communicate data therebetween).
Gidvani fails to expressly disclose a MU-RTS; and a first padding duration corresponding to the first UL MU-RTS frame.
However, Guo, in analogous art, discloses a MU-RTS; and a first padding duration corresponding to the first UL MU-RTS frame (Guo teaches, in FIG. 9, step S202, that The first STA transmits the first frame. Correspondingly, a first AP receives the first frame. Then, in step S203, The first AP determines padding duration of an initial control frame. Guo explain in ¶ 0146, that if the initial control frame is an MU-RTS frame, the determined padding duration includes: the padding duration=first delay−2×SIFS−duration of the control response frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Gidvani with the padding duration taught in Guo. The motivation is so that so that a non-AP MLD can complete switching of a quantity of transmission channels before a subsequent data frame arrives [Guo: ¶ 0006].
Gidvani & Guo fail to expressly disclose an AP transition, subsequent to receiving the first data, the transceiver to the LPR state.
However, Sundaram, in analogous art, discloses a MU-RTS; and a first padding duration corresponding to the first UL MU-RTS frame (Sundaram teaches, in ¶ 0032, that this step can optionally include returning the access point transceiver into sleep mode, if it is so capable, when there is no usage of the access point transceiver.) Guo further teaches in ¶ 0030, This step can optionally include the mobile device sending a wake up request to an access point over the non-network (optical) spectrum in order for the AP to turn on its Wi-Fi transceiver if it was in sleep mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Gidvani & Guo with the novel technique for power saving taught in Sundaram. The motivation is to enable devices to turn-on their Wi-Fi reception without requiring expensive cellular hardware or special cellular protocols [Sundaram: ¶ 0033].
For Claim 8, Gidvani discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that a bandwidth for receiving the first data is greater than 20 MHz.
However, Guo, in analogous art, discloses that a bandwidth for receiving the first data is greater than 20 MHz (Guo teaches, in ¶ 0078, that A multi-link device [in FIG. 2] may simultaneously perform communication on the bands such as 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz, or simultaneously perform communication on different channels of a same band).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Gidvani with the multi-link device taught in Guo. The motivation is to increase a communication rate between devices [Guo: ¶ 0006].
For Claim 9, please refer to the rejection of Claim 1, above.
For Claim 15, please refer to the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-14, 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-7, 10-14, 16-20 are considered allowable because the prior art does not teach limitations including:
“configure, for a first Target Wake Time (TWT) service period (SP), a TWT UL MU-RTS AP power enhancement feature, wherein the transceiver operates in the LPR state outside of the first TWT SP, and the transceiver transitions to the full power state at a start of the first TWT SP,” in addition to other claim limitations as recited, in various permutations, in dependent claims 2, 5, 10-11, 16-17.
“transmitting a beacon comprising an impending lower availability indication for the second AP, wherein the impending lower availability indication comprises a number of target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) before a power change corresponding to the impending lower availability indication occurs,” in addition to other claim limitations as recited, in various permutations, in dependent claim 14.
“detecting a transmission from a legacy station (STA); and transitioning to the full power state based at least on the detecting, wherein the transitioning to the full power state occurs at a next beacon period,” in addition to other claim limitations as recited, in various permutations, in dependent claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: OUCHI (US 20230413332 A1) is pertinent to a communication apparatus complying with an IEEE 802.11 series standard receives a frame for requesting a TWT (Target Wake Time) operation from a first other communication apparatus among a plurality of other communication apparatuses connected to the communication apparatus, and makes a predetermined notification so as to limit a time length of a transmission frame by a second other communication apparatus different from the first other communication apparatus among the plurality of other communication apparatuses, in a case where it is determined that the frame is a frame for periodic Low Latency communication.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412