DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: receiver and transmitter in claims 18-20. Normally these terms would have an art-recognized structural connotation, however Applicant’s Specification indicates that these may be software modules alone and has therefore refuted this assumption (paragraph 0232 of Applicant’s PGPUB). Therefore, these terms are generic placeholders without structural connotation 112 (f) has been invoked.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure (an appropriately programmed processor executing the modules for transmission and reception as discussed in paragraphs 0321-0232) described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abendi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0182130 A1) in view of Abendi II (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0053486 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Abendi discloses a beam indicating apparatus for a repeater, configured in a network device, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a transmitter configured to transmit a first indication to the repeater, the first indication being used to indicate at least one beam, (Albendi discloses a gNB/TRP/network device (i.e. upstream device) configures a repeater using DCI, MAC or RRC configuration via a control message [paragraph 0083] the configuration may include a TDD pattern for transmission including a beam pair to use for forward transmissions including at least one downlink TX beam pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a first beam] and one fronthaul RX beam pattern to use for reception from the gNB/network device [i.e. a fourth beam] and beam pair to use for reverse transmissions including at least one uplink TX RX pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a second beam] and one fronthaul TX beam pattern to use for transmission to the gNB/network device [i.e. a third beam] [i.e. a fourth indication, as discussed in the dependent claims, infra] [paragraphs 0082, 0069, 0047 – discussing generally TDD configuration and assignment of specific beam patterns at the repeater for use on the backhaul and access links for TX and RX; paragraph 0154 –backhaul and access links in respective forward and reverse links may be joined to form beam pairs forming a complete set of links for forward and reverse transmission in one direction. Based on the fourth indication, the first indication is a dynamic indication of a particular TDD pattern, direction and beams indicated by the fourth indication is to be used for a particular timeslot or symbol, for example using DCI or RRC [paragraphs 0085, 0088, 0151].)
wherein the at least one beam includes a first beam and/or a second beam, the first beam being used by the repeater to forward a first signal from the network device to a terminal equipment, the second beam being used by the repeater to receive a second signal from the terminal equipment, the second signal being used for being forwarded to the network device. (The relay is configured by the with a beam pattern to be used in the UL or DL TDD slot which includes a first beam for a DL slot [i.e. DL access link beam to the UE] and a second beam for an UL slot [i.e. UL access link beam to the UE] [paragraphs 0082, 0069, 0047, 0154 – see (a), supra].)
the second beam is denoted by a beam index (Abendi discloses that on the fronthaul is associated with a beam index [paragraph 0091].)
Abendi fails to explicitly disclose the first beam is denoted by a beam index. (i.e. Abendi discloses that each TDD pattern is associated with a relay beam identifier, but it is not clear how this related to particular beam indexes [paragraph 0150]. In the same field of endeavor, Abendi II discloses the first beam and the second beam are denoted by beam indices (Abendi II discloses that configured beam identifiers at the relay are associated directly with one or more denoted actual beam indices [paragraphs 0194-0195].)
Therefore, since Abendi II discloses the first beam is also associated with a beam index, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the beam index of Abendi II with the system of Abendi by denoting a first beam using a beam index. The motive to combine is to use an easy to designate identifier, the beam index, to allow identification of the first beam for simplified singling.
Regarding claim 2, Abendi discloses the first indication is used to indicate a first time period, the first time period being used by the repeater to forward the first signal by using the first beam and/or receive the second signal by using the second beam, the first time period being used by the repeater to transmit a third signal to the network device by using a third beam and/or receive a fourth signal coming from the network device by using a fourth beam. (As discussed, supra, the first indication indicates which beam pair and TDD information associated with which base station configured by the fourth indication is applied in a particular slot/symbol and may indicate [via the selected fourth indication] a TDD pattern for transmission including a beam pair to use for forward transmissions including at least one downlink TX beam pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a first beam] and one fronthaul RX beam pattern to use for reception from the gNB/network device [i.e. a fourth beam] and beam pair to use for reverse transmissions including at least one uplink TX RX pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a second beam] and one fronthaul TX beam pattern to use for transmission to the gNB/network device [i.e. a third beam][paragraphs 0082, 0069, 0047 – discussing generally TDD configuration and assignment of specific beam patterns at the repeater for use on the backhaul and access links for TX and RX via fourth indication; paragraph 0154 –backhaul and access links in respective forward and reverse links may be joined to form beam pairs forming a complete set of links for forward and reverse transmission in one direction in the fourth indication; paragraphs 0085, 0088, 0151 – selection of one of the configured pairs using the first indication for transmission in a particular slot/symbol].)
Regarding claim 3, Abendi discloses the first signal is generated by the repeater by amplifying the fourth signal, and the third signal is generated by the repeater by amplifying the second signal. (Abendi discloses forward transmissions including at least one downlink TX beam pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a first beam] and one fronthaul RX beam pattern to use for reception from the gNB/network device [i.e. a fourth beam] and beam pair to use for reverse transmissions including at least one uplink TX RX pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a second beam] and one fronthaul TX beam pattern to use for transmission to the gNB/network device [paragraphs 0082, 0069, 0047, 0154]. Transmission is carried out by direct amplify and forward transmission [paragraph 0069, 0153].)
Regarding claim 4, Abendi discloses the transmitter transmits a fourth indication to the repeater, the fourth indication being used to indicate at least one combination of the first beam and/or the second beam and the first time period, the first time period consisting of at least one time unit, the at least one time unit being a symbol and/or a slot. (The fourth indication configures the beam indicates a particular TDD pattern, direction, beams indicated configured for a particular base station/gNB/network node and includes an indication of the slots that are configured with the particular settings [paragraph 0082].)
Regarding claim 6, Abendi discloses the first indication is carried by DCI and the fourth indication is a semi-static indication and is carried by an RRC layer (The first indication is carried by DCI and indicates, for a particular slot or symbol, which TDD pattern, direction and beams configured by the fourth indication is to be used [0151-0152- indexes of TDD patterns dynamically received; 0085 – dynamic reception via DCI). The fourth indication may be via RRC (see claim 1, supra, paragraph 0082) and is semi static as it persists across multiple dynamic allocations via DCI and does not change until another RRC is received [paragraphs 0082-0083]).
Abendi as modified fails to disclose the first indication is carried by a first PDCCH. In the same field of endeavor, Abendi II discloses the first indication is carried by a first PDCCH. (Abendi IIIdiscloses the DCI is transmitted using PDCCH (paragraphs 0074, 0188).)
Therefore since Abendi II discloses using PDCCH to send DCI, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the PDCCH transmission of Abendi II in the system of Abendi by transmitting the DCI information containing the first indication in Abendi a using a PDCCH, as taught by Abendi II. The motive to combine is to transmit the DCI in the PDCCH, which is a control channel instead of requiring an additional separate control channel for the DCI transmission to conserve overhead.
Regarding claim 8, Abendi discloses the first indication being used to indicate one or more combinations in the at least one combination of the first beam and/or the second beam and the first time period indicated by the fourth indication to the repeater. (Based on the fourth indication, the first indication is a dynamic indication of a particular TDD pattern, direction and beams indicated by the fourth indication and is to be used for allocation of multiple timeslots or symbols, forming different combinations of the beams and time periods [paragraphs 0085, 0088, 0151].)
Regarding claim 9, Abendi discloses the first indication is used to indicate, an index of one or more combinations in the at least one combination of the first beam and/or the second beam and the first time period indicated by the fourth indication, to the repeater. (The first indication/dynamic DCI indication may indicate an index or the TDD Pattern associated with the beam combination and time period [paragraphs 0151-0152].)
Regarding claim 13, Abendi discloses the transmitter transmits an eleventh indication to the repeater, the eleventh indication being used to indicate at least one beam, the at least one beam indicated by the eleventh indication being the third beam and/or the fourth beam, the third beam and the fourth beam being denoted by TCI; and the fourth signal received by the repeater from the network device by using the fourth beam includes a signal transmitted by the network device to the terminal equipment, and/or the third signal transmitted by the repeater to the network device by using the third beam includes a signal transmitted by the terminal equipment to the network device. (Abendi discloses that the system may send an eleventh indication in the form of an additional dynamic indication of which combination of beam pair [i.e. the first and fourth or second and third beams for UL OR DL transmission, respectively] to use for transmission based on TCI indications of the beam sets to use [0150- each beam pattern indexed may be identified by beam identifier/TCI state; TCI state dynamically indicated to disclose which TDD pattern(s) to use in a particular symbol or slot [0154].)
Regarding claim 14, Abendi discloses he fourth signal is not used by the repeater to perform demodulation and/or decoding. (Albendi discloses that the forwarded signals, including the fourth signal, are not demodulated or decoded but are instead only amplified and forwarded [paragraph 0069, 0046].)
Regarding claim 15, Abendi discloses the transmitter transmits a twelfth indication to the repeater, the twelfth indication being used to indicate at least one beam, the at least one beam indicated by the twelfth indication being the fourth beam, the fourth beam being denoted by TCI; and the fourth signal received by the repeater from the network device at the first time period by using the fourth beam includes only a signal transmitted by the transmitter to the terminal equipment (Abendi discloses that the system may send an twelfth indication in the form of an additional dynamic indication of which combination of fourth beam pair [i.e. the first and fourth beams for DL transmission, respectively] to use for transmission based on TCI indications of the beam sets to use [0150- each beam pattern indexed may be identified by beam identifier/TCI state; TCI state dynamically indicated to disclose which TDD pattern(s) to use in a particular symbol or slot [0154].)
Regarding claim 16, Abendi discloses the signal transmitted by the transmitter to the terminal equipment contained in the fourth signal is not used by the repeater to perform demodulation and/or decoding. (Albendi discloses that the forwarded signals, including the fourth signal, are not demodulated or decoded but are instead only amplified and forwarded [paragraph 0069, 0046].)
Regarding claim 17, Abendi discloses the network device is a network device of a serving cell of the repeater, and/or the network device is a network device of a serving cell of the terminal equipment. (Albendi discloses that the relay may be exclusive to the repeater and therefore is a network device of a serving cell of the repeater [paragraph 0082] and the UE is associated with the same single serving cell [paragraph 0082].)
Regarding claim 18, Abendi discloses a repeater comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a first indication coming from a network device, the first indication being used to indicate at least one beam, the at least one beam indicated by the first indication including a first beam and/or a second beam and a transmitter configured to forward a first signal coming from the network device to a terminal equipment, wherein the first beam being used by the transmitter to forward the first signal, the second beam being used by the receiver to receive a second signal coming from the terminal equipment for being forwarded to the network device (Albendi discloses a gNB/TRP/network device (i.e. upstream device) configures a repeater using DCI, MAC or RRC configuration via a control message [paragraph 0083] the configuration may include a TDD pattern for transmission including a beam pair to use for forward transmissions including at least one downlink TX beam pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a first beam] and one fronthaul RX beam pattern to use for reception from the gNB/network device [i.e. a fourth beam] and beam pair to use for reverse transmissions including at least one uplink TX RX pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a second beam] and one fronthaul TX beam pattern to use for transmission to the gNB/network device [i.e. a third beam] [i.e. a fourth indication, as discussed in the dependent claims, infra] [paragraphs 0082, 0069, 0047 – discussing generally TDD configuration and assignment of specific beam patterns at the repeater for use on the backhaul and access links for TX and RX; paragraph 0154 –backhaul and access links in respective forward and reverse links may be joined to form beam pairs forming a complete set of links for forward and reverse transmission in one direction. Based on the fourth indication, the first indication is a dynamic indication of a particular TDD pattern, direction and beams indicated by the fourth indication is to be used for a particular timeslot or symbol, for example using DCI or RRC [paragraphs 0085, 0088, 0151]. The relay is configured by the with a beam pattern to be used in the UL or DL TDD slot which includes a first beam for a DL slot [i.e. DL access link beam to the UE] and a second beam for an UL slot [i.e. UL access link beam to the UE] [paragraphs 0082, 0069, 0047, 0154].)
the second beam is denoted by a beam index (Abendi discloses that on the fronthaul is associated with a beam index [paragraph 0091].)
Abendi fails to explicitly disclose the first beam is denoted by a beam index. (i.e. Abendi discloses that each TDD pattern is associated with a relay beam identifier, but it is not clear how this related to particular beam indexes [paragraph 0150]. In the same field of endeavor, Abendi II discloses the first beam and the second beam are denoted by beam indices (Abendi II discloses that configured beam identifiers at the relay are associated directly with one or more denoted actual beam indices [paragraphs 0194-0195].)
Therefore, since Abendi II discloses the first beam is also associated with a beam index, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the beam index of Abendi II with the system of Abendi by denoting a first beam using a beam index. The motive to combine is to use an easy to designate identifier, the beam index, to allow identification of the first beam for simplified singling.
Regarding claim 19, Abendi discloses the first indication is further used to indicate a first time period, the first time period being used by the transmitter to forward the first signal by using the first beam and/or being used by the receiver to receive the second signal by using the second beam, and the first time period is further used by the transmitter to transmit a third signal to the network device by using a third beam and/or being used by the receiver to receive a fourth signal coming from the network device by using a fourth beam. (As discussed, supra, the first indication indicates which beam pair and TDD information associated with which base station configured by the fourth indication is applied in a particular slot/symbol and may indicate [via the selected fourth indication] a TDD pattern for transmission including a beam pair to use for forward transmissions including at least one downlink TX beam pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a first beam] and one fronthaul RX beam pattern to use for reception from the gNB/network device [i.e. a fourth beam] and beam pair to use for reverse transmissions including at least one uplink TX RX pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a second beam] and one fronthaul TX beam pattern to use for transmission to the gNB/network device [i.e. a third beam][paragraphs 0082, 0069, 0047 – discussing generally TDD configuration and assignment of specific beam patterns at the repeater for use on the backhaul and access links for TX and RX via fourth indication; paragraph 0154 –backhaul and access links in respective forward and reverse links may be joined to form beam pairs forming a complete set of links for forward and reverse transmission in one direction in the fourth indication; paragraphs 0085, 0088, 0151 – selection of one of the configured pairs using the first indication for transmission in a particular slot/symbol].)
Regarding claim 20, Abendi discloses a processor configured to generate the first signal by amplifying the fourth signal, and generate the third signal by amplifying the second signal. (Abendi discloses forward transmissions including at least one downlink TX beam pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a first beam] and one fronthaul RX beam pattern to use for reception from the gNB/network device [i.e. a fourth beam] and beam pair to use for reverse transmissions including at least one uplink TX RX pattern for use on the access link to the UE [i.e. a second beam] and one fronthaul TX beam pattern to use for transmission to the gNB/network device [paragraphs 0082, 0069, 0047, 0154]. Transmission is carried out by direct amplify and forward transmission [paragraph 0069, 0153].)
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abendi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0182130 A1) in view of Abendi II (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0053486 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 4 and further in view of Oh, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2008/0175215).
Regarding claim 5, Abendi as modified by Abendi II fails to disclose the fourth indication indicates a starting position and length of the first time period in the at least one combination, and the length of the first time period being denoted by the number of symbols and/or the number of slots, and the starting position of the first time period is offset. In the same field of endeavor Oh discloses he fourth indication indicates a starting position and length of the first time period in the at least one combination, and the length of the first time period being denoted by the number of symbols and/or the number of slots, and the starting position of the first time period is offset. (Oh discloses that the size of a dedicated relay section may be indicated by a symbol offset and symbol length [paragraph 0093 and claims 6 and 8].)
Therefore, since Oh discloses offset and length indications, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the length and offset indicators of Oh with the system of Abendi as modified by Abendi II by including a length and offset to specify the length of the time period of Abendi as modified by Abendi II. The motive to combine is to allow the location and length of the period to be exactly specified for better flexibility in allocations.
Abendi discloses the first indication is RRC layer signaling, the first indication of the RRC layer signaling indicates at least one combination of the first beam and/or the second beam and the first time period. (Albendi discloses that the first indication of which beam pair and TDD pattern indicated by the fourth indication to use in a particular time period may be semi-statically indicated via RRC signaling [0151-0152 – semi-static designation; paragaprh 0088- semi static configuration via RRC].)
Regarding claim 11, Abendi as modified by Abendi II fails to disclose the first indication of the RRC layer signaling indicates a starting position, length and period of the first time period in the at least one combination, and the length of the first time period being denoted by the number of symbols and/or the number of slots, and the starting position of the first time period is offset. In the same field of endeavor, Oh discloses the first indication of the RRC layer signaling indicates a starting position, length and period of the first time period in the at least one combination, and the length of the first time period being denoted by the number of symbols and/or the number of slots, and the starting position of the first time period is offset (Oh discloses that the size of a dedicated relay section may be indicated by a symbol offset and symbol length [paragraph 0093 and claims 6 and 8].)
Therefore, since Oh discloses offset and length indications, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the length and offset indicators of Oh with the system of Abendi as modified by Abendi II by including a length and offset to specify the length of the time period of in the first RRC indication of Abendi as modified by Abendi II. The motive to combine is to allow the location and length of the period to be exactly specified for better flexibility in allocations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites the transmitter transmits a third indication to the repeater, the third indication being used to indicate the repeater to receive the first PDCCH by using an eighth beam. This indicates that the first PDCCH is received using a different beam from the fourth beam used for fronthaul data transmission via the repeater (see claim 2). This could not be found in the prior art. That is, in typical systems a receiving device alone makes the RX beam determinations and it is highly unusual to have a base station directly specifying the RX beam to be used by a receiving device. The system of Abendi discloses, that in the case of a relay as a forwarding device, it is known to set the RX beam used for amplify and forward as the fourth beam for data transmission via the repeater. However, Albendi appears to use this same beam for all reception at the relay device, or is at least silent as to how the relay device selects a beam for the PDCCH. Furthermore, no other art could be located that teaches separately setting the receive beam for the PDCCH in the way specified, as, for the reasons discussed, supra, it is unusual for a base station to directly specify a RX beam as a device can measure and select a RX beam on its own. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the claims both recite the second indication being used to indicate the repeater to receive the first PDSCH by using a seventh beam. As was the case with the PDCCH in claim 7, supra, this would require that the PDSCH uses a different seventh beam from the forwarded fourth beam to receive the PDSCH. As was the case with respect to claim 7, supra, no art teaching this element could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mumey, et al. (Brendan Mumey, Jian Tang, Ivan Judson, Richard S. Wolff, Beam Scheduling and Relay Assignment in Wireless Relay Networks with Smart Antennas, pages 1-5, 2013) – disclosing relay and beam scheduling
Wanuga, et al (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0364414) – disclosing beam configuration for amplify and forward repeaters
Seo, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2012/0033608) – disclosing relayed PDCCH
Elshfie, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0120966) – disclosing seed based configuration of relays
Tekgul, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0075497) – disclosing full duplex amplify and forward relaying
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466