DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Priority
This application has a provisional application number 63/451402 filed 03/10/2023.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated 02/26/2024 and 09/13/2024 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13-14, 16-17 and 19-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 line 1 recites “Claim” with upper case “C” suggests amend to lower case “c” for grammatical issue. Similar issue exists in claims 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13-14, 16-17 and 19-20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (US 2023/0180146 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda teaches a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
identifying a condition for providing an energy status report (ESR) (UE calculate available power headroom at step 610 for provide power headroom report (corresponding to energy status report) to the base station at step 625 see Takeda: Fig.6 ¶[0126-0127]; ¶[0129]);
determining one or more values of an available energy level corresponding to one or more time instances (determine power value for the time interval correspond to consecutive or non-consecutive reporting opportunities see Takeda: ¶[0127-0128]), wherein:
a first value of the available energy level, from the one or more values, at a first time instance, from the one or more time instances (At 610, UE 115-b may calculate an available power headroom relative to the transmission power threshold as a function of UE transmission power during the time interval in the control signaling see Takeda: ¶[0126]; Fig.6 step 610), is determined based on a first value of a maximum transmit energy level at the first time instance (available power headroom based on average transmit power and maximum permitted “The available power headroom may be the difference between the average transmit power and a maximum permitted, or threshold, transmission power of the UE 115” see Takeda: ¶[0093]), and
the first value of the maximum transmit energy level is determined based on the first time instance (maximum value of average power “if an average power exceeds a threshold value, such as a maximum value, the UE 115 may send a power headroom report” see Takeda: ¶[0094]);
determining a first ESR comprising the one or more values of the available energy level and the corresponding one or more time instances (calculated available power headroom for the time interval “The calculated available power headroom may indicate a difference between the transmission power threshold and the statistical transmission power value for the time interval” see Takeda: ¶[0127]; Fig.6 step 615);
determining uplink resources for transmission of a first uplink channel with the first ESR; and transmitting the first uplink channel with the first ESR in the uplink resources (determine expiration of time period and transmit power headroom report based on timer to the base station see Takeda: Fig.6 steps 620-625).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Takeda further teaches wherein the condition is a trigger to perform an initial access procedure (the configuration may include a periodic timer that triggers the power headroom report. The base station 105 may schedule the UE 115 based on the report see Takeda: ¶[0093]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Takeda taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Takeda further teaches wherein identifying the condition comprises receiving information indicating the condition in a medium access control control element (MAC CE), in a downlink control information (DCI), or from higher layers (control message such as DCI that carrying schedule transmission of an uplink channel power headroom report see Takeda: ¶[0121] ).
Regarding claim 5, Takeda taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Takeda further comprising: identifying a number of energy level ranges; determining a second value of the available energy level corresponding to a second time instance; determining an energy level range, from the number of energy level ranges, that includes the second value of the available energy level, wherein the energy level range is a lowest energy level range; and skipping transmission of a second uplink channel with a second ESR comprising the second value of the available energy level (different headroom corresponding to different transmission power levels and request for UE 115-b to use corresponding transmit power levels for uplink transmissions “A greater headroom means UE 115-b may support transmissions at a relatively higher transmit power level. A lower headroom, or less headroom, means UE 115-b may not support relatively high transmit power or may send transmissions at a relatively low or configured power level” see Takeda: ¶[0130-0132]).
Regarding claim 6, Takeda taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Takeda further teaches wherein: the first time instance is an earliest time instance after the transmission of the first uplink channel with the first ESR (first time period o calculate available power headroom step 610after first time interval indication at step 605 see Takeda: Fig.6; ¶[0125-0126]), determining the first value of the available energy level corresponding to the first time instance comprises subtraction of at least one of (i) an allocated energy level for transmission of the first uplink channel with the first ESR (The calculated available power headroom may indicate a difference between the transmission power threshold and the statistical transmission power value for the time interval (e.g., according to Equation 1) see Takeda: ¶[0127]) and (ii) a back-off energy level, from a value of the maximum transmit energy level at a last time instance that is earlier than the transmission of the first uplink channel with the first ESR by an offset value, and the offset value is based on a processing time for the transmission of the first uplink channel (where the time interval over which the calculated available power headroom is calculated is offset from the resource allocation by a defined amount of time see Takeda: ¶[0151]).
Regarding claim 7, Takeda taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Takeda further comprising: receiving a carrier wave (CW); and modulating the first uplink channel on the CW using on-off keying (OOK) modulation, wherein transmitting the first uplink channel comprises backscattering the modulated CW in the uplink resources (multi-carrier modulation technique using the coding rate of the modulation scheme see Takeda: ¶[0063]).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 8 discloses a user equipment that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as claim 2 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as claim 3 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as claim 5 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as claim 6 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as claim 7 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 15, Takeda teaches a base station (base station 1105 see Takeda: Fig.11) comprising:
a processor configured to determine uplink resources for reception of a first uplink channel, and a transceiver operably coupled with the processor, the transceiver configured to receive the first uplink channel in the uplink resources (receiver 1110, communication manage 1120 and transmitter 1115 see Takeda: Fig.11 base station; Fig.12 processor; ¶[0178]; Fig.12),
wherein the processor is further configured to determine, from a first energy status report (ESR) provided by the first uplink channel (At 1905, the method may include transmitting, to a UE, control signaling indicating a time interval over which to determine available power headroom relative to a transmission power threshold see ¶[0225]; Fig.19 step 1905), one or more values of an available energy level and corresponding one or more time instances,
wherein a first value of the available energy level, from the one or more values, at a first time instance, from the one or more time instances (At 610, UE 115-b may calculate an available power headroom relative to the transmission power threshold as a function of UE transmission power during the time interval in the control signaling see Takeda: ¶[0126]; Fig.6 step 610), is based on a first value of a maximum transmit energy level at the first time instance (available power headroom based on average transmit power and maximum permitted “The available power headroom may be the difference between the average transmit power and a maximum permitted, or threshold, transmission power of the UE 115” see Takeda: ¶[0093]), and
wherein the first value of the maximum transmit energy level is based on the first time instance (maximum value of average power “if an average power exceeds a threshold value, such as a maximum value, the UE 115 may send a power headroom report” see Takeda: ¶[0094]).
Regarding claim 16, Takeda taught the base station of claim 15 as described hereinabove. Takeda further teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit a trigger for an initial access procedure to be performed (the configuration may include a periodic timer that triggers the power headroom report. The base station 105 may schedule the UE 115 based on the report see Takeda: ¶[0093]; Fig. 6), and receive the first uplink channel with the first ESR in response to the trigger (the base station may schedule uplink transmissions across frequency bands according to a power headroom level. If the report indicates a relatively large headroom, the UE may send transmissions at a correspondingly higher transmit power level. If the report indicates relatively small available headroom, the UE may send transmissions at a correspondingly low transmit power see Takeda: ¶[0049]).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as claim 3 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as claim 5 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as claim 6 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as claim 7 as set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
February 8, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478