DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on February 26, 2024 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that searching all inventions may be found in same relevant art without imposing serious burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive because, as ndicated in the restriction requirement, non-prior art issues must be also considered during examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 requires “one or more of nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), potassium (K), … and additional trace minerals”. It is not clear whether these “additional trace minerals” is a required limitation. The claim is also vague and indefinite as it is unclear what these additional trace minerals applicant means to include in the scope of the invention.
The term “optionally” in Claims 11 and 12 renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 depends on claim 1 and requires “one or more vitamins, minerals, enzymes, and amino acids.” Since claim 1 requires an “enzyme blend” which already contains one or more enzymes by definition, the recitation of enzymes as an alternative limitation encompasses an embodiment which does not further limit the base claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 109090145 A, published December 28, 2018) as evidenced by Bennett et al. (US 20180163203 A1, published on June 14, 2018) (“Bennett” hereunder).
The present claim 1 is directed to a composition for promoting plant health and growth, the composition comprising: montmorillonite clay (MMT); and an enzyme blend;
wherein the enzyme blend comprises plant growth-promoting fungi (PGPF) or the enzyme blend comprises PGPF and plant growth-promoting rhizobacteria (PGPR); and
optionally, wherein the MMT and enzyme blend are present in a weight ratio of MMT:
enzyme blend from 95:5 to 5:95.
Zhang discloses a chafer natural killing preparation comprising montmorillonite powder and Trichoderma Harzianum, calcium sulphate, silicate bacteria, selenate, manganese, etc. As the fungi naturally releases enzymes such as cellulase and hemicellulase, the composition inherently contains an enzyme and meets the enzyme blend comprising a plant growth promoting fungi. See Bennett [0032, 0033]. Example 1 teaches that the composition is in the form of granules. See the present claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AgroSEB (“Biological compound to increase crop quality and yield”, Hung Thinh Vietnam Trade Promotion and Investment Services Co., 2020) in view of Riba et al. (FR 2648677 A, published on December 28, 1990) (“Riba” hereunder).
AgroSEB discloses an environmentally friendly blend of enzymes comprising many strains of beneficial bacteria, which promotes root growth and increases the absorption of nutrients, thereby resulting in increased crop quality and yield. The reference teaches that the product is used to soak seeds or mixed with water and sprayed on the soil.
AgroSEB fails to teach montmorillonite clay.
Riba discloses pesticide compositions based on microorganisms, the composition comprising entomopathogenic fungus and montmorillonite clay as the support for the fungus. See translation, abstract. The reference teaches that the composition is prepared by a fermentation process in solid medium and can be used by spreading directly as it leaves the fermenter without further treatment.
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of AgroSEB and use montmorillonite clay as a carrier in a dry formulation as motivated by Riba. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, as both references disclose soil conditioner comprising enzymes and microbes to improve plant growth, and Riba teaches using the clay as a solid carrier which enables spreading of the final product without further treatment. As both compositions contain enzymes and microbes useful for agricultural purposes, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully combining the references and producing a stable montmorillonite clay comprising the AgroSEB composition which can be conveniently used without further treatment. See also claim 4, which requires enzymes.
Regarding claim 2, Riba teaches that the support particles have a size between 100-1000 microns. See translation, P. 5, second full paragraph.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AgroSEB and Riba as applied to claims 1, 2, 4 and 13 and as evidenced by Tang (US 20100075826 A1, published on March 25, 2010).
Regarding claim 3, it is well known that montmorillonite clay commonly contains calcium. See Tang, [0090].
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AgroSEB and Riba as applied to claims 1, 2, 4 and 13, and further in view of applicant’s own disclosure.
Although AgroSEB does not disclose the specific enzymes and microbes in the formulation, applicant discloses that the product was commercially available and preformulated with A. orzae or B. subtilis, with minerals, vitamins and amino acids. It is viewed that the recited components of the present claims 5-12 were pre-existing contents of the purchased product available before the effective filing date of the present application, unless shown otherwise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Singh et al. (“Influence of Ethophon and AgroSEB on sprouting and cane field of sugarcane ratoon”, Indian Sugar, 2009, vol 58, no. 11, 19-22, ref 10) teaches that application of Agroseb, which contains microorganisms and enzymes, on a cane field improved in sprouting and cane yield compared to the control.
Trevino et al. (US 8409822 B2, published April 2, 2013) disclose compositions for delivery of enzymes in a dry state, the composition comprising porous silica loaded with enzymes within the pores of the silica granules.
Moussaoui (US 20200214286 A1, published on July 9, 2020) teaches biostimulants for enhancing crop productivity and for root development of plants. The reference discloses Fertiroots® composition comprising amino acids including alanine, cysteine, glutamine, serine, etc., as well as enzymes. See [0043]. The reference also discloses Fertiessential composition which further comprises minerals such as Epsom salt containing magnesium and vitamins in addition to the amino acids. See [0-81].
Robbins et al. (US 20220272987 A1, published on September 1, 2022) teach an agricultural composition comprising a biostimulant and a nutrient. The reference teaches phosphorous source, potassium source, calcium magnesium, sulfur, cobalt, copper, iron, manganese, zinc, selenium, sodium are useful as nutrients. See [0029].
Robbins further teaches that the biostimulant may be an amino acid, including glutamine, alanine, theonine, valine, serine, proline, isoleucine, leucine, histidine, phenylalanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid, cysteine, tyrosine and tryptophan.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617