Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,865. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of the application claims are found in the patent claims The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1-21 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims 1-11. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by claims 1-21 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-21 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO-2021193376 to Kirikae et al.
As to claims 1-2, 7, and 9, Kirikae discloses a thermosetting resin composition comprising 10 to 50 parts of epoxy resin, 150 to 250 parts per 100 parts of the epoxy resin of an inorganic filler such as alumina (0020, thermally conductive), fused silica as a rheology modifier (0025) and BYK-110 as a wet dispersant (0038). Kirikae discloses a curing composition comprising the resin that has a thermal conductivity of 2.9 W/ml and a viscosity of 78 Pa*s (Tables 1-2 example 6). The resin composition is free of solvent.
Kirikae does not expressly disclose the thixotropic index or quantifies the material’s viscosity decreases under shear and recovery over time. However, the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, therefore, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components are present in the claimed amounts, the claimed physical properties relating to the compositions time-dependent shear-thinning behavior are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
As to claim 4, Kirikae discloses BYK-110 used in amounts of 1.9 parts by weight (Table 1).
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO-2018181737 to Kuronushi et al.
As to claims 1-4, 7, and 9, Kuronushi discloses a thermosetting resin composition comprising an epoxy resin, a liquid curing agent (viscosity modifier, a heat conductive filler (preferably spherical alumina powder (Examples, 0152-0155), and 4 parts by weight of dispersant (preferably ED152 an alkylene oxide phosphate ester, 0156-0158) (Abstract). Kuronushi discloses a paste-like composition that does not contain solvent (0082). Kuronushi discloses a viscosity of 36 or 24 Pa.s (Table 2). Kuroniushi discloses cured films produced from the thermosetting resin compositions.
As to claim 8, Kuronushi discloses aluminum oxide as a thermally conductive filler (0043).
As to claims 10-11, Kuronushi discloses a method for producing a printed wiring board comprising curing the thermosetting resin composition (0087-0090).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2018181737 to Kuronushi et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0108092 to Hilton.
As to claims 5-6, Kuronushi discloses a thermosetting resin composition comprising an epoxy resin, a liquid curing agent (viscosity modifier, a heat conductive filler (preferably spherical alumina powder (Examples, 0152-0155), and 4 parts by weight of dispersant (preferably ED152 an alkylene oxide phosphate ester, 0156-0158) (Abstract). Kuronushi discloses a paste-like composition that does not contain solvent (0082). Kuronushi discloses a viscosity of 36 or 24 Pa.s (Table 2). Kuroniushi discloses cured films produced from the thermosetting resin compositions.
Kuronushi does not expressly disclose the preferred rheology modifiers.
However, Hilton discloses solvent free thermosetting epoxy resins compositions suitable for preparing films comprising 0.02 to 1 wt% of rheology modifiers such as bentonite clays or hectorite clays (0119).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to include 0.02 to 1 wt% of the rheology modifiers taught in Hilton within the thermosetting resin compositions for films of Kuronushi in order to apply the film at high film thickness in a single coat (0119).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763