DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 received on 2/26/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 7 and 14 are independent.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “the STA device”, preceded by “a first station (STA) device”. For proper antecedent basis in the claim, the examiner suggests to amend limitation to “the first STA device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 14, 19 recite “the sensing measurement configuration”, preceded by “at least one sensing measurement configuration”. In the instance of “at least one” being more than one, it is unclear, which configuration is further limited. Dependent claims are rejected for same reasons.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the sending, by the AP device, the at least one sensing measurement configuration to the first STA device, comprising”. The limitation is preceded in claim 14 and 18 by “wherein the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent by the AP device”, “receiving, by a first station (STA) device, at least one sensing measurement configuration sent by an access point (AP) device”. The limitations of claim 14 or 18 do not recite “sending, to the first STA device”, thus the above limitation in claim 19 has lack of antecedent basis. Dependent claims are rejected for same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Du et al. (US 20240155702)
Regarding claim 1, Du teaches an access point (AP) device (communication apparatus 1200, fig 12; para 425: the communication apparatus 1200 may be the AP or a circuit system of the AP according to any one of the embodiments shown in FIG. 6a, FIG. 7a, or FIG. 8a, and is configured to implement the method corresponding to the AP), comprising:
a processor (processors 1201, fig 12);
a transceiver (transceiver 1205, fig 12); and
a memory configured to store a computer program (memories 1202 and instructions 1204, fig 12),
wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory (para 427: the instructions 1204 may be run on the processor, so that the communication apparatus 1200 performs the method described) to control the transceiver to send at least one sensing measurement configuration to a first station (STA) device (step 601, fig 6; para 140, 143: in operation 601: the AP sends a first frame to a first STA, where the first frame includes first information, and the first information indicates a first role of the first STA in a sensing session, the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter),
wherein the sensing measurement configuration is used for configuring operational parameters of a sensing measurement (para 144: when allocating the first role participating in the sensing session to each STA participating in the sensing session, the AP further allocates the first sensing parameter corresponding to the first role to the STA, so that the STA can participate in the sensing session by using the first role and the first sensing parameter), and
wherein the sensing measurement configuration comprises the operational parameters of the sensing measurement (para 143: the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter, and the first sensing parameter is used by the first STA to perform sensing measurement and/or sensing data reporting in the sensing session, the first sensing parameter includes but is not limited to one or more of the following parameters: an operation parameter).
Regarding claim 7, Du teaches a station (STA) device (communication apparatus 1200, fig 12; para 425: the communication apparatus 1200 may be the STA or a circuit system of the STA according to any one of the embodiments shown in FIG. 6a, FIG. 7a, or FIG. 8a, and is configured to implement the method corresponding to the STA), comprising:
a processor (processors 1201, fig 12);
a transceiver (transceiver 1205, fig 12); and
a memory configured to store a computer program (memories 1202 and instructions 1204, fig 12),
wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory (para 427: the instructions 1204 may be run on the processor, so that the communication apparatus 1200 performs the method described) to control the transceiver to receive at least one sensing measurement configuration sent by an access point (AP) device (step 601, fig 6; para 140, 143: in operation 601: the AP sends a first frame to a first STA, where the first frame includes first information, and the first information indicates a first role of the first STA in a sensing session, the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter),
wherein the sensing measurement configuration is used for configuring operational parameters of a sensing measurement (para 144: when allocating the first role participating in the sensing session to each STA participating in the sensing session, the AP further allocates the first sensing parameter corresponding to the first role to the STA, so that the STA can participate in the sensing session by using the first role and the first sensing parameter), and
wherein the sensing measurement configuration comprises the operational parameters of the sensing measurement (para 143: the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter, and the first sensing parameter is used by the first STA to perform sensing measurement and/or sensing data reporting in the sensing session, the first sensing parameter includes but is not limited to one or more of the following parameters: an operation parameter).
Regarding claim 14, Du teaches a method for wireless communication (sensing session establishment methods fig 6a, 7a, 8a), comprising:
receiving, by a first station (STA) device (first station, fig 6a), at least one sensing measurement configuration sent by an access point (AP) device (step 601, fig 6; para 140, 143: in operation 601: the AP sends a first frame to a first STA, where the first frame includes first information, and the first information indicates a first role of the first STA in a sensing session, the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter), wherein the sensing measurement configuration is used for configuring operational parameters of a sensing measurement (para 144: when allocating the first role participating in the sensing session to each STA participating in the sensing session, the AP further allocates the first sensing parameter corresponding to the first role to the STA, so that the STA can participate in the sensing session by using the first role and the first sensing parameter),
wherein the sensing measurement configuration comprises the operational parameters of the sensing measurement (para 143: the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter, and the first sensing parameter is used by the first STA to perform sensing measurement and/or sensing data reporting in the sensing session, the first sensing parameter includes but is not limited to one or more of the following parameters: an operation parameter).
Regarding claim 2, 8 and 15, Du further teaches wherein the operational parameters of the sensing measurement comprise at least one of following information: sensing role(s) (para 140: the first frame includes first information, and the first information indicates a first role of the first STA in a sensing session, the first role of the first STA in the sensing session is a transmitter and/or a receiver).
Regarding claim 3, 9 and 16, Du further teaches wherein the AP device is a sensing initiator (fig 5b, cases 1-4; para 124-128: AP serves as an initiator in a sensing session), or the AP device is a proxy device of the sensing initiator (para 32: when the STA serves as a sensing initiator, the STA sends a sensing requirement to the AP, and the AP performs any one or more of the foregoing implementations based on the sensing requirement sent by the STA, to coordinate and manage station devices participating in the sensing session).
Regarding claim 4 and 17, Du further teaches wherein the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent by the AP device during a sensing session setup stage (para 139: fig 6a is a schematic flowchart of a sensing session establishment method; para 140, 143: in operation 601: the AP sends a first frame to a first STA, where the first frame includes first information, and the first information indicates a first role of the first STA in a sensing session, the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter) and the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent through a first request frame (para 143: the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter, and the first sensing parameter is used by the first STA to perform sensing measurement and/or sensing data reporting in the sensing session), and the first request frame is used for requesting setting up a sensing session (para 141: the AP sends the first frame to the first STA, to allocate a role of the first STA in the sensing session to the first STA), wherein the first request frame further comprises an application type corresponding to a sensing session to be set up (para 143: the first sensing parameter includes but is not limited to one or more of the following parameters: an operation parameter, a feedback type, a sensing type, or a feedback address).
Regarding claim 5 and 18, Du further teaches wherein the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent by the AP device during a sensing measurement configuration stage (para 139: fig 6a is a schematic flowchart of a sensing session establishment method; para 143: the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter, and the first sensing parameter is used by the first STA to perform sensing measurement and/or sensing data reporting in the sensing session).
Regarding claim 6, Du further teaches wherein the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent by the AP device according to a first indication information of a first device (sensing request frame to AP and trigger frame from AP, fig 9e; para 406-407: the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session; the AP sends a first frame (a trigger frame in FIG. 9e) to the STA 1 and the STA 2 by using the method shown in FIG. 6a), the first indication information is used for triggering the AP device to set up the sensing measurement configuration (para 406: the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session), and the first device is a sensing initiator for the at least one sensing measurement configuration (para 405-406: in application scenario corresponding to FIG. 9a, when the STA has a sensing requirement, the STA serves as an initiator, the STA usually needs to cooperate with the AP to perform sensing, in sensing session establishment phase, the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session).
Regarding claim 10, Du further teaches wherein the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent by the AP device during a sensing session setup stage (para 139: fig 6a is a schematic flowchart of a sensing session establishment method; para 140, 143: in operation 601: the AP sends a first frame to a first STA, where the first frame includes first information, and the first information indicates a first role of the first STA in a sensing session, the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter), and the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent through a first request frame (para 143: the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter, and the first sensing parameter is used by the first STA to perform sensing measurement and/or sensing data reporting in the sensing session), and the first request frame is used for requesting setting up a sensing session (para 141: the AP sends the first frame to the first STA, to allocate a role of the first STA in the sensing session to the first STA).
Regarding claim 11, Du further teaches wherein the first request frame further comprises an application type corresponding to a sensing session to be set up (para 143: the first sensing parameter includes but is not limited to one or more of the following parameters: an operation parameter, a feedback type, a sensing type, or a feedback address).
Regarding claim 12, Du further teaches wherein the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent by the AP device during a sensing measurement configuration stage (para 139: fig 6a is a schematic flowchart of a sensing session establishment method; para 143: the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter, and the first sensing parameter is used by the first STA to perform sensing measurement and/or sensing data reporting in the sensing session), wherein the at least one sensing measurement configuration is sent by the AP device according to a first indication information of a first device (sensing request frame to AP and trigger frame from AP, fig 9e; para 406-407: the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session; the AP sends a first frame (a trigger frame in FIG. 9e) to the STA 1 and the STA 2 by using the method shown in FIG. 6a), the first indication information is used for triggering the AP device to set up the sensing measurement configuration (para 406: the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session), and the first device is a sensing initiator for the at least one sensing measurement configuration (para 405-406: in application scenario corresponding to FIG. 9a, when the STA has a sensing requirement, the STA serves as an initiator, the STA usually needs to cooperate with the AP to perform sensing, in sensing session establishment phase, the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session).
Regarding claim 13 and 20, Du further teaches wherein the first device is a second STA device (STA 1 sends sensing request frame to AP, fig 9e; para 406-407: the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session; STA 1 is considered first device).
Regarding claim 19, Du further teaches wherein the sending, by the AP device, the at least one sensing measurement configuration to the first STA device (para 139: fig 6a is a schematic flowchart of a sensing session establishment method; para 143: the first frame further includes a first sensing parameter, and the first sensing parameter is used by the first STA to perform sensing measurement and/or sensing data reporting in the sensing session), comprising:
sending, by the AP device, the at least one sensing measurement configuration to the first STA device according to a first indication information of a first device (sensing request frame to AP and trigger frame from AP, fig 9e; para 406-407: the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session; the AP sends a first frame (a trigger frame in FIG. 9e) to the STA 1 and the STA 2 by using the method shown in FIG. 6a), wherein the first indication information is used for triggering the AP device to set up the sensing measurement configuration (para 406: the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session), and the first device is a sensing initiator for the at least one sensing measurement configuration (para 405-406: in application scenario corresponding to FIG. 9a, when the STA has a sensing requirement, the STA serves as an initiator, the STA usually needs to cooperate with the AP to perform sensing, in sensing session establishment phase, the STA 1 (e.g., an initiator) sends a sensing request frame to the AP, to request the AP to participate in the sensing session).
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 1/8/2026